We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Could not agree more with the previous reviewer. We were under the impression it was still a pub so was very disappointed when we turned up. You get a bed but not really a breakfast. Previous reviewers said they had cooked breakfasts and we had a fridge in the room with some bread, milk, yogurts and old bananas. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve_Emma_88
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We have newly moved into the Pear Tree in HIldersham and have refurbished and are doing our best to re-establish our good reputation. There is in fact free WIFI which is available everywhere in our B&B, but unfortunately, some mobile phones do not work in our area (as far as I know Orange and O2 are the best). We have...

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here before, and I then gave it a very positive review. This was when the place actually had a pub attached to it - a lovely little place with excellent food and traditional ales. It used to be the venue for a good breakfast too. Now (since early 2014) the pub has closed (causing much controversy in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sisyphus11
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

it is unfortunate that village pubs are not supported by locals to the extent they were "back in the day" and there are many B&Bs that are not attached to pubs so it isn't that strange for us to have a B&B. However, we are terribly sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have recently moved in (3...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2014

It is very difficult to find an agreable quiet good value for money B&B close to Cambridge and this delightful small pub, restaurant and small hotel is highly to be recommended. The accommodation is warm, quiet and comfortable. The beer is excellent and the food outstanding, original and good value for money. The village is a medieval treasure, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N502TC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We (three of us) stayed here when we visited Duxford Imperial War Museum. Being separate the main building was an advantage as you were private.The accommodation was very good and the owners were friendly, polite and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. Have no hesitation in recommending as very convenient for Duxford and Cambridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calselby
United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Visited for lunch today to find a scruffy message attached to the door saying shut due to cellar problems, no indication of when opening next. Curtains were half pulled and whole place looked a bit scruffy and run down Some indication of if/when they will be open would have been good!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank munmunmun
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My wife & I stayed a night here after visiting Duxford Imperial War Museum. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really liked the space available in the cottage which was very comfortable. We had dinner in the pub which was very good. It was Quiz Night but we didn't stay for that. We found the staff very friendly and also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pithampaddy
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The new owners/lanlords of this quaint little Pub in Hildersham Village have done wonders in making your visit here very enjoyable. We are fairly local and this is just one of the many village pubs around Cambridge that we visit regularly for an evening meal. The food is very good and the atmosphere pleasant. Although I am not 100% for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JTreborM
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Ive got to start this review by stating that due to difficulties outlined below, i cant give a full review, so please read before judging too harshly. My company booked me a one night stay here including pre payment of a meal allowance. I arrived at aprox 4 .45 pm on a monday evening to find the pub all locked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sowie
Sholto M, Owner at The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We would like to point out that we didn't charge the meal allowance and that our website does in fact say that we are closed on Mondays. In addition, I rang up the booking company at the time the reservation for our B&B was made and told them that we are closed on Mondays. I was told not to worry...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had a delicious lunch today. Warm welcome for us and our dog. Food extremely well cooked and tasty, not mass produced pub grub in any way! Wonderful to be given water with the meal without having to ask. Pudding and coffee excellent as well. Definately a great chef, we will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank munmunmun
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I was visiting friends who live very close by, and we ate here on a Thursday evening. It was pretty busy. The pub has adequate parking, is charming both from outside and within. Real ales (3) on tap, enhanced the eating experience. Service was attentive but not over the top. I'd recommend going early - say about 6, if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard L

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hildersham
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
4.4 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
306 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
226 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Hinxton
177 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Black Bull Balsham
The Black Bull Balsham
#1 of 2 in Balsham
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The accommodation is in a detached cottage in the grounds of The Pear Tree house(we used to be a pub but have been closed for 2 years). The accommodation carries a 4 star rating. Hildersham is a tranquil village only 6 miles south of Cambridge and 5 minutes from the Park and Ride. There are many country walks from The Pear Tree and the river Granta runs through the village. The accommodation has a double en-suite room and a further (interleading - no door inbetween) room with a day bed that converts into two single beds. This can be used as a sitting room. This room also contains a table with four chairs for dining and a fully-equipped kitchenette. Both rooms have flatscreen TVs. Breakfast is continental and you will find it in the cottage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast

Address: High Street | Hildersham, Cambridge, Hildersham CB21 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Hildersham
Price Range: £86 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pear Tree Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in Cambridge!”
Steve_Emma_88, 29 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Pub is shut on Monday so you would need to eat elsewhere.”
Robin Goodfellow, 17 Jul 2012 | Read review
“There is only one room in the adjacent small barn. I X Double en- suite + Family room sleeps 2/3 kids. Clean & tidy. A few teething issues but know these will be sorted out. More current info of surrounding area + Travel info for Taxis buse etc. Extra glasses in en-suite. Small fridge a great idea Poppy but a bit noisy thro night. Excellent parking. Complimentary Teas,Coffee & biscuits good quality. Thank you for fresh milk. (yes fresh milk) Heating a bit out of sinque.”
IAINCHEF, 23 May 2012 | Read review
“They only have one room so get in early if you want to stay there.”
LynS193, 14 May 2012 | Read review
“Only have one room at present.”
JaneT584, 13 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Priceline
* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates