Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

Traveller (5780)
Panorama of the Accessible Deluxe Courtyard Room at Fairmont le Chateau Frontenac
360
Panoramas (136)
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#21 of 101 hotels in Quebec City
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Raquetball offsite
Babysitting
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Water park offsite
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Park View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Japanese
Hotel links
Special Price:Endless Summer Memories : Up to 20% off room rate

Location

1 Rue des Carrières, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5J5 Canada
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Québec City Jean Lesage Intl Airport
7,901Reviews130Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 5,416
  • 1,471
  • 629
  • 246
  • 139
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andrew W wrote a review Aug 2022
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia89 contributions86 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The chateau Frontenac is an elegant beautiful and well maintained luxury hotel in the heart of Old Town Quebec. Services agent for imperfect, rooms are small and prices are high. The $40 per day valet parking is hectic and not a peaceful experience thus I recommend self parking at the hotel de ville public parking lot just a 5-minute walk away.

My wife and I arrived by car and parked nearby at the hotel de ville public parking lot which I learned about from another trip advisor reviewer. We walked the three blocks to the hotel and checked in at 1:00 p.m. with no line. The receptionist was charming and polite and gave us a small upgrade as part of the AmEx fhr program, and then successfully sold me an even better upgrade to a mini suite for $80 per night extra. It wasn't quite a hard Sell but she commented how she could do it for $80 instead of the regular $129. Since I had read about how small the rooms were and my best friend and his wife had already checked in to a tiny room the upgrade seems like a wonderful idea and it was. Oversized room included a small sitting area in the corner and a Keurig coffee machine.

Tours: Since it was our friends first visit to Quebec City we took the city tour organized by the hotel which was more a history lesson and it was just okay. The tour guide was not a hotel employee but she was great. The next day we took a hotel tour which we hoped would give us access to hidden rooms and structures and Architectural insights. In fact it focused on the public rooms and was only fair. Our group was so large they had two guides one was charming and polite. Our groups guide was a bit impatient not charming and did not seem to really like his job. he did not enjoy questions.

We went to the restaurant for cocktails and an outstanding cheese platter. The buffet breakfast was very good as was the service. Fresh fruit, cheese, omelettes, eggs benedict, salmon. Crepes and waffles also. Our five cocktails and cheese platter came to $180. Breakfast was included with our fhr stay, but our friends indicated it was pricey I think they said $50 a person.

Le château was built in stages, and is huge with hundreds of rooms over 9 or more floors. Of the rooms are ship cabin size but the beds are comfortable and the shower only bathrooms are clean and efficient although small. It is a beautiful and magnificent Hotel and we spent many minutes exploring the different corners of our floor and others. The exercise room is adequate although small and the pool and jacuzzi are fine and functional.

The in-room hotel bill tracking system was not working and we saw multiple charges that were not ours. This was corrected at the front desk but the final bill still had a major error and overcharge from our bar and restaurant night. Had I not caught it on the printed copy we would have been overcharged by $60.

As a wonderful reputation and is quite lovelly. With only two nights in town we chose to eat elsewhere and I regret that decision.

Our maid was Mexican and very polite and efficient. Was great to practice my Spanish.

In summary The chateau Frontenac is well located elegant and charming with mostly excellent and polite staff. To stay if you can afford $500 plus per night rooms on your first visit. Quebec City is terribly touristic even if it is beautiful. Given the small rooms and super high prices I will likely stay elsewhere on my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BeBe wrote a review Feb 2020
Chelsea, Alabama2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fairmont Le Chateau is so beautiful and unique! First the architecture is unbelievably beautiful and imposing. Inside there are restaurants which are all very good, an art gallery, and a shop selling upscale clothing items. It has an amazing history dating back to the early 1600"s which you can read about on large information boards in the lobby. We had the experience of traditional "Afternoon Tea" onsite and it was definitely worth the cost. Our room was cosy and well appointed. Housekeeping seemed to just know when we were leaving the room and even if we only went downstairs for breakfast our room would be cleaned when we returned. The area surrounding Le Chateau is Old Quebec City and it is right out of a fairytale, especially as we visited in Jan/Feb when there was lots of snow and Christmas decorations! Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SuperviseurLCF, Manager at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Bonjour stayvibrant Thank you for this great review of your recent stay at the Chateau. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Fairmont experience during winter and hope that you will choose Fairmont again in a near future. Thank you for taking time to post a review, we sincerely appreciate it. Best regards, Jessy Fortier
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Danmats wrote a review Sept 2020
Ontario, Canada39 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I took a road trip to Quebec City for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Upon our arrival on Friday Afternoon, the valet and front desk was for more busy than I expected. I was happy to see that tourism is alive and well in the city. Upon walking in to the front doors of the hotel, we were greeted by a lady who quickly checked out temperature and had us sanitize our hands. I have to say that in light of the ongoing pandemic, I felt very safe and reassured by the measures taken by the hotel.

The valet was quick and friendly, as was out check in experience. Our room on the fourth floor appeared to be recently renovated with a modern decor. While modern, I found that the decor did not clash with the classic hallways or old charm of the hotel. We had a view of the courtyard area, where the front door is located. There were two sets of curtains as well as a pair of shutter that were able to completely block out any outside light, leaving you to sleep in complete darkness if so desired. The room was well appointed, and was kept very clean by the room attendant. The king size bed was incredibly comfortable.

We had cocktails and snacks at 1608, which were very good. The bartenders and servers in this venue did a great job making us feel welcomed and taken care of.

My only very minor complaint was breakfast in the restaurant in the basement. $18 is a steep price to pay for stringy bacon and runny eggs. It felt like breakfast food from a $5 buffet being served at a much higher cost. That being said, I understand we are eating at a restaurant in a very nice hotel and things will cost more. Our server on Monday morning was very polite and friendly, however not the most attentive person. Again, these are very minor complaints that I do not feel overshadowed my overwhelmingly positive experience at this property.

The hotel is the focal point of the area and is a great home base for exploring Old Town and beyond. We walked everywhere and had a great time enjoying the old world charm of the area. There are plenty of very good bars and restaurants within a 10 minute walk of the hotel.

The most striking thing that takes this from a very nice old hotel to a first class establishment is the staff. Everyone we ran in to was happy, friendly, and professional. Everyone seemed to be doing their absolute best to make our stay memorable and for that I am truly grateful. I can say with absolute certainty that we will return to Quebec City and we will stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 2 Sept 2020
Good morning Danmats Thank you for taking the time to express your comments from your last experience. We're very happy to read that our "COVID" safety mesures made you feel safe. It's really important for us, in this particular time, to have our guest safe in the building by doing whatever we can. Thank you again and we truly hope to welcome you again in our walls! Kindly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChrisModesto wrote a review Jan 2020
Modesto, California74 contributions35 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I had a wonderful experience at the Chateau and the Fairmont Gold experience. Being from central California, we wanted to experience a White Christmas and that's what we got and stayed for 5 days. We arrived late and had a welcome greeting in our room, our view was amazing on the 11th floor. The room was small but comfortable and we knew that we could spend time in the lounge. The Gold team at the lounge was exceptional. Sandrine and Catherine were so very helpful. My luggage did not arrive, and they recommended places to shop for new clothes and no request went unfulfilled, from dining reservations during Christmas week to great ideas for walking tours. We spent lots of time playing games in the lounge and making Canadian Maple Whisky lattes. Yum. The breakfast, snacks and appetizers were top flight and it became our daily ritual and the view from the Lounge is the best in Quebec City.

The hotel was PACKED for the Christmas week and the Gold experience is critical to a good visit during busy times. There were so many people in the lobby that had we not had the Gold lounge, it was nearly impossible to get a seat at the 16-8 bar, or Le Sam bar as a walk up and they don't take reservation for bar seating. We did have a stellar dinner at LeSam our our servers were amazing. There are a variety of rooms in each class of different size. We got one of the basic 225 sq ft rooms so need to learn more about room selection next time. Elevators were super fast, the hotel was gorgeous we had a great time and hope to return in a less busy time in the future. The concierge arranged a premium car to shuttle us from and to the airport and this was 1st class and seamless. Bottom line, in busy times, go Gold.

We are regulars at the Claremont Berkeley and have stayed at the Chateau Whistler as well and the service and the attention to detail at the Frontenac is on par with the best.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Try to get a river view and work on a larger room footprint, some are 225 and some are 300 in the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SuperviseurLCF, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Dear Chrismodesto, Thank you for this detailed and very informative review of your recent Chateau Frontenac stay. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and the great amenities of our Fairmont Gold product. I will share your great feedback with our teams and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Best regards, Kathleen Puchol Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christa L wrote a review Jan 2020
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania262 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from 6 night stay with our 4 young children. The hotel is stunning! Truly enchanting to look at and the toboggan right outside the hotel doors is a wonderful plus for the kids.

The rooms are very clean. Housekeeping does do a great job! We were on floor 3 and the woman who cleaned our room for the 1st half of our stay was genuinely kind and enjoyed making the guest happy. She was always such a friendly face to see at 8am when I was making my Starbucks run.

The concierges go above and beyond to accommodate the guests. Their guidance was very much appreciated when choosing the best activities for all of our children.

There is a few things that I feel can be improved, ONLY because this is a 5 star hotel . (1) it was very icy outside of the hotel by the Starbucks. Since the Starbucks in is their hotel, I think it would have been nice if it was heavily salted. My mother in law did fall. Although she was not injured, it could have been avoided if the sidewalks were salted. (2) there is no nightly turn down service. Not a big deal at all but something I usually see in 4 star hotels and expected it in a 5 star. (3) there is no children’s menu on the room service menu.

Overall- we were extremely happy with our stay and would love to return.

Ps- leaving Quebec we had a God awful 13 hrs delay. At one point we thought we would need to come back to the hotel and they were more then happy to accommodate our family of 7, which I really appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SuperviseurLCF, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Dear 774Christal, Thank you for this great review of your recent stay at the Chateau. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Fairmont experience and truly appreciate the fact that you took the time to share with us areas that also needed improvment. We hope that you will choose Fairmont again in a near future. Thank you for taking time to post a review, we sincerely appreciate it. Best regards, Kathleen Puchol Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
liliana m wrote a review Mar 2020
Gatineau, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 2 night thinking it was a 5 start Hôtel we will have the best experience. 1st when I booked the hotel I ask the the receptionist for the price of a room with two beds for 2 night he gave me the price 279 but I told him it was cheaper online so I was about book the hotel online and he said is ok I could give you the hotel for 229 online was 165 but he said it will take long for him to see the booking if I didn’t online 🙄ok so I have the kids in the car I can’t waist more time so I book the hotel he said don’t worry I will give you a really good room 🤔 the room was super small two beds a play pain not much room to move the bath room was super small but ok is spring break so we said is ok let’s enjoy the stay on a 5 start hotel ..... the receptionist Fail to tell me they will do a hold on my credit card so I got a called that i had a big amount charge to my credit card that was suspicious if I accepted well I wasn’t aware of the deposit bcs the front desk man didn’t tell me so o go downstairs and asked yes they didn’t a hold on the credit card and is their policy and I was expected to know 🙄 they didn’t even acknowledged that I wasn’t told when I book the hotel oh and they didn’t tell me the time to check out or a receive so I know how much my room came out to be and the deposit that was charge .. ok 2nd day we came back from touring the city the room was suppose to be clean mmmmm supposedly! I put my son in bed I pull the blanket and there is paper and crumbs on the bed is like they just pull the blankets and made the bed look don’t but they didn’t dust it or clean it I know the sheets don’t get change but come on is a 5 start hotel and we are paying not only for the name but also quality I go and complain and I just get a I’m sorry we don’t changes sheets 😲 oh I know that but my room wasn’t clean there was even tissue paper on the floor The play pen had everything we had in the bed toys and kids blankets just through in there to organize the beds or make it look organice, oh I’m sorry I will let staff know for next time thank you for letting us know 🤔 .. 3 rd over charge at the restaurant had to wait 1 hour for nuggets and fríes order food to go and no napkins or cutlery.. this is crazy but at least when I call the restaurant the manager was very nice and he care reimburse me the over charge .. not impress with the service staff is nice and polite but the service needs improvement to be a 5 start hotel....
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Dear lilianamR8390YY, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. Our guest feedback is both valued and welcome, and I thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the areas that require improvement. I was most concerned to learn that you were disappointed with your stay with us, it was obviously not up to our standards and I am truly sorry we have failed to meet your expectations. We are looking at actions to correct those situations and ensure what you have been through will not occur again. Should you wish to discuss the situation further more, do not hesitate to contact any front office assistant manager or myself at lcf.superviseurreception@fairmont.com Sincerely, Nicolas Turbide Front Office Assistant Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jerilee R wrote a review Oct 2021
14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
For the last night of our Quebec City trip, we splurged by booking a night at the Chateau Frontenac. I was a bit nervous as other reviewers stated when booking the most basic room (which we did) , they were disappointed considering the price.

We attempted to leave out bags at the Chateau Frontenac at 10:00am while we went on a bus tour. The agent at check in advised that not only did he have a room available for us to check in immediately, he could upgrade us to the top floor for $40. Of course we did it! The room was great, and had an impressive view of Quebec City. What a fabulous experience.

The hotel overall was great. We enjoyed going to the pool, hot tub and sauna. I couldn't get a reservation at the spa as they have to made in advance. The hotel was really, really fabulous.

Note that this hotel has free bicycle rentals for guests and includes complimentary spots for an Old Quebec walking tour. Additionally, if you sign up online for their rewards program (no cost) you can save about $50.

As far as the restaurants in the hotel go - Sam Bistro was great, I would recommend for breakfast. Place Dufferin (breakfast place) was not good at all and not worth the money. Note that if you plan on dining at the hotel restaurants, make reservations (just like every restaurant in Quebec City!)

I really recommend spending at least one night at this hotel for anyone staying in Old Quebec City.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Try to check in early and ask about upgrades!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
moffer wrote a review Sept 2020
Toronto, Ontario, Canada9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
With COVID having written off any plans to travel outside of Canada this summer we decided instead to visit one of our favourite Canadian cities...Quebec City. Any visit to Québec City isn’t complete without a stay at the jewel that is Le Chateau Frontenac.
Having stayed here numerous times over the past two decades we remember well our previous stays fondly but with Covid restrictions we were a bit worried how the hotel and staff would pull things off. From booking to arranging dinner reservations through the concierge to our arrival and contactless checkin we were very pleasantly surprised. All the staff was very welcoming, they explained fully the procedures to be followed(temperature checks at least once a day, hand sanitizing stations well distributed around the hotels public areas to ensure ample opportunities to disinfect after arrival in the lobby and any interaction with gift shops and bar/dining areas.
Seating for dining was well spaced out with plexiglass barriers in abundance. Wait staff were always masked and were able to strike a good balance between level of service without lingering unnecessarily. Everyone was pleasant and greeted us. From the lobby right up to cleaning staff.
We had some purchases that needed refrigeration during our stay and Pierre was quick to offer the uses of the refrigerator/freezer in the lobby behind the concise desk to ensure our items did not spoil.
Many thanks to all the staff, you have always excelled in our previous stays and you really proved what a first class organization you truly are. Highly recommend staying at Le Chateau Frontenac when in Quebec City. You will not regret it!
Excellente et merci!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Superviseur Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 19 Sept 2020
Good morning moffer, We are so happy to read you this morning! Our guest's security and ours are very important in this particular period. We're making it our priority daily! We'll share your good words with Pierre, our very attentive bellman. He's a wonderful human! kindly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lozzz2017 wrote a review Feb 2020
Los Angeles, California8 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm sure this hotel could be nice, but if you are put in a room not in the main tower, it's a huge bummer of an experience and a downright rip off. Below is my review/comment which I sent to Fairmont after our October 2019 stay, I never received a response and I am happy to share with the public to save someone else the same issues. Frankly, this hotel is huge and if you are paying a full rate for your stay there's no reason you should be stuck in the servant's quarters. A bad experience where we were treated poorly - don't let it happen to you!

We came to Quebec City mainly to stay at Chateau Frontenac at the urging of my mother who had visited the hotel 30 years prior. We were very excited. We booked a Fairmont room, knowing it would be small and charming. However, the room we assigned was incredibly disappointing - we were in Room 124, on the same floor as the lobby, off to the side by the Maitre D. This trip was our 'baby moon' and I'm pretty pregnant and there were two sets of stairs up and two sets of stairs down every time we wanted to access the room which was a huge inconvenience as I'm hurting pretty much constantly already. There was a conference for HR Block set up in the lobby with the check in desk blocking our access to our room. Every time we entered through the lobby we'd try to squeeze by the desk and get very strange looks from the attendees, like we were crashing their conference. To use the pool, I had to shuffle past the tourists in the main lobby with wet hair and a wet bathing suit, it was embarrassing. In addition, our room did not seem like it was meant to have guests. We had no robes, no ice buckets and when we checked in there was only 1 towel left for us! We were so embarrassed to keep calling the front desk for all of the missing items that after a while, we just stopped and did without. Another thing that made us feel like we were put somewhere that doesn't usually have guests is that on our first night, housekeeping knocked and entered the room at 7:45AM, while we were still sleeping (jet lagged from the West Coast). On the second morning, construction started happening at 7:30AM on the room next to us (Room 118) with loud power tools, hammering and the worker listening to the radio loudly. It woke us up and when I noted this was happening to the front desk attendant she just said 'I'm sorry' and did nothing to remedy the situation. All in all we felt hurt by the experience. This is the kind of bargain room that you would stick someone in who paid a cut rate. Had we gotten a bargain, we could understand. But, in fact, we splurged on this special occasion and we paid around $266 USD a night so it felt like an insult that we stayed in this beautiful castle in what amounts to the cellar or the servants quarters. Sadly we found our stay to be a disappointment and I wished I had stood up for myself and asked for a transfer to a different room upon checking in. I will urge others who end up in this room to do the same if they paid a normal amount.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Do not stay in a room on the first floor (not in the main towers).
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SuperviseurLCF, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Responded 7 Feb 2020
Dear Lozzz2017, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. Our guest feedback is both valued and welcome, and I thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the areas that require improvement. I was most concerned to learn that you were disappointed with your stay with us and I cannot apologize enough for the inconveniences you experienced. It was obviously not up to the standards you have come to expect from our brand and I am truly sorry we have failed to meet your expectations. We are looking at actions to correct the situation and ensure what you have been through will not occur again. Should you wish to contact me directly to discuss further of the situation, do not hesitate to contact me directly at kathleen.puchol3@fairmont.com Sincerely, Kathleen Puchol Guest Services Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Makeaplan wrote a review Apr 2020
Waxhaw, North Carolina51 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family recently stayed at the chateau frontenac and the service given to us by Catherine and Johnathon on the concierge floor was unsurpassed.

Unfortunately our stay coincided with the closing of everything because of covid, but in the midst of that craziness Catherine met our needs before we even knew we had them. She proactively helped with dining reservations, and tourist questions, but she did an exceptional job helping find alternative flights home before the border closed, cancelling reservations for us at our next stop in Charlevoix and doing all of it with a sincere smile. Meanwhile, Johnathon served us with delicious bites that literally made us hope that we would be stuck in the chateau and unable to return home.

Quite simply, it was some of the best service we have ever received, as we have been fortunate to stay on several concierge floors during our travels. It was so good in fact, that we have decided to finish our trip that was cut short and we will begin once again at the Chateau Frontenac's 14th floor.

Well done and thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you are seeking a luxury experience, the 14th floor will not disappoint.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy C asked a question Oct 2023
Farmington Hills Michigan1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do windows open on any rooms?
Answer from SpanishteacherMD
Ellicott City, Maryland2,056 contributions188 helpful votes
Not quite sure. You may want to contact the hotel for more accurate information.
Answer from SpanishteacherMD
Ellicott City, Maryland2,056 contributions188 helpful votes
Honestly, I cannot answer that question with any degree of confidence. Apologies.
Gary P asked a question Jun 2023
what time is check out?
Answer from P S
Ontario's Thousand Islands, Canada521 contributions161 helpful votes
I believe regular check in is at 3:00pm. However if you have status with Accor that is flexible. I know they will hold your bags if you arrive early, and if you arrive early and the room is ready they will allow you to check in even before noon. Great staff, and very helpful.
Sean H wrote a tip 27 May
8 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat elsewhere. You can find better food at better value outside the hotel. "
Read full review
my-travel-22 wrote a tip 25 May
Dieppe, Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There’s a parking close to the hotel for $32 a night "
Read full review
JocelynS wrote a tip 21 May
New Jersey124 contributions104 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Highly recommend gold floor if possible."
Read full review
Vacation728679 wrote a tip 20 May
Ashburn, Virginia11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great place for a special occasion. "
Read full review
James S wrote a tip 17 May
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We traveled the second week in May. A little chilly at night, but perfect during the day. A slight chill in the air is helpful when walking."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Quebec City area.
PRICE RANGE
£277 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fairmont le chateau frontenac hotel quebec city, fairmont hotel quebec city, fairmont quebec city, quebec city fairmont
LOCATION
CanadaQuebecQuebec CityDowntown Quebec City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
610
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FAIRMONT LE CHÂTEAU FRONTENAC - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Which popular attractions are close to Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Nearby attractions include Old Quebec (0.06 miles), Quartier Petit Champlain (0.09 miles), and Upper Town (Haute-Ville) (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Taniere, Masaru Sushi, and Chez Boulay-bistro boreal.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Fairmont Le Château Frontenac located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Quebec City.
Are any cleaning services offered at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Fairmont Le Château Frontenac?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fairmont Le Château Frontenac offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Quebec City HotelsQuebec City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Quebec CityHotels near Fairmont Le Château Frontenac
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire