We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Retallack Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1554)
Room & Suite (123)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Up to 10% off
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 special resort in St Columb Major
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Beautiful Cornish Resort & Spa Located in a secluded countryside spot close to the beach, there's no better place to truly relax than at the beautiful Retallack Resort & Spa. With exclusive barns and lodges, some with hot tubs, your perfect holiday memories start here.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Water park
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Iron
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Hotel links
Special Price:Up to 10% off
2,157Reviews73Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 878
  • 581
  • 326
  • 175
  • 197
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Lisa M wrote a review 12 Apr
3 contributions
We had a good week here which was a relief after reading the reviews. I rang in advance to express my concerns and get some reassurance. Our accommodation was clean and nicely styled and a great size. It had everything you needed in a welcome pack but won’t last a week so we did bring plenty of supplies. It’s true the barn was tired in some areas and in need of some love, a lick of paint both inside and out, the dining table was a bit rough and sofa and there was a cupboard door just missing which just looked shabby. For the price you pay, I’d expect it to not look shabby. Beds, linen and towels all great quality and comfy. Please put some hooks on the back of doors or in hallways for coats and towels and put in toilet roll holders (it’s the small things!) The bar area and surf simulator were great. Didnt eat in the restaurant. Pool tired too, lockers had no locks. Staff friendly and helpful and shop had everything you needed. All in all a good week but could do better.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring extra toilet roll!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Emily S wrote a review 10 Apr
1 contribution
+1
As a group of four adults and four children we stayed in The Willows 38. We had an early check in which was great until we arrived to find the standard of cleanliness was poor to say the least. The accommodation was dog friendly, not being a problem as we have dogs at home but we hadn’t brought them with us. The bedsheets were littered with stains and black dog hairs and that was theme of the whole place. The housekeeper was contacted and she did come promptly (and was very apologetic) and changed all the sheets and hoovered but it wasn’t nearly enough. There was dog hair all over the floors, under all the furniture, tables, inside the washing machine (which we discovered after washing our clothes!), side tables hadn’t been wiped and the soap in the bathrooms appeared to have been watered down. We also encountered one of the toilets becoming blocked mid stay. On check out we lodge a complaint with Self cater Cornwall who manage the property only to be told we hadn’t left the property as found, unlocked doors and windows - a complete lie, that “it’s impossible to remove every dog hair” and they in fact will possibly charge US for the plumber coming out. We have stayed in many properties that are dog friendly and have never encountered one where you could tell there was a dog in the property previously so this was in fact a case of poor cleaning (if any). Every correspondence so far from Self Cater Cornwall has been passive aggressive and far from apologetic. Unfortunately Id advise you stay well clear of Self Cater Cornwall and this particular property if you value good cleaning skills.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Maps655225 wrote a review 9 Apr
1 contribution
I appreciate that it’s self-catering, but I wasn’t expecting to have to bring my own toilet roll! The heating did not work in the apartment at all, every time you try and cook anything - the fire alarms go off, there was mould around the doorframes, the radio didn’t work and hadn’t been PAT Tested in years (so I was quite thankful it didn’t work anyway). It’s a nice location, but I feel like we’re just trying to scrimp and save for no real reason. With a bit of work, it could be lovely…
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your own toilet roll!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tcwoods22 wrote a review 6 Apr
Devon, United Kingdom32 contributions37 helpful votes
Disappointed!!!! The Calypso lodge itself was a great space for having a family get together with plenty of amusements in the form of a pool table,pac man and board games but there were issues…..the shower pressure is terrible,the water cut out intermittently making it a pain to wash your hair!Theres no full length mirror and only one dressing table to cater for the four bedrooms/8 guests-not ideal!There was no socket on my side of the bed to charge my phone overnight. The properties are all overlooked from every aspect with no screening for privacy and I could smell a faecal odour outside and what smelled like cat urine inside! The veranda on the front is balustraded however the gate broke and we were told someone would come to fix it but no one showed!!!Considering we had a toddler/dog in tow and it was on a road it was an out of bounds area as it was unsafe! Every cupboard in the kitchen was overstocked with pots and it was nigh on impossible to find somewhere to store our shopping delivery,and the fridge is a standard size which isn’t adequate for 8 people. The site itself is not a resort by any means, I felt it was likened to Stepford.The facilities were minimal over the Easter period,the childrens play area is dilapidated and the spa looks like a shed. It’s a shame because there’s so much potential there but as it is it’s a complete letdown and I wouldn’t return there. If you like being overlooked and sit around watching tv then this is perfect for you!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Aesharpe86 wrote a review 6 Apr
Plymouth, United Kingdom64 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
We've stayed at Retallack many times and always enjoy ourselves. We stayed in an 8 berth lodge for Easter weekend. The lodge was roomy and very comfortable but there were some points where you could see it was looking tired and we were missing a dining chair (only 7 whereas there were 8 of us staying there). The beds were comfy and facilities worked as expected. We had a hot tub which felt private, out of the view of the other lodges. The site facilities were good but we felt the activities for children could be improved. The playground by the main car park needs a lot of upkeep; the climbing frame was boarded up and the zip line was broken. Our family enjoyed the Flowrider and swimming pool but missed being able to do the Aquapark and Wakeboarding (no fault of the company, closed for weather). We ate at the lookout, which was lovely and our server was incredible. She went out of her way to keep my daughters happy and entertained. We also stopped in the bar of the lookout multiple times for drinks and snacks which were always fab. They had a great selection of local drinks available which is appreciated. Great location, only a 10-15 drive from Padstow. We brought our dog and he was left a doggy goodie box which was a nice touch. Will definitely be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Brummiegirlie wrote a review Mar 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom59 contributions35 helpful votes
Fabulous resort with great facilities and a wonderful location! Given the mix of reviews I was worried, however there was no need. We stayed in an air BnB lodge and it was perfect. Spotlessly clean, handy little welcome pack, towels, hand wash etc… all available on arrival. Handy little shop onsite. Also used the cafe which is reasonably priced. All in all a great trip!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ensure you pre book the pool.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MutziB wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions6 helpful votes
Family of 3. Easter stay. The kids playground is terrible, the pirate ship is boarded up, the flying fox/zip wire is broken, only swings and a see-saw. Very sad looking playground. The facilities that were advertised online as opening for Easter Holidays such as the aquapark and wake boarding, are not opening until the 8th April. The Cafe there also, not open. The main restaurant and bar were only offering drinks for several days. No food at all. The pool you have to book a time slot, as the pool is very small and doesn't meet the needs of the whole resort at peak times. The change facilities are very basic too and absolutely freezing, so getting yourself and your toddler dried and dressed after a swim results in you freezing. False advertising all round. You'd think they'd have arranged an Easter egg hunt for Easter...so many missed opportunities to make this a great resort but the care factor is just not there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alison T wrote a review Mar 2024
Plymouth, United Kingdom94 contributions49 helpful votes
Stayed in Alpine style lodge No 58. Bad signage. Took ages to find. Pair of underpants left in bedroom cupboard. Kitchen dirty. Place mats had food smeared over them. As did the chopping board. Knives filthy with grease. Crockery and utensils had to be re washed. Oven didn’t have any shelves. Hob had one ring not working. After pointing this out, no replacements. Boiler showing F28 code hence no heating/hot water which wasn’t remedied until midday the next day. Sadly same fault reoccurred after an hour of engineer fixing. Had to wait for him to return and fix again. Sadly the heating still didn’t work as gauge in hallway only seems to work on 35 degrees?! Spent two nights without heating. Not good for our baby Grandaughter. Went for a meal the first eve at the Lookout. Short staffed, mixed up our food/drink orders and one meal never materialised. Manager was supposed to ring today to discuss - no call. Very sad as I have had some great stays previously here but this last one will be my last. The lodge was in need of refurbishment and a deep clean. However the beds and bedding were clean and comfortable. Sadly you can’t get in until 4pm and have to vacate at 10am so I cannot understand how Retallack staff haven’t the time to thoroughly check and clean. It’s a shame as the location is ideal for local beaches, pubs and Padstow close by.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t bother!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Away Resorts, General Manager at Retallack Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
We are so sorry to hear about the problems that arose on your stay, please know that at Away Resorts we have a very high standard of cleanliness, health and safety and customer care, across all of our parks. We cannot apologise enough that these have not been met on this occasion. If you wished to give us another try, you are fully entitled to use the returning discount on one of our other 20+ resorts. If you run into any problems, please give us a call on 01442 506 202.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
paulbcornwall wrote a review Mar 2024
United Kingdom552 contributions70 helpful votes
Fantastic place, great staff and wonderful accommodation. The barn was simply put, amazing! Spotlessly clean, well appointed, and super comfortable. The facilities are great, the pool was a welcome break from the terrible weather (March in Cornwall), and the staff are always friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to ensure a good stay. Can't wait to go back!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Away Resorts, General Manager at Retallack Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thankyou so much for the 5 stars and your lovely review! We are delighted you had a good stay and will be sure to pass this onto the team on park. Be sure to come back soon! :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tess20102010 wrote a review Mar 2024
Tavistock, United Kingdom88 contributions130 helpful votes
We rented a large pet friendly lodge with hot tub. Sleeps 8. Positives: ✔️resort is clean and well maintained ✔️hot tub was warm so we could use on arrival ✔️ pool access good Negatives: ❌Car park space for one car only - we needed way more space and the recommended parking was 5 mins from the lodge ❌2 loo rolls only provided, spoke to reception, they only provide one roll per bathroom - for 8 people, for 3 nights 😳 ❌ awful smell coming from one of the en-suite bathrooms, so bad we couldn’t use it, reported it, told to run hot taps, didn’t work ❌ not enough sofa space for 8 people, meaning 3 had to sit at dining table
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Bring your own loo roll!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Away Resorts, General Manager at Retallack Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience on site. If you did wish to raise this, please email us on guestsolutions@awayresorts.co.uk and our customer care agents will be in contact as soon as possible.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St Columb Major area.
PRICE RANGE
£84 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
retallack hotel st columb major, retallack hotel cornwall
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallSt Columb Major
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RETALLACK RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews (Cornwall)

Frequently Asked Questions about Retallack Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Retallack Resort ?
Nearby attractions include Screech Owl Sanctuary & Animal Park (3.5 miles), Cornish Birds of Prey CIC (0.4 miles), and The Camel Trail (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Retallack Resort ?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Retallack Resort ?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Retallack Resort ?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Retallack Resort ?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Retallack Resort ?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ring O Bells, The Old Mill Bistro, and St Mawgan Tea Room and Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Retallack Resort ?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Retallack Resort ?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Retallack Resort ?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Retallack Resort ?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Eval Church (4.2 miles), Castle an Dinas (2.3 miles), and Castle-an-dinas and Menalhyl Valley Circular Walk (1.5 miles).
Is Retallack Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.