We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Hotel on Pownal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Hotel on Pownal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 341: English reviews
Vulcan
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our organization had a meeting for around 40 people. The rooms were great and convenient for our meeting. The meeting rooms located across from each other allowed us to meet in one room and eat in the opposite one. The staff did all they could to accommodate us. The continental breakfast was ok but not as good as some others...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank relative
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. I'm so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that your meetings were successful. We are very well equipped for a group of your size and the ability to remain on-site all day while utilizing different meeting spaces can help keep everyone engaged during a busy day...

Pictou, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have had the pleasure at staying at this hotel for over 5 years, with large groups of visitors. This is an excellent hotel to choose if you are looking for group travel. The hotel staff is very accommodating, willing to help out with special needs. Book well in advance of your travels since the rooms fill up really quickly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heath1301
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our property, and more importantly for being a loyal guest for over 5 years. I'm so happy to know that you have continued to enjoy staying with us and that we have been able to accommodate any special requirements the various groups you have travelled with may have required....

San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice decor with a door that opens to a lovely, sunny patio. Close to heart of town. Complimentary wine and beer served at "happy hour" (nice touch!). We were on a month long driving trip & this place had the best breakfast by far--what impressed me was they had fritatta! It was delicious! Everything else in the breakfast room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingCAgal
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, travelingCAgal! It's wonderful to know you enjoyed your room as well as some of our little extras like the "happy hour" reception. I'm so proud to hear that we were the best breakfast of your month-long road trip - what a compliment! Thank you for your understanding regarding the wireless...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Updated building, New York style...sleek and small. Clean rooms, crisp bedding, comfy beds. Really nice dining room for included breakfast. Stylish lobby and more maps and travel info available than we found in the tourist information booth. Wine and cookies at times in the lobby. Really neat place with easy walking access to downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kmom9663
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for writing and sharing this kind review, kmom9663. We are proud to provide a stylish and comfortable place to stay in the heart of downtown Charlottetown. I'm so glad you found all of the information and maps you needed in our lobby, and that you had a chance to enjoy our homemade cookies and a glass of wine....

Albany, New York
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This hotel is on a quiet street just a block from Queen Street and within easy walking distance to many restaurants, attractions, and the water. We spent three nights, visited many sites, tried different restaurants, and never moved our car. On our arrival, we were greeted by Jason, an extremely professional and accommodating young man. Our room was immaculate and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for this review Michael C, you have made my day! Your compliments regarding our attention to detail are truly appreciated. I will be certain to pass along your praise to each of the individuals you mentioned as well as their supporting team members. They are all very deserving of your compliments! Last, but not least, I am delighted...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We were in town for a wedding and stayed here, and weren't disappointed. The staff were very nice, the breakfast was great and the room very comfortable. The breakfast included hot and cold choices, with coffee, juice, and fresh fruit. The muffins and breads were much better than the ones you get a some other hotels/motels, and the choice varied...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellinMan73
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

What a wonderful review, TravellinMan73 - thank you for sharing! Wedding weekends can be a very busy time, so I am so happy that you had an enjoyable stay. I'm so glad that you were pleased with our location, comfortable rooms and complimentary breakfast. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our bakery for their baked goods. Thank...

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I'll admit that I haven't been to the Hotel on Pownal for several years, but it's still frequently referenced among my family. We loved the free cookies, huge rooms, and modern and clean feel! I would highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin W
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Erin W! It makes me so happy to know that our little hotel is still referenced frequently within your family. Thank you for complimenting our rooms, decor, and cookies. Come visit us again sometime!

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This place was spacious, had every amenity, helpful and happy staff, and a great big tub. Worth every dollar. Breakfast was satisfying with relaxed, friendly atmosphere. You should book a room here. !!!!!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QuercusAlba2
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Wow! This is a great review - thank you so much for sharing. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and most importantly, or happy and helpful team. I hope everyone takes your advice and books a room here, and we'll look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 16 October 2016

My aunt and I stayed two nights at The Hotel on Pownal. We were referred there by a fellow traveler we met in New Brunswick. We would have stayed three nights if they had the availability. We found that every member of the staff went above and beyond to make us welcome and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the unexpected social...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Hi Colleen! It was our pleasure to host you and your Aunt during the Charlottetown portion of your big east coast trip and we are forever grateful to the traveller in New Brunswick who recommended us! We too, were sorry we couldn't accommodate you for a third night as we had so much fun hearing about your trip and assisting...

Vulcan, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2016

What a hidden gem. This hotel is a very comfortable home away from home. It is clean and quiet with nice amenities and is within walking distance of several awesome eateries, but what really separates it from the rest is the great staff. Especially Mariel at the front desk, she went out of her way to ensure our stay was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgc1734
Megan M, General Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and in particular our wonderful Housekeeping and Guest Services team. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to "Super Mariel" as we think she is pretty super too! Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming you to...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 23 in Charlottetown
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#10 of 23 in Charlottetown
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a marked fresh, urban style, The Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel on Pownal

Address: 146 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Price Range: £67 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel on Pownal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel on Pownal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel on Pownal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room awy from stairwells or elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles relative, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are only 2 levels in the hotel, so choose any that are near the Lobby & Front Desk”
 of 5 bubbles heath1301, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a second story room with a patio facing the morning sun! (Lower rooms also get sunshine).”
 of 5 bubbles travelingCAgal, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“close to town”
 of 5 bubbles jlsmith81, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Would ask for a room with a better outlook.”
 of 5 bubbles IanW847, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay