We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Springbank House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Springbank House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 61: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old house - no sound isolation. Squeaky floors. It was ok for discounted price but for full price it would be a rip off. No locks in the rooms. Owner said "there is no need". Don't think so. Would rather have my valuables secure than dealing (even if successfully) with potential problems. Security cams are good, but locks still feel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ks_travelling
Management response:

Thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Springbank House. We know that you were shocked and surprised to meet Ms. Chocolate who was on duty for your check-in. Ms. Chocolate takes great pride in her duties and was very happy to welcome you to our Grand Suite which is spacious and comfortable....

St andrews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Actually in a gazebo surrounded by the garden but it felt as though we were outside enjoying the early morning sunshine and tasting the wonderful fresh breakfast. We felt very welcome in a lovely house with a comfortable bed. What more could we ask?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank S
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Lovely room in a century house. This is not a hotel but a guest house. We had a very clean and quiet room with ensuite bathroom. Owners were a delight, they chatted to us over coffee (stipulate breakfast the day before!) and gave us insight to the history of the house and the area. It really is like staying at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank William S
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

I spent five nights in this very comfortable old house in perhaps the nicest part of the city. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. I appreciated the personal touches and experience versus a corporate chain. I hope to stay here again on my next visit.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Timothy B
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

We just came home from a wonderful weekend at Springbank House! It's honestly difficult for me to understand the poor reviews, because our experience of this place was absolutely unlike them. I was in touch with Andrea by phone and email to make our booking and to arrange a dinner, and she was gracious and helpful in every possible way....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank foodiechikTO
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Nice home with character and good ambiance. Our first B&B so perhaps we were expecting too much? Bed booked was queen but it ended up a double. AC was not great but it is an older house. Owners placed a fan in our room which was a nice touch .Sheets could use an upgrade. Overall nothing bad to say but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gord S
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Thank you Gord, for taking the time to share your 1-night experience, at Springbank House Inn. We are glad that you found us to be a good place to stay for 1-night during a weekend. Unfortunately, it seems that we did not meet all of your expectations. We offer a premium on the weekend rates for guests who wish to...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Here are some of our first-hand experiences: The owners are NOT welcoming. They are officious, formal, cold, the worst hosts we've ever experienced in a privately owned house. It is NOT a B & B. You will pay $15.00 per person for a small croissant, coffee, canned or frozen orange juice, a tasteless fresh fruit salad (how can that be...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Beverley1112
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Beverley, Beverley, Beverley, Where do we begin? We received a personal phone call for your reservation with lots of questions about Springbank House. The next day, we received a cancellation via phone & email. The following day, we received a follow up confirmation that you were indeed planning to stay with us. We were really happy to host you both...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 7 September 2015

My wife and I stayed for one night. We booked at the last minute and this was one of the few places around the area that had a vacancy. We pretty much used the place just to sleep - checked in around 3 PM, took a nap and went out around 5; came back around 11 PM and went to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jay59inPgh
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Thank You for your comments Jayant! They were really appreciated. Accept our apologies if we did not formally introduce ourselves. We look forward to your next visit to Niagara & Springbank House!

Cherokee, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Read some previous negative reviews but decided to book anyway. The house is beautiful on exterior and landscaped nicely. Had booked on Expedia and reserved a deluxe room. Receipt stated we would be placed in either the magnolia or wisteria room. We were placed in a small room with a full sized bed. My Expedia receipt stated that the pet...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Amira2009
Seckemer, Owner at Springbank House, responded to this review

Hello Amira2009, You are right in that you received the one of our smaller rooms that is also quite comfortable. When you called the week prior to your arrival, we discussed the daily rate for 1 dog under 15lbs to be CAD$35.00. Sometimes, errors do occur on Expedia sites and we are happy to work with Expedia to correct them....

Schomberg, Canada
Reviewed 27 July 2015

The owners were lovely and the room was perfect. Huge bathroom and very homey. Cool in the heat and very inviting. Didn't notice if it had a TV but it had excellent free Wi-Fi and beautiful gardens. Downtown St. Catherine's was a short walk and everything we wanted was close by, although it all opens late on a Sunday. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gracklecoffee

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN St Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
79 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
Days Inn St. Catharines Niagara
#5 of 7 in St. Catharines
109 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Springbank House

Address: 68 Yates St, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5R8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Price Range: £64 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Springbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Springbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springbank House St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Springbank House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Accessibility may be a problem as there are stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles williamsI1449MI, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Check out ANY OTHER ACCOMMODATIONS possible in St,. Catherines. If none are available, SLEEP IN YOUR CAR!”
 of 5 bubbles Beverley1112, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“No ac in this place!”
 of 5 bubbles Amira2009, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Book elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles Butterfly_girl77, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Make alternative arrangements”
 of 5 bubbles alexmC7472NH, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay