Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall

Traveller (1600)
Room & Suite (123)
Retallack Resort and Spa
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 special resort in St Columb Major
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Beautiful Cornish Resort & Spa Located in a secluded countryside spot close to the beach, there's no better place to truly relax than at the beautiful Retallack Resort & Spa. With exclusive barns and lodges, some with hot tubs, your perfect holiday memories start here.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Water park
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Iron
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Hotel links
Special Price:Up to 10% off
2,172Reviews73Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 884
  • 583
  • 326
  • 177
  • 202
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JulietteA1982 wrote a review Jul 2021
East Grinstead, United Kingdom124 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from an excellent break at a brand new premium 2 bed barn in ‘The Meadows’ part of the resort. The location of the barn is peaceful with a huge expanse of sky. The interior of the barn is of a very high quality and standard, very modern with some nice touches that make it feel homely. We liked the fact that the second bedroom could be made up as either a twin room or a double bed. Our two year old enjoyed sleeping in a big bed, and housekeeping were excellent in quickly bringing us two bed guards. The sofa and beds were very comfortable and very good blackout curtains which is always appreciated for keeping our son sleeping longer in the mornings!

The swimming pool was unexpectedly large and with current restrictions it meant that not many families were in the pool and times were staggered so that you had plenty of space in the changing room. The pool was a good temperature too.

My husband went to the gym and said there was a variety of equipment in good condition. (Again had to pre book due to current restrictions and it was limited to two households which was good).

We ate at The Lookout restaurant on our first night (we pre booked this via the website, it’s a bit difficult to find this, but it’s under the ‘facilities’ section of the website). The new decor is very nice with a mix of different seating. All of the staff were very friendly and service was quick. It’s not fine dining but the quality was good. The brownies were amazing!
Another night we had takeaway pizzas from the restaurant. They have a new pizza oven and they were fantastic pizzas. Some different toppings too which made a change.

The shop by reception is very well stocked with fruit and veg, meat, frozen food and all your essential groceries as well as Cornwall fudge and biscuits which were handy for those last minute forgotten gifts for the neighbour watering the plants!!

We walked over to the water sports lake and watched the inflatable aqua park, which looked great fun!

The resort is just off the A30 and A39 which we found to be good for visiting various places in Cornwall.

We visited some fantastic huge Sandy beaches nearby - Porth, Watergate Bay and Mawgan Porth. Highly recommend Sunday roast at Ring O Bells in St Columb Major (town less than ten minutes from the resort). It’s a really oldey worldy pub but one of the best roasts we’ve had. St Columb also has a great bakers and butchers and a co-op. Otherwise Tesco isn’t too far away.

We loved it there and will definitely be back. There was a 10% discount for booking your next stay whilst you’re there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book one of the new barns Don’t take the silly B road to get to the resort from the A30! Carry on...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Thank you for the lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best, Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samsgrandma2014 wrote a review Aug 2021
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a new 4 bed superior barn in The Meadows- no.24. The accommodation was very clean and ,unlike other people, we did not experience any problems; everything was in working order.
The kitchen was well equipped, with a fridge/ freezer, washer/dryer, wine fridge and combination microwave/ oven ( but no instructions, so never really got to grips with this appliance). Also a dishwasher and an iron and ironing board, ( in case this matters to you) and there was a hairdryer in one bedroom.
Complimentary toiletries pack in each bathroom and basic kitchen starter pack- you may need to bring dishwasher tablets/ washing up liquid and extra bin liners.

Furnishings were very stylish, but there’s a lack of storage space in the bedrooms and not a single coat hook throughout the property- bit of an oversight.
With 3 bathrooms between 4 bedrooms, a cloakroom too seems unnecessary; much better use of this space would have been for coats, shoes etc.

As others have mentioned, the lighting on the roof decking and around hot tub is not sufficient. The steps down from the hot tub area are unlit and almost invisible in the dark. Take a torch.

Reception staff were very helpful and efficient upon check in/out. We had a Tesco delivery booked for following morning and the young lady at reception made a note of this in order to direct them to the correct barn. It was much appreciated.

2 members of our party used the flow rider, which was voted a great hit and professionally managed. Unfortunately we were unable to book a slot to use the swimming pool at any time.
We did not eat out at Retallack, but can recommend the Tiny Thai in Wadebridge, which was brilliant.

We enjoyed our stay, but felt that it was rather overpriced for the facilities available and in light of the fact that the site is clearly unfinished .The state of the roads in the new area is dire, with pot holes everywhere.
Note that a 10% discount is available upon booking if you are a front line NHS worker; we had to phone and request this.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Responded 9 Sept 2021
Thank you for the lovely review, we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Best, Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Archip17 wrote a review Feb 2020
Christchurch, United Kingdom5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for four nights during February half term. I had read some negative reviews and was a bit nervous about the accommodation but it surpassed all expectations! We stayed in a Superior Lodge 2, which had a lovely separate nursery with full sized cot for my toddler, a double bed for my eight year old, and we had an amazing double room with en-suite and lounge area. Everything was clean, modern, comfortable and lovely and warm. Small touches like milk in the fridge, tea bags and washing up liquid and a dishwasher tablet were really appreciated.

The weather wasn’t great, but having such lovely accommodation more than made up for it. It’s a fantastic location to explore Cornwall from, and we loved coming home and getting in the hot tub.

My son loved the indoor pool and the Flow Rider, and we ate in the Lookout which was good. The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

A fantastic stay and we will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Navigator50958206947, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Thank you for a lovely review, We are glad you and your family we able to relax and unwind in the hot tub and had an enjoyable time even though the weather wasn't great. We agree we are very lucky to be based in an ideal location to explore Cornwall, We will be sure to pass your kind comments to our staff and management teams. I must admit the Flow Rider is a personal favourite of mine although its not as easy as the instructors male it look! We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Kind Regards Joseph The Guest Service Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicola H wrote a review Feb 2020
21 contributions
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed at Retallack a few years ago we were looking forward to a return visit with friends and booked the Premium Lakeside Lodge for 7 nights.

Unfortunately we were disappointed with the standard of the lodge which did not reflect what was advertised on the website and fell well short of being ‘premium’.

1. On the first 2 days the internet and tv did not work in the lodge and then once fixed only the TVs in the main rooms worked for the whole duration of our holiday
2. Fridge and freezer in lodge needed cleaning on arrival, fridge had black mould at back and smelt of milk. Freezer door was broken, top draw was missing and was covered in dirt.
3. Lights under kitchen cupboards were broken and were falling down
4. Worktop in the kitchen had a large unsealed crack which was full of old food crumbs
5. Upstairs in the second living room there was wet and black mould around door and windows
6. Downstairs bathroom had a large open hole by toilet
7. Decking area outside was covered in mildew and moss which made it very slippery
8. A pain of glass on the balcony was broken and covered with plywood
9. Hooks and loose screws in walls
10. Hot tub cover was broken and shabby, it was also was leaking at bottom tap

Areas around the site was looking rather neglected, wood piles in places and outside lights on paths did not work so after 4:30pm it became very unsafe to walk to leisure facilities and restaurant.

Written complaint was sent to Aria Resorts who offered a refund of £10 per person as a gesture of good will - but 5 weeks later we are still waiting for this.

New lodges are under construction at the resort but the company needs to be looking at investing and maintaining what is already onsite.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Explore43543775894, Guest Relations Manager at Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear nicolah91 We are sorry to hear you were so disappointed aspects of your break as it appears your experience was not up to our usual high standards. We really do appreciate your feedback and we will take your comments back to our Management and Maintenance teams and ensure we learn from this moving forward. Please could you email (Justin) on infoivh@ariaresorts.co.uk to follow up on gesture of goodwill offered on resort. Regards, Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison L wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed as a family, 2 adults, 12yo & 9yo boys for 7 nights in a new style barn on The Meadows.

Having stayed in Newquay in May, Retallack is in a much better location to explore Cornwall, 2 mins to get on the A39 but with none of the road noise in resort. 15mins to the beaches around Padstow, 10 mins to Wadebridge where there is a choice of supermarkets, Tesco & Aldi & still only 20 mins if you want to explore Newquay.

The accommodation was spacious & the contemporary style was a nice change from other bland properties we have stayed at elsewhere. The kitchen was well equipped including a much appreciated washer/dryer & a welcome pack with washing up liquid/dishcloths/tea/coffee/fresh milk on arrival. My only complaint would be the bowls were more like a plate. Great for pasta dishes but a pain when eating cereal!

Showers were nice & powerful & no problem running two at the same time. The children really liked having a tv in their room. Plenty of hangers & hanging space but would have been nice to have some more drawers or a dressing table.

Yes, you have to prebook activities & restaurants but I would expect to have to do that at home especially during peak season & there are plenty of emails sent before your stay to remind you & the online booking system for the restaurants & water sports activities worked well.

We didn’t book pool times until we arrived but there were still plenty available as long as you’re prepared to be flexible. The bonus was that there only seemed to be about 15 in the pool so there was plenty of room for people to swim & play without getting in each other’s way.

The resort has expanded a lot since we last visited 10 years ago & the addition of the lakeside activities & beach cafe is great. With so much to do in Cornwall the biggest problem is trying to fit it all in.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Responded 19 Aug 2021
Hi alisonlT6096JY, Thank you for the brilliant review of your latest stay with us on resort. We do hope you come back soon. Best, Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carys D wrote a review Apr 2021
Guernsey, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband, puppy and I stayed here in a one bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the lake for 4 nights. The accommodation had everything you could need (all kitchenware, including NEW sponges/teatowels/washing liquid provided). Very clean with a bath and walk in shower, it was all we could have asked for!

Our ground floor apartment opened out onto a large grass area which made for easy toilet trips for the puppy who made himself at home! Although we did not use the spa, water sports area or pool, they looked in good condition! We stayed here mainly for the excellent location for exploring lots of Cornwall as it was our first time in this beautiful county!

We had a click and collect pizza evening from the resorts onsite restaurant and it was delicious and reasonably priced!

One negative was that we struggled to find where to recycle as we only saw general waste bins around! We also had (what we assume to be) a family split in the two apartments above us and the kids running between the two regularly was very noisy - it didn't keep us up but the noise was very noticeable!

OVERALL an amazing stay and the perfect retreat for dog lovers and explorers!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We booked on booking.com and got 4 nights here for £260! Looking on their website I think it may...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Retallack Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Responded 10 May 2021
What a lovely review. It sounds like you had a lovely relaxing holiday and I'm so pleased that you've noticed all the details that make staying with us special. We do have a recycling centre onsite I will ensure our teams are pointing out where these are in the future. Please do come visit us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth S wrote a review May 2021
9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After viewing the wooden lodges online we were very excited having booked our lodge on the site. However, what we saw online did not match what we were greeted with. Our lodge was spacious and in an idyllic setting but sadly it was tatty and neglected. Both clocks were wrong and not working, obviously no one took the time, excuse the pun, to set them, no proper welcome pack, I expected better. Hot tub took 2 days to heat up to the required temp so we had two days of no hot tub. They said they have to clean it after the previous use and it takes time to warm up, well Hoseasons have managed to have a hot tub ready for use on the day of arrival in the 10 years we’ve been using them so if they can do it why can’t you?? Beds were very comfortable with super softer bedding. As I’ve said the setting was beautiful, like a Swiss village, however, all attention seems to be on the new builds, which in my opinion doesn’t have half the charm of the lodges. It’s a shame that your focus is so concentrated on the new that you’re completely neglected the lovely lodges you already have, that are now looking worn and scruffy on the outside. The new contemporary accommodation puts me in mind of a mining colliery which whilst it has all mod cons and offers luxury, lacks the charm of the original lodges. It also needs more outside lighting at night, it’s very dark walking to the bar and walking ones dog at night, there are some lights but not many actually work. The bar was full in May and how it will cope in busier months concerns me, it’s not at all large enough, considering how much more accommodation there now is. Entertainment of some sort would be nice as it’s a long way to visit anywhere else in the evenings. Also as the setting is quite far from anywhere, more activities would be welcomed, there’s not much to keep you busy and what is there costs a lot. The water park is very expensive and we found a much cheaper one off site with more to do. Someone needs to take the time to think about the needs of those visiting the resort. We still enjoyed our break and I would go back if things improved and there was more to do.
I’ve read some reviews from 2019 that say very similar to me and they’ve obviously taken no notice which speaks volumes sadly. Such a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Retallack Resort, Guest Services / Front Office at Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Responded 19 Jun 2021
We are sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your break and it seems your experience was not up to our usual high standards. We really do appreciate your feedback and we will take your comments back to our Management team and ensure we learn from this moving forward.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Iain502 wrote a review Oct 2020
Berkshire, UK5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The apartment we had was adjacent to the lake. the 'Swiss Chalet' style are away from the lake but look very stylish. The location was pleasant, balcony over the lake. A car or bicycle is needed to get to the nearest town or village. the flat is well-appointed, ours was a first floor, accessed via an external spiral staircase. Very good bed linen and towels. The crockery and cutlery are limited to one set per person staying. I would advise bringing a picnic set too. The cooking equipment and kitchen facilities are all plentiful and fine. The sofa is low-level and the cushions no longer firm; hopefully will be replaced by next season. Controlled access to the indoor swimming pool and gym is available through Reception.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: In the hotel suites, the ground floors have bigger terrace, upstairs is small balcony, but longer...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for your informative review, this will be helpful for our future guests. Thank you for the comment on the sofa, this will be looked in to. We are glad you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalie G wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed here in a Premium lodge (32)
For my friends Hen Do.
We got a mini bus to Cornwall after coming from
Dorset 6 hour trip.
First impressions were amazing the place was beautiful and practically brand new.
We were told the hot tub would take a few hours to heat up (we didn’t check in until 4pm) not sure why it wasn’t turned on for our arrival/check in time but we had a good first night.
There was also a room with a pool table but no ques, after a few attempts at contacting reception someone was going to bring some (we still didn’t get these at the end of our stay)

The resort provide a welcome box which quite frankly was a joke.
A dish cloth, sponge, a miniature washing up sponge and 2 dishwasher tablets (there was 11 of us for 3 nights)
We were also shocked to discover that there was no hand wash or a bar of soap in any of the 5 bathrooms!!! After being in a global pandemic for almost 2 years this was not on!
We brought food ect with us but had we been aware of what was actually provided we would of brought more with us as we didn’t have any transport during our stay.
(They only also provide one toilet roll per bathroom per stay)

The beds were comfortable and bedding was clean.
We were awoken on Saturday morning buy the builders digging and building the foundations for more lodges (we weren’t made aware we would be staying in a building site)

We weren’t aware Cornwall had a huge shortage of taxis we couldn’t get any and missed our lunch out in Newquay.
Oversite on our party planning but again no mention of this in any of the booking literature.
The taxis also see the resort as out of their way and make up prices we spent £200 in taxis for one return trip to Newquay on the sat evening.

We had a good stay and the hot tub and decking area was lovely.
We couldn’t keep the place clean as they didn’t provide a broom or a dustpan and brush.
You will also need to bring bin bags as they only give you one.

If you order a takeaway from the resorts recommended places (on the welcome letter) be aware they only take cash and no card payments, but they do deliver to your lodge.

Overall we had a good stay but not worth the money and poor service from staff.

Hopefully they read this and take the feedback on board.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations, Owner at Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Responded 16 Sept 2021
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. It is great to hear that you had such a great time and disappointing therefor that your rating does not reflect this. We offer self catering lodges, which, contrary to hotels do not offer amenities in the lodges. A welcome pack is offered as a genuine special touch to get guests through the first night should they have forgotten to bring essentials - i.e. a dishcloth, a dishwasher tablet, a bin bag etc. This is an 'emergency kit' so to speak. I am sorry to hear that you did not realise this and expected larger quantities of this in the lodge. Fortunately, there is an onsite shop where essentials can be purchased without the need to drive to the nearby local supermarkets, which is great for people who do not want to bring all the essentials with them and get them as they arrive. It is worth mentioning that you stayed on resort with 12 guests and therefor the return trip on a weekend day in peak would have worked out at £8.50 per person each way, which some people may see as reasonable when taking this into context. In our pre-arrival documentation we do inform guests that due to the process that is required to operate hot tubs safely for your use, the hot tubs may not be ready for use on the first night. Allow us to explain why this is. After the guests have left, 1500 liters of water are treated to reduce the chemicals so that we can safely dispose of the water in the waterways - leaving the chemicals in the water would damage the wildlife in the waterways). Once the chemicals are reduced, we can than empty the hot tub of the large quantity of water. This can take up to 45 minutes, depending on the size of the hot tub and the run rate of the water outlet. We than clean the hot tub and flush out the pipes, this to ensure that no harmful bacteria are growing in the hot tub, which can potential cause harm to you as the user. The tub than needs rinsing, refilling again with 1500 liters of fresh water (this can take up to an hour) and than dosed with chemicals for your safe use. Finally, the water than needs to get up to temperature. As most guests check out at 10am and considering we have up to 90 hot tubs to manage (a staggering 135k liters of water on each change over) it is physically impossible to carry out this process and have all the tubs cleared, cleaned, filled, dosed and reheated by 4pm. Again, perhaps this context of health and safety for your use, gives some clarity as to why the hot tub can not be ready for 4pm. We do give information on local attractions, including eateries and take away places, how these operate is out of our control and I am not sure as to how that impacts on the review of our resort. I am disappointed to read that you received poor service from the staff, albeit that you do not elaborate as to why you are saying this. Should this be based on the above points, than I am sure you can now appreciate that your experience was not marred by poor service, yet by good practise. Having looked into the matter however, the team informs me that you left the lodge in a rather disgraceful state, refused to leave at the check out time and were extremely rude to the housekeeping team, who merely came to do their job. Considering this, it is even more disappointing that you are reflecting your behaviour on the team that is working tirelessly to give people a great experience in times that are more challenging than ever. In summary, it appears that you have come to our beautiful resort in peak season and had a great stay in a 6 bed barn, with a hot tub and a decking area that was lovely, that was marred by your behaviour and unrealistic expectations, which you have sadly taken out on the resort and its team. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen G wrote a review Sept 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just come back after staying in one of the premium lodges, so clean, professional and prompt staff, can eat with your dogs at the eatery inside and out. Highly highly recommend will deff be going back probably the best place we have ever stayed, the lodge was amazing with everything you need in there, and hot tub was so hot and clean. Cannot wait too come back with our doggies. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Retallack Resort and Spa Cornwall
Responded 13 Sept 2020
We really are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I will pass on your kind words to the team who will be so extremely pleased to hear your feedback! Thank you for your review and please do come back and visit us again soon. Kindest regards, Guest Services
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Tess20102010
Tavistock, United Kingdom92 contributions137 helpful votes
No, just parental entertainment!!
Brummiegirlie asked a question Mar 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom62 contributions35 helpful votes
Does anyone know if they provide towels at the pool?
Emma P asked a question Aug 2023
Wellington, United Kingdom118 contributions41 helpful votes
Hello. Does anyone know if the lakeside apartments have hair dryers?
Answer from AMANDA W
4 contributions12 helpful votes
No idea - and I wouldn't go back there if someone paid me to. Awful let down and a lot of the marketing is false.
Gemma F asked a question Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
How far away is the closest beach?
Answer from Tess20102010
Tavistock, United Kingdom92 contributions137 helpful votes
Not too far. Probably about 15 minute drive. It’s not walkable or cycleable with children.
Answer from Niknaks
Harrogate, United Kingdom29 contributions37 helpful votes
wifi seems to be good across the whole site when we stayed
Julie G wrote a tip 11 May
10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Booking activities in peak is essential "
Read full review
Hayley J wrote a tip 11 May
Crediton, United Kingdom16 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here"
Read full review
SpamHead94 wrote a tip 6 May
13 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go."
Read full review
Hayley Graham wrote a tip 4 May
14 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's quite spread out and hilly."
Read full review
Wheretoeatuk wrote a tip Apr 2024
Nailsea, United Kingdom20 contributions29 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use as base to explore, check what’s open and bring a good range of kitchen basics / essentials "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St Columb Major area.
PRICE RANGE
£79 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
retallack hotel st columb major, retallack hotel cornwall
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCornwallSt Columb Major
NUMBER OF ROOMS
300
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RETALLACK RESORT AND SPA CORNWALL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Retallack Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Retallack Resort ?
Nearby attractions include Screech Owl Sanctuary & Animal Park (3.5 miles), Cornish Birds of Prey CIC (0.4 miles), and The Japanese Garden (3.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Retallack Resort ?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Retallack Resort ?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Retallack Resort ?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Retallack Resort ?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Retallack Resort ?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ring O Bells, The Old Mill Bistro, and St Mawgan Tea Room and Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Retallack Resort ?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Retallack Resort ?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Retallack Resort ?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Retallack Resort ?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Eval Church (4.2 miles), Castle an Dinas (2.3 miles), and Castle-an-dinas and Menalhyl Valley Circular Walk (1.5 miles).
Is Retallack Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St Columb Major HotelsSt Columb Major Hotel DealsHotels near Retallack Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire