We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Murray Premises Hotel

Groupon.comUS$159*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Murray Premises Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

547 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Murray Premises Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 541: English reviews
Ancaster, Canada
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Have stayed at Murray Premises 6 or 7 times. Every room has been unique, no just the same old hotel room. At times travelling too much for business, it's great to have the change. Plus rooms are always quiet. Staff are always courteous and very helpful. Location is excellent. Right on the waterfront and very close to fine restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review

It is so great to hear this kind of feedback from return customers! Thank you so much for continuing to choose the Murray Premises Hotel, we truly appreciate your business. Each room at our boutique hotel is certainly unique, and I am glad that you appreciate our charm on each visit. I'm also very pleased to hear you had a...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Nice hotel. Comfortable once you orient yourself. Steps from George Street and the restaurants, Avoid room 208. It is across from the vending machines and ice machine. There is also a noisy machine on the floor above that starts up every 30 minutes or so all day land night. The staff changed our room when we asked. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leclair_Surprise
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am very glad that you found the property convenient and well located for your visit to St. John's. My apologies if your original room booking wasn't all you had hoped for. I will be sure to investigate that particular room and see if we can remedy...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We love hotels in converted buildings. This one is in a converted warehouse just across from the docks in the harbor at St. John's. The room we had was a spacious third floor room facing the water. The open ceiling follows the roof line which is interesting, but means lots of nooks and crannies in the room, which eats light,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CCarrnDC
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review and sharing your thoughts with your fellow travelers. It sounds like our boutique property - located in a National Historic Site - resonated with you. So glad that the look and feel of the Murray Premises Hotel was a hit. I certainly appreciate your feedback about the lighting in your guest room. Each room...

Atlanta
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

We loved the building. At the time we booked the room, we laughed at having a jacuzzi in the room, but after three days of hiking, that jacuzzi felt really good. The room was a combination of nicely appointed modern conveniences like multijet showers, towel warmers, fine linens and historical beams and brick. The staff is friendly and helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobz06
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review

Our sincere thanks for submitting such a kind TripAdvisor review. I am so pleased that you found value in your accommodations and enjoyed your time at the Murray Premises Hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed one of our Executive Rooms. With a king bed, two-person air massage tub, full body shower, and stone fireplace, these rooms definitely serve as a...

Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 23 June 2015

We spent three nights at the Murray Premises and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This hotel was very unique as its decor was a blend of the old world and new world. Our room overlooked the harbour and provided us with a beautiful setting. The staff were very friendly and made us feel most welcomed. Its location made walking to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 Star review! Your comments about the blend of old world and modern decor are an apt description for the Murray Premises Hotel. Hopefully your review will serve your fellow travelers well and can relate the true essence of a stay at our boutique hotel. I also appreciate your comments about our terrific...

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed over at Murray Premises for the weekend. Probably the nicest location in town : in front of St. John's bay and next to Water Street, the main street. Staff helpful and friendly, free breakfast. However, if we compare to other hotels in major canadian cities, this hotel is over priced and need serious upgrade.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duchef
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding our location, our staff, and our deluxe continental breakfast. These are all characteristics that add value to our patrons and help drive customer satisfaction. Thank you as well for presenting your ideas on the value of accommodations, and the relative age...

Corner Brook, Canada
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

I was upgraded to a king deluxe, a room with a huge bed, a jacuzzi I could stretch out in, stone fireplace and exposed beams in the ceiling. It was quiet with everything I could want in a room including being able to listen to the rain beating on the roof overhead.. The staff were friendly, accommodating and helpful at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to complete your TripAdvisor review following your recent stay with us. Thank you very much! I am very excited to hear that the room you enjoyed was everything you were looking for. We get lots of positive feedback about the stone fireplaces, two-person air massage tubs, and exposed wooden beams, but it's always nice...

Pincher Creek, Canada
Reviewed 20 June 2015

We spent 2 nights here on our 1st trip to St.John's. Location is excellent for walking to. Restaurants and night life on George street. Superior breakfast as well. Loved the charming rooms. We were a group of 3 couples and each room was different, not cookie cutter like so many other places. Bathrooms had lovely tubs, and gave a spa-like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murrayj50
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review of The Murray Premises Hotel. So happy to hear your very first trip to St John's was a positive one, and that our hotel helped make your visit enjoyable. It's always a great thrill to read a review in which the subject totally embraces the characteristics of...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Our group of nine stayed there and asked for a 2:00 pm checkout (we had to fly out at midnight the next day). The hotel staff said no problem, we would just be charged a "late checkout" fee. When we departed the next day we discovered the "late checkout fee" was actually another nights full charge. On another note, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan P
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your TripAdvisor review. I'm sorry that your stay was not all you had hoped for and that the fee associated with your checkout was a surprise. I believe I may be familiar with the group you traveled with, and I think all rates and charges were negotiated with a third party. If you wish to contact...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 14 June 2015

The location of this hotel is perfect. It has a court yard that connects directly to bustling Water St as well as being directly across the street from The Keg and Jackastor's on Harbour St. Unfortunately the location also means there is some road noise of trucks servicing the harbour and the aforementioned bars across the street. Normally the proximity...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruce H
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for submitting your review and sharing your thoughts about your stay at the Murray Premises Hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that the location of the hotel worked well for you and that you enjoyed the character of the hotel, but I was also disappointed that a few things conspired to taint an otherwise positive experience....

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
254 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 22 in St. John's
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in downtown St. John's on the harbour front you'll find Murray Premises Hotel. Nestled in the heart of St. John's business district, close to all amenities - restaurants (2 independent located inside the hotel), shopping, night life and tourist attractions. Murray Premises Hotel is walking distance from Mile One Centre, St. John's Convention Centre, Historic Signal Hill, and the exciting night life of George Street. All guest rooms have luxury items such as electric fireplaces, oversized whirlpool tubs, and towel warmers. The Hotel's Executive Rooms offer guests luxury accommodations with two-person air massage tubs, full-body showers, stone fireplaces, and heated floors. All guests can enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in our private lounge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Murray Premises Hotel

Address: Murray Premises 5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: £118 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Premises Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murray Premises Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Premises St Johns
Hotel Murray Premises
Murray Premises Hotel Newfoundland, Canada
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Family Hotel in St. John's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Murray Premises Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Murray Premises Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the fourth floor, facing the Harbour.”
louisebJ1675KZ, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“Our view was to the side. A harbour view might be better”
HeatherM768, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Top floor (3rd) would be the quietest.”
JFriswell, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“ask for a top floor room with the beautiful wooden ceilings.”
Ohokannoak, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms extremely clean and comfortable and all have some sort of fireplace & exposed beams, full of history!”
JM2017ACV, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Groupon.com
US$159* /night
View Deal
ElvolineUS$221
Booking.comUS$194
TravelocityUS$196
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates