Fairmont Banff Springs
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Fairmont Banff Springs

405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4 Canada
Traveller (6697)
Panorama at the Fairmont Banff Springs
360
Panoramas (12)
Fairmont Banff Springs
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 6 resorts in Banff
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Located in the heart of Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the world-famous Fairmont Banff Springs resort stands as a landmark in the picturesque alpine town of Banff. This year-round luxury resort is styled after a Scottish baronial castle and offers guests spectacular mountain and valley views, a championship golf course during the summer, unparalleled skiing in the winter, and an award-winning Fairmont Spa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Skiing
Babysitting
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

405 Spray Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J4 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Calgary Intl Airport
67.5 mi
See all flights
9,584Reviews135Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 6,347
  • 1,854
  • 732
  • 402
  • 250
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CKimoff wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My octogenarian mother’s long-held dream was to travel on the Rocky Mountaineer and visit old friends out west. I encouraged her to seize the day and planned a luxurious getaway for us both. We rented a Mercedes SUV from Calgary and set off for the beautiful Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel for a few nights, before boarding our train.

We generally never splurge on valet service, but the kid-glove treatment from the folks at the front came in very handy. A flight delay almost made us miss our dinner reservations at the lovely Swiss Waldhaus Restaurant, behind the hotel. They instantaneously parked the car, brought in our luggage and popped my disabled mom and me into a golf card to get us there comfortably and expeditiously. They even had a shuttle bus waiting, just as we were ready to leave. I kid you not, it was ‘Radar’ like service (for all you M*A*S*H fans)!

After our meal we checked in and were put into a ‘wheelchair accessible’ room outside of the main building. Despite my disappointment at being ‘off campus’ as it were, I tried to keep an open mind. Sadly, the room was underwhelming at the eye-watering rates necessary during high season at this landmark institution. Don’t get me wrong, the view was great, but the room satisfactory at best. The main issue though was the magical mystery tour to get there. Technically it was scalable with loads of time and perhaps an electric wheelchair or savvy/youthful aid, but I’d advise this extended wing be a better bastion for those quite able, fit and wanting a good amount of privacy.

By morning, we realized the gauntlet was too much to manage for every meal, as well as getting repeated access to hotel facilities and grabbing our vehicle. After a bit of discussion at the front desk about capacity issues, etc. manager, Emma (extraordinaire) stepped in. This is when you find out what Fairmont service is truly all about! We were elevated to an incredibly large and beautiful room that also had a jaw-dropping view. We were compensated generously for the inconvenience and all staff took great pains in making the rest of our visit absolutely flawless. Sure, it would have been great to avoid any hiccups, but they made it right and then some, immediately. I’m sure it took a bit of juggling, but when things go wrong, you really find out what a stellar brand is truly made of.

Of course, the facilities themselves are like something out of a fairy tale. This grand dame is definitely an experience that must be added to any bucket list worth dreaming about. The amazing views, grounds, restaurants, spas, pools, bar, golf course, common areas, etc., etc. should not be missed. The nearby village is its own little idyll too.

The rest of our stay was nothing less than perfect (and trust me, Mom’s not an easy lady to please)! I applaud the FBSH for their amazing responsiveness and for making lemons into the sweetest lemonade ever. It must be difficult to manage a hotel that size, whilst keeping everyone happy at peak season, but they accomplished that and much more. Air Canada can take a few tips from these professionals.

To that end, Fairmont has always been a favourite brand of ours and continues to be. They are a luxury brand and thus a bit pricier than some options, but worth every penny. Thanks to all the staff that went the extra mile and made sure this special trip memorable for my mother and I, for all the right reasons. Kudos to you all and keep up the fabulous work – my husband and I will be back to this and other Fairmont properties, as soon as we possibly can!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask to be outside the main building if you want added privacy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Fairmont Western Mountain Resorts, Other at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Thank you for the incredible review. Emma will be delighted to know her efforts made such an impact. It is so nice to hear what a time your family had and we hope the Rocky Mountaineer was as breathtaking as usual. Take care and we do hope to see you back again! ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte C wrote a review Jul 2020
Calgary, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First off I'm from Alberta so I'm not breaking any rules of travelling outside the province where I live. Second, this was a test run of travelling during COVID times and there were a few more steps involved and being mindful comes in handy when it comes to wearing masks, sanitizing and keeping your social distance, but that seems to be the norm these days. My husband and I took a 2-night trip to the mountains to Banff, Alberta and stayed at the Fairmont Banff Springs. We also did some exploring around the town which I will elaborate further. First off we booked our 2-night stay online and the hotel provided a great deal of information before we even left so we would know what to expect when we arrived. The hotel staff were fantastic throughout our stay and definitely a team when it came to taking the precautions with the people staying/visiting the hotel. The hotel was surprisingly busy and got really busy towards Friday/Saturday. All the staff were wearing masks and some wearing gloves. There was hand sanitizer everywhere and they take your temperature at the entrance to the hotel and the restaurants and provide masks if you do not have one. They ask you wear a mask in the hotel in the public areas and can remove them in the restaurants. The Gold Floor lounge is served a la carte style, no buffet at this point in time. I must say they were working feverishly to accommodate everyone in the GF lounge and in my opinion needed someone extra during the busy periods just to clear the tables as sometimes they couldn't keep up but we only waited about 10+ minutes for a table at the most and they were very hospitable and apologetic for the wait. The hotel room was spotless and nobody came into the room to clean while we were there (which we knew and didn't mind). They wait 48 hours before anyone can occupy a room that has been used and we saw the cleaners in white cleaning attire, masks and gloves. The restaurants are practicing social distancing with the tables and the tables are chairs are cleaned twice over before any patron can use it. Also the restaurants are using the QR Scanner app for their menus or you can get a regular menu if you are not familiar with that app. We used the QR Scanner app and it worked great. The Rundle Lounge and the Spa entrance has been fully renovated and are beautiful. We did a lot of walking and went to Banff town on Friday. The main avenue is blocked from Cascade Mall up to the bridge for pedestrians only. This might be a problem for traffic in the summer but it was great to have more space to walk around town. Traffic is diverted a block off main street or if you are coming from Calgary I suggest to take the Norquay exit from the #1 highway (2nd exit to Banff). We also visited the Whyte Museum and we were the only ones there but there was plenty of sanitizer and social distancing in play. All in all Banff and Fairmont Banff Springs has this figured out during COVID. If you are an Albertan or other fellow Canadian that can visit, please do, this is the time to support local.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Manager Fairmont Banff Springs, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 1 Aug 2020
Hello K8385AHcharlottec, Thank you for your positive review and great feedback. The health and safety of all of our guests and staff are a top priority during these unprecedented times and we are happy to provide as much detailed information as possible prior to arrival. We are glad you were able to explore the mountains and surrounding area. Our Resort activities team has a great selection of outdoor activities and are offering some exclusive experiences which I would highly recommend for next time. One particular one that you might enjoy, having done lots of walking, would be our Sunrise Hike which takes you to the top of Tunnel mountain where you can enjoy 360 degree views of Banff. We are delighted to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy our newly renovated Rundle bar and Willow Stream Spa also. We hope to welcome you back to the Fairmont Banff Springs for another stay-cation again soon. - Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kolumba125 wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First off I'm from Alberta so I'm not breaking any rules of travelling outside the province where I live. Second, this was a test run of travelling during 2020 and there were a few more steps involved and being mindful comes in handy when it comes to wearing masks, sanitizing and keeping your social distance. My husband and I took a 2-night trip to the mountains to Banff, Alberta and stayed at the Fairmont Banff Springs. First off we booked our stay online and the hotel provided a great deal of information before we even left so we would know what to expect when we arrived. The hotel staff were fantastic throughout our stay and definitely a team when it came to taking the precautions with the people staying/visiting the hotel. The hotel was surprisingly busy and got really busy towards Friday/Saturday. All the staff were wearing masks and some wearing gloves. There was hand sanitizer everywhere and they take your temperature at the entrance to the hotel and the restaurants and provide masks if you do not have one. They ask you wear a mask in the hotel in the public areas and can remove them in the restaurants. The Gold Floor lounge is served a la carte style, no buffet at this point in time. I must say they were working feverishly to accommodate everyone in the GF lounge and in my opinion needed someone extra during the busy periods just to clear the tables as sometimes they couldn't keep up but we only waited about 10+ minutes for a table at the most and they were very hospitable and apologetic for the wait. The hotel room was spotless and nobody came into the room to clean while we were there (which we knew and didn't mind). They wait 48 hours before anyone can occupy a room that has been used and we saw the cleaners in white cleaning attire, masks and gloves. The hotel restaurants are practicing social distancing with the tables and the tables are chairs are cleaned twice over before any patron can use it. Also they are using the QR Scanner app for their menus or you can get a regular menu if you are not familiar with that app. We used the QR Scanner app and it worked great. The Rundle Lounge and the Spa entrance has been fully renovated and are beautiful. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and appreciated that they took the extra precautions necessary to keep everyone safe.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Manager Fairmont Banff Springs, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Dear Kolumba125, Thank you for your positive review and for choosing to stay on Fairmont Gold. Your observations are welcomed as we try hard to improve our service delivery. We are so proud of our Spa renovation and Rundle Bar reveal so thank you for drawing attention to those! We wish everyone in Alberta a safe Fall season as we navigate these times together and we hope to see you again seeing as you are so close. - The Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lwilliams379 wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Greeted when I arrive by the valet staff who made sure my self parking charges were charged to my room, took my bags directly to my room while I parked my car. Self parking a bit of distance in the cold and relatively expensive. Room/bed were comfortable and nicely renovated. Building itself is a bit chopped up and hard to find things. Signage could be better but would not deter me from staying again. I was there for a conference which was well run and good food served.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from banffmanagement2016, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 15 Feb 2020
Hello lwilliams379, Thank you for kindly taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at the ‘Castle in the Rockies’. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your conference and that your stay was comfortable! We sincerely appreciate you sharing your honest feedback as it helps us continually improve the service we provide to our valued guests. We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back! - Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
G Trevisol wrote a review Dec 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The best thing about this hotel is the view and the property.

Disappointment started upon check-in, valet was not helpful and trying to force their services and front desk hoping to upgrade room.

Room was small, carpet smelling and no hot water for 5 minutes. When called for help, they told us to keep toilet faucet and shower running together in hopes to be warm ? Seriously ?

Room service not available due to the pandemic, when asked for extra shampoo and soap, they delivered after 40
Minutes. My wife then asked for towels as she forgot, and the attendant just turned replied back to call and ask. Again Seriously?

Water - they don’t provide you with water bottles, but refilling stations. When asked for a jug of water, they told me it’s safe to drink from the toilet. Seriously? Asked again if they could help me get a bottle of water and insisting in paying, the only answer was the water in your toilet is good enough.

Room service didn’t remove our dinner and bottle of wine left outside the room for 2 days.

Swimming pool pack during covid, warm drinks and no servers to take orders. When asked about one, they sent for 1 round and disappeared.

Restaurant when we arrived didn’t have table and invited us to try their other facility in which was horrible, the steak was cold and salty, and all they offered was 50% off on the food, despite one bite taken and returned. Servers completely unhappy and disregard guest needs. However, the second night we secured a reservation at their steakhouse that I would hate nothing less than 100% and impeccable service.

After an amazing dinner and wine, we thought about having one final drink and visited their lounge, and unfortunately we seated for over 25 minutes before someone noticed our existence. When walked to the bar and asked for drinks, they refused to serve as we were seated on the tables.

After some very thoughtful consideration we though this was due to COVID-19 and moved one to our next Fairmont in Lake Louise, just to reinforce how bad Banff facility is compared to others. The pandemic excuse makes no sense when other fairmont are still upholding their standards and quality.

We have visited the Fairmont in numerous times, and yet we can’t believe Fairmont Banff is a Fairmont hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Manager Fairmont Banff Springs, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 7 Dec 2020
Dear gtrevisol, We are so saddened to receive your review and some of the feedback has us perplexed. It is far below what we normally hear from our guests, even during the Pandemic. We care about your experience and are committed to learning more. A hotel representative has reached out privately to you therefore kindly reply and we will continue our correspondence in that manner. Again, we are truly sorry that you departed disappointed. The Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JJL wrote a review Mar 2020
Victoria, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Here on business and conference so I didn't have the choice of place to stay. Last time I was here I got the impression that many things had started to slide (food, general upkeep, room decor, etc). Happy to report I saw some noticeable improvements.

First, I stayed in the main building this time which is much better than the guesthouse. The rooms are more modern (at least since my last stay and don't know if things changed in guesthouse). USB plugs hardwired into electric plugs, updated bathroom, improved cleanliness (no mold on the trims in the bathroom), better overall room layout. I would avoid a room in guesthouse and the corridor leading to conference centre. The conf guest eat breakfast at the same time and then they all walk to conf centre through this area and it is loud!

Second, was offered in-room complimentary snack and beverage upon arrival. Nice surprise.

Third, I didn't have time last time to try pool and hot tub. Only thing I will say is don't forgot your swim suit!

A few things I think this property could improve:
1. Signage. It's terrible to go from the main building to the conference centre. Eating rooms to conference centre. Try finding the pool!
2. The cafe (see photos). Came here during one lunch break and the line up was out past the conceige desk. About 50 people waiting. When the hotel has 2-3 restaurants ($$$$) and you are hosting a large meeting >1000 participants, needs much better planning. 2 people in the kitchen area making food (two people!). One person taking food out. This is poor planning and management having to make people wait 30 or more minutes for lunch.
3. I'm still not sure why they don't offer return shuttle from town back to hotel? It's a complete waste to send an empty car back. Why not have designated pick up points.

Overall, I'm happy with the stay but still for being one of the centrepiece institutions in Banff, there is still no 'wow' factor. What exactly is Fairmont doing to separate itself from others?

The location is great but that's only because the hotel is the only place nestled in the prime location. This can't be the reason it sets you apart.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from banffmanagement2016, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Hello 360julianl, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the ‘Castle in the Rockies’. We are delighted to welcome you back to stay with us a second time! We appreciate you providing us with a detailed review, as your feedback on the value of your experience is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Regarding our courtesy vehicle we are unable to pick guests up from downtown as we do not have a taxi license to do so. We would like to thank you for bringing these points to our attention as it allows us to grow from this experience. We hope the remainder of your time in Banff was truly magical and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! -Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lovesoccer75 wrote a review Aug 2020
Calgary, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I chose to treat ourselves and stay a night at the Banff Springs to celebrate both our birthdays and our anniversary. I always wanted to stay here since I was a child so to be able to finally go was so exciting! From the moment we checked in with the fabulous agent Carmen to when we checked out the service from every staff member we encountered was top notch. They actually upgraded our room and gave us a very sweet card hand signed by a bunch of the staff and all I can say is the VIEW was absolutely breathtaking! The room was small but we didn’t mind as we aren’t there to sit inside all day and we are well aware that it’s an old historic hotel.

We decided to go to the pool which was like being in a very warm giant bathtub! I have never been in a pool that warm in my life! It was very unfortunate that the hot tub was closed due to Covid but the staff were very diligent in wiping down all the chairs and tables outside plus making sure numbers were limited.
Later that night we went to the Rundle Bar which was awesome! Our waitress was super friendly and very attentive.. The atmosphere in the bar was wonderful! We said we needed to come back with friends.. the only negative is the temperature. It was really warm inside with no cool air at all.. thankfully I had on a light sundress. Otherwise it was perfect!

There were a couple power outages during the night which woke us up , I think it was due to the thunderstorm so the smoke detector started beeping and the A/C unit shut off then on again a few times. Obviously not the hotel’s fault but when we told Carmen about it at check out she was more than apologetic and extremely kind in ensuring that they would take care of us due to this “inconvenience” which was totally unexpected but shows the difference between good customer service and excellent customer service.
We will definitely be back again!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Manager Fairmont Banff Springs, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Dear Lovesoccer75, We are so pleased to know you loved your stay and we are appreciative of your business. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your special occasions! We will be sure to share your accolades with Carmen, the aquatics team and the new Rundle Bar! We do apologize for the power failure and can appreciate this disruption was a nuisance. Thank you for your understanding. It is so nice to hear you will be back again. Thank you and stay well! - The Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fagana wrote a review Oct 2020
Montreal, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a stunning hotel! From the moment you drive up to it, you’ll be in awe; it looks like something out of a fairytale. We stayed in August 2020 and everything was very pandemic safe. The rooms are quite nice, if not spectacular. The staff was on point. They provided masks, gloves, hand sanitizer and the maid service was upon request. The amenities were top notch! The cage in the lobby was quite busy even though there were fewer people than usual and quite expensive but I guess it comes with the territory.the outdoor and indoor pols were also nice but the outdoor one being smaller got quickly crowded. We ate at the steakhouse and it was not mind blowing steak which was a bit disappointing considering the price point.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Manager Fairmont Banff Springs, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 2 Nov 2020
Dear fagana, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are grateful for the 5 star rating. We do apologize that you did not love your steak. Our chef has been alerted and we hope that the server was attentive to your needs, should you have advised at the time. We hope you can return again in the future if you are travelling to Alberta. The Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diana Vacations wrote a review Oct 2020
Toronto, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Fairmont Banff Springs Oct 12 for 3 nights. The check-in was very smooth, they were able to accommodate us right away. Our room was not ready when we arrived but another beautiful room became available and we were able to go to the room right away. Any room you get, even a room with no view will have a view of the mountains around. The hotel is beautiful and has a lot of character, you really feel like you are in a castle. The rooms are nice and hotel interior is well kept and beautiful. The outdoor pool is really warm and you can stay there even in freezing weather, Indoor pool and hot tub is great too, no reservations needed. They take all the COVID precautions like temperature checks upon arrival, hand sanitizers, physical distancing, masks, booking a date and time for housekeeping we felt safe at all times. Service at the restaurants and bars was excellent. We had dinner at the 1888 Chop house, the steak was amazing. Breakfast at Vermillion Room restaurant was great, a la carte dining with great food options and drinks at the Rundle Bar were delicious. You can walk to the town of Banff from this hotel, also there are nice trails around the hotel with access to Bow falls and the town can be accessed by trail from Bow Falls as well. We got to see some Elks walking around on the way to Bow Falls. Easy access to highways, 45 minutes from Lake Louise. The town has lots of restaurant options, grocery stores and liquor stores open late. A wonderful place for a vacation, I would highly recommend it and would love to come back again one day. Maybe when it's warmer but the good thing about going in October was that it wasn't that busy and easy to find parking. There was already some snow but the lakes were not frozen yet so it was a special time to see some beautiful views.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Manager Fairmont Banff Springs, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 20 Oct 2020
Dear dianavacations2020, It was a pleasure to welcome you from Ontario and we are absolutely delighted that you felt welcomed and safe here. This is our ultimate goal. Our team in Food & Beverage really appreciates the positive comments for the venues. We are enjoying this snow and have great expectations for a fabulous ski season. Thank you for sharing and please come see us again. - The Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rlmptl wrote a review Dec 2021
Lloydminster, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we stayed three nights in Kananaskis and decided to treat ourself and stay here for the night on Sunday. we stayed at the chateau Frontenac in Quebec city built by the same person in October and enjoyed that. this is not as fancy but still very impressive and beautiful.

Checkin was fast and easy and we got what we wanted in our room location with a beautiful view and we had valet service which was a must with all the vehicles coming and going. We forgot something in our vehicle and they went and got it. Well worth it.

Our room was compact as per design but well appointed with comfortable bed and pillows and nice decor with a mini fridge, kettle and coffee maker. Lots of nice touches in the room and liked the chromecast for porting your phone. Channel 6 is a fireplace which was nice to watch. Very nicely done. We had 2 housecoats and slippers which we wore to the pool. we were on the 7th floor at the end of the hall which kept away most of the noise and we had good quality sleep not like the other hotel we were in with barking dogs and loud children running the halls.

The pool was huge salt water and warm indoor, a bar serving drinks, one of the loveliest pool areas i have ever seen, a hot tub, lovely hanging plants and beautiful change rooms with warm towels and lovely loungers by the pool. We placed our things including our masks and slippers and housecoats on one end of a couch and came back to find it moved and the entire couch taken over by a family who also took the liberty of using our towels too. They nicely made room for us to sit and got us new towels and yes very noisy with families but we went outside and really enjoyed the hot outdoor pool with beautiful view. If you stay in the corners you will not be splashed by children jumping off the edges. . this was our favorite hotel experience for sure anyways.

WE took the historical tour and loved it but alot closed off for private functions so could not see. exploring was great i highly recommend it. We ate brunch at the Vermillion room on Sunday and it was outstanding. 75.00 each was well worth it and included Mimosas with gourmet food in abundance and friendly service. Reservation was a must and we asked for a window seat which they do not guarantee. Very good service everywhere no complaints. We would come back here in a heartbeat. Come in off season and during the week for a quiet experience but still very nice to sit in your room and feast your eyes on those beautiful mountains even at night with the moon gleaming. Such a magical place we will be back !!.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: higher floor end of the hall for quietness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Experience Manager Fairmont Banff Springs, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Banff Springs
Responded 23 Dec 2021
Thank you for sharing such a detailed and positive review on Trip Advisor! We are happy to see how much you enjoyed your time at the Castle. Wishing you a lovely holiday season and we hope to see you again soon. ~ The Fairmont Banff Springs
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David F asked a question May 2024
Oxnard, California1 contribution
What is the most common crime at the banff springs hotel?
Answer from BrianNElaine
Pacifica, California65 contributions51 helpful votes
Deciding not to stay there
bascombe2 asked a question Aug 2023
Brookings, Oregon51 contributions13 helpful votes
Do any of the rooms have balconies?
Answer from Tony C
Bedford, United Kingdom1,401 contribution307 helpful votes
I know there is a spa but I don’t know the answer. Perhaps email the hotel direct It is nice hotel so enjoy
Shirley2810 asked a question Jan 2023
New South Wales, Australia81 contributions26 helpful votes
What does the laundry service consist of and what is the cost? Is there an iron in the rooms?
Answer from Clarence Lee
Shanghai, China552 contributions56 helpful votes
I didn’t recall there is an iron. For the cost, I think it’s the average standard of hotel laundry price, I.e won’t be cheap
Answer from FairmontMTN
7 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes, our Guest Services team can assist you to find suitable parking if you are a guest of our property and have an RV. It is always helpful to have advance notice when possible. Thank you for your question and we look forward to welcoming you soon. ~ Fairmont Banff Springs
Alex H wrote a tip 16 Jun
Huddersfield, United Kingdom420 contributions119 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay anywhere else."
Read full review
tom a wrote a tip 14 Jun
32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reserve early"
Read full review
Maria L wrote a tip 11 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is expensive but secure. "
Read full review
Denisa H H wrote a tip 9 Jun
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wear comfy shoes lots of walking to get to Banff downtown "
Read full review
Dave11abz wrote a tip 7 Jun
Balmedie, United Kingdom24 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to check the room type when booking and perhaps request a room that has been more recently refurbished."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Banff area.
PRICE RANGE
£771 - £1,001 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the fairmont banff springs hotel banff, fairmont banff springs hotel, fairmont banff hotel, the fairmont banff springs banff, fairmont hotel banff, banff fairmont
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
757
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FAIRMONT BANFF SPRINGS - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Banff Springs
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Banff Springs?
Nearby attractions include Bow Falls (0.3 miles), Tunnel Mountain Drive (0.3 miles), and Surprise Corner (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Banff Springs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rundle Bar, The Vermillion Room, and Grapes.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Fairmont Banff Springs have airport transportation?
Yes, Fairmont Banff Springs offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Fairmont Banff Springs located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Banff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fairmont Banff Springs?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Banff HotelsBanff Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BanffHotels near Fairmont Banff Springs
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire