The Rundlestone Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Rundlestone Lodge

537 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8 Canada
This was a nice place to stay coffee in tge room and lovely views out of the windows they hsd bu
Traveller (386)
Panorama of the Hot Tub at the Rundlestone Lodge
360
Panoramas (10)
3rd floor balcony view of Banff Avenue
Room & Suite (354)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#19 of 33 hotels in Banff
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Conveniently located on Banff Avenue only minutes from Downtown Banff, The Rundlestone Lodge offers a host of amenities including complimentary wireless, a fitness centre, whirlpool, and swimming pool.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot bath
Vending machine
Hiking
Skiing
Kids stay free
Wifi
Indoor pool
Pool / beach towels
Canoeing offsite
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

537 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 66 out of 100
66
Calgary Intl Airport
67.4 mi
See all flights
1,475Review25Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 553
  • 629
  • 195
  • 65
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Moscato-Mama wrote a review Nov 2020
Airdrie, Canada
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family with kids aged 12 & 7 stayed over Thanksgiving weekend 2020 during Covid restrictions. Masks are mandatory everywhere inside the hotel.

It was for sure a different experience than what we are used to but it was a nice little getaway before winter arrived.

We booked a loft room which is quite a bit bigger than a normal room. It had a mini kitchenette with a stove, mini fridge and microwave. The kitchen had no supplies in it, but we called down and they brought up utensils and plates. It had a full bathroom in the main area and upstairs in the loft a half bathroom with toilet and sink. There was a bed upstairs, and a bed downstairs and they were very comfortable. We had a balcony with a view of the mountains. Housekeeping was only upon request because of Covid, we chose to not have anyone in to clean but were able to just call for supplies as needed. Wifi worked good.

The pool was open and you can swim as long as you wanted as often as you wanted, as long as no one was waiting. The maximum was 8 in the pool. There is a hot tub, but it was closed due to Covid which was very disappointing. The showers in the changeroom were closed, but you were expected to shower in your room beforehand, didn’t make sense to me. There was at least three times we had to call reception to ask for towels as there were no pool towels. The gym was open but the sign said you had to pre-book your time. There is a pool viewing area in a sitting area on the floor above.

Only one family in the elevator allowed at a time, which proved to be challenging to be able to get on. There are two elevators, but we often chose the stairs instead so we didn’t have to keep waiting.

Underground heated parking was free, but it sure is low clearance. Says 6’6 is max. and some areas are lower. There was one spot that the roof rack on my Yukon scraped a few times.

There is a kids park beside the hotel.

There is a restaurant in this hotel, but we did not eat at it. The Keg is the next block over inside another hotel and they do serve breakfast at this Keg.

Considering circumstances, overall it was a good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded 15 Nov 2020
Good day, Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your stay at the Rundlestone Lodge. We are currently doing everything in our power to ensure the safety of our guests. I'm sorry that some of our measures may have caused some dissatisfaction during your stay, but we want to make sure that we are reducing communal points of contact and respecting social distancing as much as possible. Our underground parking can accommodate cars under 6 feet 4 inches and some specifically identified areas are a little lower. However, we do have alternative parking for taller vehicles or for when our parkade is full. We hope we will have the chance to welcoming you and your family for another getaway! Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TLStover wrote a review Feb 2020
Winnipeg, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed two nights in the king romance room. The view and the location were both awesome (far away from noise but close enough to walk for snacks and to explore a bit) and the room was superb, but it was the front desk staff (and whoever it was that went above and beyond to find us an HDMI cable to use) that really made an excellent impression on us. We originally booked a one night stay on February 24th, but we were so comfortable that we opted in for an extra night to relax. The only thing I would change would be to add zipped mattress covers as the ones used are not really good for much and slip all over under the sheets if you are a restless sleeper. Also, I suggest calling directly for reservations for best prices and room selection. We booked our first night via trivago, but not all room choices were advertised and our second night booked directly was even cheaper.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gregory D wrote a review Jan 2020
Edmonton, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for three nights, loved the location, hotel itself was quite and so was the area being on Banff Ave and all. Staff seemed friendly and eager to help, especially the housekeeping manager who went way out of his way to make our stay more comfortable;e and pleasant. We were put in a great room with a great view which was only steps from the pool and elevator. Heated underground parking was a bonus as well. This review is not 5 stars because of three things, one: the mattress was very firm and affected our sleep but it's a hotel so what can you do? two: the heating system was very loud, so loud that we had to turn it off overnight when it was -35 and three, we have two messy five year olds which means the carpet needed vacuuming in the first 5 mins we were there. We hoped that housekeeping would have run the vacuum for 2 mins when cleaning our room but this was overlooked three times I guess. Checkin and check out was very easy and overall we would stay here again. The pool area is very nice and so was the hottub.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: only 3 floors, personally we do not like staying on the 1st floor anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KDawn wrote a review Nov 2020
Alberta, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was pleasantly surprised by the Rundlestone Lodge, the hotel, rooms, and pool area were very clean, comfortable bed, very friendly and helpful staff both in the hotel and restaurant. The underground parking is not good for trucks, even though it says the height is 6'4", when you get down there it decreases to 6'1" and you can't turn around so you have to back the entire way out if it's full. But there is lots of parking around back and entrances that are easily accessible. Breakfast at the restaurant was delicious, and they whipped up a last minute birthday dessert as well. I've read a lot of reviews where people complained that rooms were not being cleaned but we just asked them to provide housekeeping services and it was not an issue. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded 6 Jan 2021
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. As you have mentioned our housekeeping service is available only upon request as per covid time. We are trying to avoid all unnecessary contact for the wellbeing of everyone, however we are please to offer the service when needed. It's true that some area of our parkade is lower then 6 foot 4 but those section are indicated and like mention alternative parking is available for larger vehicles. I will make sure to pass along your review to the restaurant Patrinos. We are looking forward seeing you again on your next stay in beautiful Banff. Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
K Vader wrote a review Feb 2020
Sherwood Park, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I went to the Rundlestone Lodge with 13 friends this past weekend and the stay was amazing. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable, the staff was accommodating and very friendly, and the location of the hotel made exploring the Rocky Mountains easy as can be! There is a heated underground parking garage which easily fit my pickup truck and kept all our ski gear warm and safe overnight and the hotel was very competitively priced. I highly recommend staying at the Rundlestone Lodge when you plan your next stay in Banff, AB.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LillyWales wrote a review Mar 2020
Luxembourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed 8 days on a extended ski trip. The hotel is at the quiet end of Banff Avenue the rooms were clean and comfortable, warm and cleaned Immaculately. Great storage, bath and shower, fireplace, kitchen with living space seating. Toiletries were gorgeous. Loads of soft towels, fridge, cooker top and microwave , coffee machine all very convenient. Guests Would benefit from being supplied with a couple of egg cups and a tin opener. The mountain views were gorgeous.

We had a daily specials dinner one evening Wing night , very good and priced at 5Cad with a drink and a couple of drinks in the attached bar. It seems to be frequented by the locals more than the tourists. All very friendly, but not very lively. We ended up going to the Fox Hotel and Chile’s a short walk most nights or downtown which was a longer 1/2 hr walk.

The reception staff were very nice , friendly helpful , responsive, everything you would expect. I used the laundry and vending. Wasn’t too keen on the pool it was very shallow , only really suitable to float or for kids. The hot tub was tame, but nice and hot and with a great park view.

Highlight as well as peaceful sleeping was two Elk , young ones enjoyed eating the greenery next to the hotel , we saw them peeping over the railings as we drove into the car park and regularly saw them beside the hotel. Loved this.
Being hyper critical the rooms were a little bare and dated, but for the budget price, sleep comfort, not too critical.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Kitchenette suite worked well for us.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela H wrote a review Sept 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing stay at the Rundlestone in September 2020. Our room had a beautiful, private balcony. The bed was very large and very comfortable with clean sheets. The staff were welcoming and followed COVID-19 procedures thoroughly (masks, plexi-glass, reduced people in elevator, etc.). There was hand sanitizer for guests, which was accessible in many locations.

The hallways were quiet. Underground parking was free. The shuttles and buses were able to take us everywhere we wanted to go.

We would highly recommend staying at the Rundlestone Lodge in Banff, Alberta.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony on the side of the building for more privacy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded 22 Sept 2020
I'm happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please let us know on your next visit and we will get our returning guest discount! Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
worldwidegneiss wrote a review Dec 2021
Toronto, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Ok. So. Yes an entire review just about the laundry machine. Why, you ask? Well, now that you’ve asked let me tell you. Firstly, kudos for even having laundry machines. So, there’s that. But, here’s where the twilight zone starts. You need coins for the laundry machine. Being like most people now, I don’t carry a kilo of metal coins in my pant’s pocket. So, front desk. Yes, they say! We have coins for you. Great, can I get some and charge it to my room? No, they say! Um, what? Again, no. No? No. Well, ah, how do I get the coins that the front desk clerk is now tantalizingly showing me in a little pouch? You get cash and we change it. She points to a little machine beside the counter. Ok, so, to be clear, I can get coins from the hotel for the hotel’s laundry machine but can’t get them by charging it to the hotel room in the hotel where I have a room - I need to get cash from the machine? Yes, she says. So I get cash. And then go the two steps back to the counter where she exchanges coins for cash from the little pouch she showed me earlier. The laundry machine costs $3.00 per load. Guess how much the service fee was to get cash from the machine? $3.50. You can’t make this stuff up…..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michael Hall, General Manager at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded 19 Dec 2021
Dear worldwidegneiss, We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us was so negatively affected by the laundry and ATM services we are happy to provide to our guests. As with almost all such cash machines, ours is supplied by a third party provider who determines the amount charged for withdrawals. It's worth noting that even with the added cost of a cash withdrawal, the cost of our in house laundry service is still comparable with the cost of the main laundromat in downtown Banff. The added benefit of our in-house laundry facilities, of course, is that it's available 24 hours a day and you can do your washing and drying in the warmth and comfort of the hotel - a convenience many of our guests seem to appreciate. We do very much hope that your laundry escapades did not completely ruin your trip to Banff, and that you were able to enjoy the other aspects of your stay in beautiful Banff. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BelindaRobyn wrote a review May 2022
Midhurst, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What's not to like? We had a huge bed each, our room overlooked the pool and hot tub. We were able to bring outside food up to our room to eat. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. It's located a little walk from town and the trails. The rooms are warm (or cool with air con), dry and have good sized bathrooms. Please can we come again?
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It also has a restaurant within the building called Patrinos. The hotel also gives you a booklet...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lika S, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded 28 May 2022
Dear Belinda, Thank you for choosing the Rundlestone and thank you for your o kind review! Can we please see you again? You can reach out to me directly to book a room at the Return Guest discount. Enjoy your summer!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steffan S wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Katie and I checked into the RundleStone Lodge with quite little notice and the desk agent secured is a room with a kitchenette. The room was immaculate and is a type of room that is difficult to find in Banff, with it having a kitchen. It meant that we didn't have to eat out in Banff for every meal which ultimately saves us money.

Patrino's is the in house restaurant which was closed for dining in due to covid restrictions that had just been put in place. However we could get room service and the food was really good. I highly recommend the pasta nachos which are a game changer in the dinner food world!!

The staff were very friendly and helped me secure my mountain bike in a locked room at the basement of the hotel at no extra charge.

Overall a brilliant 4 days in Banff thanks to the easy going hotel on Banff Avenue.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amelie Plouffe, Guest Services / Front Office at The Rundlestone Lodge
Responded 24 May 2021
We thank you for your review and we're happy that we were able to assist you during your stay. We hope to see you again! Warm regards, Amelie P.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
333kathleen asked a question May 2021
Cotonou, Benin8 contributions
Where do you go for breakfast?
3 helpful votes
There is a restaurant here in the hotel that provides breakfast daily for a extra charge. Their exact opening hours and menu options are currently dependent on the Covid related restrictions that are in place so feel free to contact us directly with your dates of stay and we can provide you with more detailed information. There are also other restaurants nearby that have great breakfast menus.
taramayan asked a question Mar 2021
Edmonton, Canada31 contributions3 helpful votes
Hello looking to stay in May, is your hot tub open? Do any of the rooms have jacuzzis if it is not?
Answer from
Banff, Canada
Hi taramayan, Thank you for your question. Because we must follow the mandatory, provincewide health restrictions, we recommend to keep an eye out on our website for up-to-date information. Currently our facilities are open with strict provincial capacity limits in place, however, these are government guidelines based on the current situation. Pool and hot pool use is subject to change at any time, including last minute closure of any amenities. Some of our rooms have a private jetted bathtub or spa tub. Please reach out to us directly to check availability and rates. Kind Regards, Team The Rundlestone Lodge
3 helpful votes
Hello, Thanks for your enquiry. All of our rooms do come equipped with tea and coffee making facilities as well as a small fridge. If you have any other questions we can assist with please let us know. We are looking forward to hosting you in Banff! Best regards, the Rundlestone Lodge
kingcrew2014 asked a question Jul 2020
Red Deer, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
Is your pool open
Banff, Canada1 contribution
Our pool is open daily from 8 am to 10:30pm with limited amount of people at the same time in the pool. Our hot tub remains close as per the Alberta Health and safety protocol. Please let us know if you need more information. Warm regards, Amelie Plouffe
Answer from Gregory D
Edmonton, Canada106 contributions15 helpful votes
No idea but we saw trucks down there and we got our suv in no problem
auzzigirls wrote a tip May 2024
Gold Coast Australia197 contributions129 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid rooms opposite the return air vents in the hall way as unpleasant when entering and leaving your room, as it's like a big cold air blower. "
Read full review
budsfan29 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Vaughan, Canada222 contributions112 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay the extra for the superior queen room, as they have a balcony and face the outside, rather than facing the pool area."
Read full review
Lance D wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great place for smaller retreats."
Read full review
DayTrip20615728491 wrote a tip Oct 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A great place to stay. The restaurant was closed so we went next door and had a great breakfast buffet."
Read full review
Sunshine635175 wrote a tip Aug 2023
4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"summer is a time for families to come together and enjoy quality time. Separating families, especially those with young children, can be qui"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Banff area.
PRICE RANGE
£147 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rundlestone hotel banff
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesBanff National ParkBanff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE RUNDLESTONE LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Rundlestone Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to The Rundlestone Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Tunnel Mountain Trail (0.7 miles), Banff Legacy Trail (0.2 miles), and C Level Cirque Trail (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rundlestone Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Zyka Elevated Indian Restaurant, Hello Sunshine Banff, and Farm & Fire.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Rundlestone Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Banff.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Rundlestone Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Rundlestone Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Rundlestone Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cave and Basin National Historic Site (1.8 miles), The Luxton Home Museum (0.7 miles), and Old Crag Cabin (0.8 miles).
All Banff HotelsBanff Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BanffHotels near The Rundlestone Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire