We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Show Prices
#16 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Chateau Laurier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,358: English reviews
Rothesay, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you appreciate the elegance of old world architecture and 5-star service combined with location, this is your hotel! Located in the heart of the city directly next to the Parliment Buildings overlooking the Rideau Canal, this location is prime. The stunning exterior of Indiana limestone in the style of a French Renaissance chateau looks like something out of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Katherine, Thank you for your very comprehensive review! Our mission is to turn moments into memories and it is always nice to hear when we have been successful. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Gold Floor in Ottawa certainly delivers an outstanding experience from start to finish. The Gold Floor has recently been refurbished and expanded. It is beautiful with lots of nice amenities. The food is particularly good. All the staff are outstanding, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are nicely finished with lots of thoughtful touches. From start to finish our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyBeaver
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

A stay on our Fairmont Gold floor is certainly one not to be missed. Rest assured I will share your compliments with the team. We agree that we have some of the best colleagues in the business! We are delighted that your stay in Ottawa’s Castle was a memorable one and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely,...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself was very nice. Interior looked very high-class. The location in downtown Ottawa was great. The room was a bit small but otherwise it was a nice stay here. I was here for a Conference. Can't really complain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tal_Hameed
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are delighted that your visit to Ottawa’s Castle was a memorable one. As a heritage property, we have various room sizes and configurations available. Should your future travel plans include Ottawa, simply let our Reservations Agent or your Travel Professional know of your preference for a larger room. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As always this hotel offers great service. If you can afford it, stay on the Gold floor, it's worth it just for the breakfast, and the afternoon snack. The rooms are nice and comfortable. My only complaint was with the wifi, the signal was very weak and inconsistent, which made it difficult to work on an iPad. Besides this small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZacmanMontreal
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with others on Trip Advisor. You may be pleased to know that the issues you experienced with Wi-Fi connectivity are certainly not typical and we have reviewed signal points to improve signal strength. We hope you will return one day as we are confident you will be impressed with the...

Welland, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The building itself is beautiful and the room service was very fast and thorough. However I found the price to be much too high even for the location. The rooms are not large by any means. There are no sitting areas and the rooms are very narrow. I thought for the price we would be getting a larger size room....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nemmii
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Our mission is to turn moments into memories and I regret that we failed to do so on this occasion. As a heritage property, we have various room sizes and configuration to offer our guests. We regret that you did not enjoy breakfast, which served in Wilfrid’s, located off the main lobby and features wonderful views of Parliament Hill. I...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Normally, I can't afford to stay here, but we got a good deal and we were very happy with our stay in February, during the winter festival called Winterlude, which is one of the best times to be in Ottawa! The room seemed newly renovated, except for the mattresses, which my husband complained seemed to sag a little in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beefair2014
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are indeed fortunate to have the premier location in the heart of the city, particularly during the Winterlude festivities! We hope to welcome you back one day soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better location. Central to the event, shopping, restaurants... you name it. Hotel is grand and the rooms are upgraded clean and very comfortable. The lounge at night was very relaxing and the pianist was extremely talented. Glad we had an opportunity to stay at such a historical hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Onourwa
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are very fortunate to have the ideal location in the heart of the City! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a long and interesting history. The architecture is wonderful and the staff are friendly, helpful, and always professional. The photos in the lobby depict a history of hosting famous individuals. My favourite is, by far, the photo of Einstein that was taken by Karsh.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LWS_Canada
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Our mission is to turn moments into memories and it is always nice to hear when we have been successful. We hope to welcome you again one day soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

CANADA
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I only used the pool recently for approx. 9 days of the month membership due to poor engineering and temperature of water was extremely cold I actually did not feel well after using the pool as it was that cold. Being a lap swimmer I totally understand that there are times temperatures change but because the PH levels and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PLAYA01
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We regret the disappointing experience you had with your Health Club membership. Once again, we value your feedback and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back one day in the future, allowing us the opportunity to regain your trust abd loyalty! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the opportunity to stay at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier last night. Our room was very lovely and our meal at Wilfrid's was excellent. We had two complaints though. First, the room was very warm so we had to put the air conditioner on in the middle of the night. Despite this, the room continued to stay quite warm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thirsty321
ChateauLaurier, Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Our mission is to turn moments into memories and I regret that we failed to do so on this occasion. Please rest assured that we do take your feedback to heart! We look forward to welcoming you back to Ottawa’s Castle one day soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

938 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (915)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (175)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (233)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (345)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
1,983 reviews
Lord Elgin
#8 of 67 in Ottawa
93 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Zoe's Lounge
Zoe's Lounge
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
Cuisines: International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: £123 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Chateau Laurier staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Chateau Laurier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother paying for deluxe room, not worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles laughingwoman6, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles melissaheaslip, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Op for the Gold Floor, the extensive inclusions are well worth the upgrade!”
 of 5 bubbles katherineb733, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was newly renovated. Don't know if they all are.”
  • We didn't ask for a room with a view, but I think this was very pretty.
  • See how pretty the marble is? Not that it's a make-or-break thing.
  • The bathroom was exceptional. The marble is so pretty!
  • One of the beds
  • Our room, taken from the entrance.
 of 5 bubbles beefair2014, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to look for special deals. It is often possible to find good packages that bring the room rates down.”
 of 5 bubbles LWS_Canada, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5