Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cartier Place Suite Hotel

180 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2L5 Canada
Traveller (200)
Economy Suite Dining Room
Room & Suite (164)
Pool & Beach (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
£160
No prepayment needed
£143
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#35 of 73 hotels in Ottawa
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Proud to be family owned and operated, the hotel is a short walk to Parliament Hill, the Ottawa Convention Center, the ByWard Market and City Hall. You will find our pet friendly accommodations in a quiet downtown neighborhood, located one block from the historic Rideau Canal and the trendy boutique area of Elgin Street. Always a favorite among families and business travelers alike; the hotel offers 250 spacious one and two bedroom suites, including VIP suites with Jacuzzi, Business Suites and Penthouse Hospitality Suite with a roof top patio and beautiful city views. Each suite features a full kitchen, separate bedrooms, combined living/dining area with a private balcony. Deluxe meeting and banquet facilities feature floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook our gardens. Guests may also enjoy the games room, children's playroom and the only downtown hotel with a private outdoor garden patio complete with playground and shuffleboard court. The indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna, exercise room and the friendly atmosphere all contribute to a memorable stay. Whatever the reasons for your stay, there's flexibility and a willingness to meet your needs at the Cartier Place Suite Hotel. Whoever you are and wherever you come from, as soon as you step in the door, you will know you are welcome. Suite dreams await you... here."
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Game room
Patio
Kids stay free
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Children's playground
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

180 Cooper St, Ottawa, Ontario K2P 2L5 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 91 out of 100
91
Ottawa Intl Airport
Gatineau Airport
994Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 297
  • 418
  • 173
  • 67
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rolipop wrote a review Aug 2021
Saint-Hubert, Canada153 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If what you’re looking for is location and space, this one is a great choice. We walked literally everywhere we went.
We had a two-bedroom suite so the kids had a room to themselves and we had a master bedroom to ourselves in addition to the small living room, small eating area and small kitchen.
We couldn’t have dreamed of a better space for that amount of money.
But since it is so affordable, forget about niceties: no free shampoo, decoration hasn’t been updated since the nineties, shower head sucks, beds are uncomfortable, etc.
Another bad surprise: when we came, the pool was under renovation (the kids had been really looking forward to it).
When I asked for dish soap and coffee filters, they sent it up to my room without trouble.
Parking is expensive so we used the Indigo one at St. Teresa church at the next stop sign. One third of the price for a 3 day pass.
Overall, awesome spot but not recommended for capricious people.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Park at the church at next stop sign, much cheaper. Ask the front desk if you need anything,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CARTIER CUSTOMER CARE, Guest Services / Front Office at Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Responded 23 Sept 2021
Dear Romy, Our locations is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Ottawa and a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences.We are an eco-friendly hotel and provide guest amenities but we do not offer individual small plastic bottles of lotion or conditioner in our suites. We do provide dispensers in all suites that contain liquid soap as well as shampoo. On your next visit, we are happy to share with you a sample itinerary that will help you maximize your stay in the area. I hope to see you again soon. Cartier Customer Care
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smomo2016 wrote a review Feb 2020
Dennis, Massachusetts11 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Cartier has lots of pleasant amenities and a fantastic location. Indoor pool, sauna, hot tub? Check. Good onsite bar/restaurant? Indeed. Need a kitchenette, brining your beast, need parking? All set. The neighborhood has whatever you want: fine dining, Mickey D's, safe strolling, and a 15 minute walk to any downtown location, you're all set. A few things could be updated, and perhaps they get confused about being their own policies like free coffee in the lobby each morning) nope, bring money. Overall you can't be do better in Ottawa.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SuiteCartier, Public Relations Manager at Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Smom2016, We appreciate all the great comments you have written about us, we can't thank you enough. Since we are a suite hotel property we find our clients prefer to wake up to a fresh pot of coffee in their room. For this we provide a coffee packet for your enjoyment. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cherie1955 wrote a review Aug 2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania57 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to Ottawa this time to celebrate my 65th birthday. The Manager gave us an upgrade to a great VIP suite. The suite was large and comfortable. The bed was excellent, kitchen had all the items we needed and the room was clean. The location was amazing❗️Every day, we walked through lovely parks, the canal and small streets to the National Gallery. We had a mix up with the room not being cleaned one day and the staff responded right away. The Supervisor took off the cost of two nights of parking to make up for the inconvenience. We were more than satisfied and would stay here again 😊
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CARTIER CUSTOMER CARE, Guest Services / Front Office at Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Dear Cherie Happy 65th, we are so glad to hear that your stay was so wonderful, especially during such a special occasion. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathleen R wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a terrible experience this weekend. We have stayed here on several occasions in the past. We walked into room with a full garbage bag left behind, hair on the floor in bathroom and bathtub not cleaned as it still had blue cleaning solution. Security guards on floor. Asked why and staff would not answer. When I asked the guard it was due to Covid 19. When this was brought to the attention of front desk. They offered another room When we went up to check it our feet literally stuck to the floor. After speaking to manager. I was informed that they do not have the enough staff to clean the rooms. Our family felt very unsafe and left.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CARTIER CUSTOMER CARE, Guest Services / Front Office at Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Dear 06065QYkathleenr Thank you for sharing your feedback. We truly value the opinions of our guests. We appreciate that you have informed us about the housekeeping deficiencies in your suite and have notified the Executive Housekeeper and all Department Managers to ensure this will be rectified if you chose to revisit our establishment. Concerning the extra security on our floors, we feel with everything going on in the world today we always take extra measures to ensure all procedures and policies are followed for the safety of all our guests and staff.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Solomio wrote a review May 2021
North Rustico, Canada11 contributions34 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the most out of date, filthy hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms were decorated in the 60s I think and never updated - and the cleaning standards are very low - dirt and dust every where. Rooms are dark. Management is polite but condescending - no issues complained about ever get resolved. I would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone. Their focus is on saving money, not customer service. The only good things to say about it are its location is great, and the rooms are a decent size.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t stay in the tower; the other rooms in the hotel may be nicer but they were reserved for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CARTIER CUSTOMER CARE, Guest Services / Front Office at Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Responded 4 Jun 2021
Dear Solotravellerforever We appreciate your feedback and have looked into your concerns. We are glad you enjoyed the location and the spacious room but have no record of your recent stay with us and there were no concerns from any guests that were brought to our attention. We have addressed your comments with our staff and have re-inspected the rooms that were recently occupied to make sure they are cleaned properly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
olga2ron2canada wrote a review Apr 2022
Toronto, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We picked this hotel because it has a pool and we were hoping the kids could spend a portion of their Ottawa trip there. Kids were excited to pack the bathing suits. When we got there a pretty rude front desk person said the pool is under renovation and I should have read about it in the website. We booked on bookings.com and it was definitely not there. Also the pool is front an centre of the hotels own website, but both were does it say it’s under renovation.
Much lesser problem was the parking garage, but you have to be a real pro to get into one available space (after being told there are 5 spades available).
He location is great, close to everything, hence 2 stars, but you could get the same location from airbandb. This hotel does not do housekeeping or even offered clean towels, so not sure what was the purpose of it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CARTIER CUSTOMER CARE, Guest Services / Front Office at Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Responded 29 Jun 2023
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff. We will review and ensure your feedback will be given to all. We have minimum housekeeping services, but do provide any 24 hour linen exchanges when a guest makes a request. Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel, a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol C wrote a review Oct 2023
Sterling Heights, Michigan193 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an older hotel, which is in need of redecorating but very clean and all rooms are suites with a full kitchen, dining room, living room, separate bedroom and a bathroom. There is also a very nice balcony to sit on and watch the world go by. In addition, there were also a very large indoor swimming pool and hot tub. Staff at the desk were helpful and accommodating. Location was excellent in the heart of the Elgin Street restaurant district. Easy walk to almost anywhere downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CARTIER CUSTOMER CARE, Guest Services / Front Office at Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Responded 9 Oct 2023
Dear Legal Carol, We appreciate your valuable feedback, and look forward to welcoming you back on your visit to the nations capital.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don F wrote a review Oct 2023
Ottawa, Canada2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Be aware if you open cannabis products in your room this hotel will accuse you of smoking and charge you $300.00 for a deep cleaning fee . It doesn’t matter if you explain it’s legal and was never smoked in room even the owner doesn’t care , they go by if the maid smells cannabis then says you were smoking in room . You will have to go to court to get your money back , owner & manager of hotel completely back up what staff tells them . Not to mention it was like I was back in the 1970’s , extremely uncomfortable furniture, kitchens are 30 years old with no cooking utensils .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not bring cannabis products with you hotel discriminates against it .
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CARTIER CUSTOMER CARE, Guest Services / Front Office at Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Responded 5 Nov 2023
Dear Mr. Foreman, Thank you for your feedback. The enjoyment of all of our guest stays are important to us. I understand that you are concerned regarding the smoking fee applied for smoking in a non smoking room / area. We have designated smoking areas outside on the ground floor for our guests and staff. Please contact us to discuss your feedback so that we can strive to improve our services offered. Thank you. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Doe wrote a review Apr 2023
50 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location and value. Rooms have all the basics for a multi-day stay... fridge, stove, coffee maker, dishwasher. Balconies and living area. Not wildly fancy but everything was as advertised, clean and functional. Helpful and friendly staff, nice hot tub. The location is great because you are next to the canal, endless restaurants / pubs / coffeeshops, as well as close to all the center city attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: There is a coffee maker so bring your coffee. Room comes with some too of course.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CARTIER CUSTOMER CARE, Guest Services / Front Office at Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Responded 29 Jun 2023
Dear Traveler. Our locations is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our hotel. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Ottawa and a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mac2476 wrote a review Nov 2022
Regina, Canada244 contributions118 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is quite dated but is clean, on an excellent location and quite affordable. All of the rooms are full suites with kitchens. Again the amenities are dates but would serve the purpose. The hotel is in a easy walk of the lively Elgin Street restaurant and bar strip. I found the restaurant in the hotel to be adequate at best.

If you are looking for affordable accommodation, especially did longer stays, and a great location this hotel may suit you just fine.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CARTIER CUSTOMER CARE, Guest Services / Front Office at Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Responded 29 Jun 2023
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
survayman12 asked a question Dec 2020
Amherstburg, Canada17 contributions46 helpful votes
Is the hotel still being used for quarantined COVID cases?
Answer from Cherie1955
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania57 contributions62 helpful votes
Sorry, I don’t know 😊
Answer from SuiteCartier
Ottawa, Canada2 contributions
Hello, Yes we do have laundry facilities on each floor. The cost for wash and to dry is 2.00 each machine. Cartier customer Care
1HSW asked a question Nov 2019
Owen Sound, Canada22 contributions24 helpful votes
What is the current per night parking rate at the hotel? I couldn't find it on their website. Thank you :)
Answer from paulyh635
Ontario, Canada 107 contributions30 helpful votes
It’s $30 I believe but they offer deals some times, I had a deal from a certain hotel website being a VIP member. It’s a very steep parking lot but very secure under ground. Hope that helps.
Cdn_Care asked a question Feb 2019
Toronto, Canada8 contributions
Do all rooms have a balcony?
Answer from SuiteCartier
Ottawa, Canada2 contributions
Dear Cartier Client Yes all our rooms come with balcony's. Cartier Customer Care
Answer from Grace827
132 contributions49 helpful votes
Thank you!
Golnaz S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Montreal, Canada6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Indoor pool and indoor parking"
Read full review
Louise G wrote a tip Nov 2023
Lowestoft, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't expect to be able to do a lot of catering; only the basics are provided."
Read full review
Don F wrote a tip Oct 2023
Ottawa, Canada2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not bring cannabis products with you hotel discriminates against it . "
Read full review
Kimberly S wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check in before parking, carry all keys & cards with you. When opening the door to the room just turn the key and push - knob doesn't work."
Read full review
Richard M wrote a tip Jul 2023
15 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't have too high expectations."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ottawa area.
PRICE RANGE
£127 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cartier place hotel ottawa, cartier place suite ottawa, hotel cartier place suite
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
249
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CARTIER PLACE SUITE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Cartier Place Suite Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Confederation Park (0.2 miles), Yuk Yuk's (0.1 miles), and Ottawa City hall (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Cartier Place Suite Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Cartier Place Suite Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Cartier Place Suite Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cartier Place Suite Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cartier Place Suite Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beckta Dining & Wine, The Scone Witch, and Town.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cartier Place Suite Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Cartier Place Suite Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Ottawa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cartier Place Suite Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Cartier Place Suite Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Cartier Place Suite Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Ottawa HotelsOttawa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OttawaHotels near Cartier Place Suite Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire