We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Senator Saskatoon

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Hotel Senator Saskatoon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I spent two nights in the Senator. This is not a four star hotel and I am not 100% sure if its a boutique hotel but it met my needs at a very reasonable price. Check in was relatively efficient, I had asked for a renovated room which I got however, the hallway on the second floor is still under...

1Thank mrmark
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My boyfriend and I came to saskatoon for his work course and his company was to book him a room here for two nights. We finally got to the city (we drove from Weyburn) around 1130pm, tired and wanting to just get some sleep as we both have to be up early in the morning. The staff we initially dealt...

2Thank KZahara
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

This group was not a great one to deal with. They assaulted my night auditor (threw a glass at his head, we have it on video). I have polled our staff on this incident, and my front desk agent recalls this much differently. These people came in at a time when the city was full. They couldn't remember reservation name...

Reviewed 21 April 2012

Calling itself a boutique hotel is a little bit misleading, but when the renovations are done, it will likely be one of Saskatoon's more unique hotel experiences. I have to say the place was impeccably clean. It was obviously built a long time ago and retains all of those original features, but everything was clean and in good working order....

1Thank poutine_colleen
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us at the Hotel Senator. We are just finishing our renovations on the second floor (one week to go!) and our new state of the art heat/cool system for the hotel will be done (as well as new 10ft ceiling height in the rooms). Our old boiler system unfortunately was heating...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were really impressed with the renovations they are doing at the Senator but it looked like a war zone, on our way to our room with no ceiling in the hallway with wires hanging. Also, because the ceiling was not finished, the light from the hallway shone through vents in our room, keeping us up. The location is excellent...

1Thank Bridlewood
Reviewed 7 March 2012

i was really hesitant about staying at this hotel, but it was the only hotel available for the night we were staying in saskatoon, and unfortunately i am proven right about it cons: -the receptionist was really weird, it isn't so much that she was overtly rude, but i've got the feeling that she didn't like us very much, and...

1Thank cdbunny
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Well, I am quite dismayed that you had such a terrible experience. As we were the last resort for you I'm glad you had a place to stay. As we state when checking in, we are under our last phase of renovating on the second floor for a state of the art heating and air conditioning environmentally green system. We...

Miramichi, Canada
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I attended a large conference in Saskatoon this week. Initially had the Delta Bessborough booked but since I couldn't get a flight out on Thursday due to the limited # available cancelled one night. Ended up getting a flight out Thursday but of course the room at the Delta was grabbed. I went on Tripadvisor, searched for availability and the...

Thank Aceone
hssaskatoon, Owner at Hotel Senator Saskatoon, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, really appreciate it. We have put a lot of work into the hotel and major renovations are almost complete. We are constantly trying to improve our guest experience. Cheers and safe travels. Chris Beavis Hotel Senator General Manager/Owner

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 28 November 2011

i travel quite often due to my job nature..... I must say the Hotel Senator is one of my worse lodging experiences ever. Staff is pretty friendly but.....First of all, parking space is very limited. My room has some moldy smell to it and the temperature of the shower flucuate (by lot) crazy making my stay very uncomfortable. Highly NOT...

1Thank Patrick W
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This will be a short review but... My Fiance and I stayed there a couple years ago now. It was a great room! We got the jacuzzi suite and It was excellent! Very unique building, huge big king size bed and a romantic little jacuzzi. We had a great time. The bartender opened a bottle of wine for us and...

2Thank Strongdollar
Moose Jaw, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Rooms clean. Staff very polite. Rooms may seem small if thats important to you. Beds very comforatable. You can walk everywhere downtown from this spot as it is in the heart of downtown. Parking available for free. Perfect for 3 women down for shopping and the theatre!

Thank hao548
Dearborn, Michigan
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Pluses: wide comfortable bed, quiet room, immaculately clean, excellent water pressure in shower, attractive paintings throughout hallways, dining room gorgeous place to eat breakfast (at dinnertime, it's expensive, with gourmet selections), excellent bar/grill with delicious buffaloburgers, courteous service (on checkin, clerk asked me if I wanted a quiet room in back with view of parking garage or noisier room with...

1Thank EJW8191

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (23)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Room/Suite (4)
View from Room (1)
Bathroom (2)
Videos (1)
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Park Town Hotel
#6 of 39 in Saskatoon
790 reviews
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#7 of 39 in Saskatoon
930 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Senator Saskatoon staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Regina, Canada
8 months ago
Kindersley, Canada

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Senator Saskatoon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book ahead so you aren't above the bar”
 of 5 bubbles 954donaldm, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“as for a room that's not over the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles heathersH2302FJ, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Hastings13, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with two windows.”
 of 5 bubbles TampaTraveler42, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room, ask for one that is not facing the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles Rambling_Nomad, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5