We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines

Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (48)
Pool & Beach (3)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
218Reviews
90Photos
5Q+A
44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 60
  • 58
  • 27
  • 30
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The hotel needs renovations and updating of paint on walls and the water pipes need adjusting because the screeched in the morning, but relatively clean hotel. It was close to the highway so it’s easily accessible and less local traffic, but it was a bit difficult to get into
Read more
Disgusting! Paint peeling off the walls. Toilet and tub brown. So dirty and disgusting. Could barely bring ourselves to lay on the bed. Do not come here. Very expensive, almost $175.00 and just repulsive!!
Read more
Response from MannyGrewal1, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
Responded 23 Jan 2019
Thank you, Sunshine, for your feedback. I do have a bit of concern with the comments you have left. We recently installed all brand-new vinyl floors, and water saving toilets in December. While we did these new renovations, we also decided to paint the rooms to a newer modern color. I am unsure how the paint would be peeling in less than 2 weeks. Again, I am unsure how the toilets and tubs can be in such bad shape when they were just replaced less than a month ago? Our prices from November-April never cross $89-$99 dollars a night so I am unsure how you would have been charged $175 for a single night. I wish you had contacted the front desk to address these circumstances while you were here. We value our guests and make their stay a home away from home. Please contact us so we can look up your reservation and come to some sort of an understanding.
Read more
PROS - close to Niagara and Toronto via QEW; night shift front desk clerk CONS - dirty rooms (see descript below), bed bugs (see descript below), driveway entrance to the place is hard to see/ find, can hear when anyone around you takes a shower (the pipes are LOUD) I booked
Read more
Response from MannyGrewal1, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
Responded 18 Jan 2019
Thank you, Jessica, for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the circumstances that befall you, however one of our goals is to make sure that our guest enjoyed their stay and feel at home. The issue of the bed bug is something shocking. We go above and beyond to ensure that we do not have issues like this. When you brought it to the attention of our staff in the late hours of the night the front desk tried accommodating you as much as he could. It was NOT determined that the insect was a bed bug but none the less the front desk made the decision to take the guests importance into consideration and do anything he could to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Being New Years Eve at 3 AM staff went to clean a room that someone had checked out of around midnight. He cleaned the entire room while you waited and yes the room had more than one bed so considering the wait period, he only made the one bed and stripped the other since you had originally only booked one bed. I feel that the night staff went above and beyond what they could do based on the circumstances at 3 am in the morning on new years eve. Also, we had pest control come by to have the room checked and they notified us that it was fleas possibly from a dog that someone had brought into a room. Our Vision, Mission and goal is to place our GUEST SATISFACTION as a priority. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you as we look forward in serving you and our entire customer better. Thank you for your understanding in anticipation.
Read more
I expected more for the $129 plus tax that I paid. I've given it a rating of 2 only because the night manager was quick to respond when our TV wouldn't work after arriving back after dinner and because the bed was pretty comfortable. The room was very austere - absolutely
Read more
Response from MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
Responded 13 Nov 2018
Thank you Ruth D for your feedback. We apologize for not meeting up your expectations but we offer the best prices around the city. We have recently renovated the bathrooms and room flooring.
Read more
Location is great, Right by the highway and close to downtown and price is fair. Staff is great and they are available 24 hrs which was great because I arrived around midnigh. Quick check in and check out
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
Responded 9 Sep 2018
Thank you jmarti for your review. We are glad that you found us conveniently located and our staff and prices great as well! We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & Beach
Worn but clean and tidy fixtures - everything worked
Worn in areas to be expected, shower pressure was amazing
A bit worn but clean and tidy
Fridge, microwave, TV new and in good condition
Looking towards Ontario St
PreviousNext
12345610
Have all the rooms been renovated?
I lived in St. Catharines for 20 years and never saw the Northern lights. You would have to drive many miles north to see them. As far as town lights are concerned you would not have a problem.
0 votes
maha habaybeh, peter habaybeh, justin andrew habaybeh, justin habaybeh, maha teresa habaybeh
0 votes
sorry, i have not seen the special room for disabled persons. allthough i am using a walker i still can walk a bit the stairs. the special room was not free, when i was there. charlotte
0 votes
Show all answers
How far in time to Niagara Falls, AND also to Niagara on the Lake
Hi MicheleX3 we are roughly 15 minutes away for Niagara Falls and roughly 10-15 minutes to Niagara on the lake. If you require any additional information feel free to contact us.
0 votes
"Close to highway so easy access."
"They're all pretty much the same."
"The carpet was very soiled. "
"2 story building. State we are seniors and given ground floor. Easy access averaged $80. Per day."
"Book elsewhere."
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge st. catharines hotel st. catharinesst. catharines travel lodgetravel lodge st. catharines
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Travelodge St. Catharines
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioSt. Catharines
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing