Chateau Jasper
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chateau Jasper

96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0 Canada
Traveller (282)
Panorama of the Executive Suite One King Bed at the Chateau Jasper
360
Panoramas (8)
                  Jet Soaker tub. also stand up shower
Room & Suite (287)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£234
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#9 of 17 hotels in Jasper
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
From romantic mountain escapes to backcountry adventures, the Chateau Jasper is the perfect place to relax and recharge while exploring the wonders of Jasper National Park. Conveniently located just beyond downtown Jasper, you can kick back in peace and quiet while being just a 10-minute walk from everything the mountain town has to offer. Plus, with amenities like heated underground parking, onsite breakfast, an indoor pool and much more, the Chateau Jasper has everything you need to feel right at home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Hiking
Skiing
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
Edmonton Intl Airport
189.3 mi
See all flights
1,210Review19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 249
  • 530
  • 305
  • 79
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
1girl_1passport wrote a review Oct 2020
Vancouver, Canada1,289 contribution886 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived earlier at the hotel and asked if it was possible to check-in early and was met with a very very rude front desk clerk and was told no.

We had to kill time in town and wait till check-in and by then the staff has changed the employee was a lot nice. This was the first hotel that did a tempeture check and made us sign COVID trace papers on our trip.

The hotel itself is dated and the room looked the same. BTW on google maps, it says that the hotel is closed permanently.

We thought we had gotten a suite with two double rooms but ended up with one room with two double beds which was a letdown and didn't think it was worth the upgrade for the quality of the hotel. The room was basic and clean. We only stayed for the night so not too much to say. I had a good sleep and a nice shower.

Overall for a quick stay, this hotel is suitable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
huttonhrytsak wrote a review Aug 2020
Sherwood Park100 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were on the third floor in a double queen room. With COVID, our kitchen area was pre-stocked (microwave, bar fridge, coffee, coffee maker, kettle, tea) and there was no housekeeping throughout our stay (which to me should be a factor in taking down price), but staff were attentive with getting supplies that we needed. It would have been nice to have our garbages emptied as we were there for five nights; perhaps they can determine a way to do that as COVID continues. Room was spacious and comfortable.

We definitely did not feel like high contact surfaces (like the elevators) were being cleaned regularly like they claimed and there was no on-site restaurant open during our stay. For the price, which was lower for Alberta residents, we felt the per night price (almost $300) was still high as there were several amenities not available.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
livindaybyday wrote a review Jul 2020
Grande Prairie, Canada228 contributions66 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was not ready when we arrive, but they gave us another room that was ready. (unfortunately that room was above the underground parking garage door).

The rooms are very dated but clean. It's time for an upgrade. Bathrooms are super small. Beds were quite comfy! They did leave some alcohol wipes on the night table in case you wanted to wipe anything down (ie. remote control) which was a thoughtful COVID touch!

Staff at check in were nice. They wore masks and were behind the sneeze guard. They would not touch my id or credit card but yet I had to use the communal pens sitting on the counter. Everything in the hotel was closed due to COVID.

If you can't fit your vehicle in the underground parking, be aware that there is limited parking in the hotel lot and if you are late, you will be parking on the street somewhere.

Location is good, out of the downtown area and much quieter location. Within walking distance to downtown to shop and eat (which is good because you don't want to lose your parking spot, lol).

At checkout they want you to call down from your room to avoid contact. But our phone did not work, so we made contact!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, make sure your room is not over the underground garage parking door. ...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brbgrg wrote a review Jul 2020
Edmonton, Canada29 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This “newly renovated” property is Poorly insulated w/inadequate AC. The room was too warm even with the A/C turned as low as it goes. The parking is atrocious- they have underground parking plus outside parking yet we ended up having to park a block away. The room didn’t have enough Towels, face clothes for the number of ppl registered. The 3rd floor smells musty, oddly like motor oil and was so hot. The Staff was friendly, beds were comfortable and it appeared to have been properly sanitized. They offered hand sanitizer at the main entrance and left alcohol wipes on the night side table.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robin L wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in town for a hockey tournament and chose the hotel as it was a 3 star, had a pool and was close to the rink. Prior to booking make sure you ask for a room with a renovated bathroom otherwise you will get one that is from 40 years ago (gross). This hotel is not inexpensive - Alberta rate over the long weekend is $209 with breakfast (this was the best part of the stay and delicious). We were treated as a team when we checked - told all the rules but later found out we paid $200 more than the other team that was also staying there. Asked about it during the trip - the manager was off on the weekend so no one else could rectify. Was given her card to email and did so heard back on Tuesday afternoon with no resolution. Will not recommend or stay here again. Do not need a response just wanted other travelers to know what to expect.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask fore renovated room other rooms are very old
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bronson Albano, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded 22 Oct 2021
Dear Robin L, Thank you for your review and for joining us at the Chateau Jasper for your recent hockey tournament in town. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our pool area, our hotels location close to the rink, and a delicious breakfast. However, I was disappointed to read that we did not meet all of your expectations during your stay with us. As discussed, the special rates for teams needed to be booked in advance as a group in order to get the special group rate. All of the details on how to get these rates we sent to all teams involved in the tournament by the tournament organizer. These group blocks are set up and all teams are given a certain time period to book. Unfortunately, these rates are not available after that cut off date. Which explains your individual rate. I apologize if this caused you any grief, however, this should have been addressed with your group leader and its unfortunate that it has resulted in a poor review. You were treated as a hockey team on arrival as you were part of a team. We issue rules and get additional contact info on arrival from all teams no matter how the rooms are booked. This is to ensure the comfort of all our guests. All of our studio room bathrooms were renovated at the same time. The only difference is that some have walk-in showers and some have tub's with showers. Thank you for letting us know, I will be addressing your concerns with the housekeeping department to ensure our standards are being met. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and your business. Thank you for choosing the Chateau Jasper as your Rocky Mountain getaway. We hope you will give our hotel consideration in the future. Kind Regards, Bronson Albano Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Merrowmum wrote a review Jul 2022
Guildford, United Kingdom1,296 contribution480 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has some excellent points but also some downsides, quite an odd mix. The staff in reception were quite friendly but not as much so as we’ve come to expect in Canada. The corridors are long and completely soulless, giving quite an unfriendly feel, with the sense of a cheap old-school motel.
But then the rooms themselves are huge and clean, with two comfortable double beds, small table with two quite comfortable chairs, large storage/fire unit with TV above, separate walk-through area with wardrobe including safe and iron on one side and kitchenette (fridge, kettle, coffee maker, microwave and sink) on the other leading to a decent sized bathroom with a bath!
However there are downsides even here - the biggest one being the complete lack of sockets in the actual bedroom area! The only sockets not already in use in the whole room as far as we could find (and believe me, we looked) were the ones for the kettle and coffee maker in the kitchenette, two in the bathroom, and two above the safe in the wardrobe! In these days, when pretty much everybody has at least a phone and a tablet to charge, this just isn’t acceptable. The other main one for me was the shower, which was overhead only but also at a very weird angle meaning that the water came out at about 45 degrees to the vertical.
Location wise, the hotel is about 10 minutes’ walk from the centre of Jasper, but bus companies for day trips pick up outside.
Would I stay here again? On balance quite possibly no.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded 17 Jul 2022
Dear Merrowmum, Thank you for joining us at Chateau Jasper on your journey around Canada. I am pleased to read that you found our rooms large, and clean, and the beds were comfortable. I sincerely apologize and deeply regret if we missed the mark on your stay. Unfortunately, the electrical power is very limited due to the age of the building, and we hope to have our hotel renovated in the future to enhance our guest's experience. I will be addressing your concerns with the appropriate departments. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will have some great memories of Jasper and Canada. Kind regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelinFieldGuy wrote a review Jul 2022
Silicon Valley, California224 contributions236 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a fancy hotel, really just a cleaned up old motel, but it was perfectly clean, well run, and comfortable. Our room had a nook by the window where you could sit and watch the hikers work their way up and down the hill. Their dining room was surprisingly elegant, with a delicious breakfast buffet. I particularly appreciated how they use real plates and cutlery, so there was none of the paper and plastic waste one sees at typical chain motels.

This hotel is not right downtown but rather about a 15-minute walk north of the restaurants and shops. This is actually a plus, because parking is stress free, and you don’t get the noise. (In a previous stay at a downtown hotel, noise was an issue for us.) During the day it was easy to drive to our various activities within Jasper National Park, then following our return, we had a pleasant walk down to town and back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Hello TravelinFieldGuy, Thank you for your recent visit to Chateau Jasper. I am pleased to read you had a great stay with us and found our hotel's location convenient and quiet, and the property clean and comfortable. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brittany B wrote a review Jan 2020
68 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Originally, we had booked a stay at the Pocahontas Cabins, but we were relocated to Chateau Jasper as they didn't have the occupancy needed at Pocahontas. Being relocated was such a blessing in disguise! At the Chateau, we were in town, less than 15 minutes to drive anywhere. We had the Jasper Suite which was such a nice room. A large jetted tub that fit me comfortably, both width and height wise. We loved the water pressure in the shower and the King Sized bed was glorious! Nice view of the mountains as well.

Chateau Jasper was so great when I told them that we were inconvenienced at first being relocated, because our main reason for booking Pocahontas was for the kitchen so we could save money and cook. When I asked if they would consider complimenting the breakfasts we had at Lobstick Lodge, they did! Such great customer service.

My only room for improvement suggestions would be to advertise on the website that mini fridges are available in the suites (the website only says kettles for the suites). Also the pool is really cold at first, but once you start swimming around it gets better. The hot tub is nice too. Also, I wish our staff member would have told us about the underground parking, we didn't realize until the day before we checked out that we had it for use because we weren't told when we checked in.

Overall, this hotel was a great stay and I would definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The Jasper Suite is worth it! Just for the tub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pierre F, Manager at Chateau Jasper
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Thank you for the lovely review. Do please accept our apologies for omitting to make mention of the underground parkade (it may have been already full to capacity by the time you checked in). We very much look forward to your return visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
terryk01695 wrote a review Apr 2023
Ormskirk, United Kingdom52 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is certainly not a chateau (only in name) more a budget hotel and it seems to be catering for teenage events. They do not service your room daily unless you ask, we were not informed ot this at check in and STILL use the pandemic as an excuse for not being able to provide this very basic service. The reason we wanted the room serviced was to improve the cleanliness of the room which was lacking, the carpets and furniture in the room need updating.We are traveling across Canada from the UK and this hotel is the 8th accommodation we have stayed in and by far the worst for service and cleanliness Avoid breakfast it's not worth having and the quality of the food is poor and over priced. The restaurant and.bar are closed in the evenings would assume this is also down to staffing issues.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this Chateau in name only
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded 22 Apr 2023
Dear terryk01695, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review. I truly regret that your stay with us was not optimal and our hotel and its services didn't meet your expectations. At this time, we only provide light stayover services and I sincerely apologize if this was missed during the check-in process. We strive to deliver the best service and hospitality to all our guests at all times. I hope you were able to address your concerns with your front desk team during your visit; we would be happy to find a solution to make your stay more enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed Jasper. Kind regards, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natasha F wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked in to room 127 and after a long drive our first stop was the bathroom. There was a VERY noticeable dark red smear on the wall right above the garbage can. First thought was “ohh that’s disgusting… no way housekeeping missed that”. Then went to maybe it’s just dried paint… grabbed the makeup wipe from the bathroom counter and proceeded to give it a wipe. Indeed it came off so it was most definitely blood. I headed down to the front desk and they did give us a different room but honestly when paying $399 per night and seeing something so obvious get missed you can’t help but wonder what else was missed or just simply not cleaned.

Don’t bother with the copy and pasted reply about hoping we enjoyed our stay. We didn’t and we will be sure to never stay at this property again.

Guests need to be aware of how filthy the rooms are. No way I should have paid $399 to wipe someone else’s blood off the bathroom wall.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pavel Myska, Guest Services / Front Office at Chateau Jasper
Responded 12 Jun 2022
Dear T2177HYnatashaf, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review. Your feedback is very important to us as we always strive to provide exceptional service to our guests. I am sorry that your stay with us was not optimal and the room cleanliness was not up to our standards. I will be addressing your concerns with the appropriate departments. Please accept my sincere apology for the issue you faced. Sincerely, Pavel Myska Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada94 contributions1 helpful vote
Not that I could see.
Answer from Bronson Albano
Jasper, Canada
Hello, The pool is in working order at this time. We look forward to welcoming you in the future! Kind Regards, Bronson Albano Guest Services Manager
Answer from Rose A
Vancouver, Canada241 contributions47 helpful votes
No it’s not. You have to walk 5 minutes away to use another hotels pool.
cheryl E asked a question Mar 2020
Geelong, Australia27 contributions11 helpful votes
Can I please get the email address of the hotel
Answer from Malcolm E
Aldershot, United Kingdom28 contributions44 helpful votes
Go to the website on Google and fill in email template to contact them directly. They will then respond to you by email
Answer from Tina F
cambridge95 contributions45 helpful votes
There are lots of restaurants within about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. I don't know whether they will be open over Christmas but you should have some choice. Enjoy your trip.
Scott H wrote a tip 15 May
Palmer, Alaska30 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to take a walk around, you won’t regret it."
Read full review
whiteknight wrote a tip 15 May
Bournemouth, United Kingdom104 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking at hotel. Easy 10 minute walk to downtown"
Read full review
Amy L wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms have k-cups, a kettle, hair dryer, shampoo, conditioner (tee tree) and body wash."
Read full review
Mountains=HappyPlace wrote a tip Jan 2024
Grande Prairie, Canada94 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Speed limit has changed as you come into town to 30 km/h to enhance public and pedestrian safety. BEWARE!"
Read full review
Connor wrote a tip Jan 2024
Calgary, Canada14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beds may be smaller than expected, hotel a bit dated."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Jasper area.
PRICE RANGE
£115 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chateau jasper hotel jasper, chateau hotel jasper, jasper chateau hotel
LOCATION
CanadaAlbertaCanadian RockiesJasper National ParkJasper
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHATEAU JASPER - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Chateau Jasper
Which popular attractions are close to Chateau Jasper?
Nearby attractions include Medicine Lake (0.6 miles), Jasper-Yellowhead Museum & Archives (0.5 miles), and Lac Beauvert (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chateau Jasper?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Chateau Jasper?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Chateau Jasper?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chateau Jasper?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chateau Jasper?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Raven Bistro, Terra, and Snowdome Coffee Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chateau Jasper?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Chateau Jasper located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Jasper.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chateau Jasper?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chateau Jasper?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chateau Jasper offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Jasper HotelsJasper Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in JasperHotels near Chateau Jasper
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire