We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Noordzee Hostel

Booking.comUS$30*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$50*
US$30*
US$50*
US$50*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Noordzee Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Start your review of Noordzee Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The rooms were filthy and not worth the price. Very over price foods and services. Not polite, courteous and helpful staffs. Their pool will only fit in 1 person LOL... and the place is just right next to a cemetery and so far from the town and stores. Transportation is so hard that you'll end up locked up in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRE P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The main problem is that they charge you more money when you get there than they say on hostelworld! 899php for an air con dorm room! They tried to over charge us when we left. This place is a 25 minute bus ride to the town so very out of the way. There is literally NO where else to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle G
NoordzeeHostel, Manager at Noordzee Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Danielle! Thank you for your review. First of all we are sorry that you have not experienced our place as most others do. We take every review serious but we would like to respond on some of your comments. Our room rates are subject to change daily. Online advertised prices are the prices you pay with us.. we don't...

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

The place was very nice, but it is really pricy. It is a bit far away from everything and you need to get a bus outside to move around, but the service is very irregular. The area itself is not the best place in the world and the beach is not good at all, but the installations are very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elena B
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Slept on a so called luxury dorm. Nothing luxurious there. Thin matras, no bed lamp or possibility to charge your devices. Room was very hot. Pool is even smaller than you can imagine. Food was a bit high priced but moreover the food portion was way too small. A backpacker vibe was not really there. Loud music in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carina850
NoordzeeHostel, Manager at Noordzee Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time writing your second review! We are sorry about your experience. Although we would like to mention that it can help to direct contact management or talk to our staff. We are here to make things better for our guests. We have construction going on and that will be over this week. We are building a...

Suwon, South Korea
Reviewed 30 January 2017

I stayed here with some friends Feb. 2016 and it was a really nice place. We took the bus from Cebu City and it was a mission, but worth it. It's a good place near the beach and a short bus ride away from the whale shark stuff in Oslob. It's also close to waterfalls and canyoning, if that's what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allison Q
NoordzeeHostel, Manager at Noordzee Hostel, responded to this review

Super cool that you've taken the time to write a review! Thank you for staying with us and have a great journey!

Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

It has a good view. Thats the only positive point I can think of. Im not sure what this place wants to be, they have hotel prices but poor hostel ammenities.. I stayed in the aircon room which was clean, but misses standard (easy to fix) equipment, like a night stand, hangers in the bathroom etc. We paid more than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brentbodenhorst
NoordzeeHostel, Manager at Noordzee Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time writing your review! We are sorry that you had not the experience we are trying to maintain. Our prices are based on actual costs, we are not trying to pretend anything, based on your booking information and assumptions in your review we have indication that you was expecting a 5 star hotel while we are...

Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Me and my friend decided to stay in this hostel because it was close to oslob: the place where you can swim with whalesharks. After a 3 hour taxidrive from cebu airport we arrived here and we were really suprised how nice this hostel was. It is far from the city but this place is so relaxed! It is clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tessa S
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

This was one of the reasons that I went to Cebu and it was a super cool place, like everybody saying. Nice price, nice people, nice place on the island. I stayed for a week and that's not to much time. Thanks guys.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacob Bo J
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewed 2 December 2016

last time we were here was 2 years ago and a lot has changed for the even better. more rooms and the beach side has improved a lot. very recently they added beds at the beach side which are very comfortable. a (very) small swimming pool is good for cooling down. there are rooms for couples as well as for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joopvankessel
Cerritos, California
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

When I first arrived to Cebu, the people were great and so accommodating. I hopped in a cab and took the 3 hour drive all the way down to Boljoon. I paid 2300Php for a cab. I would suggest taking the yellow, air conditioned "Ceres" buses instead. You will get there in just about the same time for only 128Php....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mugshotmonkeez
NoordzeeHostel, Manager at Noordzee Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your detailed review! We really appreciate that you took the time to write your experience about Noordzee Hostel. We are happy that you've enjoyed your stay so much and even though you liked it already we keep working to making things even better! :) Thanks again for staying with us and have a great journey!

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boljoon
18.3 mi away
Eden Resort
Eden Resort
#1 of 1 in Oslob
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaynet Oceanview Resort
Jaynet Oceanview Resort
#1 of 1 in Boljoon
6 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#1 of 1 in Alcoy
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Granada Beach Resort
Granada Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Boljoon
189 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#11 of 20 in Oslob
46 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dive Point Alcoy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Noordzee Hostel Boljoon. Our hostel is located in the beautiful south of Cebu island between Oslob and Alcoy. We've build our hostel right on the beach. We offer dorm, family and private rooms. Enjoy our a la carte restaurant/bar on the rooftop of the dorm building. Ready to watch whale sharks, turtles and dolphins? Every mayor attraction in the south is just 30 minutes from here. If you don't like to go out you can just relax on our hostel property ground. We have our own boat, windsurfing, sports and snorkeling equipment available. See you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Noordzee Hostel

Address: Natalio Bacalso Avenue, Boljoon 6024, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Boljoon
Price Range: £14 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Noordzee Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Noordzee Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noordzee Hostel Boljoon, Cebu Island, Philippines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Noordzee Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Noordzee Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely get the Deluxe with amazing view.”
  • View from the Restaurant.
Giandiving, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The 3 person room has only two beds.”
Hopk4626, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I don't know if they have AC rooms but mine was fine at night with the windows open and the fan going. ”
raydinie, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“There dorms are where it is at if you are on a budget. They are equipped with fans, and have an ensuite bathroom. Plus, you have your own deck to watch the ocean and have a few beers!”
footstepf, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
“don't spend too much time in your room unless your needing the rest , get outside and enjoy the ocean front , the water or the company with a great feed and a couple of beers !!”
cairnstourist, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$30* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$50
Hotels.comUS$50
Orbitz.comUS$50
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates