The Reef 28
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Reef 28

Traveller (2617)
Asiatico
Dining (304)
The Reef 28
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 4 special resorts in Playa del Carmen
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Diving
Water sport equipment rentals
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Billiards
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Nightclub / DJ
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Adults only
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

1 Avenida Norte & Calle 28 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77720 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cancun Airport
30.6 mi
See all flights
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
3,156Reviews137Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,352
  • 416
  • 180
  • 90
  • 118
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
D A wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I almost don't want to write this so we can keep this Playa del Carmen secret to ourselves, but this place deserves to be recognized for the gem it is. Our trip was amazing from start to finish; out of the 10+ all inclusives I've done this one was by far and away the best. The resort is brand new and it shows - the rooms and property overall are kept immaculate which allows you to really enjoy your vacation. The food is INCREDIBLE for an all inclusive, particularly at the Mexican restaurant where we dined 6/7 nights for dinner. We got through almost the whole menu and there's very little we didn't enjoy. All meals except for breakfast are a la carte which I think really lends to the food quality. The pool area is not large but the beach is nearby and you have access to the Reef sister resorts - one walking distance and one a short shuttle ride away (or a nice long walk as we opted for). The beauty of this place is it's also in the heart of Playa del Carmen so you can spend your evenings roaming 5th avenue. We particularly loved beachside shisha at Fusion.

Now for the staff - everyone made our stay fantastic but want to give some special shoutouts. Oscar who was always a smiling face at the front desk, Jesus our amazing waiter for most of the trip, Soraya who took care of us by the pool, Paulina the omlette queen, Alexis and Alejandro some other great waiters, and Orlando our bartender guru.

Thanks so much for a perfect vacation from start to finish!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Road18409230168, Brand Executive at The Reef 28
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear 354daa16, We sincerely appreciate the time invested to share your detailed, personal impression of your recent visit at our resort, it was all our pleasure to host you. We are delighted to hear that you were able to take the opportunity to enjoy the variety of our food. Our executive chef will be glad to hear about your positive feedback. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the all inclusive access that we provide to all our guests to come visit our beach front sister properties The Reef Playacar and The Reef Coco Beach. Indeed, our wonderful position in the heart of Playa del Carmen allows us to provide unique and recreational vacations as we are located one block from the famous 5th Avenue and one block away from the famous beach clubs Mamitas and Kool beach. We are very proud of our staff who works hard to ensure that our guests are feeling comfortable and have everything they may need for a memorable stay. When their efforts are acknowledged it makes all their work worthwhile and so we will be delighted to share your kind comments with them, especially with Oscar, Soraya, Paulina, Alexis, Alejandro and Orlando. It would be amazing to welcome you back at The Reef 28. Please email us to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com and we will assist you with special repeat client rates. Kind regards, Micaela Castilla Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucy H wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Do NOT go on the ‘free’ sales lunch they will offer you at their sister hotel, Reef Beach Club. The most horrendous experience - firstly one man sitting with you at lunch asking you about everything in your life, then a crazy sales pitch about some dodgy hotel timeshare and finally being shouted out by a man because of course we didn’t want to buy. Do not be fooled - this is not a free lunch, 2.5 hours of your life wasted, and very unpleasant people.

The Reef 28 hotel is superb looking. It is new, clean and of a very high quality. The spa is small but perfectly formed and the staff there are first class. It felt like a very luxurious place to stay.
Sadly the area surrounding is very touristic and noisy, even during the day. Wouldn’t visit Playa del Carmen again for this reason.
The roof top pool/bar of the hotel play loud music all through the day till around 11/12pm, as do the other bars/ restaurants nearby. The roof top also had a foam party but didn’t think to inform us guests, we only found out when the bubbles got blown down onto our balcony and put paid to our relaxing afternoon of sunbathing.
The food at breakfast is very good, with a generous buffet, and some freshly cooked options. Highly recommend the omelettes, the lady who made them for us was fantastic.
Wish this hotel was in another location because I won’t be returning to Playa del Carmen again, way too crowded and felt harassed by the vendors on the street. People there are just out to fleece you as much as possible - not an authentic taste of Mexico sadly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Road18409230168, Brand Executive at The Reef 28
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear LHhonestreviews, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay at our resort.   We are sorry to know that there have been some inconveniences regarding the Leading Vacation Club and we would like to apologize for this. It is important to know that the Leading Vacation Club has useful information about our hotel and you can listen to it on a sales talk that you will have the chance of attending. The Leading Vacation Club is supposed to use a soft approach and should not insist with the sale. If this happens please email us to nospina@thereefresorts.com and there you will be assisted. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the spa, hotel facilities and the service offered. We are sorry to hear about the situation you experienced regarding the noise. The noise might come from a bar which is nearby. Please rest assured that we are taking proper actions in order to reduce the noises, as the well-being of our guests has absolute priority. We are delighted to hear that you were able to take the opportunity to enjoy the variety of our food. Our executive chef will be glad to hear about your positive feedback. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused and be assured that we have taken on board your service comments and preferences and have reviewed each point with our team, looking to find any experience improvements wherever possible. Kind regards, Micaela Castilla Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Faisal A wrote a review Feb 2021
4 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hotel was great. A fairly new hotel with impeccable cleanliness and great service. This was a great stay for us 4 friends. Everyone spoke decent English which helped us with our limited Spanish speaking ability.

The location of this hotel is unparalleled. It is 1 block from the main entertainment and shopping of 5th Avenue including a plethora of great restaurants, bars and live music. Just be cautious of a lot of street peddlers but they are nice about it if you tell them NO. It is also 3 blocks from the public beach, which is nice and was not crowded when we were there. There were stores by the beach to buy drinks and snacks.

Upon arrival, the check in service was quick and efficient. I usually like to stay on high floors. A very friendly bell boy followed us to our room. The room was Covid sanitized and sealed where we had to break the seal and enter a fresh room (This is a great thing). My room was a nice suite with a balcony towards the front. The room had generous closet and drawer space (including a safe for your valuables), comfortable beds and regular amenities. The only thing about the bed is that they could use better pillows for people who are sensitive to their pillow firmness.

The free breakfast buffet had great selections with Panini and egg Omelet stations. The breakfast staff were very friendly. I was a little confused by signing a check for breakfast the first time but it was a "control check" for the restaurant and I was not charged anything at checkout.

The rooms were cleaned daily (unless you put up the "X shhh" on the door). I recommend getting the room towards the front side if the hotel. The back side of the hotel is in close proximity to the live music and may interrupt your sleep if you are a early or light sleeper.

Overall service was great. I will stay at this hotel again when I go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef 28
Responded 23 Feb 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef 28 as your vacation destination and for sharing such a nice and detailed feedback. We are delighted to know you had an amazing time enjoying of facilities, the cleanliness, the location, the breakfast and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DakotaFlyer2 wrote a review Mar 2020
Bemidji, Minnesota177 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Reef 28 for 7 nights without the all-inclusive option and for every upside there was a downside/

Room:
Large and comfortable, but was super load at times as I was on the 4th floor and faced a busy bar. Mini-fridge was never refilled (maybe it is just for A.I. guests) Did not have hot water in the shower for most days.

Service:
Friendly, helpful, and seemed to be everywhere but the push for timeshare presentation on arrival after traveling all day is a bit too much. We also came to find a housekeeper cleaning our room at 6pm after it was already cleaned once in the day, so not sure what that was all about.

Food:
The free breakfast was fantastic, ate there most days during the trip. We did the optional A.I. for one day at a rate of $50 per person, felt it was not worth the extra expense even with access to two sister property beach clubs.

Location:
Between the beach and 5th Ave with two beach clubs one block away and great Jamaican chicken restaurant next door. Two blocks from 38 Calle, my favorite street.

Rooftop:
Seemed nice with fantastic view, never really spent to much time as it was unseasonably cool and windy during my visit.

I did feel safe in the hotel, walking around the area, and really loved the hydrotherapy spa ($25 usd is well worth it!) . However, if I find myself back in Playa would probably find myself at another property.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor room, as it might be loud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BrandExecutive, Brand Executive at The Reef 28
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear DakotaFlyer2, Thank you for sharing your experiences about your stay at our hotel. We are concerned to read that you experienced some inconveniences and that we were not able to meet your expectations. We are sorry to hear about the situation you experienced regarding the noise and we would like to apologize for this. Please rest assured that we are taking proper actions in order to reduce the noises. Please note that a room change can always be requested with our front desk as the well-being of our guests has absolute priority. We are sorry to know that there have been some inconveniences regarding the Leading Vacation Club and we would like to apologize for this. It is important to know that the Leading Vacation Club has useful information about our hotel and you can listen to it on a sales talk that you will have the chance of attending. The Leading Vacation Club is supposed to use a soft approach and should not insist with the sale. We will follow up internally. Indeed, our wonderful position in the heart of Playa del Carmen allows us to provide unique and recreational vacations as we are located one block from the famous 5th Avenue and one block away from the famous beach clubs Mamitas and Kool beach. Please accept our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused and be assured that we have taken on board your service comments and preferences and have reviewed each point with our team, looking to find any experience improvements wherever possible. Kind regards, Micaela C. Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anzalone24 wrote a review Mar 2021
New York City, New York18 contributions20 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were really excited to stay here and ignored some of the mixed reviews. Should have listened to them better. This place has so much potential to be great, but is so poorly managed. When we checked in after a long day of flying we were forced to listen to this BS time share sales pitch for 45 mins.
The room service turn over was terrible, we found blood on our fresh sheets, couldn’t even get a refill on toilet paper and had to ask every night for them to refill our bottled water which is complimentary. When we told them they were just like...oh, sorry. The rooftop closes at 11pm, we aren’t even allowed to just hang out up there past that time and when we asked to grab a few items from the breakfast that’s included because we had to run to a toward they said no food was allowed to leave the property?!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef 28
Responded 13 Mar 2021
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef 28 to spend your recent vacations and for sharing your review. We regret to learn that in this occasion you left disappointed due to the details you mention in your review; we appreciate your observations as they are really helpful for us to identify improvement areas, rest assured that they will be shared with the Management. We hope that we remain an option for your next vacation and that we have the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emilia wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I met my boyfriend for a week at Reef28 this August, and we had a phenomenal stay.

In regard to Covid, we felt that every staff member took it very seriously. Everyone wore masks, the common areas were sparkling clean, they wiped down the table every time we sat down, they took our temperatures every time we entered a dining area.

We want to say a special thank you to the employees who made our stay enjoyable. Enrique and Julio as well as the whole staff at the Cochita restaurant were kind, personable, and professional. We looked forward to seeing them at dinner each night. At breakfast Andres and Raquel always provides wonderful service. Eduardo made wonderful drinks at the lobby bar. Mario at the rooftop bar also provided wonderful service and taught us a lot about the area. A large part of our exceptional experience was due to the staff.

The food at the bar and restaurant were also great - it offered a large enough selection so that we did not feel bored. (My boyfriend did spend 2 weeks here and was getting a little redundant).

We spent a lot of our days at the Reef Playacar which is right on the beach - enjoying scuba diving, kayaking, swimming, water sports, etc. The bigger pools and beach are at this location.

Our only complaint was that you can hear the rooftop bar music 11A-11P every day.

Thanks so much for a great stay!
Dennis&Emily
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela C, Propietario at The Reef 28
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear emilia040700, We would like to thank you for your comments; it is truly a pleasure to learn about the fantastic stay you had and we appreciate the time you took to share your experiences. Please rest assured that your feedback has been displayed in the hotel for all our staff to see, especially for Enrique, Julio, Andres, Raquel, Eduardo and Mario. They will be truly motivated by your kind words, as they continuously endeavor to go beyond our guest’s expectations of service. We are delighted to hear that you were able to take the opportunity to enjoy the variety of our food. Our executive chef will be glad to hear about your positive feedback. It would be amazing to welcome you back at The Reef 28. Please email us to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com and we will assist you with special repeat client rates. Kind regards, Micaela C. Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Boaty wrote a review Jan 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana25 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Started out fine and went downhill fast. Upon arrival, we were greeted and given cold water, but instead of taking us directly to our room, they sent us around with a heavily cologne gentleman who was preaching the gospel of "reef coin." It was really awkward and we were so tired of traveling that we just wanted to go to our room, shower and change clothes. Upon getting to our room, they have given us two double bed, so we went to the front to ask for a king. This was intended to be a romantic babymoon. We get a king room only to find bed bugs in the furniture. We went to the front to speak to a manager but there wasn't one. We told the front desk person that we were going to go eat and come back to give them time to figure out a resolution (i.e. change rooms again, etc). He said they would send up housekeeping. ok? We got back to the room and housekeeping had simply put pillows back on the bed bug riddled sofa. Yikes. Service on the roof was awful. There were two men doing everything and the music was like a nightclub. It took well over half an hour to get some nachos and a burger and the burger was very nearly raw on the inside. We went back down to the front desk where there was no resolution waiting on us so we kindly asked to leave. We asked for our money back but were advised that we needed to contact our travel agency. We documented everything and we did get our money back, but it was such a disappointment that we will never visit another reef property. We were really looking forward to this but the bed bugs were over the top for us. If this is how their boutique upscale resort is managed, I cannot imagine how the regular beach side resorts are run.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef 28
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef 28 as your vacation destination and for sharing your opinion. It is a pity to learn from your review that your stay was not as you expected and that you left with such a negative impression of the cleanliness of our rooms. We would like to take the opportunity to clarify that according to our records we had not have any incident about bed bugs. Furthermore, we deeply regret that the food and service at the rooftop were not of your liking, your observations will be addressed to keep improving our services. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope you give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mona S wrote a review Jan 2022
Arnolds Park, Iowa33 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We got a really good price for being there a week before Christmas. Not sure if that was due to covid or not. There was a really strong floral odor in the lobby that prevented lingering at lobby bar or anywhere else for that matter. They are real sticklers about wearing masks, anywhere on the premises and checking temps before entering restaurant. We opted for the breakfast only meal option and they were wonderful with a large assortment of food variations each day and a made to order omelet bar. Osvaldo, bellmen, desk staff and other staff were very helpful with questions and concerns. The rooms were very clean and designed beautifully for the location. Also a balcony to sit out on. The bathroom had a spa like feel with glass walk in shower and bamboo accents. Only two blocks from the beach, and one block from the main shopping and restaurant district, this was a great location for tourists. They also offer a rooftop pool, bar and hot tubs with an amazing view.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lizeth Arratia, Otro at The Reef 28
Responded 26 Jan 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Reef 28 to spend your vacations and for the time you have invested in sharing your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed our location, the breakfast buffet, the attention of our staff, the room décor, and the rooftop facilities. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Lizeth Arratia Hospitality Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret G wrote a review Oct 2020
Playa del Carmen, Mexico21 contributions22 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was so impressed with the hospitality of the staff and the esthetics of the high energy property as soon as I arrived . The drinks and food were delicious every day and staff took great care for COVID precautions. I loved the boutique feel and that the staff knew me and anticipated all my needs. The only downfall was my room was positioned in a very noisy location by the stairs with an incredibly loud bar outside and one floor below the pool where the DJ, loud bangs/movements and other guests unfortunately kept me up or woke me up throughout the trip even with ear plugs. I will be requesting a much more secluded location next time.
The spa is a must when staying at the Reef where you feel relaxation as soon as you walk in. I appreciated having a staff member assigned to helping you make your way around the spa and assists with drinks, towels or any questions. I’m very excited to a new member of their network and look forward to to visiting again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela C, Propietario at The Reef 28
Responded 22 Oct 2020
Dear 130margaretg, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review and for giving us the opportunity to welcoming you the past days. We are glad to read that you were provided with our courteous, outstanding service. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service and to provide unique experiences. We are sorry to hear about the situation you experienced regarding the noise and we would like to apologize for this. Please rest assured that we are taking proper actions in order to reduce the noises. Please note that a room change can always be requested with our front desk as the well-being of our guests has absolute priority. It would be amazing to welcome you back at The Reef 28. Please email us to socialmedia@thereefresorts.com and we will assist you with special repeat client rates. Kind regards, Micaela C. Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Winnie wrote a review Sept 2020
Los Angeles, California9 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at The Reef 28 for 8 nights, all-inclusive. I booked directly on their website and my reservation came with a few perks: a snorkeling tour, Chichen Itza tour, romantic dinner for 2, complimentary hydrotherapy treatment at the spa and full access to pools/beaches at their sister resorts.

Upon my arrival to The Reef 28, Israel at the front desk gave me a warm welcome, helped me with my bags and gave me a quick rundown of their amenities as he showed me to my room. The room itself was clean, spacious and had a balcony. The TV had local channels as well as some premium options (HBO). There was a Netflix app on the TV but it wasn't working for me. The overall WiFi connection was great. The room's phone didn't really work but I didn't use it.

I was looking forward to the Chichen Itza despite the summer heat but apparently it was closed due to Covid (which was strange because street vendors were telling me that tours were available?). For the snorkeling tour, they gave me a voucher to redeem but I wasn't really interested anyway so I didn't book anything. I didn't take them up on the "romantic dinner for 2" as I was traveling solo.

I had a massage and hydrotherapy treatment at the Okom Spa. Azucena was my massage therapist and Veronica was the spa attendant who guided me through the hydrotherapy treatment. Both ladies were very friendly and courteous, and I enjoyed my services with them. I would rate my overall spa experience as an 8 out of 10.

I was a little disappointed with the limited dining options. Breakfast was good but not much variety. For lunch/dinner, they had 1 Mexican restaurant available. Service was good but I quickly grew tired of their menu. According to the hotel website, they have an Asian restaurant onsite but it wasn't open during my stay (bummer!). Room service was not available either, which I thought was weird.

The rooftop pool was my favorite hangout although I wasn't the biggest fan of the blaring house music from 1pm-11pm. Soraya was always my server and she was amazingly helpful and tentative. I'd say she was my favorite staff member of the entire stay. Thank you, Soraya!

Free shuttle transfers to their sister resorts were available in the morning and evenings. I visited the Reef Playacar for the beach access and I really enjoyed it. All food and alcohol was included so I didn't have to pay anything extra.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Micaela C, Propietario at The Reef 28
Responded 28 Sept 2020
Dear winniethechiu, It is a pleasure to read such a wonderful review. We are proud to hear that you keep a beautiful memory of your recent vacation at our hotel, you can rest assured we will share your kind words with our entire team and management. We are glad to read that you were provided with our courteous, outstanding service. Our staff is highly committed to excellence and they sincerely will appreciate the time you have taken to recognize their efforts. They keep working relentlessly to maintain our high standards in quality and service and to provide unique experiences. It is fantastic to know that you have enjoyed your time at Okom Spa as it is one of our favorite spots of the hotel too. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the all inclusive access that we provide to all our guests to come visit our beach front sister properties The Reef Playacar and The Reef Coco Beach. Thank you again for your remarks and it is our hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Kind regards, Micaela C. Brand Executive socialmedia@thereefresorts.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Valerie Thomas
Minneapolis, Minnesota66 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi, we were just there in November and there was not charge to go to the other resorts. They even have a free shuttle. We enjoyed our dinner at Samurai (Japanese cuisine) over at Coco Beach one night. Might I recommend you try out the hydro therapy in the spa (free if you booked directly). Have a wonderful time!
AltheaJM asked a question Jan 2024
Plymouth, Minnesota25 contributions24 helpful votes
are all master suites corner rooms?
Beth W asked a question Jan 2024
Chicago, Illinois59 contributions88 helpful votes
Does the hotel exchange dollars for pesos?
Jawad B wrote a tip 14 Jun
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid coming to the reef 28, there are other good hotel in the area with similar prices."
Read full review
Emily P wrote a tip 13 Jun
16 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool gets very crowded and service is slow. So order more than 1 drink at a time and order food asap if you’re hungry. "
Read full review
Echo wrote a tip 11 Jun
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pls be aware of upcharges and check with hotel what restaurants are actually open. "
Read full review
Lynn C wrote a tip 7 Jun
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Made restaurant reservations upon arrival and and that worked well, though the daily buffet had a lot of variety and we enjoyed that daily"
Read full review
Leonard O wrote a tip 6 Jun
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Come early to the pool to secure your spot! Bring a yeti cup to keep your drinks cool longer! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Playa del Carmen area.
PRICE RANGE
£101 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaPlaya del Carmen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE REEF 28 - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Reef 28
Which popular attractions are close to The Reef 28?
Nearby attractions include Coralina Daylight Club (0.1 miles), Sol Jaguar (0.3 miles), and Ambarte (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Reef 28?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Reef 28?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at The Reef 28?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Reef 28?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Reef 28?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rockas Beach Town Grill, Ferron's Jerk Chicken Av. 10, and Roxy's little Fish Shack .
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Reef 28?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Reef 28 have airport transportation?
Yes, The Reef 28 offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Reef 28 located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Playa del Carmen.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Reef 28?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Reef 28 offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Playa del Carmen HotelsPlaya del Carmen Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Playa del CarmenHotels near The Reef 28
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire