We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Casino Morelia

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Casino Morelia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Casino Morelia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 107: English reviews
Whittier, California
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Our stay at Hotel Casino Morelia was pleasant. The room and amenities were okay, nothing extravagant. We stayed in a room near the back (Rm 303) and was perfect since we couldn't hear much of the noise coming from the outside. Housekeeping did a good job cleaning the rooms daily. The restaurant (Lu) located adjacent to the hotel had good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KNM-Esc
TUROTEL, Gerente at Hotel Casino Morelia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel Casino Morelia. We are so glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience occurred in the bathroom. We solved this issue immediately. It will be a real pleasure to host you again. We look forward to...

Reviewed 14 September 2016

We were on a work trip in Michoacán and we picked Morelia to stay, Hotel Casino is very well located right in the heart of colonial Morelia. The hotel is small but nice, it doesn't have A/C since is an historic building but they facilitated a fan and it was more than enough. The price is good as well and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pacodelacruzg
TUROTEL, Gerente at Hotel Casino Morelia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comment. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and cuisine. Will be a pleasure to see you soon!

Lincolnton, North Carolina
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Housed in a colonial building, Hotel Casino Morelia has charming public spaces and comfortable modern rooms. A big plus is LU Restaurant on the property. Staying here puts you in walking distance of all of historic Morelia. I liked it so well that I stayed here twice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peripatetic845
TUROTEL, Gerente at Hotel Casino Morelia, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to know you liked our location, service and traditional cuisine. We would be delighted to welcome you back soon!

Holland, MI
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Location is fabulous and set on an 18th century home. Staff was polite. Cathedral s right in front and, despite a vibrant and lively downtown scene, the room was quiet and good to sleep in. Despite calling ahead and getting a confirmation, there were issues with the room I had been promised. The view of the room was way less...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rod48533
TUROTEL, Gerente at Hotel Casino Morelia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comment. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location. We always try to accomplish all requirements of our guest; nevertheless, these are subject to availability. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations at that time. Will be a real pleasure to host...

Lima, Peru
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

A last minute decision it proved to be cheap comfortable and friendly . Room was spacious and bed comfortable. Its central location was perfect. Bathroom was a good size although the sink was smallish. Free water was provided and coffee making facilities . A good place to stay in Morelia.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
TUROTEL, Gerente at Hotel Casino Morelia, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your comment, thank you very much for share it. It is so pleasing to know we fulfilled all your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Cape Town
Reviewed 27 April 2016

As has been noted by so many guests of the hotel, it is ideally located in the best part of the city for any visitor. The proximity of the beautiful main plaza and so many of the principal attractions was one of the reasons we selected this hotel, and we weren't disappointed. In selecting the hotel we were also convinced...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley L
TUROTEL, Gerente at Hotel Casino Morelia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and service. We apologize for the internet inconvenience; actually, we have improved it. Will be a pleasure to see you soon!

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 25 March 2016

The location is excellent. The hotel is nice and clean. The staff was very nice and accommodating. However, $110 was stolen from my safe deposit box in the reception area. Apparently at least one member of the staff is a thief.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jomajuwa
TUROTEL, Gerente at Hotel Casino Morelia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. We apologize for the inconveniences; during your stay, our Guest Service Manager explained to you it was a confusion and solved the matter at the same time. We look forward to your next visit!

Ajijic, Mexico
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

The location of the hotel is very central and across from a lovely garden area. We were close to restaurants and several galleries and museums. When we arrived after a 4 hour bus trip, only 3 of our 6 rooms were ready.We were given free drinks on the patio and the staff were very obliging, but we were to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
TUROTEL, Gerente at Hotel Casino Morelia, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. We apologize for the inconveniences; we take note in order to improve our service. Hoping to have the opportunity to host you soon again. Kind regards!

Tijuana, Mexico
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

Right in front of the main plaza, clean and comfortable. Rooms are big with a lot of space, the internet is sssllloooowww. Many people have complained about the noise, we had a room on the third floor facing the street and have no problem with that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
TUROTEL, Gerente at Hotel Casino Morelia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and service. Will be a pleasure to see you soon!

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We had a back room so had no problem with noise though there was a bad sewage smell every morning. Great restaurant and a lovely place to sit for an hour with a beer. We booked a monarch butterfly tour from here!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tripwithkids2016
TUROTEL, Gerente at Hotel Casino Morelia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Your remarks constantly help us in improving our standards and the service to our guests. Finally thank you for your recommendations to other travelers. We very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morelia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Soledad
Hotel de la Soledad
#1 of 67 in Morelia
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
Hotel Virrey de Mendoza
#10 of 67 in Morelia
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alameda Centro Historico Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
Casa Jose Maria Hotel
#5 of 67 in Morelia
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cantera Diez Hotel Boutique
0.0 mi away
Mision Catedral Morelia
Mision Catedral Morelia
#22 of 67 in Morelia
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Casino is a gourmet hotel in an 18th century building, located in the heart of the Historic Center, across the street from the Cathedral with the atmosphere of the picturesque city arches of Morelia, a city declared a UNESCO World Heritage site.Surrounded by museums, galleries, shops, theaters, movie houses, and restaurants.Perfect for those who travel for either pleasure or business.The rooms are traditional Morelia style with a modern shine,some with a view of the Cathedral and all with valet parking, Internet service, business corner, and the restaurant LU COCINA MICHOACANAwhere you will enjoy an unforgettable gastronomic experience ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Casino Morelia

Address: Calle Hidalgo No. 229, Morelia 58000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Michoacan > Morelia
Price Range: £35 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casino Morelia 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casino Morelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Morelia
Best Western Morelia
Morelia Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Casino Morelia staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Casino Morelia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with a balconey if you like”
  • When we returned the street had a auto show on it. Was Mardi Gras week
  • View of street party from our room
  • View at night from our Balcony
TarisTravels, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“up stairs is quieter”
Kiararamirez, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The plaza rooms are very noisy, so if that bothers you, ask for an inside room.”
JacquieE, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are centered around an open area. They are quiet even if things are going on below.”
617vickin, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor rooms (3rd floor) apparently have a good view of the avenue in front but ony have a single queen-size bed.”
rod48533, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5