Maligne Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Maligne Lodge

912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0 Canada
Traveller (263)
Guest Room
Room & Suite (239)
Wicked Cup at the Maligne Lodge
Dining (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#14 of 17 hotels in Jasper
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Vending machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0 Canada
963Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 298
  • 311
  • 130
  • 88
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chris_vonR wrote a review Aug 2020
Montreal, Canada388 contributions140 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
An affordable motel that is a short walk from downtown Jasper. The room layout is nice, but be aware that some rooms are pet-friendly and may have an aroma used from cleaning. Our air conditioner was also quite noisy, which can make it a challenge to sleep. While breakfast isn't included, there is a cafe attached to the hotel with dining options comparably priced to elsewhere in Jasper.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mostafa Elaziz, General Manager at Maligne Lodge
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Dear Chris_vonR, Thank you so much for posting your review, we are very delighted to hear that your stay at the Maligne Lodge was very satisfactory and you liked the room' lay out and the Hotel’s location. At the Maligne Lodge we have specific pet-friendly rooms, that we assign to guests travelling with their beloved pets. We look forward to your next visit soon. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mocha & Bones wrote a review Jul 2020
Sydney, Australia157 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is at the top/start of the main section so you don't have many people walking around but obviously that means you're not as close to all the shops. In saying that it's a 10 - 15 min walk to the mid section shops/train station.

The room was a nice size for a couple, bit more generous than a lot of others. Our room was located upstairs facing the road - Do note there is no elevator. It was clean and comfy. A good place to rest your head at night. There was an ice bucket and glasses on a desk and amenities were provided in the bathroom.

Staff were very welcoming and helpful with ideas on what to do/see close by or within a short driving distance.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mostafa Elaziz, General Manager at Maligne Lodge
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Dear MinxiiT, Thank you so much for posting your review! We are very delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Maligne Lodge, we are located only 10 minutes walk to the center of Jasper. We can’t wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Jasper National Park. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
0624paperprintss wrote a review Jul 2020
Prince George, Canada30 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The night staff was very friendly, however the information we were given at checkin written out was incorrect. We were waiting to swim in the swimming pool in the morning. The instructions said and it was supposed to open at 9 AM, turned out to be 10 AM. Unfortunately after you’ve promised a child they can swim you have to lose the hour of travel time. Also no television working in our room, no Internet despite them telling us that was free Internet it was such a low feed you couldn’t logon, and the lamp was broken in the room so we had no light come darkness. There is no one working the desk through the night to offer any assistance, just security.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mostafa Elaziz, General Manager at Maligne Lodge
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Dear Carri M, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at the Maligne Lodge, we are very happy that you liked our friendly service, and I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy about your stay, at the Maligne lodge we do our best to fix all the issues at the time they occur, if we were notified, we could have fixed them all, please note that our swimming pool hours are from 09:00AM - 09:00PM, on that day the pool was under treatment from 09:00AM till 10:00AM. We hope you can give us another opportunity in the future, when you visit Jasper National Park. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cait wrote a review Feb 2020
Fort McMurray, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came here for our anniversary and we brought our dog with us who is sometimes nervous with new places. We spent three nights here and the cost to have a pet was 25$ for the whole stay, which was great. They did a lot to accommodate her such as having food/water dishes for her, some treats and a bed as well as a few brochures on dog friendly activities in the area. There is a dog park close by and lots of trails. They also provided us with a room on the ground floor with outdoor access which was perfect. The train does go by quite often but we are from the city and barely noticed it, but our dog did notice it so it’s a good thing to keep in mind. The room was clean and we loved the outdoor hot tub. They also left some wine for us in the room with a card for our anniversary. I’ve already recommended this hotel to our friends with pets and we will definitely stay here again! There is also a discount at the coffee/breakfast place attached to the hotel if you are a guest.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mostafa Elaziz, General Manager at Maligne Lodge
Responded 14 Apr 2020
Dear caitlinm_09. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Maligne lodge. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am more then pleased to hear that you liked our pet friendly rooms and the pet kit we provide to our customers. Our friendly team is always ready to give a great service to our customers. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Mostafa El Aziz General Manager Maligne Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna_T_2013 wrote a review Sept 2020
Toronto, Canada2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Based on some previous reviews, we didn't expect much and were pleasantly surprised when we got into the room and found it clean and comfortable. Beds , covers and pillows were very comfortable, and all was super clean. The shower had very good water pressure. Overall, we had very comfortable stay at this hotel. Jasper seems to be pretty expensive, and this hotel is on a less expensive side, but if you are looking for a basic room to sleep in and refresh, you get pretty good value. Some previous reviews mentioned they had problems with wifi, but we were able to connect without any problem.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mostafa Elaziz, General Manager at Maligne Lodge
Responded 20 Sept 2020
Dear Anna_T_2013. We would like to thank you for posting this 5 stars review. At the Maligne Lodge we do have an excellent team to serve our customers and give them a memorable experience, we are so happy to note that you liked our clean rooms and comfortable beds. We look forward to welcome you back and thank you for choosing to stay at the Maligne Lodge. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CCHuey wrote a review Aug 2020
Edmonton, Canada31 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The most money I’ve paid for a smelly, loud, worn room. We booked this room last minute as we were travelling through Jasper and couldn’t drive any further but I wish we had slept in the car instead. I’m pretty sure this room hadn’t been used in years because it smelled like cigarette smoke and feet. I would guess that they opened up the room just for us to pay $175 for one night. You had to lean into the door to open it which felt like it had been painted shut, the bathroom was dark and old looking and the room was next to the office which was loud. Also everyone in the hotel walked by the room which meant the curtains had to stay closed adding to the dark and dingy feel of an already tired and worn room. The only bright spot was the security guard who tried his best and followed up on our complaint about the non existent wifi. Even his good service can not redeem this terrible experience.
Would NOT recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mostafa Elaziz, General Manager at Maligne Lodge
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Dear Cchuey, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay at the Maligne Lodge, I am very sorry to hear that you did not like the room you stayed in, I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. Please kindly note that our prices are very competitive in Jasper, and we always go above and beyond to make our guests’ stay very memorable. We are looking forward to your next visit, to serve you better this time. Best Regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vipin d wrote a review Jan 2020
New Jersey6 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The only good thing is the location. The mattress were terrible, I was not able to sleep even for 5 minutes. The room heater was programed using some ancient technology, it took several hours, to make the room comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mostafa E, General Manager at Maligne Lodge
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Vipin, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I regret that we did not have the opportunity to discuss your concerns. It is obviously very disappointing to learn that your experience fell short of expectations. We would appreciate if you give us another opportunity to serve you better this time. Sincerely, Mostafa El Aziz General Manager Maligne Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
skibum13980 wrote a review Sept 2020
Oakville, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I chose to stay here because the other hotels in Jasper are so expensive. For $159/night we expected better. Maligne lodge is really a motel, not a hotel, almost all the rooms are accessed from the outside.
Our room happened to have indoor access because it was across from the indoor pool, so there is a strong smell of chlorine when you exit your room, and it was very noisy until ~10:15pm (pool closes at 10, but I guess they allow a bit of a grace period).
The room and bathroom seemed to be clean, and the beds were ok, but the furniture looked like it has been there since 1970’s - and it’s not “weathered” wood. It’s old and very worn.
Fortunately we were in Jasper to do some hiking, so we spent minimal time in the room.
Next time I would either spend the extra for a better room in Japser, or stay in Hinton (50min away).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Randy S wrote a review Jul 2021
Barrie, Ontario4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The highlight of the stay in this 2 story motel, was that they agreed to refund the cost of the second night stay. If modern amenities like a place to plug your phones or devices in to charge, you have to unplug a light or the coffee maker. Oh yes, the coffee, 2 paper cups in the room, 2 sugars, 2 powder creamers and 2 sweetners. Dont have a drink, like a bottle of in paper cups, then want a coffee in the morning if their are 2 of you. Seriously? Plug in stand alone ac that ran all night, vented out a hole in the wall beside another hole, probably from the last one that they were not even smart enough to pull the curtain over to hide. The prices are rediculous and the manager just said oh well, thats jasper qnd blamed conition of room on the Jasper Health Board... Much better places available there without be8ng misled. Wifi was intermittent.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid them
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mostafa Elaziz, General Manager at Maligne Lodge
Responded 18 Jul 2021
Dear MichellesC6515TU, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I regret that we did not have the opportunity to discuss your concerns, at the time they occurred, and we could have done our best to make your stay satisfactory. It is obviously very disappointing to learn that your experience fell short of expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we take it as an opportunity to improve our services. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bobcav wrote a review Apr 2024
Manitoba, Canada516 contributions110 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First the Good: we were upgraded to a kitchenette (everything you need was there to make meals) which was very helpful to make our own meals in the room.
There is a great coffee shop attached to the lodge.
We had our own balcony with a great view.
Friendly service at the front desk and I like how they will only clean your room if you ask, so we didn’t have to worry about putting out the do not disturb sign.
The bed and pillows were so comfortable and we slept well. Also the room looked very nice with the wood furniture and the teal wall. (Room 213)
There is a pool and hot tub and a small gym which we never used but it’s nice to have.
We felt very at home here, very comfortable.
10 minute walk to the center of town. Free parking. Easy parking right behind the room.

For the Bad: the worst for us were my husbands allergies. He had to take medication daily and we almost wondered if we should leave to find another place. The reason was probably just the fact that pets are allowed and there may have been lingering allergens. Other than that the room was very clean.

Rooms aren’t soundproof. I could occasionally hear people talking or moving around in the room beside me.

Bathroom smaller than a regular hotel room but this isn’t a huge deal. I would have liked a full length mirror outside the bathroom but that’s just me being vain. A light above the sink for washing dishes would be nice but not necessary.

When we turned off the heat the bathroom radiator clanked loudly but we got used to that. Also the can opener in this room was crappy and should be replaced. We had trouble opening our soup cans.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from swan1955
Prince Albert, Canada115 contributions60 helpful votes
I'm not sure of the cost. I believe it is not a large amount. Friends contacted them directly and were given the details.
766nana asked a question Oct 2015
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
Dos this accommodation have a pool which is not under repair?
Answer from Dirtidawg77
Spruce Grove, Canada143 contributions83 helpful votes
the pool was working when we were there.
Answer from Jan R
South Devon, United Kingdom18 contributions14 helpful votes
Hi it's a 15 minute (approx) walk from the train station to Maligne, straight route as the train line runs opposite the Hotel.
Cruiser27240438375 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose earlier time to go at the pool and hot tub. It can get crowded around 4-6 pm. "
Read full review
amandaEdmonton wrote a tip Mar 2024
edmonton12 contributions35 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing the front street have the best views !!"
Read full review
CasGriffiths wrote a tip Sept 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom31 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of room for parking, try the cafe it’s good. Hotel is in a good location Jasper is beautiful and worth a visit for a couple of days"
Read full review
Mary T wrote a tip Jul 2023
Long Beach, California86 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go in town and enjoy. Just on the south end of town!"
Read full review
cjab69 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Edson, Canada5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are better hotels in Jasper for your money!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Jasper area.
PRICE RANGE
£92 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
maligne hotel jasper, maligne lodge jasper
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesJasper National ParkJasper
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MALIGNE LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Maligne Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Maligne Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Icefields Parkway (0.4 miles), Medicine Lake (0.6 miles), and Jasper's Live Theater Show - From Jasper with love (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Maligne Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Maligne Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Maligne Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Maligne Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Maligne Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Raven Bistro, Harvest Food & Drink, and Sunhouse Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Maligne Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Maligne Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Jasper.
Are pets allowed at Maligne Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Maligne Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gare Ferroviaire De La Canadien National (0.6 miles) and Vieille Caserne De Pompiers De Jasper (0.7 miles).
Does Maligne Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Jasper HotelsJasper Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in JasperHotels near Maligne Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire