We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Damson Dene Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,054 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Damson Dene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,053: English reviews
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very mixed feelngs about what to write in this review however after 3 days of reflection I cant help but feel disappointment. We booked this deal as a treat for our second year anniversary. The deal was £125 and included cream tea, breakfast and a 3 course dinner. We arrived on Saturday at around 5.15 to check in. The lady...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurenalwayswright
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting and posting your review. We're obviously disappointed to read that you found the sleep quality less than adequate, as well as your comment about cleaning staff coming into your room before 11 even with a do not disturb sign on. Needless to say, this shouldn't happen and we have had a discussion with everyone about what...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

WE RETURNED TO THE DAMSON DEAN FOR YET ANOTHER VISIT. We also took Friends for their first visit.They will be revisiting again in the next 2 to 3 months as they enjoyed it so much. Both myself and my Wife will be revisiting again at least two more times before the end of the year. This is a Very Well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnwmason
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your continued visits and for taking the time to post your 5 star review. We're delighted that your friends had a nice time and will book with us again. Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff. We will keep up the good work and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just come back from weekend away very friendly hotel we enjoyed the steam room / pool etc also enjoyed the meal in the restaurant well priced drinks, we never tuck our dog but very friendly for dog owners , did read a few reviews before we went was sceptical but you should just go see for yourself as everyone has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review and stay. We couldn't agree more with your urging for people to come and experience us for themselves. You can't please all of the people all of the time, but we sure try to do so! Please do bring the nicer weather on your next stay. Thank you.

Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I can't praise the hotel and staff enough. The only thing that was cheap was the price.Tilly our dog loved it, I have got to say a big thank you to vad the bar manager he is one special guy, the beer is great he takes a real pride in his bar. Food was brilliant breakfast was great even got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris R
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your stay and review. I'm so pleased you had such a delightful stay. I also appreciate your kind comments about staff and food too. We'll look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

just returned from a 2 night Wowcher stay ... food was very good , staff were very helpfull ...rooms were up to standard for this type of hotel the only downside was the beer and lagers in the bar , sadly they did not have any guinness ( only in cans ) ... would recommend this hotel to everyone ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goodenoughmick
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and posting your nice review. We're delighted you had a nice stay. We used to have Guinness but, amazingly, barely anyone drank it! That's when we started offering more local beers which guests seem to enjoy better. Thanks again.

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a 2 night break. Took advantage of the complimentary cruise on Lake Windermere which was very nice. I won't nit-pick, e.g. room quite small but had everything needed. Dinner was very good and piping hot. Everything was spotlessly clean. Lovely setting - despite the rain, and only a short drive from Lake Windermere. Highly impressed by ALL...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherinehaigh2016
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and stay. Your comments about our staff are very much appreciated by everyone as well. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will recommend the Damson Dene to others. Many thanks!

Keele, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really could have expected nothing more! The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was superb, the deal (walking in the lakes) was value for money, the bed was comfy and huge, the bathroom was clean and well stocked and the biscuits were refreshed every day. Only thing that could have improved was the weather. But the log fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your delightful review and 5 star rating. We love the title of your review as that is exactly what we are all about here. Shame about the weather, but as they say, you don't come to the Lakes for the sun! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you.

Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I were given this break as a 'Wowcher spa break". Staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal in the restaurant was very well cooked, although could have done with a few more menu choices. Not a modern hotel, more quaint and cosy. Ideal retreat to use has a base for visiting the lake district. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion P
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting on our special offer and posting your nice review. We appreciate the feedback on the menu. With a table d'hote menu, our thinking is to do a few dishes spectacularly well and we're delighted you enjoyed your meal. Thanks again.

Burntwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

I booked this for my lady as a getaway to relax after her birthday and valentines day. It was advertised by Wowcher as a "spa break" this it very much is not. The entrance lobby is nice enough with its log fire, but mostly everything else is a disappointment. The rooms are small and basic and on our second night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dudley P
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

We are so disappointed to read this review and apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you know, we were having issues with the sauna and steam room which have since been sorted. It's such a disappointment that this occurred when you were looking forward to using them and I completely understand your feedback. We wish...

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights in a twin room along with my dog . We go away every year for a girly break and I have to admit that some of the hotels we have stayed in have clearly put us in the least desirable rooms available "because these are the dog friendly rooms". The Damson Dene...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely review thank you. We love that you mention the various departments of staff, it's nice when their contributions are recognised by our lovely guests so thank you. We're happy you were able to bring your dog along as well. Thanks for saying you will return, we hope the next time you are able to take advantage of the wonderful...

595 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (447)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crosthwaite
4.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,281 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,212 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,990 reviews
4.7 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Damson Dene Hotel

Address: | Near Bowness On Windermere, Crosthwaite LA8 8JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Crosthwaite
Price Range: £71 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damson Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Damson Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Damson Dene
Damson Dene Windermere
Damson Dene Hotel Crosthwaite, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Damson Dene Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on ground floor small Avoid Room 25!”
 of 5 bubbles stuartbruce42, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stayed in room 11 overlooking the small lake and garden but be prepared we woke up to ducks sitting on the windowsill”
 of 5 bubbles 350KarenT, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on a Groupon trip so were on the ground floor as we were the last time, the rooms we had were 24 and 28, both functional and comfy”
 of 5 bubbles geob442, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Any room from 13-21 would be the best.”
 of 5 bubbles alanbG8502DF, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“not 28 if you are a couple or have a pet”
 of 5 bubbles mjack2016, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5