We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 973: English reviews
Cloverdale, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked under the bevancouver.com promo which was great. Paid $129 room rate & received $75 in AMEX GC's. Great deal. We had a lead in room. Very small room but perfect for a night stay. Solid 3 star hotel. Harder bed. Clean. Upgrade if you need a bigger room for sure. Great location, close to skytrain, walk to BC...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vaycayprincess
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and participating in the BeVancouver Winter promotion! We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Kind reagrds, Susan Strome gm_vancouver@sandman.ca

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here with my husband and son in a room with two queen beds. The room was large and clean and had a great view, but we really had to try hard to find somewhere to charge our phones and iPads. We were able to walk all over the city without any problems, and having the stadium so close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and positive feedback about our friendly Front Desk and Housekeeping staff at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre. I will discuss your concerns with the Moxie's General Manager regarding your room service experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Susan Strome gm_vancouver@sandman.ca

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel located right next to the Stadium and train station. The lovely lady who checked us in was so helpful and friendly. The room was smallish but had everything we needed. The bathroom was modern and clean. Just wish there was an in-room safe. Great stay in Vancouver.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smurfender
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and for staying at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Susan Strome gm_vancouver@sandman.ca

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a 3hour delay on our flight but when we arrived at 1.15 am the night manager was very helpful getting us to our room,by bad luck we had a disturbed night because of another guest, the following morning we requested a move and there was no problem we left our cases for the cay in a secure room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lasersat9
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sandman Hotel! I will pass along your feedback to the General Manager of Moxie's, it is important that all of our guests receive a welcoming and hospitable experience. Have a great day and we hope to see you again...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After being a bit concerned about the reviews online, I called the Sandman to express my concerns. I was coming one night for business and two nights for pleasure and I am used to staying in hotels that are far more expensive. They told me that my room would be suitable and that a housekeeping supervisor would inspect it for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan And Tom P
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and for staying at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Susan Strome gm_vancouver@sandman.ca

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hands down this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. My employer had paid for this trip up front. When I went to check in I was told they wouldn't check me in because it wasn't my employer's credit card. My employer had to fill out a special authorization (which wasn't editable online) and had to fax it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitie D
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry to hear that you had challenges with payment for your room. Our goal is to meet and exceed our guest's expectations and we failed to do so. We value our corporate client business and have procedures in place for third party billing to ensure the payment transaction is convenient. Readers please reach out to...

Golden, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were lucky enough to stay close to all the action in this Sandman. The staff are attentive and interested in the customers needs. Finding our way around downtown was easy with the directions and maps provided by the staff along with suggestions for a few "sure thing" attractions to thrill anyone. The room was clean and everyone in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BCVCGolden
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will make sure to share your positive comments with the team! Kind regards, Susan Strome gm_vancouver@sandman.ca

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's an average hotel but below standard for Vancouver. The rooms are small'ish, European sized, the elevator is slow and, even though they give you a room service menu as a standard procedure, don't expect to be served in your room over the weekend. That's what I was told, and I quote, "I'm sorry, there is no room service on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Perle R
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Readers please know that we have various room categories, when you are reserving your accommodation the most economical is our standard queen room and it is our smallest room approx. 300sqft. Please choose a room with two beds or a King for a...

Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Sandman Hotel was great, the staff friendly and helpful. Tourist attractions in walking distance to most things. Or just buy a day ticket for the buses, picked up outside the door. Granville Island was an hours walk away but so worth it. Then the bus is there to pick you up. Gas Town, China town just blocks away. Capilano...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandyvan21JN
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Susan Strome gm_vancouver@sandman.ca

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016

One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in... Staff at the desk offered no help with bags or told of the use of the security card to use in the lift... Had to ask for two luggage racks when two people were sharing a room.. Only two lifts that were also shared by staff in the morning when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K C
sandvan, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. It appears you were not offered bellman assistance with your luggage and I will forward your comments to the Guest Service team. We do value your feedback and hope you will return in the future. Kind regards, Susan Strome gm_vancouver@sandman.ca

212 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (199)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Georgian Court Hotel
Georgian Court Hotel
#26 of 90 in Vancouver
1,874 reviews
Davie Village
Sandman Suites Vancouver - Davie Street
Yaletown & False Creek North
Rosedale on Robson
Rosedale on Robson
#41 of 90 in Vancouver
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown Vancouver
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#15 of 90 in Vancouver
1,585 reviews
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown
Vancouver's business district, the Downtown area is bustling with smartly-dressed folks balancing their lattes and briefcases to and from work. The area's plethora of contemporary commercial, residential, and corporate spaces has bred a landscape of nouveau restaurants, chain cafes, and upmarket shopping options. However, located right on the waterfront of Vancouver's energetic Harbour, Downtown is a also popular public meeting spot, with a massive public library and convention center attracting a bevy of visitors both local and not, as well as a hotspot for the arts, being home to some of Vancouver's most cutting-edge galleries. With behemoth architecture and a professional air, Downtown means business.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in the heart of Downtown Vancouver, Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre is walking distance to shopping, a multitude of restaurants and lounges, and sporting and entertainment venues, making it the perfect choice for your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre

Address: 180 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 4P4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Price Range: £79 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Vancouver
Sandman Vancouver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Southampton, United Kingdom
6 months ago
9 months ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are two towers and one is newer that the other.”
 of 5 bubbles susanandtomp, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Excellent affordable downtown location with staff that care. The higher you are the better the view.”
 of 5 bubbles BCVCGolden, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't book here unless there is a price advantage or nothing else if available”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was on the 5th floor it was quiet, clean and comfortable. Never had a problem, cleaners and staff very friendly and helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles Mandyvan21JN, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles ozinlondon08, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay