We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Strathcona Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$118*
View Deal
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$159*
US$118*
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
Panoramas (61)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,497 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Strathcona Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,315: English reviews
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 22 October 2014

This hotel came recommended, so when I traveled to Toronto in 2009, there was no question that this is where I'd stay. The hotel is central to all of the tourist attractions nearby, and also near public transportation in case you want to tour the rest of the city. Clean, quiet, easy check-in/out. Recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brittney K
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brittney Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on this trip. I am glad you enjoyed your trip and took the time out to share your experience with other travelers. Downtown Toronto is an exciting and vibrant place to be and we are glad that you considered us central to your plan. Looking forward to seeing...

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Stayed for one night in Toronto during a leisure trip. Excellent location, walking distance from the CN Tower, Rogers Center and several other downtown attractions, restaurants and bars. The rooms were very clean and the appliances worked great except for the wi-fi, the signal was very weak and at times it was nonexistent. The curious thing is that it worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1986renatol
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 1986renatol Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay. It is feedback such as these that present us an opportunity to work on areas that our guests feel would enhance value and finally their entire stay. We thank you for that. Looking forward to your next visit. In case...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 20 October 2014

I stayed at this hotel for business and The only positive thing I can say is it has a great location. I arrived at my hotel late at night exhausted, checked in, went to my room and there was hair in the bathroom sink in the tub and hair in between the sheets. I have pictures to prove it. as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paula05192012
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Paula Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am extremely sorry to hear of your experience, however I must thank you for taking the time to share your experience which I will be using towards coaching and training. No words can express my disappointment and I can assure you that your feedback will be acted upon and we do...

Ottawa
Reviewed 17 October 2014

My wife and I just stayed at the hotel while on business for four nights. For most of our stay the wi-fi would not reach our room. The vanity top is small, there is a nice shelf under it to store things, but unfortunately the sink leaked and all our stuff got wet. My wife got stuck in the elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank hdm960
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hdm960 Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. I am sorry that your stay was filled with so many challenges and I wish that we had converted a disappointment into an opportunity. I understand that words will not suffice, however I can assure you that I take this very seriously and will look into your feedback with all...

Rimouski, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2014 via mobile

Good price compared to what's around, well located, comfortable room. If you go there for business, mention it.. They have a special floor for business clients, with free internet... I had to pay mine and realized that only at the end of the stay. Restaurants on site are good and pretty affordable to.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cboli
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear cboli Thank you so much for your feedback. It feel great to be appreciated and we do value your input as we improve our services continuously. As you noted we do charge a reasonable fee for our internet use as we believe it is not right to incorporate free internet into the rate thus increasing the price which is...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night to attend Nuit Blanche. The hotel is nice and very clean. Front desk reception was top-notch. I even heard the fellow helping another guest mention it was only his third shift, and I couldn't believe it! He was so knowledgable. It seemed like he'd been working there for years....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rachel C
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel Thank you so much for your feedback and also recognizing individual efforts. Your experience will be shared with all teams and recognition is due to the above mentioned employee. We look forward to your next visit Regards Athif Yousuf Front Office Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2014

I recently stayed here for a night as I was enjoying some films at TIFF this year. I needed a last minute place to stay as I hadn't realized one of the movies wouldn't allow me to take the last train home. I found a good deal for a queen bedroom a week before. The room was small, but perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danic4
Swift Current, Saskatchewan
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We stayed here recently. This hotel was picked because it is very close to the train station and cheaper than the Royal York. For the price saving you get a much smaller room, about 3 by 5 meters. One would not wish to spend many days there, but for a night or two it is adequate. Room was clean, air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonard M
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Leonard, Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to hear that although you found your room type small, that you still found it to have the necessary amenities. Our room inventory includes 9 different room types ranging from a room with One Twin Bed, up to rooms with Two Queen Beds. We try our best to...

Berkshire
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Me and my other half stayed at the Strathcona Hotel for 1 night at the beginning of our trip to Canada. We got the shuttle bus from the airport which took approx 40 mins (on a busy friday afternoon) and the hotel was a 2 min walk from our stop. Great first impressions, the staff outside were lovely and welcoming...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kate S
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ruby, Thank you for your wonderful review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Just to make you aware, the difference between our Smart Rooms and Executives rooms are that the Executive Rooms are: 1. On floors 8 thru 12 (higher floors) 2. Include mini fridge 3. Include writing desk 4. More square footage. Also,...

Surrey
Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

Last minute booking for #CPATheOne Conference and at a great price. Spectacular location just a block from the PATH pedestrian walkway via Union Station. Two blocks to the convention center. Three blocks to Rogers Center. The room was small but featured hard wood floors, new white linens, red bed runners, very small bathroom, and two single beds. The beds were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvrtravelguy
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi yvrtravelguy, Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were in our smallest room type, which is the Smart Room with Two Twins. Our room inventory includes 9 different room types ranging from a room with One Twin Bed, up to rooms with Two Queen Beds. We try our best...

797 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (253)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (516)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Executive Double Queen Room (Two Queen Beds) (34)
Viewed
Executive Double Twin Room (Two Beds) (30)
Viewed
Executive King Room (One King Bed) (45)
Viewed
Executive Queen Room (One Queen Bed) (38)
Viewed
Queen Room (One Queen Bed) (31)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Single Room (One Double Bed) (34)
Viewed
Smart Double Room (Two Double Beds) (29)
Viewed
Smart Double Twin Room (Two Twin Beds) (26)
Viewed
Smart King Room (One King Bed) (29)
Viewed
Smart Twin Room (One Twin Bed) (23)
Viewed
Suite (98)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
09/04/2017 10/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 132 in Toronto
991 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#42 of 132 in Toronto
2,008 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 132 in Toronto
2,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
2,767 reviews
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#58 of 132 in Toronto
5,796 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Strathcona Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Haslett, Michigan
Newfoundland, Canada
over a year ago
Brights Grove, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Strathcona Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good spot, the gym is not included and its next door at Goodlife.”
 of 5 bubbles Z9141NLandyc, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from elevators for quietness.”
 of 5 bubbles IreneParAvion, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Really good location + good price, affordable”
 of 5 bubbles 433talars, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view...I did not have that..”
 of 5 bubbles lynus2016, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“small hotel with central elevator so no rooms free from elevator noise”
 of 5 bubbles 315davek, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$118* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
The Strathcona
Hotels.comUS$159
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates