We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 200: English reviews
Drumheller, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked a non smoking room, which it said on my confirmation email and was told that i booked a smoking. Luckily they switched me, got into the room and it smelt like a smoking room. We needed to get going so dropped stuff off and cracked a window. Got back around 1am. Room smelt even worse, called the guy at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LDJB89
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For God's sake, steer clear of this place and the threatening management. I have never been intimidated and afraid as in this excuse for an hotel. Corporate would be horrified! I can only hope the home office sends someone to stay here... and let management know what is going on. NAsty people, nasty place. By the way, if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank userrick
Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and didn't have high expectation at first. I was wrong! The room is super clean, quiet. It's compact size but nothing bother us. Very comfy bed.The price is cheap compare to other hotels down the street. Sign up for choice program you will get an extra 2-4 dollars off. Breakfast is simple but good enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJcoolmom
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We take pride in our hotel and our service and are always happy to hear when we exceed our guests expectations. We look forward to next month so we can show you another great stay!

Nanjing, China
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stay here often, and have always found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. Parking is sufficient even though there is no extra space (location is called Motel Village, and the Village is crowded). Especially convenient if you have business downtown or at the university, as LRT stop is right beside the Village. The LRT train runs close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveller99ab
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We're always happy to hear when we continue to exceed our guests expectations and we look forward to serving your accommodation needs next time you're in Calgary!

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Clean sheets and fluffy towels made for a good nights sleep. Hotel is located right off the #1 highway and its close to fast food outlets. For convenience and affordability it deserves top marks. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travellingfool2013
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are glad to hear you had a great stay. We look forward to showing you the same pleasant accommodations the next time you come to Calgary!

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Really good hotel, clean tidy, had coffee in room. Great hotel for an overnight stay whilst visiting relatives. Didn't have time for breakfast in the am so can't comment. But definately recommend especially for Calgary stampede season as not far at all!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to showing you another great stay the next time you come to Calgary!

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Hotel is in Hotel Village across from McMahon Stadium so lots of choices of places to stay. Parking is tight, rooms are a bit compact. Breakfast is included but no hot meal and minimal choices...coffee is awful. Pool is nice but the exercise room is quite tiny and limited equipment. It's an ok place for a night but I don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RempelW
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we're sorry to hear we were unable to exceed your expectations. Your feedback helps us improve and we hope to have the chance to show you a better stay the next time you're in town.

Winnipeg
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Let's start with the fact that the a bar of soap from the previous guest, with hair, was still in the soap dish when I arrived. Let's then add that at midnight, a clock radio started blaring from an unoccupied adjoining room for precisely one hour (probably was unplugged by a guest, thoughtlessly plugged back in by cleaning staff without...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anacreon100
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're sorry to hear you're unhappy. Your comments have us concerned as we have no records showing that there were any issues with your room; cleanliness or noise. We do note that we called your room around 6pm to see if everything was satisfactory and our agent left you a voicemail and didn't hear...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Located short walk from great shopping and eating. Vicinity has good vibes. Staff were courteous and were able to give detailed directions for destinations within the City. Room interior was 33 degrees C (91 degrees F) when I arrived (mid-September!) and it took two hours to reach a bearable temperature. Fit & finish old and tired but I guess in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thengling
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We can assure you that our elevator is inspected every month and our inspection certificate is on the premises. Thank you again and we hope your next stay in Calgary is a pleasant one!

Truro
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here just before flying from Calgary and it was great having free parking. Good value for money for a motel room and the rooms were clean and tidy which was perfect for a short stay. There were local places to eat nearby as well so we popped into Boston Pizza which is a short 5 minute walk away....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosie H
EconoInnsSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're glad to hear you had a good stay with us. We look forward to providing you with the same pleasant accommodations the next tiem you're in town!

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#37 of 109 in Calgary
624 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hotel Alma
Hotel Alma
#70 of 109 in Calgary
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University

Address: 2231 Banff Trail, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Price Range: £38 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Canada, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites University
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University Hotel Calgary
Econo Lodge University
Econo Lodge Calgary
Calgary Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If room is between lobby and road, choose second floor to avoid heavy foot-noise from the balcony walkway.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller99ab, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose an east facing room (unless you like it hot!), east view is pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles thengling, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Top floors in the corners”
 of 5 bubbles DarrylL833, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask a room in the main building”
 of 5 bubbles Celia63, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“So close to the Tom Baker Cancer Hospital. We stayed in the tower. very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles loisp825, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay