We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (2)
Room & Suite (8)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good17%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible21%
17 Aug 2017
“Pick another place”
16 Aug 2017
“Wish I Could Give Less Than One Star”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair access
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
12
4
0
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
12
4
0
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Really sketchy, I've stayed at tons of hostels and as soon as I walked into this one I wanted to leave- never experienced that before. It smells bad, my bed smelled like feet and it was really dirty. Would not recommend to anyone, you would...More

Thank Eloise S
Response from Newmanhousehostel, Manager at Newman House HostelResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Eloise I am sorry you had a negative experience. At the time you arrived, you did not in any way voice your negative feelings. That is when you could have requested changes. I am not sure what you were smelling- I would have certainly...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

I've stayed at many hostels and this was the first time I've ever left because of feeling scared to stay. When I arrived, the door was locked but then jiggled open, which did not make me feel better. There was not one person inside. There...More

1  Thank Kyle R
Response from Newmanhousehostel, Manager at Newman House HostelResponded 30 September 2017

HI Kyle Sorry that you chose to travel up those final flight of stairs to the storage in the attic. You were not in the hostel but rather in an unused area of the building where lots of items such as tools, discarded or broken...More

Reviewed 2 June 2016

The new location is still being renovated and fixed up, but the stay was everything I expected from a hostel. Close to downtown and to the Maritimes Bus and a nice kitchen, bedroom and staff person working. If you don't need a fancy hotel and...More

1  Thank Kristen K
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Totally enjoyed our stay at the Hostel. Thank you Sharon, you were lovely and we appreciated everything indeed. Got confused trying to find the place a few times, but with your help we did managed to get back and forth from the Hospital. :) All...More

1  Thank cheers33
Reviewed 25 August 2015

This was my first hostel experience and I have nothing negative to say about it. I was so impressed by the cleanliness and upkeep, but the biggest surprise to me was how well stocked the kitchen was! I had brought a bit of food hoping...More

2  Thank Kirstin V
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Saint John
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Self-Serve Laundry
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (2)
Room & Suite (8)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Newman House Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Pick a different place"
Read review
"All is good"
Read review
"Don't stay upstairs in the "dorm"- you'll never get any sleep with the animals next door..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing