We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Canadian Motor Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Canadian Motor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We booked and were given a "non-smoking" room. There is a big no smoking sign on the door. But the room reeked of smoke. Obviously it used to host smokers, and the smell has got into the walls and fabrics. The parking lot needs resurfacing, badly, too - there was a poorly-filled pothole in front of our door, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyhj_winnipeg
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 10 June 2016

I have been here many times it has nice food and drinks. The place neat and organised. It has enough parking place. The customers are treated very well. This place is open till midnight so I would recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oma1973
Gore Bay, Canada
Reviewed 14 December 2015

The room was clean, bed was comfortable. Professional friendly front desk staff; nice bar/lounge, friendly service. Good location for shopping and amenities. Basically good for budget stay; felt safe there as single female traveller.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy T
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

Friendly desk staff however not so great of a stay.Terrible air quality. Stains on bed and carpet. No lighting in parking area. Cigarette burns on sheets. Trouble breathing in the morning. Would not recommend at the price it cost to stay there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LD D
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

I had a very nice stay in a comfortable room. The bed was cozy and linens were clean. Everything seemed to be clean. It's an older hotel so it def shows its age a bit but overall I was happy with my stay. I also enjoyed a nice breakfast in the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tori A
Ernest S, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Tori for your kind review/words. We look forward to seeing you again and we are continuing are to improve every aspect of our property and customer service. Ernest S Front Desk Manager

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

Couch is comfy hoping staff knew I was only joking with them when we checked in. My fiance knew the people who checked us in . We had a big room and it was quiet check in was quick and we would stay here again. Close to stores and mall . Nice place to stay

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kate D
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I will never again stay in this stink hole ..was taking a shower and this creapy old man walked in my room with out knocking guess he was the owner ..and the hit water sucked and it stinks in the room and the hallway

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gdaddy1984
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had an unpleasant experience with us. The hotel was experiencing water problems and the owner was checking to see which rooms were affected, he knocked but you probably couldn't hear because you were in the shower. We apologize the situation could have been handled better, and will be handled better in the future.

Alliston, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Room had badly stained carpeting and reaked of dog pee. Asked to switch rooms. Smelled better but did not feel very clean. Sheets were stained. Bed spread had a cigarette burn. TV was a joke. Very poor reception and only one channel. Lightning fast internet. Locks on doors very stiff and difficult to engage deadbolt to ensure night time security....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slachie
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry you had a negative experience. All of our rooms have Shaw cable I'm not sure if there was something wrong with the hook up in your room or if the tv was not set to channel 3, if you called the front desk about it we would have been happy to...

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed at The Canadian two separate times. Both times we had great service. Showed up in the middle of the night both times and were helped right away. Rooms were decent, organizes. A little bit gloomy. Very loud fan in the bathroom. Nice tub and shower though. Went to the bar at about midnight, it was kinda dead. With...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the Review and thank you for staying with us. Sorry about the ash tray they should be in all the smoking rooms, if not let front desk know and they will be happy to track one down.

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Room had a funky smell. Towels had black smudges. Restaurant is par at best. Service was ok no complaints whatsoever about that. The location is decent. The cleanliness really turned me off. After I saw the towels I was every nervous to sleep in the bed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan B
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. and thank you for the complement on our service. I'm sorry the towels in your room had smudges on them our policy on towels and linens is to remove them from use if there are marks of any kind on them after washing.

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
261 reviews
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bel Air Motel
Bel Air Motel
#21 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Skyline Motel
Skyline Motel
#20 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
32 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Motel
Holiday Motel
#16 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
Canadian Motor Hotel
Canadian Motor Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Canadian Motor Hotel

Address: 410 Pim St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B 2V1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: £42 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canadian Motor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Canadian Motor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Sault Ste. Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Knights Inn
Canadian Motor Hotel Sault Ste. Marie, Canada - Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Canadian Motor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask about "left-over smell of smoke."”
 of 5 bubbles tonyhj_winnipeg, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay