We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Rookery Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Rookery Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2015

I was recommended to the Rookery by a work colleague who is fastidious and demands very high standards.As a result of my visit,I stayed over a two month period. Averill and her family provide a warm Bristol welcome and good cooked english breakfast. The rooms are spotless and the Coy Carp in the garden pond are beautiful. Recommend If you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark P
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and at home, Averill showed us to our lovely spacious clean room. She told us everything the rookery had to offer incuding the wonderful gardens. The garden was peaceful and tranquil with beautiful hanging baskets and displays. Our room was the owl room, and in it were two... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TyronTTC
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you felt relaxed and comfortable in our home and appreciated the welcome you received. Pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and will welcome you back to The Rookery when you next visit. Thank you Averill and Steve More 

UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely welcome, extremely tasteful and comfortable rooms - and the owners went out of their way to cater for our vegan breakfast - thank you. Pleasant garden area at the back of the house with lovely flowers and a pond. Very relaxing.

Helpful?
1 Thank DiveAce
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review but really the pleasure was all ours. We thought the pot of home made marmalade that you brought with you for us was a lovely gesture and we really enjoyed sampling it. Pleased you enjoyed the garden, of course this time of the year it is really looking it's best. Would love... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We recently stayed here en route to Lands End for a charity road trip and it was such a lovely place to stay. The owners Averill and Steve were so welcoming towards our group and nothing seemed too much trouble. The rooms were very spacious, especially ours as it had two double beds in it, even though we only needed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank happycampers987
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to our home The Rookery Guest House. Fund raising for Charity is a wonderful thing to do and we wish you well. Appreciated your lovely comments and hopefully we will see you again if you ever visit Bristol. Keep up the good work Averill and Steve More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is my second stay at the rookery guest house. It was again very impressive, high quality, proffesional and very friendly. Great cooked breakfast with excellent presentation. I will be staying here again and would not hessitate in recommending to anyone. Lovely stay thank you for a warm welcome.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine24haver
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing us a lovely review. It was lovely to meet up with you again and welcome you back to The Rookery. Running a Guest House is just so rewarding when we feel that our guests are appreciative of the service we offer. Look forward to your next visit. Thank you Averill and Steve More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Averill and Steve were so accommodating to myself, husband and another two couples who booked The Rookery at the very last minute as part of a Charity Car challenge from John O'Groats to Lands End. The guest house is kept to a very high standard and the rooms are lovely and clean. Averill and Steve also even donated to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank MariaWallace25
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review

It was lovely having you to stay at The Rookery on your Charity Car challenge from John O'Groats to Lands End. What a wonderful thing to do. We are pleased everything was to your satisfaction and wish you well with your fund raising Regards Averill and Steve More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This was my first ever stay in a bed and breakfast, it was purely a business trip but was met with a lovely reception and welcome. The room was immaculate, with tea and coffee. Shower had lots of hot water but unfortunately not able to trial breakfast to give an excellent rating. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank Gazpara
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Rookery and everything was to your satisfaction. We have had many pleasing comments on our showers and how powerful they are. It is a shame you were here on business and did not have anytime to explore the area but perhaps next time you visit you can. Thank you for taking the... More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

When staying at the Rookery guest house this month we were met with a warm friendly service from the owner, the rooms were very clean and great value for money breakfast was lovely as well and I was appreciative for the recommendation of the pub across the road for a spot of dinner and to watch the football, all in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Milesm1989
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate it. Lovely that you found The Rookery a nice place to stay and we would welcome you back again if you are in the area. Thank you Averill and Steve More 

Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely guest house, a very warm welcome on arrival, the bed was really comfortable and immaculate. Good sized TV mounted on the wall and the shower had plenty of 'meat'. Great location to the motorway and the breakfast was delicious. I would come here again, thank you for your hospitality Avril.

Helpful?
Thank Andy O
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and so pleased that you found the bed to be comfortable. It is so important to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep. Appreciated your comments on the shower. We feel power showers are a must for our guests. Look forward to your next visit when in the area. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Such a lovely guest house run by a very kind couple. Excellent value for money and recommended. It was easy to find, with parking out the front, also gave us easy access to the city. We would stay there again,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole1933
paulaBristol, Owner at The Rookery Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate that guests find The Rookery a nice place to stay and would stay again if in the area. Thank you Averill and Steve More 

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patchway
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
0.3 mi away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 4 in Almondsbury
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge On The Park
Lodge On The Park
#2 of 4 in Almondsbury
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Filton Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol Cribbs Causeway (M5, J17) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Almondsbury Interchange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Rookery is where you will receive a warm welcome and a home from home atmosphere in our friendly family run Guest House.The Rookery was a large family house converted and refurbished to house 8 rooms, all with ensuite and tea and coffee facilities. We have installed Wi-fi Internet access for guests' use and there is Multi Channel TV and DVD in all rooms for guests' enjoyment. A variety of rooms are available, Single, Doubles and a Large Twin. A traditional english breakfast or vegetarian if preferred is included in our very reasonable tariff.We have a lovely extensive landscaped garden, a fishpond and two large patios equipped with garden furniture where guests can appreciate the beauty and tranquility to relax and unwindOnly one mile from the M5 motorway and 3 miles from Bristol Parkway train station, we are ideally situated for business travellers, but equally suitable for guests simply wanting to explore Bristol and the South West.There is ample parking for one vehicle per room on the Car Park at the front of the house.The Rookery is a No Smoking establishment.Sorry we do not take Children or Pets ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rookery Guest House

Address: 227 Gloucester Road, Patchway BS34 6ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Patchway
Price Range: £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rookery Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rookery Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are all comfortable and spotless”
 of 5 bubbles W630JKmarkp, 8 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Ask to stay in the annex part of the building as they are the furthest from the main road and seem more private.”
 of 5 bubbles happycampers987, 5 Jun 2014 | Read review
“No need to add anything”
 of 5 bubbles medical23997366, 27 Oct 2013 | Read review
“Don't try the food in the pub across the road, it's nasty.”
 of 5 bubbles F8214WXmichaelp, 13 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Choose a room towards the back of the house because it is on a busy street and could be noisy up front.”
 of 5 bubbles Nagogwoods, 14 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay