We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cenote Encantado

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Cenote Encantado
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 22: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2016

It is a magical experience to be at one with nature and the simplicity this type of vacation offers. This is not for stuffy folks (or is it??) .. a serene oasis for the open minded. The staff is amazing. The camp ground is inviting, sitting right on a cenote that can be explored by swimming, boating or diving. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hillary M
CenoteEncantadoTulum, Owner at Cenote Encantado, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We love so much our place, we have build little by little with so much love, always taking care of trees and animals that live there like iguanas and crabs that we feel honored to cohabit with them, respecting them and taking care of them. This is a simple place to show... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2016

I'm not going to lie - when I first showed up at Cenote Encantado my first thought was "Oh no what have I gotten into". Heed my warning - if "back to nature" "good vibes" and the "simple" life does not sound appealing to you stear clear - this will most likely not be your cup of tea. But, if... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Katie N
CenoteEncantadoTulum, Owner at Cenote Encantado, responded to this review

Our place is a different experience than a fancy hotel for sure. We really like for people to live a nature experience and learning how is possible to live in a simple way, modern life is taking us away from understanding how much we can enjoy without luxury. Here the luxury is nature, and our own capacity for wonder and... More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed one week with My boyfriend over there. I very recomand this camping hostel! The atmosphere was amazing, the people over there were very polite, friendly, open hearted and uncomplicated! The moscito-protection in the tents work pretty well. You'll have direct entrance to the cenote and can join a yoga or meditation class! I loved, that it is outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank saraihamburg
CenoteEncantadoTulum, Owner at Cenote Encantado, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your sweet review, we are so happy to know you could appreciate and enjoy our simple loving camping, that we have build and take care with so much effort and love, where nature is the star that nurture our hearts. Welcome anytime! More 

Mexico City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2016

The most shocking thing about this place is that you must pay in advance for something you never have seen before and your money is practically non-refundable. That raises some serious red flags. Even a five-star hotel has clear refund policies. Also the service is far from ideal, having arrived after hours and not finding anyone to receive us we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Xochipillitzin
CenoteEncantadoTulum, Owner at Cenote Encantado, responded to this review

Hello.. I am Galia Owner of Cenote Encantado. We do ask for 100% upfront reservation in the months of December and January cause there are so many people coming that is the only way to asure everyones spot. Of course we have a refund policy that you can check in our web page, "www.cenoteencantado.com" where it says "questions" .We cannot... More 

1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

$20/person to stay within a campground with access to a cenote on the grounds. The cost pays for a tent and bed which is set up for you (no camping gear needed) and they have a communal kitchen available for use. It's a cheap way to stay if you don't mind a more rustic visit. They provide electricity (& wifi)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristen Z
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2015

we had an amazing week in tulum and in no small part because we stayed here. the people are amazing and kind and open to genuine connections, the cenote is gorgeous and has a personality all her own, the tents and toilets and kitchen were all so clean. if possible i would go back and never leave! the energy is... More 

Helpful?
Thank hannahsb1990
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Just to make clear from the start, this review is not for the campsite, as I did not stay there but for the cenote. I would never have expected that behind this unassuming campsite would be a large and beautiful lake/cenote which is ideal for serious swimming, snorkelling or just relaxing. The people taking the small fee for entry could... More 

Helpful?
Thank acwf2973
La Crescent, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2015

Cenote Encantado is located in the quiet zone of Tulum at the very end, close to entrance of Sian Kian reserve. It's perfect for the conscious traveler seeking peace and tranquility amidst the high energy of much of the rest of Tulum. Located right on a cenote, you can hop in the raft or jump in for a swim at... More 

Helpful?
Thank J-Vo_6
Tulsa Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2015

My friend and I stayed here and we liked it so much that we just stayed for 9 nights. We were made to feel welcome from the beginning. Leo the manager did a great job of checking us in.The owner Galiia was very pleasant and had an eye for making things workable. We were given a tent with air matress... More 

Helpful?
Thank krackeyboy
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We have been there only one night and then decided to leave. You sleep in very simple tents on an air mattress. The tents are also very close to each other. You hear the snoring next to you. The beach can legaly only be reached after a walk of 10 minutes on a dirt road. Illegally via the hotel opposite.... More 

Helpful?
Thank FrankH58

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.3 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#69 of 87 in Tulum
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
4.8 mi away
Turquesa Tulum Jungle Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Quintana Roo National Park Campground & Hiking
0.7 mi away
Harmony Glamping and Boutique Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hotel Maya Cabanas & Cenote Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cenote Encantado "Enchanted Cenote" is a getaway to peace. Our initiative is rooted in the concept and daily practice of activities which compliment the environment. It is a concept which provides us with physical, mental and spiritual development. For us, being ecology oriented isn't just a trend or some scheme to attract green-minded visitors. We think that loving and protecting the environment is a way of life. For this reason it is our priority to share this consciousness to the furthest extent of our abilities. We actively look for people who can enlighten us with new ideas and make this magical place a center of relationships and contacts, which visitors can use as a mechanism to go forward with their own new alternative network. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cenote Encantado

Address: Tulum Beach Rd, Hotel Zone. Boca Paila Road KM. 10 | On the Right Side of the Street-1km Before the Entrance of the Sian Kaan Reserve-In Front of "Rancho San Eric", Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Price Range: £30 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cenote Encantado staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cenote Encantado staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Really nice for a campground”
 of 5 bubbles 789hillarym, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Having Wi-Fi for just part of the day is something my grandma would do to punish me.”
 of 5 bubbles Xochipillitzin, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“the double tents are much bigger than those designed for 1 person. even if you are traveling by yourself, it might be worth spending double ($30 total per night) for a double tent for the extra space.”
 of 5 bubbles rungeoff, 26 Mar 2013 | Read review
3 of 3