We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Zed

Show Prices
#26 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Zed
Hotel Zed
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 260: English reviews
Victoria bc
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my grandson and a couple of his friends to Hotel Zed for his 10 th birthday. What a a great idea for a child's birthday. They had a blast in the pool with the fun water slide. Next they spent an hour playing video games and ping pong. We had the use of the suite overnight which is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deleta
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hello Deleta, Thank you so much for choosing Hotel Zed for your grandson's 10th birthday party! We appreciate the kind words about our friendly staff and clean rooms. I hope you took advantage of our free VW shuttle for a VIP birthday trip and perhaps we will see you for your next birthday party! There's nothing saying the kids have...

North Vancouver, BC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a fun place - the decor is bright retro and the rooms are renovated and super clean. We were only there for one night and it suited our needs perfectly. Super comfy beds, good shower, great staff! The shuttle bus option provided by the hotel is excellent. We loved the rotary dial phone in the room and the instructions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandS_10
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hello SandS_10, Thank you so much for the awesome 5 star review, we really appreciate it! I'm happy to hear you had a good sleep and found our staff to be great. I hope you got a chance to check out our indoor heated pool and hot tub. The rotary phones are sweet and I get a kick out of...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms - Clean and Funky Staff - Very friendly and helpful Location - Excellent if attending a concert Price Point - On point. I have stayed here four times now. The price is unbeatable and the staff if very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean. It is an older hotel so you will hear outside noise. For its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tyler F
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hey Tyler F, Thank you so much for being a loyal Hotel Zed guest, we really appreciate it! I love reading all the great feedback on our staff. They really are excellent at what they do and thank you for all the kind words! See you next time you're in town. Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our kids loved the waterslide, the Wii games, ping pong and skateboards. There was always something for them to do. The rooms are very basic but clean and well kept. The VW van can be booked to drop you or pick you up from downtown. Definitely, would recommend if you have kids.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TJQue
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hi TJQue, Thank you so much for staying with us at Hotel Zed and posting your review on Tripadvisor! It's great to hear your kids had a good time on the water slide and enjoyed our heated indoor pool. I hope you also had time to check out our free bikes and long boards. Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just got home from a family vacation to Victoria. I was so excited. This place looked so cute, rooms looked clean and I thought the price was great! Only a 10 minute drive downtown. All was good until I spotted little ants in our room the morning of day two. Called the front desk and they came down. Not much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fista11
fussybun, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologise for the challenge you experienced in regards to the sugar ants that were in your room. I will certainly follow up with the maintenance personnel in regards to using spays while guests are still occupying the room. We would certainly like...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Friendly staff. Hotel needed good cleaning!!! NO COFFEE MAKERS IN ROOM. When I asked they said I can come down to the lobby( who wants to get fully dressed to go grab coffee for coffee in bed?). Plus a little pricey for what you get. One staff drove her own car to shuttle us down to marathon and that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pioneernana
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hello Pioneernana, Thank you very much for the kind words about our friendly staff and I'm happy to hear our staff was able to drive you down for the marathon when one of our shuttles broke down. Please except my apologies for whatever was missed in your room and never hesitate to call us if something isn't what you expected...

Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I spent a few days (1st week of September 2016) at Hotel Zed with my wife and son. The service was very good (check-in and check-out were very good). The staff are very nice and always very helpful. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool and i specifically enjoyed their vinyl collection; i spent more than 2hrs on our second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jadzo
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hey Jadzo, Thank you so much for this amazing review! It sounds like you had an great time in Victoria and at Hotel Zed. I love reading feedback like yours about our staff and I will make sure to share this review. See you next time you're in town! Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed

british columbia
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We were recently stuck in Victoria when the highway was shut down due to an accident. We decided to try Hotel Zed because it was north of city centre. I wasn't initially impressed with the exterior of the building, but it far surpassed our expectations. There were probably several hundred travellers in the same predicament as ourselves, but rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cangran
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hi Cangran, Thank you very much for the 5 star review! I'm happy to hear we could provide you with a good night sleep when you got stranded down island. Our staff really are fantastic and I will make sure to share your review with them. Take care and thank you for staying with us! Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager...

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Very hip fun hotel,nice and close to downtown Victoria. Very pet friendly so that's awesome, unfortunately look around the room closely before you let your dog explore,my dog found something that looked like a meatball under the desk and ate it before I could stop him. All in all we will stay there again. 😊 The small rooms are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinne V
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hi Corinne V, Hotel Zed is super pet friendly and it's great to hear the room worked well for you and the 4 legged family member. I'm very sorry about missing under the desk and I hope the meat ball didn't ruin your dog’s appetite! Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you...

Powell River, Canada
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Check in was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and while a bit spartan had everything you really need. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The 50s decor is fun and sets this place apart from the bland motels in the area. It is on a busy road, but the noise isn't bad. The price for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZLI
Jonathan W, Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review

Hi ZLI, It's great to hear you got to travel with your 4 legged family! I always find if you can bring your pets with you when you travel. It feels so much more like home and it's way easier on the dogs. Hotel Zed is located a block away from a couple great parks where you can take the...

393 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (197)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Bachelor Pad (31)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Sweet Suite (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Cottage (37)
Viewed
Zed Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 53 in Victoria
764 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#37 of 53 in Victoria
199 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 53 in Victoria
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#29 of 53 in Victoria
185 reviews
James Bay
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
#21 of 53 in Victoria
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We're a ridiculously fun & eclectic hip hotel in Victoria BC that is so completely awesome your mind will be blown! Ok, slight exaggeration, but we swear it's like nothing you've ever seen before: '67 VW shuttle, typewriter station, vinyl listening station, pool & waterslide, ping pong lounge and comic books in the bathroom ... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Zed

Address: 3110 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Price Range: £48 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zed 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Hotel Victoria
Blue Ridge Motel
Hotel Zed Victoria, Vancouver Island
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#22 Family Hotel in Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Zed staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Los Gatos, California
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Zed staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family Friendly x1000”
 of 5 bubbles TJQue, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ummm not sure about that”
 of 5 bubbles Pioneernana, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Don't take a room above the pool if you hate noise.”
 of 5 bubbles SandratheScripty, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My room was at the back of the hotel away from busy Douglas Street, it may have made a difference.”
 of 5 bubbles hadaway31, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floor to avoid noise from above. Pool was loud but closed down at 10 so not bad.”
 of 5 bubbles shannonr828, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay