Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa

141 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0E8 Canada
Traveller (118)
Room Overview
Room & Suite (51)
Half of all the seating available, not enough :(
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#49 of 73 hotels in Ottawa
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Cash is no longer accepted. Parking Fees: Overnight $16 plus taxes Monthly $200 plus taxes
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

141 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 0E8 Canada
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Ottawa Intl Airport
Gatineau Airport
740Reviews9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 146
  • 243
  • 197
  • 96
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Olga Smile wrote a review Apr 2020
Odesa, Ukraine21 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for quite a long time in the hotel - around 1,5 months.
Cool that they have small kitchens and you can cook.
Beds are comfy and nice. The couch is middle comfortable for sleeping.
Elevators are a bit slow though.
The location is very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: good location,
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scenic38116 wrote a review Apr 2005
Toronto, Ontario1 contribution10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My sister and I stayed at the Aristocrat Suite Hotel April 22 to April 25,2005.
My sister lives in Victoria BC and booked the room ahead of time through expedia.ca who offered a daily rate of $75.00 Canadian for a standard suite. She called the Aristocrat Hotel directly and the best they could do was $115.00, so she took advantage of the great deal and booked us.
My husband then looked up the Aristocrat Hotel on the internet and found some bad reviews. The better rooms seemed to be the deluxe rooms to the left of the elevators. I have never stayed in a suite hotel before and had some apprehension about what to expect but as it turned out, we were delighted. We stayed in a standard suite with two double beds on the third floor to the right of the elevator.
Our suite must have been recently renovated because it looked so bright with clean walls and carpets. The rooms were lovely, just like in their photos. We paid extra for parking in the outside lot behind the hotel. It is located on a quiet street close to downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sightseer14699 wrote a review May 2003
Brampton, Ontario1 contribution9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were recently in Ottawa for the Marathon (May 11, 2003) and were very happy with this hotel. It is located very close to the Start Line (City Hall) and is very close to all the restaurants on Elgin Street. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The Staff were very friendly and helpful. The suite was average and clean and the bathroom was beautiful (newly renovated). Everything was in working order. Thanks for a great weekend!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gatorgirl123 wrote a review Sept 2010
tokyo59 contributions85 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
seriously! My husband works up in Ottawa a few weeks a month and we wanted to try the family living up there, so we stayed at this extended stay with our 2 young children. While the location was great, I woke up a few days into the trip with bites me. I thought it was nothing and after a few more night it was really bad. I called to the front desk they sent maintenance up right away who stripped the sheet and "said it was nothing" but changed everything out for us. Being naive I thought this would be enough. We ended up checking out of the hotel a few night later.

Once we got back to the US I went to the doctor who told us it was bed bugs bites. We are now in the (expensive) process of treating our home for it and myself. I spoke with Joel the manager and was told the entire 11th floor would be looked at by an outside company and he would file a complaint with corp. I would hear back from corp by end of week. This was last week and STILL NO ACTION HAS BEEN TAKEN. When I called on Friday at 5:30 to get an update if the rooms were looked at I got no response and that corp was "notifiy". I really tried to let the hotel handle this situation properly but they have failed to do so on every level.

DO NOT STAY HERE.... THEY HAVE BED BUGS!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Northern-raveler wrote a review Oct 2010
Sudbury, Canada4 contributions20 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a three star hotel through Hotwire and I ended up with a room here. I had read a review on here from Aug 2010 stating this hotel had bedbugs. I contacted Hotwire and they refused to give me a refund and refused to change my booking to another hotel. I was told by Hotwire that they had done a 'site review' the week before and the hotel had no issues.
So I decided to check in and do my own inspection of the beds. I learned how to find bedbugs on the Ottawa Public Health Unit website. I lifted the sheets and looked along the seam-line of the mattress and sure enough a small brown bug, a bit smaller then a grain of rice, jumped out from the seam.
I returned to the front desk and told the concierge, who sent another staff up to the room with me to see. We inspected the beds and found 2 dead bedbugs but no live ones. This gentleman told me they had done treatment for bedbugs in the past and that is why there was dead ones.
The concierge did offer to move us to another room, but I was sure I would not be able to sleep at night after seeing that live bedbug. I told them I would be checking out and was told I would have to contact Hotwire if I wanted a refund.
I was expecting Hotwire to give me a hard time about getting my money back, but I had not even called them yet when I received an email from them stating I would be receiving a refund.
I am definitely afraid to book with Hotwire again. I was expecting to pay for another hotel room on top of the hotwire booking but figured it would be cheaper then having my house treated for bedbugs.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2010
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Region39, Regional Director of Operations at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Responded 3 Nov 2010
I recently received a copy of your review of the Extended Stay Deluxe - Ottawa We take great pride in offering a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price, so I was happy to read your comments about your accommodations. However, I was disappointed to read the rest of your remarks. Please accept my most sincere apologies. Upon receipt of your complaint we immediately contacted a pest control agent and had him examine your room, however no signs of any pests were found in your room or any of the surrounding rooms. It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shannon Richards wrote a review Apr 2013
Georgina, Canada9 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in. I would rather have rated it below Terrible. Took my 16 year old daughter to her provincial tournament & from prearrival until I left we had nothing but problems with this hotel. It started with my reservations, a huge screw up, noqw I wish I had of stayed elsewhere, but the city & surrounding areas were completely booked for the Womens Worlds & the OWHA provincial tournaments.
So upon arrival, I was impressed with the location and front lobby looked clean & nice, but once I took the 2x2 elevator (which I wasn't sure would fit 3 people in it) & got off to my ever so lovely 4th floor dumphole the whole floor stunk it was sickening. Old rotten smoke & death. The carpets are disgusting from hotel hallway to your filthy room, the beds are gross, stains & I don't even want to know what kind of stains were on the furniture after watching 2 hookers & a couple of johns exchange money & a big Thank you on the 2nd night of our stay with my 16 year old daughter watching this. The shower sucks, the toilet is so loud. But the BIG safety issue here is that the balcony doors do not lock. That really bothered me. NO room to move around inthe room & its so damn unclean, it is beyond filthy. Parking LOL that was another pain in the butt. We had to park at City hall. This place needs to be condemed filled in & rebuilt. This place is a complete waste of money The hotel is in desperate need of a teardown & rebuild.
I know one thing for sure we had 17 girls staying there withour hockeyteam & their parents we were so disgusted from the check in that I know none of us will ever be back. Over priced for what you get, this is even below a 1star hotel. Gross man never ever again
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Just don't go to this hotel & I am sure the next one willhave a better room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Region39, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Responded 9 Apr 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described viewing is not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience, and hope you reported it at the time to either our team or the authorities. To prevent both the cleanliness and safety concerns from happening again, my team is coached daily on the importance of responding to guest requests quickly, and following up to ensure every guest's satisfaction. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at otw@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Compass12636 wrote a review Aug 2005
Canada1 contribution8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This has been the worst hotel I have been a guest at. I booked a suite over two months before our intended stay because we had some clear needs. We got the suite with two bedrooms, a living room (with pull out couch), bathroom and kitchen. We requested each room have a double bed, and the staff said that would be no problem. The day before we arrived, I called to confirm our room and was told everything would be as I requested. I arrived early to check-in and park my car before enjoying the day in Ottawa, but unfortunately I made the mistake of not examining my room. When we returned from our day on the town we found an absolutely horrible room. The carpet was old, stained and burnt. The walls had small holes and peeling plaster. It was completely different from the photographs on the internet. To make things worse, instead of double beds there were only single beds in each room. I went down to complain and was told there were no other rooms and refunds were not possible. They also claimed that I never made any special room requests. Other than a bright and modern lobby, this hotel is old and under poor repair. They attempt to lure tourists in with nice photos and promises and then provide a horrible experience. I suggest that this hotel should be avoided at all costs. There are many other hotels in the same area that provide far better rooms, service and price.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2004
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FellowTraveler1934 wrote a review Feb 2005
11 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We styed there for two nights during winterlude for $230 including taxes in the one bedroom suite (not the deluxe).
It was clean and comfortable and I loved the hotel for the price we paid. It is close to downtown and only a 5 minute walk to the winterlude events in confederation park.
The staff are friendly and everything worked in our room which is better than some more expensive hotels we have stayed in!
We didn't use the whirlpool or fitness facilities but were told by another guest that they are good.
The only real downfall was parking. We had to park out on Elgin St on the first night as they had no parking available despite the fact we checked in early and you can't book parking in advance.
The restaurant was OK but not as good as it is made out to be although the decor was lovely and has inspired some redocorating at home :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2005
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Storyteller7143 wrote a review Jul 2003
Litchfield, nh6 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was almost really good. I like getting a suite for normal room prices. Turns out it has limited hotel parking (which is extra), and because we were there on Canada day there was none left for us. We ended up parking a few blocks away at the city hall (which turned out to be cheaper) but it did mean we had farther to walk and no "in/out" privledges on the car. The room was adequate - clean and a good shower, decent bed, but was run down in some places, with strange things like a missing door knob on an interior door. It is in a great location, close to everything, including some reasonable resturants.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maryrose L wrote a review Jul 2003
2 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We just came back from spending Canada Day in Ottawa and stayed three nights at the Aristocrat Suite Hotel.

The good things about the hotel: - We liked having our son sleep in a separate room, having a living room to sit in when we are not in bed, and having access to a kitchen and a large fridge, even though we didn't actually prepare meals. But we could have. - The hotel and our suite were clean and fresh, furnished in good taste, with everything in good repair, so that despite the good price we paid, we did not feel we were in a dump. I was anxious about this going to the hotel. The furniture was new, simple and solid, not old and rickety, the walls freshly painted, the bathroom newly renovated. - The fitness room was so so, but the whirlpool and sauna were georgous. - The hotel did not contain a stale old smell, even in the older part of the building.- Helpful staff. - The hotel is within walkng distance to most of the sights we were interested in, and is close to a residential area so we got a feel for what it may be like to live in Ottawa.

The less enjoyable things about the hotel: - It's on an incredible noisy street with motorcycles and cars revving it up in the middle of the night, and people shouting and whistling in the street early in the morning. - Our suite was in the older part of the hotel that contained an air conditioning unit that was noisy and did not cool. It was much cooler just leaving the window open. But then you hear all the other air conditioners running in the other units. - The rooms are a bit small.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Derrick asked a question Oct 2018
London, Canada
How muchfrom now to end of April
Answer from AtsYan
Newmarket, Canada46 contributions49 helpful votes
you should ask the property. I was only a guest there.
Answer from HousePlantD
Cornwall, Canada226 contributions32 helpful votes
Not a lot of cookware. We ended up buying a cooking set from Giant Tiger just to have enough to cook with. Had to ask for a can opener and it didn't work. Best to either bring or buy what you need rather than gamble with what is there.
Answer from Neil N
Toronto, Canada9 contributions1 helpful vote
Parking is $15/ day (in the East wing) at 2 different floor levels (P2 and Mezzanine).
Kokpit asked a question Sept 2015
Fenlands81 contributions28 helpful votes
Are there irons in the rooms?
Answer from Neil N
Toronto, Canada9 contributions1 helpful vote
Iron is available in the room.
Olga Smile wrote a tip Apr 2020
Odesa, Ukraine21 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"good location,"
Read full review
Matt Z wrote a tip Mar 2018
Kentville, Canada46 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for a top-floor room"
Read full review
Karen P wrote a tip Jan 2018
Guelph, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Telkl staff what you want and they will help you no problem"
Read full review
Mike D wrote a tip Dec 2017
Welland, Canada78 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The sofa couch worked for my kid, but would be terrible for an adult. Also, the sheets for the pull out couch were not great."
Read full review
Tester Y wrote a tip Nov 2017
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"close to most government offices"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ottawa area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
extended stay deluxe ottawa - downtown hotel ottawa, extended stay ottawa, ottawa extended stay
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Extended Stay Deluxe - Ottawa - Downtown
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
208
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EXTENDED STAY CANADA - OTTAWA - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Which popular attractions are close to Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa?
Nearby attractions include Confederation Park (0.2 miles), Yuk Yuk's (0.2 miles), and Ottawa City hall (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beckta Dining & Wine, The Scone Witch, and Town.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Ottawa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
All Ottawa HotelsOttawa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OttawaHotels near Extended Stay Canada - Ottawa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire