We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Percy Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Percy Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 187: English reviews
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Only popped in for a pint whilst driving past.What a surprise to see 6 local real ales on tap.Unfortunately only had one as I was driving.Excellent.I also indulged in a bowl of mussels.terrific.Great staff,cant wait to be passing by again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichaelPearson11
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Percy Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next 'drive by'. Vanessa C Guest Relations

Northumberland
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Arrived late afternoon and were given a warm welcome and shown to our beautiful room. We were in the River Till room which has plenty of space, a large bathroom and well maintained. We were booked in for dinner and the staff were once again attentive and the food was excellent. It took a while to get the dishes but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tilbury79
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Percy Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the great feedback; delighted we helped make your Husband's 60th Birthday memorable. Vanessa C Guest Relations

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Had a very good meal at the Percy Arms as we was staying in Chatton for a few days, lovely log fire blazing in the fireplace. Another plus if you have a dog with you they let them in better than having to leave them in the car.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank malcolm s
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Percy Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the feedback and so glad you enjoyed your meal. We are a very pet friendly establishment, allowing our four legged friends into the bar area, as well as two of our 4* Gold bedrooms. We hope you will be back to visit us again at some point. Vanessa C Guest Relations

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We love Northumberland and decided to break a long trip from the South coast to The Highlands with a couple of nights somewhere close to Alnwick. Mr Google proposed the Percy Arms Hotel and a quick squint at Trip Advisor confirmed the decision. We are glad we booked it. Our room was lovely and boutiquey and so were the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Percy Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the great feedback and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Apologies if the fire was too hot; we are prepared for Autumn with our fires, but have had a few unseasonally warm days whereby the fires might not have been needed. We look forward to your next visit. Vanessa C Guest Relations

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This was our second short break staying at the Percy Arms but this time taking our daughter with us, after a small hiccup a sign of a well managed establishment was the speed in which the matter was dealt with in a calm, professional and positive outcome for all. The food as usual was top notch and well deserves any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mikeandme123
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Percy Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We hope you will continue to return and enjoy everything we have to offer at The Percy Arms. Vanessa C Guest Relations

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Tempted to give this place a try over the weekend, arrived, drink ordered and shown to our table. I ordered the wild mushroom starter, which was nice, could have done with more seasoning, but that is just me. Main dish was the lamb, which came with veg and home made Yorkshire puddings. very nice indeed, with a good gravy. shame...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M2bfx
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Percy Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest So glad you gave into your temptation and enjoyed your lunch so much. Happy to hear we sorted the wasp problem for you! Hope you will be back again soon. Vanessa C Guest Relations

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

arrived on Saturday afternoon around 3pm after a long drive from London. were immediately delighted to enter the hotel via the cosy, clean and welcoming bar. we were late for the lunch service but were accommodated anyway and ordered Salmon (the best i had ever had) and my friend had a toasted ham and cheese sandwich. everything arrived piping hot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma D
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Percy Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Sincere thanks for the great feedback and glad you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. We have taken on board the other points you have raised. Vanessa C Guest Relations

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed on a Sunday night and at £75 per room including breakfast it was excellent value. The rooms are really lovely with a modern country feel. Lots of special little touches like loose leaf teas, freshly ground coffee, thick bathrobes, oversized beds and freestanding baths and walk in showers add a touch of sumptuousness. The bar/restaurant has a lovely cozy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K8nTommy
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Percy Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the great all round feedback and hope you'll find that excuse to be back soon! Just to let you know that with advance warning, we can serve breakfast earlier if required.... Vanessa C Guest Relations

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Went away with my husband & could not get a hotel no wear as the film fest of Edinburgh was on, so he's father sent us to this hotel has we had no wear els to go, we arrived about 9 clock at night, restaurant and bar was on full swing, so we had some food has we was Hungary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olivia J
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Percy Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Fantastic feedback thank you and we are glad you enjoyed everything about your stay. Sincerely hope you will be back to stay with us again. Vanessa C Guest Relations

Reviewed 13 September 2016

If you want to stay in a quiet location at a top quality establishment, take a look a this place. The rooms are of a high standard and the meals are excellent quality. There is a comfortable bar, a small lawned area for a drink in the sun and a car park.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve W
Vanessa C, Guest Relations Manager at Percy Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest So glad you enjoyed your visit to The Percy Arms and hope we can welcome you back again soon. Vanessa C Guest Relations

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatton
8.5 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,074 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
12.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
344 reviews
20.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
19.2 mi away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#4 of 33 in Morpeth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of rural Northumberland in the village of Chatton you'll find The Percy Arms; an ideal place to visit, dine or stay in luxury. Take a drive Northbound on the A1 from Morpeth (a mere 36 miles), follow the signs for Chillingham Castle and you'll descend on the peace and tranquillity of Chatton. On your drive there, you'll witness the spectacle of the Cheviot Hills, the varied hues of the grasses and heaths and appreciate the true splendour of our county. The Percy Arms is the ideal place to visit or stay for those looking for a relaxing break in informal but luxurious surroundings in the Northumberland countryside. The Percy Arms is in close proximity to some fantastic places including the spectacular Northumberland coastline, National Park, fine Castles and country houses, splendid churches and delightful towns and villages. We are also a dog & family friendly establishment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Percy Arms Hotel

Address: Percy Arms Main Road, Chatton NE66 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chatton
Price Range: £90 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Percy Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your Percy Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Percy Arms Hotel Chatton, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Percy Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Percy Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms excellent”
 of 5 bubbles mikeandme123, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“think they're all good”
 of 5 bubbles alatbish2, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only a few rooms and all different in layout and decor. Chatton is a small village so not much traffic so position doesn't matter”
 of 5 bubbles 383williamf, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Amerside Moor is a delightful room”
 of 5 bubbles DrHughes777, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All nice, but some might have better views/ less noise than others.”
 of 5 bubbles GillyPNorthEastCoast, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay