We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

593 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 530: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was our fourth time staying at Sunwapta Falls Lodge. Our small cabin was always clean, hot shower working, and just a short walk to the Sunwapta Fall for hiking. The lodge's restaurant offers one of the best breakfast buffet and supper in the Jasper area. Highly recommended if you don't mind the secluded camp-like location, which is 55 km...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2CanadianTravellers
Frankfurt
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The Lodge is just in walking distance to the Sunwapta Falls at Jasper National Park, alongside Icefields Parkway. The receptionists are very friendly and helpful, rooms are @ basic standard and clean and tidy. So all in all suffizient for a stay. Due to it's location the Lodge is easy to find and during nighttime there's not much traffic passing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThePunchBowl
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello ThePunchBowl! I like your TripAdvisor moniker! Thanks very much for choosing to stay at Sunwapta, and for writing your impressions and observations for the TripAdvisor community! For the readers... a few comments! THE FALLS It's so easy to talk about the hotel, the food, the service, but how often do we all forget one of the most incredible aspects...

Reviewed 27 September 2013

It was a super friendly place, clean and comfortable with a lot if attractions around; however, They need a restaurant with pub food or a lunch menu not just a limited and very expensive selection. Two high end for a lodge. Need games in the bar area...not enough privacy on deck - should. Not say its a "private" deck. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanSobo4343
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hi JanSobo4343! Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I really enjoyed it because you've brought forward more ways we can clarify the experience of Sunwapta to potential bookers, and we value your suggestions to expand on the experiences available here. Readers, let me address some of the points Jan has provided: DECKS Readers, Jan is right. The...

Bedford UK
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed for one night a bit by mistake as I thought it was further south on the Icefield Parkway than it actually is. From reading trip advisor ratings my friend & I were expecting something amazing. The wifi problem wasn't a problem as the website said it wasn't available. However, we were a bit disappointed that the room wasn't as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattrhimum
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

HI Mattrhimum! Thanks for taking the time to write a thoughtful review of your stay. It provides us with the perfect opportunity to address pre-arrival expectations and further clarify our property for potential future guests. I'll also address some of the concerns and let downs you had during your stay. For readers in the TripAdvisor community unfamiliar with my writing...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The staff were helpfull & extremely friendly. Fabulous food. We had no problems accessing the Wifi satalite internet. The room was comfortable. The resident bear talkative. The scenery is marvelous. A great place to take a vacation!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin206
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

HI Robin206! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we're all very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! For the readers, I'd like to expand on a few things: WIFI: We do not advertise that we offer internet here. The reason is that we can only receive and distribute satellite internet. Satellite internet is finicky and...

Kenosha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 21 September 2013

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Binnidm
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Port Orange
Reviewed 21 September 2013

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewed 21 September 2013

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheNelsonFamily
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon K
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Reviewed 14 September 2013

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti C
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
3:21
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
28.1 mi away
The Glacier View Inn
The Glacier View Inn
#15 of 21 in Jasper National Park
436 reviews
29.0 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#8 of 21 in Jasper National Park
548 reviews
28.0 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#11 of 21 in Jasper National Park
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.7 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#12 of 33 in Jasper National Park
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#28 of 33 in Jasper National Park
33 reviews
32.5 mi away
Jasper East Cabins
Jasper East Cabins
#26 of 33 in Jasper National Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4-time recipient of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge is an ideal choice if you're looking to unplug from the hectic pace of regular life. Here you will find yourself surrounded by nature with the most warm, caring and wonderful staff you are likely to find on your travels in Canada. We’re only open from mid-May to early October. We operate at 98% occupancy and sell out fast, so book early on Facebook at SunwaptaFalls or sign up for exclusive offers on our website. Entirely committed to ensuring you have the best experience possible in Jasper, we provide private consultations and create custom sightseeing guides, activity bookings and if you like, full meal packages. Leave your Jasper planning to our expert staff, so you can enjoy the company of the loved ones you are travelling with while taking in the best Jasper has to offer. Most often chosen for our location, the lodge is a scenic 45-minute drive south of downtown Jasper and a 45 minute equally stunning drive to the Columbia Icefields. Our cabin-style accommodation is nestled in the forest between mountains and lakes with just a short walk to the beautiful Sunwapta Falls and other local hikes. In the evenings its just us, the stars, the sound of the falls and the scent of wood burning as it crackles in our many fireplaces. Our Certificate of Excellence awarded restaurant provides unbelievable casual fine dining in the charming ambience of our heritage lodge. In the morning we offer full mountain breakfasts from 7am and healthy options to take on your day of sightseeing. See you in the Rockies! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Address: Hwy. 93, Icefields Parkway | Box 97, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Sunwapta Falls Resort)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Price Range: £98 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Hotel Jasper
Sunwapta Falls Hotel
Hotel Sunwapta Falls
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper National Park
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“See if you can get a room overlooking the Forest, they are spectacular!”
  • The beautiful views of the forest from the Verandah outside our room!!
  • The beautiful views of the forest from the Verandah outside our room!!
 of 5 bubbles SG1Lincoln40, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A4 was good”
 of 5 bubbles springe_12, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room at the ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles imedanced, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The watersystem in our room/appartment was very noisy. The neighbours took a badinthemiddle of the night. The running of the water in the bad kept us awake. ”
 of 5 bubbles 666laurensk, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room with a fire place if your just going as a couple not big enough for a family”
 of 5 bubbles trishm98, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5