We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place was disgusting! As you can see from the photos this was a dirty dirty place. Black mold on the ceiling around the ac unit, the bathtub black from the dirt, and the bedding all torn up. I was trying to find another place to stay while in the town and everything was booked up! I would have rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
Meaford, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were trying to be the nasty winter weather from Manitoba to southern Ontario in January and pulled into the Econo Lodge in Thunder Bay. The front desk clerk was super nice and helpful. Showed me our room prior to booking. I have started to ask to do this so there are no nasty surprises. The room was small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kym P
Leslie S, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kym, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I want to apologize for you not being able to get your receipt when you requested it. I have emailed you a copy of your receipt to the email you provide. I'm glad you had a good experience with us and we hope to see you...

Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Stayed there on my way through Thunder Bay and again on my way back through. Staff was excellent and accommodating, rooms very nice and clean.I recommend this motel for the traveler as it is centrally located for shopping etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Islandtimeontario
Leslie S, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you, Julie Brooks, Manager

Kelowna
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

It's an econo lodge, it's basic. The rooms have been recently updated and the location and price are right. There is a McDonalds, Boston Pizza and Quiznos near by. I've never had the lobby breakfast..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlakeVW
Leslie S, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you, Julie Brooks, Manager

Fort Frances, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Spent an overnight at the hotel to catch a flight on the morning. Hotel is relatively well lit on a main road (Memorial) in Thunder Bay, with a mall and box stores relatively close by. Very reasonable rate. Paper thin walls unfortunately where I stayed, so I got to listen to one of my loud neighbours for a few hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travl_trail
Leslie S, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you, Julie Brooks, Manager

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Really great place to stay. Clean and very comfortable. For the price paid it was one of the best places we stayed during our driving trip across Canada. Breakfast was basic but well stocked. The staff were very friendly and efficient with check in and check out procedures.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newytraveller53
Jervaulx, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I am stopping here tonight October 7/8th 2016,it's a good clean nice place to stay,desk staff are nice and helpful to,thanks to one of the desk people who was on duty when I checked in I ate the most delicious bacon n cheese burger at Kelsey's just a 10 min walk from the Econo lodge motel.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mr_Road_Tripper_UK
Yoho National Park, Canada
Reviewed 1 October 2016

First time in Thunder Bay and it was actually the Trip Advisor reviews and price that led me to the Econo in Thunder Bay. From the outside, I was like OK, this does not look good at all. Low and behold on the inside, I was impressed. The hotel itself is clean as a whistle, the room was very nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heatison
Kaufman, Texas
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My wife, sister and I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights on our vacation to Canada.My wife and I were disappointed in our room because cans, cups and a used pizza box were left in the room for me to dispose of. My sister reported on the first night that her smoke alarm went off in the middle of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonny D
Delray Beach Florida
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Probably average for this area but I can't give it three stars. One of the exit doors was busted so access was difficult from our 2nd floor room. Not sure what the hold up was but it Looked like it had been this way for awhile. The rug in the room was the sort you didn't want to walk on....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sloanish

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thunder Bay hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 33 in Thunder Bay
162 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
Days Inn Thunder Bay North
#2 of 33 in Thunder Bay
810 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prince Arthur Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thunder Bay
3.3 mi away
Victoria Inn Hotel & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
TownePlace Suites Thunder Bay
#5 of 33 in Thunder Bay
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 686 Memorial Avenue, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 3Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Price Range: £50 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose room 103 and ask to see the room in advance. Sometimes after seeing the room I know this is not the right motel for me.”
 of 5 bubbles KymP704, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“no smoking, call to request mobility or main and they will provide”
 of 5 bubbles ladywest2, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“main floor no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles binarond, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms have fridges.”
 of 5 bubbles CndTrvlr042, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“people with pets are on the 1st floor and fridges are 2nd level- you can't have both...”
 of 5 bubbles P6284KLsarahb, 3 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay