Alt Hotel Ottawa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Alt Hotel Ottawa

185 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 0E8 Canada
Traveller (288)
Panorama of the Accessible Two Queen Beds at the Alt Hotel Ottawa
360
Panoramas (17)
Room & Suite (205)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#6 of 73 hotels in Ottawa
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
In a downtown business district, this modern high-rise hotel is within 10 minutes' walk of both Parliament Hill and The National War Memorial, and 1 km from The Canadian Museum of Nature. Intimate rooms feature free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs and Keurig coffeemakers, as well as desks with ergonomic chairs. Altcetera Café, a trendy café, and a fitness room, both open day and night, are available at the hotel. There are also 9 rooms to gather your team or to hold an event.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

185 Slater St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 0E8 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 98 out of 100
98
Ottawa Intl Airport
Gatineau Airport
697Reviews23Q+A85Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 436
  • 201
  • 41
  • 11
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nova_Scotia_tourista wrote a review Feb 2020
Bedford, Canada65 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights at this fabulous hotel - loved the funky decor! I travel a lot and have stayed at many hotels internationally, and have to say this hotel ranks right up there! Starting with our easy, friendly checkin, we loved everything here - our spacious (very quiet) room, the two closets (it’s nice to have your own closet when you’re travelling with someone), the huge bathroom with a tub/shower and a magnifying makeup mirror (I wear glasses and can’t see much in a normal mirror), and lots of lighting everywhere. We had 2 breakfasts and a dinner here. The bar and dining areas are part of lobby and had such a cozy vibe. I would’ve felt very comfortable here if I were travelling by myself. I liked that you could buy the breakfast buffet or just selected items (I’m really just a toast and coffee person). The dinner menu included some nice choices you don’t usually see - we enjoyed a very tasty and plentiful charcuterie board. Service was attentive and prompt. I should add that the location is very central and convenient in downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean_philip_Dupre, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Good afternoon Nova_Scotia_tourista, Thank you immensely for taking the time to share with us these lovely words! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay, especially our proximity to Ottawa's gems. We have ensured to share your review with the entire team - from the Food and Beverage Team, to the Housekeeping Team, and to the Front Desk Team - as we want to motivate the team members. We hope to be able to have the chance to host you again in our beautiful city, our Nation's Capital. Until next time,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathleen R wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
All staff smile when you enter the lobby. You get the feeling that they enjoy working. Room was so clean and beds comfortable. Service was wonderful. They offered us dog bed for our dogs and umbrella's when it rained. Due to Covid 19 the hotel provides bags to put your dirty towels and you leave it outside the door and they replace them with clean ones in a bag - great idea- obviously organized as we were provided us with information on covid 19 policy at the hotel. Would strongly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dino Gurusamy, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 6 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are glad that our COVID-19 measures allowed us all to be safe, and you still felt taken care of and we know how the details matter when traveling with our valued pets! We look forward to having you back in the Capital soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert N wrote a review Aug 2022
Brooklyn, New York105 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel has a very trendy and cool vibe. alt Hotel Ottawa is a six year old facility, part of the French-Canadian Le Germain chain of hotels. The guest room, lobby and bar/cafe area have a trendy, European vibe. Guest rooms feature at least one rough finish wall and original artwork, Nespresso coffeemaker and importantly, DAILY housekeeping. Hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel is five minutes walk to the Parliament building district, Sparks Street pedestrian mall and to a regional light rail metro station.

Only cons—oven in the cafe was out one morning. Other than a coat closet, no storage drawers whatsoever although the saison accommodates generous luggage storage to facilitate “living out of your suitcase.”

A property recommended for central Ottawa stays.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacqueline W wrote a review Aug 2021
Montreal, Canada357 contributions173 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was disappointed in my recent stay at Alt Ottawa. We were two couples staying several days in two rooms over a recent long weekend and sadly we all had more complaints than kudos. Our rooms were small and overlooked a wall. The only plus was good water pressure in the shower and good tv. There was no bottled water in the room and no fridge. The hotel seems to be significantly understaffed. We made several requests for amenities at reception and in each case after waiting a long time and then calling with our requests a second time we ended up having to go downstairs and waiting until we could could get - eg - an extra towel. I had paid $30 extra to bring my dog (they have a dedicated floor) and had read on line that this comes with a water bowl, dog bed, treats. I'd expected these would be waiting in my room, but no, there was nothing. Again, I had to call several times, wait, and finally go to reception to ask again to get these amenities for my pet (and the dog treats never arrived at all). There was no servicing of rooms at all, supposedly because of covid, so our rooms were not refreshed at all. It's pretty miserable to stay in a hotel where the rooms are not made up at all. Supposedly after 3 nights the hotel changes the room if you are a long staying guest, but we left before this kicked in. This was not my first post covid trip but it was the first time I have experienced this. When we checked in we were given a paper explaining covid rules which included a phone number to be let in after 11 pm since, they said, the hotel closes its doors after that time. Fortunately this didn't actually seem to be the case as we returned late each night and the hotel was still open (a good thing too since we had left the phone number in the room). The lobby area is very nice with a pool table and small cafe area. Breakfast is not included and the nespresso machine in the room uses paper cups (another supposed covid measure). Parking nearby is expensive: the lot across the street is more convenient and cheaper for overnight than street parking but it still adds a lot of expense to one's stay. Would I stay at Alt again? The location is good but everything else is wanting. No, I'll go elsewhere next time I visit Ottawa.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Florence Leblanc-Belanger, Guest Services / Front Office at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Good morning Jacqueline, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed our lobby area, the shower pressure as well as the television. However, I am sorry to see your overall stay did not meet your expectations. Please note we do have some fridges in certain rooms as well as pet amenities available, but both have to be requested in advance. In addition, during the pandemic, for guests and employees safety, we do indeed have additional measures in place including replacing all glass dishes by paper, avoid servicing the rooms, as well as locking the doors at night when the employee has to step away in order to better control the traffic coming into the hotel. Overall, I remain sorry you were disappointed with your stay and invite you to call me at the hotel if you wish to talk about your experience further. We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so we can regain your trust. Warm regards, Florence Leblanc-Belanger
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
swim_bunny2012 wrote a review Jan 2020
Halifax, Canada304 contributions151 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Modern decor. Hypoallergenic floor available. They inexplicably discontinued room service after the first morning. Decent food in cafe. Good meeting room space. Good soundproofing, couldn't hear people in hall or other rooms. No drawers or safe in room. Lots of space in bathroom to lay things out but no shelves in shower. Cell signal was terrible in my room. Smelled a little weird. Dim lighting in room and bathroom. Decent water pressure and towels. Shower leaked onto floor. Good selection of tv channels but not HD, large tv. Bill was supposed to be emailed to me but never arrived.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean_philip_Dupre, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Good day swim_bunny2012, Thank you for taking the time to review the Alt Hotel Ottawa! We always love to hear from our guest as it is an opportunity for us to find new ways to improve our services. We are happy to have had the chance to host you during your most recent stay! We are however disappointed to read your comments regarding the room service. Unfortunately, our hotel is not fully equipped for room service, but when we have the staff and availability to do so, we try our best to provide that amenity. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We'd also like to extend our apologies for the signal in your room. Should we have the chance to host you again, please do not hesitate to contact us directly in order for us to ensure that these hiccups do not reoccur and that your room is up to your expectations. We would also like to ensure that your folio is provided to you. We hope to have the pleasure to speak to you soon. Warmest regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JRJ wrote a review Oct 2021
Regina, Canada7 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall I would not stay here again. While the rooms are described as minimalist I would suggest they actually look run down. The restaurant area ran out of most things on the menu for 3 evenings in a row since they said they were not prepared for the amount of people who stayed, which is odd considering the hotel should know this. They also provide no service to the rooms (even when staying a week) which I understand due to Covid but still do not reflect any change in price. You would hope a mid week change out of bedding/towels would happen. The customer service in their front desk staff was minimal and very unhelpful. Overall you can definitely find better accommodations in the area for a much better price and level of service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dino Gurusamy, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Good Morning JJacks4, Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please give me a call at your convenience so we can go over your concerns. Look forward to speaking to you. Best Dino Gurusamy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mbashour wrote a review Nov 2020
Montreal, Canada13 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I was booked here by work for two nights. On the first night the in room internet did not work. It did on the subsequent evening. The shower did not get beyond a little over freezing at the hottest setting and would fluctuate back and forth. This is not Le Germain Hotels best hotel, I stayed at the one in Ste Foy several times and it was great. The room was also tiny - even the bed is not a Queen (far from a King) and is maybe a twin and is kind of short, and the blankets are pffff. The styling is modern and the location is excellent but that is sadly the best you can say about the Hotel. Oh also no water bottles are given as comp and the blinds allow in light in the morning.
The Delta where work put me up a few other times in Ottawa is far superior.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dino Gurusamy, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read these comments and would love to make this right. Please kindly contact us directly at the hotel so that we can personally follow up with you. At the Alt Hotel Ottawa we know the importance of a comfortable bed and a hot shower and again disappointed we weren't able to deliver that to you on your last stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wilson L wrote a review Sept 2020
Toronto, Canada103 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So normally a place like this would have been beyond my budget but with the unfortunate COVID situation and the Ottawa Tourism $100 rebate I decided it was worth it.

I had a really great stay! The room was clean, modern, spacious, and well layed out. The TV had a Chromecast where you can stream your phone's Netflix/YouTube to very easily. I requested a mini fridge and a yoga mat which is a great way to get in some exercise, even if you are on vacation. There is a Nespresso machine with liquid coffee mate (not powder) which was lovely.

The location is excellent. I had a transit pass which I found unnecessary because I found myself walking to/from The National Gallery, Byward Market, Parliament, and even the Museum of Canadian History across the border.

The staff were great and the best part was, they let me check out at 5pm (!) so I felt like I got another day out of the hotel. I was able to have lunch inside and shower before my train ride home. (They do their best and might not always be able to accommodate such a late check out).

As a COVID precaution, there was hand sanitizer everywhere. There was no housekeeping during stay but honestly I prefer that. During my stay I never had to share an elevator but this might not be the case when it is busier. That being said the elevators are spacious and fast. I felt safe.

The only maybe negative (and it wasn't for me but might be for some) is that this hotel faces a windowless building to the north. The lower levels will have no view so if that is important to you, arrange for a higher room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Higher floor if you want a view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dino Gurusamy, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 16 Sept 2020
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad you were able to take advantage of the Ottawa Tourism Promotion and enjoyed your extended time in the hotel. While being in downtown Ottawa has it's advantages, like easy access to everything in the city as you mentioned, we don't always have the best views (unless you count our lobby)! We will look forward to your next visit with us soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Risa wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for 6 days for a business trip. The hotel was clean, comfortable, quiet, The location is perfect - right downtown and within walking distance of everything. All of the staff - from reception to cleaning staff to restaurant were courteous, respectful and always helpful. I had never stayed at Alt before but I will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jean_philip_Dupre, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 13 Feb 2020
Good day 123risas and thank you for taking the time to share your comment. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your first stay with us, and we will gladly share your feedback with our team! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at Alt Hotel Ottawa next time you travel to Ottawa. All the best
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Garth B wrote a review Aug 2020
Cobourg, Canada106 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Check in was quick,smooth and efficient. Hotel was a little difficult to find, but no different than most hotels in big cities. Public parking directly across from the hotel. Free on weekends, Friday afternoon/night was $4. Drinks at the bar were good,4-7pm happy hour, and Isaac is a great bartender. Very tasty local brews on tap. Vero and Daphne on the front desk were very knowledgeable of the area and very pleasant to talk with over coffee. The staff here take their jobs to the next level and seem to enjoy doing so. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and quiet. The market is an easy 10 minute walk. The bar/menu are under CoVid restrictions which should not be a surprise to anyone. Great job Alt hotel, you have a hidden jewel in the downtown Ottawa area and have assembled an excellent team.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dino Gurusamy, General Manager at Alt Hotel Ottawa
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are very happy that we were able to ensure your travel was safe and pleasant and the staff were happy and helpful. We will pass this message along to Daphne, Vero and Isaac as this is the service we aim to provide. We are working on the Altcetera cafe to ensure we have more delicious offerings and a safe environment to serve our guests. We hope to see you again very soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yogi_Matt asked a question Jun 2019
Indianapolis, Indiana14 contributions20 helpful votes
Am I able to bring my small dog? Thanks for any insight.
Answer from Andrew D
Milan, Italy182 contributions163 helpful votes
Sorry, we don't have pets so this wasn't an issue for us.
s_persiangirl asked a question May 2019
Toronto, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
I was wondering if you have parking onsite and how much is the charge per night?
Answer from Jean-Philip D
Hello s_persian and thank you for considering Alt Hotel Ottawa for your travel plants! We have a partnership for parking with the lot that is located right across the hotel at 265 Laurier street. The daily rate is at 22$ per 24h hours and if you wish to take advantage of our “unlimited in and out privilege” parking offer, we can charge the fees directly to your room bill. The lot is also free of charge on Saturday and Sunday! Hope this helps and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you very soon!
Daydream171324 asked a question Nov 2018
Perth, Australia10 contributions3 helpful votes
Can you tell me if the rooms have a refrigerator please
Answer from Jean-Philip D
Good day Daydream171324 and thank you for your question. We do have some small refrigerators available upon request at no charge! Simply ask when you are making the reservation or upon check in. We hope to see you very soon!
Peter W wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No secure parking. Beware!!"
Read full review
Stephanie H wrote a tip Mar 2024
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel is themed toward adults - no amenities like pool, etc. ( we didn’t need one) but there is a lovely bar/lounge area with a pool table."
Read full review
Lynn D wrote a tip Sept 2023
Collingwood, Canada8 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is off site and separate cost. There’s a lot across the street but at times the pay machine/exit didn’t work. Kept fiddling with it"
Read full review
gord s wrote a tip Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"we stayed on 15th-room had view of rooftops of other building--no view"
Read full review
StephLB_13 wrote a tip Jun 2022
Calgary, Canada62 contributions65 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book somewhere else"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ottawa area.
PRICE RANGE
£123 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioOttawa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
148
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALT HOTEL OTTAWA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Alt Hotel Ottawa
Which popular attractions are close to Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Nearby attractions include Escape Manor - Queen Street (0.1 miles), Changing of the Guard (0.3 miles), and Bank of Canada Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sansotei Ramen, Beckta Dining & Wine, and Aroma Meze.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Alt Hotel Ottawa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Ottawa.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Alt Hotel Ottawa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alt Hotel Ottawa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
All Ottawa HotelsOttawa Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in OttawaHotels near Alt Hotel Ottawa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire