We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fairmont Empress

Show Prices
#19 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Fairmont Empress
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Fairmont Empress
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,231: English reviews
Mount Vernon, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Empress to experience the history and gravitas of the place - and were disappointed. The year-long reno will be completed this summer, and much has been lost to Design. The Bengal Room Bar has been stripped of it's Colonial plunderings and is now a plain conference room, Brash new artwork, weird pre-worn out carpets, and ultra-modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skagittraveller
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely value all of our guests comments. We have taken great thought and pride in finding ways to honour the past while creating our future in the change to our iconic and historic Castle on the Coast! We sincerely hope we will welcome you...

Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at The Empress many times over the past 40 years. It had always had a special warmth and ambiance about it that simply can't be matched. We were excited to see the renovations but I was very disappointed. In the beautiful hallways, the woodwork was covered with paint and wallpaper. The rooms have been 'modernized' with beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joyce834
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. It is so wonderful to read that you have stayed at the Empress over the last 40 years. I am sure you have many stories and have seen many changes in our beautiful and iconic Castle on the Coast! We have taken great...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, dealing directly with the hotel got me the best rate. We checked in and found that our room did not have a tub. The front desk upgraded us to a suite with a tub. All the staff here was awesome. When I called to make a reservation the staff member asked questions regarding who was coming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review

I am so pleased to read that you and your son enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide the best guest service possible with our incredible staff. Thank you for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Indu Brar General Manager

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was an exceptional experience and a once in a life time must. Service, food and atmosphere was extraordinary, very elegant and very glad we decided to go even tho it was expensive. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shash54
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation and lovely comments regarding Tea at the Empress. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience. Kind regards, Indu Brar General Manager

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a night at the Empress to celebrate our 30th anniversary. My husband had advised them in advance of this event. We received a card in our room, as well as a great dessert. The staff at the Q restaurant also knew of our anniversary and seated us in a good location. The manager and waiter were very attentive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review

Thank you Nicole for posting your lovely review. We are so pleased that you chose to celebrate your 30th Anniversary with us. Congratulations! I will ensure your comments are shared with our teams. Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards, Indu Brar General Manager

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is like no other I have ever seen. We did not stay here but went in to look around. The people that worked in the shops were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is just beautiful! Even if you don't stay here it is worth walking around and looking!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenette K
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review

Thank you Jenette for your lovely feedback. We sincerely hope that you will come and stay with us one day soon. Kind regards, Indu Brar General Manager

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What makes this hotel get a 5 star rating is the customer service. They do not have 'No' in their vocabulary. They step outside the box to find an alternative. Hotel is in the middle of renovation's but still holds the look and feel of luxury. Food is always 5 star. Definitely recommend for your next work function. Meeting rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KrisH67
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our teams, as we strive to provide the best guest service possible. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Victoria. Kind regards, Indu Brar General Manager

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Fairmont/ Empress (Victoria) in July 2016 and had a magnificent room overlooking the harbor where the tiny "bath tub" boats ferry tourists around. Spectacular views, walk out the front door and you are right in town, 150 mets from a beautiful museum etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Our location is wonderful within walking to so many different venues and the Harbour is always so colourful with different events. The Harbour ferries are amazing and perform a water ballet throughout the summer months for our tourists. Kind regards, Indu Brar General Manager

Winnipeg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was under renovation during my visit so many of their amenities were unavailable including the spa and fitness facility. They did make arrangements with a neighboring hotel for these services which was good but not convenient. The room was beautiful and new but there is no doubt its an old property. There's an old building 'smell' in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine D
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review

Thank you Christine for providing feedback. Our renovations will be complete in June of this year. I sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you once all is finished. Kind regards, Indu Brar General Manager

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On Feb 11 stayed at the Empress for 1 Night. Was supposed to be a treat on a long weekend, as my friend and I headed over to the Island from Vancouver. We were able to get a room with a King Size bed and move in a couple of hours early, which was nice, however the toilet didn't work...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mtrewis
ManagerEmpress, General Manager at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I sincerely apologize that your recent stay experience with us was not as anticipated. I can appreciate that the toilet issues must have been frustrating. We have been advising all of our guests prior to arrival regarding our temporary and health club closure both when making the reservation as well as in the confirmation and pre-arrival emails....

1,652 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1335)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (310)
Viewed
Room/Suite (234)
Viewed
View from Room (89)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Dining (100)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (546)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (293)
Viewed
289 (31)
Viewed
369 (25)
Viewed
380 (35)
Viewed
381 (22)
Viewed
452 (35)
Viewed
644 (30)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,476 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fairmont Empress staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Fairmont Empress staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Junior suite size excellent if view of the bay very nice to have”
 of 5 bubbles sktorontotravel, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Harbour Views towards Parliament Building are lovely at night”
 of 5 bubbles Snowbabies1, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel is under renovation now, so difficult to say which rooms are best.”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room facing the waterfront.”
 of 5 bubbles skagittraveller, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask when booking if you want a bathtub.”
 of 5 bubbles Joyce834, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5