Swiss Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Swiss Hotel

Traveller (162)
Deluxe Queen with Fireplace (+bathroom)
Room & Suite (313)
Breakfast on the patio
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#28 of 73 hotels in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Swiss Hotel is conveniently located in downtown Ottawa in the heart of the Nation's Capital within easy walking distance to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars, and convention sites. The Swiss Hotel offers unpretentious modern comfort in a beautifully restored historic three-story building. As a small adults-only boutique hotel, it offers a tranquil and intimate atmosphere that caters to business people and tourists alike. Its 22 rooms have been transformed to provide you with an intimate experience and personalized service. Rooms come complete with complimentary Wi-Fi, crisp white Swiss-style linens, hardwood floors, modern glass-tile bathrooms, and a Nespresso machine in every room. Choose from our cozy standard rooms to our larger rooms with fireplaces or a jetted tub. Beyond the rooms, guests can enjoy the garden courtyard when the weather is warm, or sit by the fireplace in our lounge in the cooler months.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Patio
Adults only
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, German

Location

89 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Ottawa Intl Airport
Gatineau Airport
447Reviews5Q+A87Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 246
  • 131
  • 41
  • 12
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JudyandJw W wrote a review Aug 2021
Peterborough, Canada35 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a fantastic non traditional hotel in the heart of Ottawa's Byward Market district. We were fortunate enough to have secured a room (due to a cancellation) at the last minute as we only decided to take a trip that very morning on our motorcycle. Fortunately for us, due to a cancellation a room was available at a very good rate. An easy booking was made through their website and away we went. We live in Peterborough, Ontario, so the trip took us several hours, taking our time to enjoy the sights and roads leading up to Ottawa. Check in was made very easy by the most accommodating reception we have ever experienced. She gave us extra attention when it came to parking our motorcycle and took the time to go that little bit extra for us. So wonderful! The hotels façade is that of an older limestone structure which is very captivating upon arrival. However, once inside, it is a whole other story! Very modern styling with clean lines and décor. The Swiss feel of red, black and white are ever prevalent. Our room was extremely clean (as was the whole hotel) and extremely well appointed, Small, but everything you would ever need. We just loved the attention to details that were everywhere. The only down side (hate to say it at all) is for those with limited or constricted mobility, may find the tight stairs and lack of any elevators a challenge,,,,BUT, if not an issue, the price and excellent location of this hotel along with the superb customer service are all worth it! We highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Dear Judy and JW, Thank you very much for your review and staying with us. I'm so happy you had a great time. I'm glad I was able to accommodate you and your motorcycle. Our garden is just perfect for that. Happy New Year and I hope to see you soon again. Sabina and the Swiss Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
physbiz wrote a review Aug 2022
Worcester, Massachusetts239 contributions79 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You can stay at a faceless big hotel or stay at the Swiss Inn and meet Sabina, the owner, and other guests while you sip your cappuccino or other hot drink in the morning. The location is very convenient and very quiet even on a night when there was a fireworks display not far away. Our room was clean and nicely furnished and the bed was very comfortable. We encountered some homeless people in the general area, but not near the hotel and always felt safe. There are five park and stay parking places for $12 a day. We would definitely stay at the Swiss Inn again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seanna wrote a review Oct 2021
Toronto, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is great, and since it’s on a residential street it’s very quiet. Our room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Check-in was a breeze, and the woman who manages the hotel (Sabine), was the loveliest person ever. She made us feel so welcome. I highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Thank you very very much for your kind words and thank you for your review. We really appreciate it. Hope we'll see you again this year. Sabina and the Swiss Hotel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BrifromTor wrote a review Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada8 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was a bit small but very comfortable, and very clean. Being on a side street was also very quiet. Didn't deal a lot with the staff but they were very pleasant at check in and check out and the lady at the desk when I checked in took a good amount of time to orient me in the city and give her advice on where to go and what to see.
The neighbourhood had quite a few homeless people around but the location is only a couple blocks from main streets, and the homeless were not bothersome at all.
Several good coffee shops within a few blocks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Second floor at the back, faces a car park, and next door condo, but there was no noise (or if...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 7 Jan 2022
Thank you very much for your review and staying with us. We hope you'll visit us soon again. All the best! Sabina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry C wrote a review Mar 2021
Ottawa, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked 3 nights (March 2 - 4, 2021) at this hotel. I arrived there and was greeted rudely by the front desk clerk who said "You cannot get into your room until 3". I said fine and left all my luggage in the hotel lobby which is in the basement. They do not have trolleys to put luggage on. I went back around 3 and the same grumpy receptionist had now raised her rudeness a few levels higher< She demanded my ID and credit card. I provided them. She examined them and said 'Your credit card is invalid." I replied "It is valid. You are mistaken as I paid for my room on Expedia with this card and just ate at HQ paying with the same card." She replied louder still and with an indignant righteous voice "It is invalid'. I said 'If you want a security deposit I can pay in cash.' She replied angrily 'No. We do not accept cash.' I said I wll go to my bank and straighten this matter out.' She then replied angrily 'Which bank." I replied 'My bank.' She said angrily 'Which bank.' I said 'It is not of any concern to you who I bank with. I informed her I would go to my bank and see what they can do.' My bank informed me that many hotels and other establishments do not accept a combined bank debit/credit card as a credit card. I am thinking why then does Expedia accept it to confirm a reservation. I got my cab fares refunded by Expedia and more for the inconvenience of my visit to this hotel, My advice is to stay away from the Swiss Hotel in Ottawa.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Dear Q1074XCterryc, Thank you for telling us about your experience, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. I have taken your comments seriously and will take corrective action. Please be aware that we only accept a valid credit card as form of deposit upon check-inn. We do not accept cash, debit, pre-paid credit cards, or visa debit. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christina F wrote a review May 2022
Toronto, Canada3 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We make several trips a year to Ottawa to either drop off or pick our son up at University. Normally, we stay at a Marriott downtown, but it's not always affordable.

We were pleasantly surprised by Swiss Hotel. Our room was clean and well appointed. The bed has a big fluffy duvet and the pillows were exactly the way we like them.

Our room was not particularly large, but that was by choice. They do have larger rooms. We just opted for a more reasonably priced one.

We were able to get one room for two nights at the same cost of one night at the Marriott. How cool is that?

There are only a few parking spots, but we were able to get a spot on the same street and parked for free.

The owner is lovely and was extremely accommodating. Coffee and tea are included in the price and there is a garden out back.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel and we will, no doubt, be back in the fall.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nuria wrote a review Feb 2020
Barcelona, Spain12 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Swiss Hotel is simple fabulous. The rooms are impressively clean, they are elegant, stilish and super cute. The fire place makes even more dreamy. It is also very quiet, which is greatly appreciated and the owner is so helpful trying to make sure everything is perfect, that we are happy...she’s also very funny and absolutely caring. I will certainly recommend it to my friends and I will come back. Thank you very much for your kind attention 🤗💜
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear Nuriaqv, Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Swiss Hotel this week. Our rooms with fireplace are quite popular specially in winter time. It is so nice to be able to relax by the fireplace after whole day of meetings. We hope to see you soon again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pierre M wrote a review Apr 2024
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are attractive, very historic. However, instead of a welcome note highlighting the hotel, guests are greeted with warnings about wearing shoes in the rooms and a Price List of charges should the linen get soiled. If you are hot or cold or want to use the fireplace -- tough. No instructions given. Also, it's a pretty building but in a homeless area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GuelphTraveller wrote a review Jan 2021
Canada1,381 contribution400 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this nice little hotel on December 31st and January 1st 2021. First of all it is in a great location in Sandy Hill which is close to the downtown and the market area and is a very nice historic district in Ottawa. The hotel is in a nice old stone building that is private and well kept. The accommodation was comfortable and there was parking at the back. The nicest thing was the owner Sabine who has been the proprietor of this hotel for 40 years. She is the most charming and kind woman and very interesting to talk to. She and her husband have worked hard to build this business and Covid has been a hard hit for them. Sabine does everything to make your stay run perfectly and I think this is a great place to stay. A good family business to support.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: My room at the front was great.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2021
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel and thank you for your kind words! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you upon your next trip to Ottawa. Warmest regards, Sabina
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CaCro wrote a review Nov 2020
Ontario, Canada11 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in October 2020 for 20+days while visiting the family that lives nearby. The hotel and the owner exceeded all of our expectations. We felt very welcomed, pampered and safe in this beautifully appointed boutique hotel. Extra towels, extra coffee and anything else we needed was provided instantly. The hotel is very clean, and we had no concerns about disinfection during the pandemic. The room and the were very comfortable, we slept well. One regret only: we did not have a chance to experience the highly rated breakfast prepared by Sabina; it was not offered due to Covid. Another reason to come back soon :-).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sabina Sauter, Owner at Swiss Hotel
Responded 30 Jan 2021
Thank you very much for your staying with us and your great review. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and service and we hope to see you soon again. What a year 2020 has been! All the best!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack S asked a question Aug 2017
Toronto, Canada16 contributions1 helpful vote
if we bring bikes where can we keep them?
Answer from bob m
Brantford, Canada61 contributions63 helpful votes
There is a locked back yard that I'm sure they will let you use.
Answer from Alan W
Toronto, Canada108 contributions90 helpful votes
Limited parking, you can park on the street. A large shopping mall garage is about a three minute walk away as another option
Candida Carolin... P asked a question Aug 2017
Province of Malaga, Spain6 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there an elevator?
Answer from Jodie G
Calgary, Canada42 contributions51 helpful votes
There are mainfloor rooms, that have only 1 step up at the entrance. If you can't manage stairs, I would recommend letting the staff know when you reserve. Check in/out and breakfast are located on a lovely lower level, but the staff are so wonderful they may be able to provide alternatives.
Mary M wrote a tip Jun 2023
Medicine Hat, Canada2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe ask for one of the bigger rooms as the small ones are just that. "
Read full review
Scott D wrote a tip May 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Never stay here "
Read full review
BrifromTor wrote a tip Aug 2021
Toronto, Canada8 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Second floor at the back, faces a car park, and next door condo, but there was no noise (or if there was the window was very well insulated)"
Read full review
GuelphTraveller wrote a tip Jan 2021
Canada1,381 contribution400 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My room at the front was great."
Read full review
bienenbub wrote a tip Feb 2019
Ottawa, Canada23 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We upgraded to a room with a fireplace. Very nice!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ottawa area.
PRICE RANGE
£127 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Gasthaus Switzerland Inn
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SWISS HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Swiss Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Swiss Hotel?
Nearby attractions include CF Rideau Centre (0.3 miles), Ottawa Art Gallery (0.1 miles), and The Highlander Pub (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Swiss Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Swiss Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at Swiss Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Swiss Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Bottega Nicastro, Cumberland Pizza, and BeaverTails.
Is Swiss Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Ottawa.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Swiss Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Swiss Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Hill and Buildings (0.7 miles), Rideau Hall (1.2 miles), and Laurier House National Historic Site (0.4 miles).
Does Swiss Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Ottawa HotelsOttawa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OttawaHotels near Swiss Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire