We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Novotel Ottawa City Centre

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (532)
Room & Suite (335)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct Online!
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#30 of 74 hotels in Ottawa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A charming modern full-service hotel set in the heart of downtown Ottawa, located just steps to the Byward Market and the Rideau Canal, a short walk to the Parliament and across the street from the Rideau Shopping Centre- the leading shopping destination in the city which holds one of the only Nordstrom stores in Canada. The Novotel Ottawa is perfectly situated across from the Shaw Centre (Ottawa Convention Centre) and the University of Ottawa is a 5-minute walk from the property. The trendy new Albion Rooms Restaurant at the Novotel has been recognized by the New York Daily News as “hypercool” and voted by UrbanSpoon as one of the top restaurants in the city. Buffet breakfast is composed of an extensive selection of regional and seasonal produce from the market. Our bartenders serve up craft Ontario beers; wines from small wineries and winemakers, classic cocktails and our house signature dishes deserve their own place at the table. From Canadian roots and Ottawa soil, Come experience true North hospitality with a hand-crafted story in our comfy yet glamorous interior or on the restaurant’s shaded patio. From breakfast to lunch to dinner and late night, Chef Stephen’s menus take a rustic yet contemporary approach to bites, snacks, meals and feasts for any occasion! Our hotel features 283 guestrooms, complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour fitness center, an elegant outside patio, a refreshing indoor swimming pool, and sauna where guests can enjoy a chic yet restful stay. Underground parking is available for $28+ tax per night with 24-hour in/out privileges for registered Novotel guests. Since we aim to provide the best to all our guests, Novotel Ottawa offers 3,500 sq. ft. of naturally-lit versatile event rooms for corporate meetings or elegant weddings. All our meeting space is newly renovated and provides natural light and black-out shutters. Our largest meeting space can accommodate up to 130 people (banquet style). During the summer months, enjoy the air-conditioned guestrooms and bedroom sliding windows. The guestrooms include a mini fridge and a seating area, as well as a satellite flat-screen TV, and a coffee machine. Elegant en-suite bathrooms come with numerous fine toiletries.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kid-friendly buffet
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct Online!
1993Reviews25Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 571
  • 897
  • 336
  • 126
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Torontocanucker wrote a review 24 Feb
Mississauga, Canada251 contributions109 helpful votes
Disappointing experience. Forgot my night-shirt on the back of the bathroom door. Hotel wants $94 to ship to another city in Southern Ontario. I mean come on, it weighs about 1/2 lb and would cost no more than $10 to mail. Gouging in the highest degree. Beware, this hotel allows dogs and we were awoken 2 nights in a row with dogs barking in the next room in the middle of the night. Not a good situation at all. At least put all the dogs on the same floor! The parking situation is terrible. Very inconvenient and expensive to have to park at the Rideau Centre. Will not be staying at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
YS1986 wrote a review Aug 2022
Frankfurt, Germany80 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
We are pleased with the Novotel, now after 2 years of rather less or no travel, we didn't recognize any negative influence. The hotel is not the newest but the lobby and rooms are all fine. Also nice bar and breakfast area. Fast and good check-in, the parking costs 28$, if you would park in the same parking lot you pay 20$ from 6am till 6pm and another 12$ from 6pm till 6am. So you save a little bit money when parking with the hotel. With hotel parking you have direct access from the parking lot P3 to the lobby and then to the rooms. We had a nice and special preparation for our honeymoon (not all hotels were so nice 👍, so a big plus). The rooms are not too big, it's ok for 2 people, bathroom is equiped with nice walk-in shower and German Grohe shower faucet kit. Also very happy about the environmental protection aspect of the shower gel/body soap, Shampoo and conditioner. All in big bottles which can be just refilled instead of providing small single bottles which produce much more waste. We didn't try the bar or in-house restaurant for dinner but it looks good and pricing seemed to be normal for Ottawa city and Canadian city prices. The breakfast offered a wide range of products, pastries, freshly prepared pancakes 🥞, eggs, omelette and also fresh meat for bread. Coffee is standard American black coffee, varieties of other food for breakfast, you can boil and adjust your own breakfast tea with fresh tea leaves. All in all a very good and great breakfast. We were satisfied with the whole service at the hotel. Great location in Ottawa, near to all important touristic and sightseeing sites, parliament etc. The swimming pool is shared with the Les Suites hotel nearby, it's quite crowded and ok, not so suitable for families, it's ok but if 3-4 families are in the pool it's crowded and full. But it is ok, just not a big pool.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking costs 28$ per day
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sona Abbasi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Dear guest, We are grateful for your gracious review of Novotel Ottawa City Centre. Our management is proud that we are able to exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ottawa. Regards, Front Office Team Novotel Ottawa city Centre
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Temi D wrote a review 19 Feb
1 contribution
The hotel itself was nice. However, they didn't let us know in advance about the underground parking was under construction. We pulled into the lot and got stuck in the parking lot. The door wouldn't open to let us out. We asked for help and that didn't happen so fast. We finally got out and were told to park across the street in the other lot. This lot was okay, but ended up costing us $50.00. Many guests were complaining about the parking. It was very cold and snowy. We ended up parking our car and taking uber. Our hotel room was okay, but no where to put your clothing, no dressers, except for a small closet. Next time we visit Ottawa, we will look for another hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: check with the hotel in advance about the parking lot, if it is still under construction. A big...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sona Abbasi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 4 days ago
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time and leave us a comment regarding your stay at Novotel Ottawa. We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. The parking below us is public and we do not own parking it is closed with a last-minute notice due to their construction going on. if you decide to give us another chance to serve you better, please get in touch with them directly at sonaabbasi@novotelottawa.com and I will make it up for your next stay. We apologize again for your experience and look forward to hearing back from you. Regards, Sona Abbasi Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thorax28 wrote a review 12 Feb
Toronto, Canada6 contributions
The hotel is perfectly situated for walking and sightseeing. The staff were friendly and helpful. My room was very small but good for one person. Bathroom small but shower is excellent. Bed comfortable. Two pillows had a smell of unwashed hair. Highlight was being steps to the fantastic Ottawa Art Gallery.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sona Abbasi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and especially the hotel's location. We look forward to welcoming you back next time your travel plans include The Novotel Ottawa! Bests, Sona Abbasi Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jason Riley wrote a review 4 Feb
Montreal, Canada36 contributions72 helpful votes
As others have noted, the hotel is located next door to the Rideau Centre shopping mall and is a short walk from the Byward Market and other attractions. But, it's worth noting that there are also several shelters nearby and a lot of homeless people around. I left the car across the street at the convention centre parking garage, which is more spacious than the hotel's garage (and unless you need in/out privileges, it's cheaper). Check-in was quick and efficient. The room was very small, but I didn't need a lot of space. There were plenty of outlets, a safe and a small fridge. I was disappointed that the room was not very clean. There were hairs in the sink and on the bathroom floor and a mystery stain on the bed sheet. The room was relatively quiet overnight but I don't know how many other rooms on the floor were occupied. Overall, this is a good hotel that I would have given an extra point to if not for the cleanliness of the room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sona Abbasi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jason, Thank you for taking the time and leaving a comment regarding your stay at Novotel Ottawa. We are happy to hear that some aspects of your stay met your expectations and please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced regarding the cleanliness. I tried to find your booking and room number however you haven't been booked under Jason Riley in our hotel, if you do not mind, please let me know what were the last name and first name that you were booked so that I can find the booking the take the necessary measurements regarding the complaint. Once again we appreciate your comments and review and looking forward to hearing from you. Regards, Sona Abbasi Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
tgmag wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Pro: - great location, beside Rideau Centre, Byward on the other side of that, a very walkable location to restaurants, shopping, uOttawa, Parliament - easy, friendly check-in - card access to hotel room floors from underground parking and vice versa - nice bathrooms with full size toiletries for you to use - NOT TAKE WITH YOU which was clearly noted in a sign. No hair conditioner so the hair was a little flyaway the next day but no big deal, a lot of good quality linens - good shower preset to the right temperature, ledge for bottles - rooms have ample storage, tv, desk, outlets, two arm chairs and coffee table in addition to desk chair, a mini cooler/fridge, kettle, single pod coffee maker, ironing board and iron. They appear to be clean - blackout AND light filtering curtains - wifi available Con: - front of the hotel and driveway are very small, my husband had to wait in the car on the side street (Daly) by parking entrance while I checked in because the hotel driveway was chaos with only 3 cars. The middle car had to do some Austin Powers repeat drive and reverse action just to get out. Driving is fast and aggressive around there. - road noise, lots of it - parking lot, parts of the ceiling are being held up with scaffolding - underground parking, once you drive past the hotel entrance, go left and left again, just know that you will hit a dead end and if there is no parking available and you cannot turn your car around, you will have to back up through some tight spaces - underground parking, if you have a Thule or some storage on top of your vehicle, you may be hard pressed to find a parking spot with enough vertical space to accommodate you - the room that we had may have been renovated, I don't know. The carpet was dark blue, the cabinetry was dark grey, I think, the desk was black, the wallpaper behind the headboards were shades of black and grey and white. Overall, dark and a bit oppressive, made the room feel smaller - small room, be sure to put your things away, use the suitcase bench and closets or you will struggle to walk around - the beds are uncomfortable, lumpy, creaky and squeaky. Extra blanket had a giant hole in it. - walls are thin General: - we didn't have breakfast there but it's a $25 buffet - parking is $30/night with in-out privileges - 24/7 gym - pool on ?5th? floor - we felt safe - there are a lot of homeless people in the heart of Ottawa - Byward was surprisingly subdued for a weekend summer night - uOttawa is a beautiful campus
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for non-street facing room, less road noise. Park before the hotel entry in underground,...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sona Abbasi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 29 Aug 2023
Dear Tricia, Thank you for your feedback on Novotel Ottawa City Centre. All reviews are taken into consideration by management to identify areas of improvement. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back. Regards, Front Office Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie L wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Ottawa’s okayest hotel. First, we reserved a room with a king-sized bed with pull-out sofa. We GOT 2 queens and no sofa. Wanted the sofa as my husband often needs to sit up on the sofa each night as he wakes up with headaches. Tried to change rooms but the person at the desk tried to hard sell us against a move! “ Your stuff is already there, it’s only 2 nights and you’re on the 9th floor and would need to move to the 3rd floor “. I genuinely can’t understand why we weren’t booked in the room we reserved but whatever. The other thing is that our key card seemed to have blood on it! It could’ve been lipstick or paint but obviously they aren’t cleaning those!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sona Abbasi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 15 Aug 2023
Dear Julie Litchfield, I appreciate you taking the time and leaving a comment regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and that you did not receive the room type that you booked. at that moment we were experiencing maintenance issues and needed to change a few room types and I hope you accept our sincerest apologies regarding this. if you decide to give us another chance please get in touch with me by calling 613-230-3033 and I will do my best to make it up for you. Regards, Sona Abbasi Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AlunR wrote a review Aug 2023
Bridgend, United Kingdom64 contributions84 helpful votes
There was just “something” about the hotel that meant I have it 4 out of 5 but I can’t pinpoint it. The check in was efficient, as was check out. The room was relatively small (we’d booked a deluxe room) but had all we needed. The view was non-existent (a brick wall). I suppose it was the fact that it’s a chain which can come across as perfectly functional but rather charmless. On the positive, the location was fantastic as it was a 5 minute walk to Parliament Hill and the main shopping/restaurant area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sona Abbasi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 12 Aug 2023
Dear Alun, We appreciate you taking the time and leaving a comment regarding your stay at Novotel Ottawa. It is a pleasure that you liked some aspects of your stay like the location and the check-in check-out process. I will pass your comments to the other team members as well for further consideration and looking forward to seeing you again staying with us! Regards, Sona Abbasi Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
B K wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
On a grueling work trip. The hotel was much more then I expected. Good customer service. Clean rooms. Spacious bathrooms and gym facilities. What else can you expect from this range. The walls are thin so you dont want to get stuck in a room next to a family with young children if you want to sleep in at any point.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: There isn't any chest of drawers.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sona Abbasi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 12 Jul 2023
Dear Boshank, Thank you so much for taking your time and leaving positive feedback regarding your stay at Novotel Ottawa. I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming back you here! Sincerely, Sona Abbasi Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Haleema k wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
We were treated so rudely at the breakfast , our infant was sick n also we had checked in very late past mid night , so because of all we just got 5 mins late but this black lady probably her name is Nichole as to what the receptionist told us , as she refrained from telling her name so we had to ask here and there , she was damn rude , we felt we were looked down as we were Indians or i don't know what but she could also have been courteous in telling a no but she was very rude ,. I never felt so low n I'll treated lately I felt like a beggar after paying so much for the hotel . Please take action upon this today is July 7 2023 n this happend between 10:02 am to 10 :20 am
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sona Abbasi, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Responded 10 Jul 2023
Dear Haleema, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment regarding your stay at Novotel Ottawa. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, please kindly be advised that our breakfast closes at 10:00 and we do not make fresh coffee and croissant after 9:30, this means that if a valued guest arrives late after 10:00, if there is no coffee and pastry left, we are not able to open the service and this is kind of unfair to relate this to discrimination based on your origin. regarding your request to take action, I noticed that you talked to the restaurant manager that day in the lobby and informed her that you will leave a negative comment. We do respect all nationalities and our hotel's culture is very strong in this matter as you can see we have employees from all over the world., and once again we are sorry if the experience did not meet your expectations. Regards, Sona Abbasi Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ottawa area.
PRICE RANGE
£108 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel ottawa hotel ottawa, ottawa novotel, accor ottawa
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawaByward Market Area
NUMBER OF ROOMS
283
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVOTEL OTTAWA CITY CENTRE - Updated 2024 (Canada)

Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Ottawa City Centre
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Nearby attractions include Jigsaw Escape Rooms (0.3 miles), Ottawa Locks (0.3 miles), and Escape Manor Byward Market (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Bottega Nicastro, BeaverTails, and 1 Elgin.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Novotel Ottawa City Centre located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Ottawa.
Are pets allowed at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel Ottawa City Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Novotel Ottawa City Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.