Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows

Km. 120 Carretera Mérida Zona Arqueológica, Chichen Itza 97751 Mexico
Traveller (2194)
Panorama of the Mayan Bungalo at the Hotel & Bungalows Mayaland
360
Panoramas (12)
mesa tallada
Room & Suite (648)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 4 hotels in Chichen Itza
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
World-Class resort in a unique tropical setting inside the Chichen Itza Arqueological Park. SPA. One of the 100 hotels on National Geographic "The Stay List" 2009 and again in one of the "133 Hotels we love, December 2011. Conde Nast Reader's One of the 100 Top Hotels in the World 2003. Conde Nast Gold List 2004. The most awarded resort in Yucatan. A member of the Rain Forest Alliance. 100% Mayan staff. Over 100 acres of unique tropical gardens. Award winning restaurants serving Mayan, Yucatecan, Mexican and International delicacies. Specialty stores. The Choco Story Museum store. we are less than a 2 hour drive from Cancun International Airport. Even less from the Merida Airport. We have special transportation pricing and arrangements. please contact us for details. We have a money back guarantee that our Resort, rooms, services and facilities are the very best in all of central Yucatan (Including Valladolid, Izamal and all other villages). Please Call us for more information on transportation, tours and activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Horseback riding
Billiards
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Parking
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Poolside bar
Walking tours
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Km. 120 Carretera Mérida Zona Arqueológica, Chichen Itza 97751 Mexico
Name/address in local language
1,850Review57Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 987
  • 554
  • 176
  • 76
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Marcus D wrote a review Feb 2020
Atlanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles
WOW ! We were in a bungalow that was stunning: carved wooden framed stained glass windows, full sized carved Mayan warrior on the bathroom door, mosquito netting for the beds, screened windows, shower got very very warm—but not really hot, cold A/C, large bathroom, in-room safe, very clean room, the room does need more outlets for charging electronic devices, wifi available in lobby, beautifully maintained grounds with walking trails. Hey, can you guess how much we liked this place? Near our bungalow was a small swimming pool nestled into a grotto setting. At night, you will want a flashlight as you walk about. The hotel’s pathway lighting is subdued. When dining, take some time to visually explore and appreciate artist Jesus Alvarez Amaya’s stunning mural. The painting represents various Mayan beliefs. HINT: sign up for the pre-dawn entry into Chichen Itza—we went with Mayan guide Hess, who really enjoyed educating us with stories, history, photos, and getting that perfect photo as the sunrises behind El Castillo. The only drawback—we were literally escorted out at 8am by a security fellow on a motorcycle. I am guessing that the pre-dawn admission tickets have a time limit? At any rate, this Hotel is not only amazing in its own right, but what a glorious location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from chichenuxmal, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
Responded 5 Feb 2020
WoW ! Your review inspires us all to continue the 100 year old effort of our family in keeping us all in the loop of continuing to serve patrons to our highest standards, to re-model quietly, constantly, to train, train and re-train; to care for all the communities around us.... in essence, to provide memorable stays at our Historic Mayaland. THANK YOU !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelin_Bear wrote a review Mar 2020
Placitas, New Mexico
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows as part of an organized tour. What a pleasure this place is to discover. You could spend all day just exploring the grounds, and I wish we'd been able to stay there longer. The naturalized grounds are exquisitely manicured and the buildings are full of detail and ambience. Our breakfast was included, but I'm not sure if that's because it was part of our tour, or if it's included with any booking. The breakfast buffet was ample and of good quality, served in a beautiful indoor/outdoor setting.

My review is actually of two different rooms, since there was a mechanical problem. We were initially booked into room 105 in the main building, an extremely spacious and well-appointed space. The room was lovely, with incredibly beautiful stone floors. The bathroom, while attractive and serviceable, had one odd feature. The toilet was in front of a floor-to-ceiling plate glass window overlooking the entrance road. Not to worry, it was equipped with a big shade that completely covered the window.

That evening, after coming back from touring, our room had some sort of disturbing electrical failure. A maintenance man quickly responded and looked around and determined that we should not stay in the room. I learned that a couple of other parties in our group were without hot water, so evidently there was some problem. We packed up and at 10pm were quickly assigned to Sylvanus Morley Villa #2. We were driven to our new destination though the dark by golf cart. The staff was very accommodating and friendly throughout. The villa was romantic, exotic, and comfortable, with mosquito netting, stained glass windows, and good air conditioning. Two luggage racks were provided, but no wash cloths.
We could very easily have spent more time here to enjoy our surroundings.

Chichén Itzá is a very short stroll through the woods from Mayaland. We had a 5am sunrise tour which was spectacular.

I would thoroughly recommend Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fernando Barbachano, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Thank You! What a smart, through, WONDERFUL review of your experience with us ! We all look forward to having the honor of being your ghosts again. Hasta la vista !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue-at-5 wrote a review Mar 2020
Southampton, England
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a three-hour road journey from the very modern and characterless environment that was Cancun (impression based on an overnight stay only so there are sure to be some redeeming points which we didn't get to see) it was a pleasure to arrive at this hotel. The bedrooms and public rooms are designed in a hacienda style and the hotel and bungalows are set in gardens full of tropical plants and birds. The hotel reception was quick to relocate one of our party to her own bungalow to save her climbing stairs as there is no lift in the main hotel. We enjoyed our drinks in the bar area and our dinner in the main restaurant although it was rather too dark to read the menu without resorting to the torch on a mobile phone! The local birdlife served as a tropical alarm clock in the morning. It was lovely having the privileged access to Chichen-Itza rather than having to go to the main entrance, particularly since it enabled us to arrive before the crowds and thereby experience the stunning surroundings in relative peace and quiet. This hotel is certainly the one to chose when staying in Chichen-Itza.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fernando Barbachano, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
Responded 24 Mar 2020
We all appreciate your visit and your wonderful comments. THANK YOU !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
howardxp1 wrote a review Mar 2020
New York City, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is like one of the Hotels that are located right inside a National park in the states and charge 5 star rates but are 3 star hotel.

The grounds are sprawling and quite pretty. The pool is decent though could be maintained better. There were OVER 200 missing tiles on the floor of the pool. No exaggeration.

The key to our room (#108) also did NOT open the door. It had to be forced and almost broken with the key inside the cylinder. A little WD40 would do the trick.

There are no telephones in the rooms so if you need anything you have to go all the way downstairs to request it.

There was a large flat screen TV, but for both days no channel was available at all. None! They said they were working on it.

Charging over $200 / night you’d expect that they’d have slippers or even a toothbrush and toothpaste in the room, but NOTHING.
I had to go down again and ask. Still no slippers and getting toothpaste was like pulling a tooth!

Let’s see, there were 2 large towels, 1 medium and no small ones.

Breakfast was included, but it was not a buffet. At breakfast I like to ask for a hot chocolate to see if they do it with a snails or if they nickel and dime their guests. Indeed, they charge big time if you want a hot chocolate. No soy milk either.

The kicker is that they are using outdated and inefficient toilets as well. The toilets cannot handle even toilet paper. They keep an open trash basket - (NO COVER) nearby. Feces on exposed toilet paper means more potential disease than just the Corona Virus!! They said “this is Mexico” as an excuse. It’s just a poor excuse for being too cheap to install decent ones. $110 for 1.6 gallon flush toilets in Home Depot, flush perfectly including the toilet paper!

This hotel continues to charge ridiculous rates but does not do their maintenance and their policies are downright cheap!

While the room cleaners and other staff were friendly, the front desk were just so-so. Not really trained professionals in the hospitality business.

Unfortunately this hotel had its heyday years ago when Pavarotti was there.
It doesn’t look like they’ll do what it takes to bring it up to speed.

Howard S.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fernando Barbachano, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
Responded 23 Mar 2020
We are all sorry we did not meet your expectations. We DO have slippers, and All the amenities you mentioned. Breakfast does not need to be a buffet to be great. We believe ours is that, GREAT, with attentive service and personalized.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mister D. wrote a review Dec 2021
Tunis, Tunisia
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arriving to the hotel was easy following GPS and road signs, it has very cool surroundings, and large parking right across the lobby.
As soon as we parked someone came with a cart to carry our luggage. Then checking was a bit confusing, they asked us to sit at a table next to the hotel bar (we haven’t seen the lobby yet at that time) then the receptionist offered us some lemonade and brought lot of papers to explain location of hotel, its map, and asked us about our plans, then started explaining pricing for guided tours, etc.. We were able to book a french speaking guide for the following morning, and then were giving our keys.
We booked the observatory superior room, and were not disappointed, it was in 3rd floor and directly facing the mayan observatory that we were able to see in daylight, sunset, night, dawn… the room seems from another age, but was totally comfortable, clean and well kept.
We would have preferred a King bed instead of the doubles but they don’t have any.
We spent the afternoon walking around the property, it had beautiful gardens, multiple bungalows and swimming pools. A lot of nice animals were crossing peacocks, squirrels, …
The dîner wasn’t as great as the rest of the experience but still fine.
As the “private” access to Chichen Itza is closed because of the pandemic, we were offered the shuttle the following morning and were supposed to be picked up at 8:00AM and take the shuttle back at 10:30.
The breakfast service was so slow that we had to eat fast in order to catch-up the shuttle.
We spent excellent time in chichen itza, and the guide (Juan Pat) recommended by the hotel was beyond excellent.
We were back at Chichen Itza parking lot at 10:26 and saw that the hotel van was already leaving its spot, we waved at it, he ran just in front of us and didn’t stop… completely disrespectful, specially we were on time and that he left earlier.
We took a taxi at our charge to avoid waiting an extra hour for the next van.
It was a one stay, we checked out afterwards and I have used the ATM to withdraw some Mexican pesos but unfortunately forgot my card in there, only realizing it when we arrived at our next hotel in Merida.. I realized then all phone numbers of the hotel on internet leads to a dead end, and found no way to contact Mayaland reception directly. Hopefully our hotel did manage to find one, and the only answer the receptionist was able to provide was to block the card, thanks for the info…
So between the kind of weird checkin process, the restaurant below expectations both for dinner and breakfast, the shuttle incident, and the lack of empathy and help with the ATM thing (that of course doesn’t belong to them, but bank guys are coming daily to refill it, they could’ve found a solution to avoid us the pain of losing our payment mean in the middle of an oversea trip).. I am unfortunately not able to rate Mayaland better.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vacay wrote a review Apr 2021
NJ
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is close and by the site of Chichenitza but due to covid the private entrance was not open, so had to take a taxi or shuttle to the entrance. The complimentary shuttle service was good and the driver waited for us after the sound and light show. The resort is recovering from covid impact. The building does not have WiFi in the rooms and the tv has no channels. Very few guests were staying at the property at the time of our stay.the restaurant has limited variety due to the pandemic. They refuse to give more than 2 water bottle per room. Luis is exceptionally good at the front desk. We walked around the property and lots of rooms closed and some areas in disrepair. Several areas are closed and no cash machine on site or was broken. The views from the room of the observatory are great and we had a complimentary upgrade. The housekeeping will not clean your room unless you leave a sign outside your door. Hope the hotel can recover from the pandemic impact and up their level of service and quality
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms facing observatory
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nanci H wrote a review Jul 2020
Savannah, Georgia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I came with friends to experience food and hotel quality to bring a group to learn the history of Chichen Itza and other Mayan temple ruins. We would begin in Akumal and bring many children's books for libraries, guide sea turtles to nests and protect young safely to the sea. The hotel, food and service got my rare A+ rating. I was also introduced to sipping tequila. I was never a fan of sucking a lime, salt and throwing back inferior alcohol... The hotel stairs and it exquisite metal rail that looks like waves is unique, the beams in the ceiling, the thatched bungalows, the gardens, and the wellness spa gave us the answer. We will return here. Many Prayers have been sent Heavenward that hopefully we will be able to travel again soon... Stay well and safe...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I love the bungalows... more privacy and easy access to pools, spa, quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fernando Barbachano, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
Responded 23 Jan 2021
What a nice, beautiful (and Tasty) review. Congratulations !! Thanks for your visit. We all look forward to being of service to you again. Hasta la vista !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MichaelSchindl wrote a review Apr 2020
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We really wanted to stay at Chichen Itza for one night, therefor we opted for the Mayland Hotel and Bungalows, which was pricey, but the location was great. It has a separate entrance to Chichen Itza and we visited it on our own at the evening, which was a great choice. Rooms are spacious and clean. We had dinner at the hotel, which we felt was not expensive and excellent. Still on our point of view the total cost of staying there is too expensive for what you get. Staff did not live up to the high standards of the hotel, we did not feel welcome at some point.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fernando Barbachano, Owner at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
Responded 20 Apr 2020
What a sad review.... one who's score has no relationship to the prose, which is obviously impacted by price, as stated. The Mayaland is one of the true resort bargains in the world; yet it is not for everyone.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josh B wrote a review Jun 2021
Lafayette, Indiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is truly charming. At night, you’re surrounded by jungle sounds, and during the day you can see some of the Chichen Itza ruins from the hotel lobby and several of the rooms—the location is PERFECT. We stayed in a bungalow with 3 rooms for our group of 10 and a large porch with chairs and hammocks. Even though we also stayed in a Cancun luxury hotel during the vacation, everyone agreed this was our favorite place. Wilma in the office was super helpful both via email in advance and during our visit as well. Four members of the group had massages that they loved. And the hotel helped arrange Abel to guide us through Chichen Itza, and he was great. Our recommendation: be at Chichen Itza right at 8 a.m. when it opens. We had it largely to ourselves until the crowds started picking up significantly around 10.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Get to Chichen Itza right when it opens at 8 a.m. And eat dinner in the hotel restaurant—it’s...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eric samson wrote a review Jul 2021
Seoul, South Korea
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want to see Chichen Itza without the crowds, you should definitely book a night or two at Mayaland Hotel and Bungalows. The property consists of thatch-roofed cottages scattered about in a beautiful jungle environment of mature tropical trees.
Because Mayaland is directly adjacent to the archaeological park, we were able to enjoy a wonderful, unhurried breakfast, and still be at the park entrance at opening time. Being at Chichen Itza at opening time is fabulous. We were able to enjoy the main sights with almost no one else around until the tour busses arrived at 10 AM. Afterwards it was great to cool off in the hotel pool. There are also a couple of nice cenotes in the area that are worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam asked a question Jun 2023
22 contributions4 helpful votes
Is there parking onsite
Tracey V wrote a tip May 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for Able to be your guide. He is excellent "
Read full review
bobborn wrote a tip Nov 2022
Chicago180 contributions87 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The receptacles are all in a single black box next to the wardrobe. It has a master switch to turn on. Hammocks are inside the wardrobe."
Read full review
Ken K wrote a tip Apr 2022
NYC57 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Observatory view in the main building. Clean and great wifi."
Read full review
poncina wrote a tip Feb 2022
Espergaerde, Denmark67 contributions74 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Observatory room!"
Read full review
Travel Nomad wrote a tip Dec 2021
125 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking right in front of hotel easily accessible."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chichen Itza area.
PRICE RANGE
£103 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel and bungalows mayaland, mayaland hotel chichén itzá, hotel mayaland
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaYucatanChichen Itza
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAYALAND HOTEL & BUNGALOWS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
Which popular attractions are close to Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows?
Nearby attractions include Chichen Itza (0.3 miles), El Castillo (0.3 miles), and Gran Juego de Pelota (2.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows?
Conveniently located restaurants include Polleria Los Pajaros, Taco Maya By Oxtun, and Las Mestizas Comida Yucateca.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the centre of Chichen Itza.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Chichen Itza HotelsChichen Itza Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Chichen ItzaHotels near Mayaland Hotel & Bungalows
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire