Byward Blue Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Byward Blue Inn

Traveller (341)
Panorama of the Euro Suite at the ByWard Blue Inn
360
Panoramas (39)
ByWard Blue Inn
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
£119
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£119
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#9 of 73 hotels in Ottawa
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
ByWard Blue Inn is the only hotel in Ottawa`s favorite gathering place for cafes, galleries, museums, restaurants, shopping and the ByWard Market. This charming Inn offers to business or pleasure travelers great room rates in a fantastic location. Queen or Twin Bed rooms feature private balconies, ensuite bathrooms, climate control, Internet, Cable TV and complimentary breakfast. All major attractions are within a 5 -15 minute walk.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian and 1 more

Location

157 Clarence St, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P7 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Ottawa Intl Airport
Gatineau Airport
1,088Review28Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 468
  • 458
  • 98
  • 41
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Henrietta N wrote a review Sept 2023
39 contributions19 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were surprised by the residential neighborhood but found we were just down the block from the USA Embassy. Wonderful market area. So many restaurants nearby. Also close to the art museum, the Basillica, and several government buildings. We wanted to see the Canadian War Museum - that was just 5 or 10 minutes away. We had a small room with a balcony. Only choice this day was twin beds. They were very comfortable. They provide china and silver in the mini kitchen - very nice touch. The hotel breakfast was excellent. Nice selection of very fresh fruit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Marketing at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 4 Oct 2023
Dear Henriettan2019, Greetings and thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and your kind words are greatly appreciated. We value your rating. Keep us in mind for future visits. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew S wrote a review Jul 2020
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada8 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a clean and well located hotel close to the beard market. We booked a special deal through TravelZoo which included a bottle of wine, breakfast and afternoon tea per voucher. We booked 2 nights using to separate vouchers. Breakfast is self serve and one takes up to room to eat. Very well done. Afternoon tea did not happen, perhaps due to social distancing concerns. Bottle of wine was refused for second voucher. Rather disappointing as my wife and I were here for her virtual citizenship ceremony. Be nice if they actually honoured the vouchers. Never mind, we had a great visit and really enjoyed the location.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 8 Jul 2020
Dear Andrew S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Let us begin by congratulating your wife on obtaining the citizenship. We are sorry to hear that you were let to believe that there was a second complimentary bottle of wine. As it was explained by the front desk, the current promotion on the Travelzoo includes 1 complimentary bottle of wine and it is per stay rather than per voucher. Apart from this, we are glad to read that you had a delightful stay with us. Thank you for letting us serve you. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vanessa wrote a review Apr 2021
Toronto, Canada10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I loved our stay at the hotel. We opted for a queen room, and it was clean and well lit. The room didn’t have a view per se but it was nice to have a balcony. I particularly liked the small kitchenette as it’s never convenient to use the bathroom sink for washing cutlery and coffee mugs. The breakfast was nice and filling, with egg sandwiches, cereal and croissants on the menu. They also accommodated our request for early check-in as we were travelling on a weekday before long-weekend and needed a place to set up our laptops during the day. Social distancing was practiced very well and the hotel had all safety precautions in place without compromising on a pleasant stay experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 6 Apr 2021
Dear Maple Vanessa, We are delighted to read that the hotel met your expectations. We appreciate your comments on the hotel safety measures, room cleanliness and breakfast. We hope to seeing you again the next time you visit Ottawa. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelNotTourism wrote a review Mar 2021
Ontario, Canada190 contributions161 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My Queen room with balcony had a microwave, electric kettle, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, eating utensils and plates. The room was a good size. Location is excellent - you can see the Peace Tower and top of the Parliamentary Library from the front of the hotel - about a 15 min. brisk walk. All manner of restaurants and eateries within easy walking distance. Hotel has underground parking (fee) for about 10 vehicles, so reserve in advance. Alternatively, there are two parking garages within a 90 second walk of the front entrance of hotel. Staff was very welcoming. Facility was very clean. Only down sides - room needed better lighting for reading, a comfortable/easy chair would have been welcome, and I found the mattress much firmer than I prefer.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 25 Mar 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving us such a detailed review. We are pleased that all was good with your stay. We appreciate your comments on the noted observations. We hope to seeing you again the next time you visit Ottawa. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph G wrote a review Oct 2020
Montreal, Canada5,106 contributions681 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Blue Inn is located in the heart of the trendy and vibrant Byward Market. We chose to stay there for a brief visit to Ottawa and did not regret it.
Indoor public parking is just meters away; the room was bright, clean, and had all the modern amenities. The stay included breakfast which turned out to be very good (including the hot bagel with eggs and bacon). The staff was friendly and helpful and followed strict Covid protocols. And last but not least, the stay was quite inexpensive.
We would gladly return in a future visit to Ottawa
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Dear Joseph G, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a pleasant review. We are delighted to read that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you once again soon. Thank you staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WakefieldReviewer72 wrote a review Jul 2022
Wakefield, United Kingdom67 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never visited a hotel that has been more welcoming and accommodating. From the moment we contacted them to let them know that our flight had been delayed, to our arrival at 3:00am, nothing was too much trouble. Despite the hour we were warmly welcomed, checked in without fuss and inside our room within 5 minutes. There is a lift to all floors. Our room was spacious and very well equipped with a fridge a microwave oven and television. The large double bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of towels in the bathroom which had both a bath and shower. Breakfast, included in the price, was in a well spaced room on the ground floor and offered cereals , yogurts, fruit as well as hot food, toast, croissants and condiments. All the staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. The cost our 3 night stay was 337 Canadian dollars, inclusive of taxes, which at the current exchange rate was £217. A delightful hotel situated in downtown Ottawa within comfortable walking distance of major attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Dear Thesmithsat72, Greetings and thank you for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We greatly appreciate your kind words on the staff and other noted observations. We will share your comments with the rest of the staff. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Venture754838 wrote a review Sept 2021
Ingersoll, Canada532 contributions99 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re looking for a clean and quiet room, then this is your place to stay.
We were quickly checked into our room. Even though there was no parking available on the premises, there is an underground city parking garage that is conveniently located right by the inn.
Great features about the room included a door to the courtyard with a table and two chairs to use during our time here.
The kitchenette was a welcome addition and was fully equipped with plates, glasses, cutlery, napkins, coffee maker, microwave and compact fridge/freezer.
Breakfast is included with the stay. We enjoyed coffee and bacon, egg and cheese on a toasted English muffin.
The inn is within walking distance to the sights downtown and there are lots of great pubs and restaurants conveniently located very close by.
The inn observes all the necessary steps to ensure cleanliness and masking procedures.
My only criticism of the inn was the bed. I think the inn would do well to invest in a higher quality mattress.
Look forward to visiting Ottawa again and staying at Byward Blue Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you’re looking to park in the inn’s parking garage, then be sure to reserve ahead.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 9 Sept 2021
Dear Venture754838, Greetings and thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts about your recent stay. We are pleased that everything was good with your stay. We greatly appreciate your comments on the room cleanliness, location and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you soon again. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vic B wrote a review Apr 2023
Bancroft, Canada179 contributions62 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location-Location
The Byward Blue Inn is all about location for the visitor. A two minute walk to the heart of the Byward Market and ten minute walk to the Shaw Centre and numerous other spots in the area has this place as the best location for a small, intimate hotel. With a small but secure parking area under the hotel you can leave your car there for a small fee. Our room looked out onto Clarence Street itself which in this case was not the best of choices. Summer, I suspect would be even worse for the following reason. This area has been consumed by hordes of homeless people, drug addicts and others that continually raise a ruckus during the early and late evening. As our Nations Capital it does not bode well for tourism.
Unfortunately, the elevator for this hotel was not functioning when we got there but the staff kindly carried our luggage up to our third floor room. The rooms themselves are small but adequate with microwave, cutlery and dishes enough for an extended stay if that is your desire. The room was clean and comfortable. What was outstanding was the included breakfast provided. The hot serving section had scrambled eggs and peameal bacon, hard- and soft-boiled eggs and ham and egg breakfast sandwiches. There were cold cereals as well as yogurt, fresh pineapple and cantaloupe several different juices, croissants and several different breads for toasting with peanut butter, honey and jam packets. For drinks there was ice water, coffee, tea, hot chocolate unfortunately no decaf. Two staff members were on hand to constantly refill all stations. Again, the location was perfect for dining out or shopping.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 6 May 2023
Dear 44vicb, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. We are glad that you had a delightful stay with us. The new elevator has been installed and now is ruining. We appreciate your feedback on the location, breakfast and staff. Keep us in mind for future visits. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mme Winky wrote a review Oct 2022
Burlington, Ontario181 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a pleasant surprise!
We thought we would try this smaller hotel as the location was excellent, the price was extremely reasonable, and the reviews were very good. We were not disappointed.
The room is so well appointed, very clean, and bright.
The kitchenette is well stocked - dishes, glasses, cutlery, sink, dish soap, kettle, teapot, microwave, coffee maker (and coffee), mini fridge/freezer (with a full ice cube tray, bottle of water, butter, creamers).
There’s also a safe, ironing board, bathrobes, slippers.
The bath towels were fluffy and bright white.
Lots of windows and a balcony with a table and two chairs.
Parking was literally steps away at only $15; on-site parking is limited but would also have been $15.
We will definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angjelo Lumi, Guest Services / Front Office at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 2 Nov 2022
Dear Mme_Winky, Greetings and thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We are delighted that you had an amazing stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback on the location and breakfast. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony D wrote a review Jan 2020
24 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My son and I stayed here for 6 nights to see museums and hockey. It's located at Byward Market and is very convenient for Parliament Hill, many restaurants and bars, Rideau Center for shopping and public transport. A number of the museums, including the Canada history museum in Gatineau are walkable.The Canadian Tire Center for hockey is some distance away (from everywhere in downtown Ottawa) but a local bar (Senate Inn) has a shuttle for about the same price as public transportation.
The room was warm and beds (singles) were comfortable. The breakfast was very welcome and staff were helpful. As mentioned, there's a code to get in after 9pm ( even though there still seemed to someone's on the desk) but that was no problem.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Angjelo L, Guest Relations Manager at Byward Blue Inn
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear S2234RRanthonyd, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts about your recent stay. We are pleased to read that all was good with your stay. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Ottawa. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, ByWard Blue Inn
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David B asked a question Jan 2022
Peterborough, Canada14 contributions29 helpful votes
Are you pet friendly if we were to bring our kitten?
Answer from Angjelo L
Ottawa, Canada3 contributions
Hello, We are sorry but pets are not allowed. Thanks Al
Alison G asked a question Apr 2020
Nova Scotia, Canada111 contributions56 helpful votes
How far is this Inn from the Arts Centre. Thanks
Answer from Angjelo L
Ottawa, Canada3 contributions
10 min in foot. Thanks Al
carollealsmith asked a question Oct 2019
Brentwood, California5 contributions29 helpful votes
Is the hotel walkable from the train station or do we need taxi or UBER?
Answer from Angjelo L
Ottawa, Canada3 contributions
Good evening, It is best to take a taxi or an uber from the train station. We look forward to your arrival. Warm Regards, ByWard Blue Inn
Answer from Angjelo L
Ottawa, Canada3 contributions
Get off at Rideau Shopping Mall (Rideau Centre). The hotel from the the Rideau Mall is 15 min by foot. Have a good trip!
Answer from Clemente71
Richmond, Virginia709 contributions307 helpful votes
Cannot answer because I took a taxi to the hotel.
Excursion36474721319 wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expect nothing more and nothing less than a 3 star hotel. Don't expect any service either."
Read full review
jamie m wrote a tip Feb 2024
Chattanooga, Tennessee102 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"small private parking garage but can’t fit big trucks. But there is an inexpensive parking garage next door. My Ford Explorer fit well."
Read full review
Aloba3591 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Santarcangelo di Romagna, Italy1,757 contribution242 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The best in town !!! ps: ( don't say it...it'll be always busy !!! )."
Read full review
Carole H wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware there is a lot of homeless around the location "
Read full review
ShariandRob753 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Sunderland, Canada97 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room with a balcony "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ottawa area.
PRICE RANGE
£105 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
byward blue hotel ottawa
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BYWARD BLUE INN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Byward Blue Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Byward Blue Inn?
Nearby attractions include Jigsaw Escape Rooms (0.2 miles), Notre Dame Basilica (0.3 miles), and ByWard Market (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Byward Blue Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Byward Blue Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Byward Blue Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Byward Blue Inn?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Byward Blue Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Bottega Nicastro, BeaverTails, and Play Food & Wine.
Is Byward Blue Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Ottawa.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Byward Blue Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Byward Blue Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parliament Hill and Buildings (0.6 miles), Rideau Hall (1.0 miles), and Laurier House National Historic Site (0.6 miles).
All Ottawa HotelsOttawa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OttawaHotels near Byward Blue Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire