We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 207: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles during the summer time, which is an amazing time to visit Montreal. This hotel is great for the price, at the time I was looking this was significantly less then others in the area. The hotel does have a couple adult store around it which at first I was unsure...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah M
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are indeed located in the middle of everything and are but a few meters away from all the action of our beautiful city. The noise we are afraid is a common thing since we are located in the middle of the ''quartier des spectacles'' but we keep available at our reception desk 24/7...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First I have to say for the location and the friendly staff I will give the hotel 5 Stars. We have stayed 2 nights at a studio appartment wich is separately located from the main hotel. Our sleep got intererrupted by loud street noises roughly around 6 am in the morning also you can here everything thru the thin walls....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvo N
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time in telling us your review. We are always on the look out to improve ourselves and are glad that our friendly staff met with your expectations. We are sorry to hear about the noise that disturb you so early in the morning, but unfortunately being located in the middle of the downtown...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 26 November 2016

The location is great, though quite noisy at night. It's about a block away from the Saint Laurent metro station, 15-20 minute walk to Old Montreal, and surrounded by great restaurant options. Given the convenience of the location, the street noise was expected. While it does not seem to be wheelchair accessible, the stairs aren't a problem, assuming you're okay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jessica l
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us ! Indeed we are at a prime location !

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 20 November 2016

I go to Montreal for business very often and I like to try different hotels. This was a nice change from the usual. As its name suggest, it's right in the Quartier des Spectacles. It's a quaint hotel in a very old building, but it's been nicely restored. Th rooms are small, but suitable. Old fashion keys for the doors....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marty_from_the_North
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comment ! We are indeed in a prime location and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our commodities and our freshly served breakfast. We thrive on improving ourselves and we love hearing back from our guests !

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We booked this as it was rated a 4 star. It is more like a 2. Bed like a rock. Directions to hotel were lacking. Staff very uncooperative. Had to climb a double flight of stairs. No elevator. Horrible experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryhall2016
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello, I'm sorry that you didn't have a good stay with us. Our hotel is situe in a building historic, we don't have a right for elevator, but we are pleased to help our guest for the luggage. Almost our guest are happy with our hotel: location, room, our service, our price and our staff. I see that you are...

Dickson City
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We stayed here on a recent visit and were not entirely pleased with what we found, but found it to be a mixed experience. The hotel is convenient to public transportation - bus and metro and was clean. However, the neighborhood is a bit "iffy" (sex shop next door and some street people hanging around the entrance), there is at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James G
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your mixed experience. We would like to apologize for your experience. Indeed since we are located at a prime location and the area being the downtown of Montreal these kind of stores are a common sight in the city. Also being located inside an historical building it does not allow us to build an...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 11 October 2016

While the rooms are acceptable most everything else is not. The location as billed as being in the heart of the entertainment district - the seedy adult entertainment area! You have to climb a lot of stairs to reach the front desk and more if your room is not on the main floor.The breakfast- included in our room price- was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonr652014
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry that you had some issues with our hotel and I do apologize for that. We are located in a historic building and it is impossible for us to have a elevator installed. It is our hotel policy, when requested to help our guests with bringing up their luggage, I am apologize if we did not accommodate...

Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

I booked here somewhat in a hurry based on trip advisor rating and a few pictures I looked at here. Upon first arrival, very late at night we were a bit surprised as it wasn't how we pictured it based on the pictures. It seemed more sketchy than cute. lol After staying for a few days however, it wasn't to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your reviews and thank you for your request of updating. Yes we make renovation every winter ( the low saison) , and of course we will paint our hotel also. I hope that next time you will appreciate more our hotel. We work hard to improve our hotel and our service. I hope to welcoming you...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Stay away from this place! Found bugs in the hotel room;underneath the building there is a sex shop and you can hear their music running from 10am to 12am during your stay in the room. Room is dirty, and the area is very unsafe. Front desk is very rude and we saw him argue with other customers many times. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHolidayV
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello, I'm so disappointed that you really don't like our hotel , our location and our staff. I don't know what happened, but the house keeping clean the room everyday. I have also exterminator to come every week to check the rooms. Almost our guest appreciate our location, our staff and our service. You are right that we are next...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I chose this hotel because it seemed like it was in the middle of the city. It ended up being the center of some exciting events going on in the city. I took the 747 Bus from Montreal-Trudeau. On my day of arrival, I had to wait for a second bus because I arrived at the same time as other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aznmadscience
Ho H, Owner at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the time you took to write this review. we know that one of our main problems are the stairs and I'm sorry for any inconvenience you have experienced. But if you really think about coming back next year don't be shy to ask for help with your luggage or request 1 pillow more . Thank you...

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (192)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (30)
Viewed
Superior One Queen Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Room with Sofa Bed (32)
Viewed
Superior Room with Two Queen Beds (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Two Queen Studio Apartment (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#68 of 163 in Montreal
553 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 163 in Montreal
640 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#73 of 163 in Montreal
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#82 of 163 in Montreal
278 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#80 of 163 in Montreal
790 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#50 of 163 in Montreal
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Quartier des Spectacles

Neighbourhood Profile
Quartier des Spectacles
The bar-none entertainment district for music and arts, Quartier des Spectacles is an interactive playground that delights the senses. It totals over 30 performance halls, with the vibrant Place des Festivals at its heart. The outdoor event space features glowing towers, glass edifices, and granite-lined bike paths, and hosts annual festivals, concerts, and comedy nights. The cinema, theatres, and exhibition centres are entwined with external art projects, exemplified at Montreal's Contemporary Art Museum and appearing along every walkway of the Promenade des Artistes in the form of sculpture and public works, from digitally-enhanced swingsets to glowing fountains. Design, performance, and alternative music come together here, a stone's throw from the lively Latin Quarter along Rue Saint-Denis, the quintessential after-party spot for dinner and a drink following a day of jazz, poetry and play.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Price Range: £28 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Quartier des Spectacles staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Quartier des Spectacles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for room on main floor”
 of 5 bubbles simonr652014, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no more comment”
 of 5 bubbles thechoj, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you choose a "suite" as we did, you have to climb down the 31 steps, past the sex shop, and up 34 steps to your very spacious room.”
 of 5 bubbles lindakennon, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Noise on the street side might be disruptive, you may ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles AlicjaKijewska, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to check if everything is working properly in your room”
 of 5 bubbles mariosantanaquintero, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay