Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nirvana Resort Koh Chang

12/4 - 5 Moo 1, Bangbao Koh Chang Tai, Bang Bao, Ko Chang 23170 Thailand
love the monkeys
Traveller (265)
Panorama of the Artist's House at the Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
360
Panoramas (39)
Room
Room & Suite (290)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 2 resorts in Bang Bao
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Nirvana Resort is a special place designed to surpass its name. Made with lovers of natural beauty, comfort and service in mind. Nirvana is the special getaway for anybody who is yearning for peace and tranquility with comfort. Famous for its positioning, Nirvana is the one resort on Koh Chang offering views of both sunrise and sunset. Our stunning rock walk offers breath taking views with total privacy. There's nothing like it.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Quiet

Location

12/4 - 5 Moo 1, Bangbao Koh Chang Tai, Bang Bao, Ko Chang 23170 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
Trat Airport
20.9 mi
See all flights
Bangkok Intl Airport
158.8 mi
See all flights
282Reviews6Q+A35Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 75
  • 28
  • 17
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
OneFeather wrote a review Jan 2006
canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This island is full of tourists and we were relieved to be 15 minutes south of the chaos at Nirvana Resort. This place is near Bangbao village.

Beautiful grounds. Great staff. Two pools and only a 12 or so bungalows. The upper rock pool is secluded at shadier (less hot). Had it to ourselves in peak season. Massages around this pool with trickling waterfall were lovely.

Other pool great also with bar/drinks service. Very small beach - don't expect much there, but you don't miss it all. Staff arranged car rental, flights, massages....anything we needed.

Movies available at reception. Rooms large with rocking chairs on nice big porch. Breakfast included and can be brought to your porch daily.

Small. quiet. Lazy. Secluded. 10 minute walk to village for dinner with many selections. Wander over to the neighbouring cliff cottage bar (hidden) for sunset beer.

Really relaxing. Recommended highly if you want to be away for the hoards of sunburnt tourists crammed on "White Sand" or "Kai Bae" beach.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
walker1234 wrote a review Nov 2006
nottingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just got back from 2.5 weeks in Thailand and having not seen this review before we went I'm amazed at the reviews.. We travelled with 2 kids aged 11 and 4 and literally just booked a flight into Bangkok. We flew into Trat and then caught the ferry over to Koh Chang. Initially we stayed North on the island and steadily made our way down south before cathing another boat onto 2 neighbouring islands. The entire island is beautiful and there is something for everyone. Bang Bao is the fishing village and main take off point for the dive boats. Yes it can be quite but if thats what you want then this is the place. The hotel is fabulous and the staff were superb. The Head Receptionist was superb, she has only been there a month and her service was second to none. At one point our eldest son had a stomach bug and she hastily attended to him and arranged and escorted us to the local Doctor who gave him some tablets. The rooms were fabulous, everything clean and immaculate with great facilities such as TVs DVDs, WiFi, CD players. It was hugely quite when we were there and we almost had the entire place to ourselves. If you want tranquility then this is the place. It is on the outskirts of the village (which is literally just a wooden pier with restaurants and shops on it) but you can walk it in 10 minutes along a path on the coast which is much quicker than the road way. The access road to the resort is a dirt path and can be avoided. We hired motorbikes (our 11 year old learnt to ride his first moped here, it isnt dangerous).

I would recommend this place. Its little known, in fact we only heard about if by chance from a recommendation from the owner of Chilli Garden restaurant in Lonely Beach. I would definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohnCHuddersfield wrote a review Feb 2015
Huddersfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was good but expensive. Reception staff were superb but the restaurant was appalling.
The staff were rude - i accept language differences but the rest of the island didn't have this problem. Retaurant staff were more interested in playing on their phones than helping guests - and there were only 10 of us maximum! Breakfast was poor - one dish only - no additional choices!!
Would not recommend or return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped - but expensive
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard R, Owner at Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Responded 9 Feb 2015
Firstly I would like to thank you for mentioning our beautiful location and our "superb" reception staff....I have to apologise for my restaurant staff who did not give you good service and I shall look into that as I have had no similar complaint for at least 2 years regarding restaurant service...sometimes Thai people tend to giggle when they are nervous or do not understand but they do not mean to offend. The next complaint is baffling me totally - you say that there is "no choice and only one dish"...be assured there is a choice of 10 freshly cooked breakfasts on a menu plus fresh fruit , home cooked fresh French bread plus home made pineapple marmalade and freshly brewed coffee. There are few hotels that offer this service, most offering a souless buffet. Finally value for money .... we are a resort with 15 rooms only ....with beautiful large rooms , and two swimming pools and a beautiful Balinese restaurant on the sea...perfect privacy from 3000bht on an island ....hardly expensive!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ivygreen wrote a review Feb 2006
Manchester
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I booked a stay of 7 nights at the Nirvana. We were suprised to be asked to pay 'up front' for the whole stay when we booked through the internet booking agency some months before - never having encountered this before with hotels in SE Asia. We booked a one room bungalow at the advertised rate of 5650 baht a night. Quite expensive, but we hoped it would be worth it. We have been travelling to Thailand for about 12 years and also have visited Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Malaysia and Borneo.

On arrival on January 13th, 2006,the hotel seemed very impressive - set in a very tranquil location and just what we had hoped for. We thought the hotel charming and in a most beautiful setting. The design was very interesting and the room on first sight appeared excellent. There were a few minor problems, there was no hot water and a bulb burst, but all was repaired/replaced reasonably promptly by the staff. There was a rather odd smell in the room and I did notice that the bed quilt was rather musty but gave it no further thought and we settled in to enjoy our stay.

By the third day I noticed an inflamed rash on my body but presumed it was a heat rash or the bites of sea lice (quite harmless) acquired whilst swimming. I gave it no further thought. However, on our return to Bangkok I was horrified to discover that I had body lice. Fortunately, I was able to get the necessary shampoo in the city and through regular treatment and shaving body hair was able to be 'lice-free' in a short while. There is NO possible way that I could have acquired them except from the dirty bed-linen at the Nirvana.

My wife and I have travelled all over SE Asia and stayed in all classes of hotels and never experienced anything like this. This is not the standard of cleanliness one should expect from any hotel and certainly not from one charging such high prices. I was less annoyed at acquiring the lice than in thinking of how much we had paid for the privilege!

On the subject of price I now see on the Nirvana website that the room we paid 5650 baht a night for, now sells for 4800 baht a night. The change in price being effective for bookings made after 12.01.06. Those unfortunates like us with pre-paid bookings prior to this date, even if arriving later than Jan. 12th will not see a refund.

I would advise you to avoid this hotel like the plague. I have included a few photos of the room in which I acquired my little friends....
Read more
Date of stay: January 2006
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard R, Owner at Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Responded 24 May 2013
My name is Richard Rhodes, I am the owner of Nirvana Resort and other Nirvana hotels. Although this review is 7 years old it is only recently that I've learned from Tripadvisor that I can respond to reviews. In 2006 and as is the case today, Nirvana Hotels are most particular about their beds. All beds are fitted with a protection sheet for the mattress, a 2inch pad for comfort, a fitted 100% cotton bottom sheet and a 100% cotton duvet cover over a goose down duvet. The bed linen is changed daily if required or once every 48hours automatically. There is simply no possibility of bed lice! I cannot comment on your rash but it would appear that your spouse was not affected. There has never been another complaint of this nature in the 10 years we have existed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BELLIFONTAINE wrote a review Feb 2006
Bernay, France
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a mixed bag.
We are just back from Nirvana Resort in Ko Chang. The resort itself is nice, but quiet and remote ! If you are looking for activities and fun, don't go there. It is rather a place for individuals and people looking for peace. First, the hotel is located in Ban Dao Bay south of Koh Chang facing fishermen village, 1km walk from main road, so in order to get a taxi, you have to reach this road first dark at night of course (bring your torch lamp !), otherwise rent a motorbike (not recommended at all considering the roads there!). Also, there IS NO BEACH ! Only an artificial strand of sand dirty in the morning (high tides with rubbish from fishermen village). Also the resort does not organize activites or excursions, you have to contact a travel agency in the village...
Next, service is a bit disorganized and not regular. The room service is good but in studio bungalow a larger terrace table would be necessary to eat your breakfast properly !
Otherwise our bungalow (studio) was facing the sea, near the pool, confortable, exotic furniture, but we had a problem with our shower (no pressure at all with hot water) which was not solved during our stay despite the maintenance tried to fix it.
Their restaurant is good and prices the same as in Ban Dao village.
Overall, I don't think I'll go back there, too isolated and no beach which is an essential criteria for me.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MisterC001 wrote a review Oct 2016
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had high hopes about this place when I saw the photos on Trip Advisor, but on this occasion I have to say I got this one wrong.

Quite simply, this place should not be open in the low season. Not at all. There was no restaurant (we found this out by email about a month before our visit), the pool bar was closed, and the sun terrace that attracted me so much, was, erm, also closed. Oh, and we were the only guests there throughout our stay.

We ventured up to the fresh water pool one time, and then quite promptly ventured straight back down again. Honestly, it looked a bit scary. And the fact that the decking was falling away added to the overall sense of doom. Sorry folks, but this is an honest review here.

This place is very tired. It needs some serious maintenance, but the impression you get is the owner is not around much. Me and my wife just found the experience dull and depressing all round, to be brutally honest.

OK, the plusses. The staff are friendly. And the breakfast is nice. And the room was nice and spacious and well decorated and furnished. It was a homely room.

The location of the resort means that you need to get taxis to areas of civilisation. I did try walking back from the nearby Bang Bao fishing village, but was accosted by two packs of angry dogs in the process. Not very nice to be honest. Put it this way, I kept up a good walking pace!

Sorry folks, but I can't honestly recommend this place. It has potential, but it sadly has been left to rot and it's lost whatever soul it may have had in the past. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard R, Owner at Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Responded 24 Oct 2016
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and I thank you for your frank review....down season is a problem particularly with a drop off of visitors generally....We have had problems with the military taking down our restaurant on the water which we had for 14 years ....the reasons are too complex to go into here . We are in the middle of building another one which should be ready end November ....The rock walk is always closed in down season as the rough seas make it dangerous ...it opens when we have lots of sun and settled weatheraround end November....every building is now repainted and refurbished in preparation for the season ....Down season our prices are reduced in every case hugely...in excess of 50% to accommodate a reduced service...We would have picked you up from Bang Bao and also taken you to local beaches and back ....the upstairs swimming pool will be fully operational in November....I hope you will give us another chance to look after you ....all the best
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
N F wrote a review May 2015
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We've arranged via email with "Nicky" (front desk) to stay at Nirvana for six nights at an agreed upon price. Nicky also offered a boat transfer for our family for 2,400 baht and we agreed. Unfortunately on the night just before our visit, Nicky has informed us via email that the boat transfer fee has magically risen to 9,000 baht -- more than triple what was promised. But wait, there's more: a few emails later he has also informed us that the hotel is actually no longer available tomorrow night. So now it's 10 p.m. and our family of four is left high and dry for the next week. Long story short: we've been had. Trust Nirvana at your own risk.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Richard R, Owner at Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Responded 7 May 2015
I am not happy with this .You allow these people a revue when they never stayed with us...that is not right.... Re the boat transfer from Koh Kood to Koh Chang ...normally yes for 2400 bht ...however this was one of the biggest Thai holidays of the year and the service was full...we got an alternative arranged by speed boat but they didn't want that so they "no showed"...we rented the room and offered a room later ....THEY CANCELLED by e mail. Remember everything is fully booked on a national holiday. We bent over backwards for this customer and I refute the claim of "broken promises "and again protest you allowing this "review".Please do the right thing and take it down
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna W wrote a review May 2012
New York City, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros:
Both cliff and beach views
Hanging out with monkeys in their natural habitat
The delicious fresh breakfast every morning
Two really nice swimming pools
Natural habitat and jungle- Views of sunset
Not a "party" place. Very chilled out atmosphere
Our room was really beautiful with free movies, two tvs and surround sound. Our room was seriously larger than our apartment in NYC. BUT.... (see below about our room).

Things to be aware of:
Very remote. Need a car to get around or you are stuck eating in the restaurant for every meal, which is good, but I like variety and it is on the expensive side for Thailand.
It's an hour from the ferry. Also, the resort provides daily service to the Kong Kai beach and Bangbao each day which is nice, but to get anywhere else, you will need to take a taxi, which can cost up to 200Bhat pp to go to White Sands. Other than that, not direct access to the water.
We were in Room 9- We could not sleep due to the noise of the monkeys. Earplugs, music, air conditioner and fan all combined couldn't drown them out. IT WAS THAT LOUD. I don't think other rooms had the same problem. Those closer to the beach and not directly in the jungle probably didn't experience this.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ian528789 wrote a review May 2011
Bury, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all we could not get through to the hotel to arrange a pick-up from the ferry so we had to take a shared taxi. We were the last to be dropped off and the driver would not take us to the door but made us get out on the main road (about 3/4 miles away). We then managed to contact hotel and were picked up after a wait of about 20 mins.
We had travelled from Cambodia so it had been quite a long day and eventually arrived at Nirvana about 7.30pm. There was no welcome drink or cold towels to refresh ourselves and no concern when we said we had tried many times to phone them.
We then went to eat in the restaurant (about 8.00pm) as we obviously we were too tired to venture any further that evening. At 9.20 pm the waiter appproached us to tell us that the restaurant closed at 10pm. No problem we said. He was back 2 mins later with same statement. Do you want us to leave now we said. Yes was the answer so we took our wine glasses along the road back to our room. There was no other bar or lounge area to go to.
The room was spacious and comfortable but rather strange artwork on the walls. The pools were lovely and the location of our room was superb. The AC was rather noisy and the bathroom a little quirky. We liked the quiet surroundings but would have liked somewhere to chill out in the evenings.
The sunset cocktails were a bit of a joke. The first night was ok. The next night we had to wait 25 mins before receiving our drinks (it was the waiter mentioned by previous contributors I'm sure). The following night (it was him again!) he'd forgotten the cocktail shaker! 20 mins. later he returned. It kind of spoiled the relaxing atmosphere we were there for.
I don't know what the rest of the island was like as we were just there to relax but I'm not sure I would recommend it to others.
The breakfasts were great and the food on the restaurant (on our one visit there) was good (it was a shame it wasn't more welcoming).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ed S wrote a review Apr 2014
Hervey Bay, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently paid 50% to cancel at another place not far away called Bhuvarin Resort (Do Not Stay There).
Don’t worry about this place, its a bit old or ants or any of the things I hear about from Farangs, this is a 5 Star place & the staff are speaking English & the food is Fantastic. I am an Aussie & live about 80km up the road. The fresh baked bread each day is 10 Star. I think a Pommie built this place & looking at the staff I can guess where he lives & I guess that he bought service staff from Pattaya to run the place,,,, Fantastic Staff!
If you want to go out on boats then this is the place to stay.
If you want to Chill then this is THE Place, 2 pools, Sundeck bar, jungle walks, Ocean rock walks & they have their own beach looking at Bang Boa Pier!
I guess I am gushing but the other place was a Nightmare!
Cheers, Ed
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book the red & white boats for your island trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Richard R
Pattaya, Thailand
Yes the rooms can be interconnecting and also both have a dedicated entrance
Answer from Richard R
Pattaya, Thailand
There is not a ferry at 8pm ....I think the last one is about 7.30pm ...there are always taxis waiting for every boat
NorthStar601142 asked a question Jan 2017
1 contribution
Can you provide food for vegans
Answer from Richard R
Pattaya, Thailand
Yes I am, sure we can ...please talk with reception on arrival ...they will talk with the kitchen and we will arrange your meals accordingly
Answer from NirvanaResort K
Ko Chang, Thailand
Room No: 9 ( Artist Huse ) is very quiet and big house. this house is the single. no one will disturb you by tv or anything
Clan T wrote a tip Dec 2018
United Kingdom61 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea view rooms are good"
Read full review
JaneMK185BD wrote a tip Nov 2018
Lillingstone Lovell, United Kingdom15 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room with sea view"
Read full review
Tobey S. wrote a tip Nov 2018
3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms on the bay side are nicer.. great views"
Read full review
James5245 wrote a tip Oct 2018
Bangkok, Thailand33 contributions13 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea view room is worth the extra."
Read full review
Munda W wrote a tip Apr 2018
Bang Lamung, Thailand3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just perfect"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bang Bao area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
nirvana resort and spa, nirvana resort koh chang, nirvana hotel koh chang
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Nirvana Resort & Spa
LOCATION
ThailandTrat ProvinceKo ChangKo Chang TaiBang Bao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NIRVANA RESORT KOH CHANG - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Which popular attractions are close to Nirvana Resort Koh Chang?
Nearby attractions include Bang Bao Beach (0.3 miles) and Bang Bao Pier And Fishing Village (0.4 miles).
What are some restaurants close to Nirvana Resort Koh Chang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buddha View Restaurant, Chill House, and Rasta View.
All Bang Bao HotelsBang Bao Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bang BaoHotels near Nirvana Resort Koh Chang
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire