We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Avon, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Masseria is an insanely beautiful and historic place in Sicily. The food, wine and coffee are all fresh and superb. The landscape is astounding and hiking around was great. I could've stayed for months (if not years!). Can't wait to return:-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nkaramh1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We had such a lovely nights stay here in October. The staff were great, the food was very nice and the surroundings beautiful. We enjoyed a walk below the mountains with the farm dogs before heading back for a swim in the pool followed by a very nice lunch in the grand hall. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claire T
London, UK
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I wanted to stay at this location. I emailed them asking about availability. No response. I booked via Expedia. Had confirmation. Then the hotel replied saying that they were closed. So, I had to book another hotel. At the last minute. And cancel the expedia booking. Then the hotel said that they were not closed. Just the restaurant (for 2-3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smarcelli
emanuelesavona, Direttore at Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa, responded to this review

dear Mr. Marcelli, just to be clear for people who may read your review: you emailed us the first time at 9:12 pm on the 29th and we answered at 9:45am on the 30th, right as we got to the computer. at that time you did not book throught expedia yet, you made that reservation at noon. you said you...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 21 August 2016

My husband and I stayed here only one day .... Definitely regretting the decision of booking only one night during our holiday in Sicily. The place was a pleasant surprise: the big dining room is indeed the old cellar for wine and it is absolutely beautiful. The sleeping room was very clean, well decorated with all things one need to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paola L
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Me and my wife just returned from a 9 days holiday in Sicily and we spend all our nights (except one) at this charming place. We just loved this little agriturismo hotel and their restaurant with no written menu so each day was a unexpected journey of local food and wine from own winery, all at a very reasonable price....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ólafur H
Peachtree City, GA
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of Palermo and decided to try this agriturismo experience. We were not disappointed. Masseria La Chiusa is about 20-30 minutes away by car. The property is an active farm, and if you chose to eat in, you'll be rewarded with fresh fruits and vegetables from a few yards away. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rock615
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Beautifull hotel on an old winefarm. Very clean and exellent service. The food for diner was beter then the restaurants we went to in Palermo. One downside that it's a bit far away from everything, but perfect if you enjoy the calmnes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christophe D
Aachen, Germany
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We spent a few nights in September 2015 here to discover the southern part of Sicily. We arrived quite late because of the Ferry from Genoa but as we arrived, we got something to eat! The room was big with a nice view! We would always recomment this place. WiFi is free but only accessable at the reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulh4114
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

A great place for nature lovers and foodies - wonderful views, extremely tasty local food (memories of the plum tart will stay with me) and a fantastic level of service and hospitality from Marta and staff. I got to see the medieval chapel in the house, dating back to 1400s; go to the hills and see the view from above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goteborgare
Highland Perthshire, Scotland
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We were on a Wine and Food Tour of Sicily with Esplora and stayed one night at the Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa. On our arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were located up stairs without bannisters and no lift was available, although staff carried our cases up to the rooms. Our room was reasonably well appointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlie_brown123

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giuseppe Jato
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo Casale del Principe
47.0 mi away
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
#1 of 9 in Polizzi Generosa
128 reviews
7.1 mi away
Agriturismo Sant'Agata
Agriturismo Sant'Agata
#1 of 5 in Piana degli Albanesi
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Agriturismo Fattoria Manostalla
7.6 mi away
Masseria Rossella
Masseria Rossella
#2 of 5 in Piana degli Albanesi
108 reviews
43.4 mi away
La Sorgente Delle Madonie
La Sorgente Delle Madonie
#2 of 9 in Polizzi Generosa
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The estate was built between the end of 1400 and the beginning of 1500. It consisted of confortable houses, a chapel, gardens and vineyards, an abundant water supply, two mills as well as a paper factory.In 1740, the architect Venanzio Marvuglia renovated the estate. Today, the conglomerate present architectural features which are the expression of the different changes over time in the arts and crafts. With its sombre but refined architecture where the farming tradition and the bare rock perfectly mingle, the confortable spaces dedicated to our guests open up. The large restaurant hall is the historical "Sala delle Botti" enriched by the ancient trusses and original columns.The Chapel is placed inside the "Baglio", which was once the heart of the social life of the village. The Chapel has recently been scrupulously restored; the work has carefully uncovered the original frescos, tangible signs of the evolution in the figurative arts.Mounted in the Jato Valley, Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa is a precious historical and architectonic jewel and a comfortable solution for those who wish to combine the discovery of feudal Sicilian traditional and cultural itineraries to their holiday relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa

Address: Via Masseria Chiusa SNC | Strada Provinciale 67bis, 90048 San Giuseppe Jato, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > San Giuseppe Jato
Price Range: £56 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at the front with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles charlie_brown123, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Spotty wifi signal, and only available at the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles Sonjee, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“My room, Lilium, had a lovely balcony and the WiFi was strong. The other travelers in my group also praised the generous size and tasteful appointments of their rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles ChicagoNonna, 7 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Wifi is jumpy and accessible in the lobby only”
 of 5 bubbles Inka95, 11 Nov 2014 | Read review
“I think that every room is quiet and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles Z1921XHbarbaram, 29 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay