We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Briars Hall Country House Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (227)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (17)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 small hotel in Lathom
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Originally an 18th century Manor House Briars Hall at Lathom has been lovingly restored and converted into a first class country hotel. Briars Hall has an excellant reputation for its attentive and friendly staff making it the perfect venue for that special occasion.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Salon
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
628Reviews3Q+A87Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 474
  • 80
  • 45
  • 21
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Elaine N wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
The room was amazing, we had a room that was separate to the hotel, had a double & single bed with walk in shower. Function room was beautiful, food and service was excellent. If had to find a fault only thing wrong was breakfast food was good but no side plate to butter and jam toast on. Overall and fantastic night.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Howem wrote a review Feb 2024
33 contributions20 helpful votes
Stayed over weekend. Bar area is lovely, staff are nice and polite. Food was good. Could offer more of a range of food. We stayed in the family room which was basic. There was nowhere for my products in the bathroom, not so much as a shelf! My double bed was two singles pushed together which was incredibly uncomfortable. Pillows were the worst. The worst thing of the whole stay was how hot the room and hotel was. It was like staying in mid summer! Even though I turned the radiator off and had the window wide open it was still too hot to sleep with a duvet. Breakfast was okay. Wouldn’t recommend
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pete L wrote a review Jan 2024
Waddington, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
It was a good start, the receptionist, Lauren, was friendly and checked me in efficiently. The room was well appointed with USB sockets next to the bed on each side, tea/coffee facilities and a big, comfy bed. Dinner was tasty, filling and reasonably priced and the draught beer selection was good. The bar staff were friendly and the service was good too. The full-English breakfast in the morning was delicious and there was plenty of buffet options. However, there are a few issues which adversely affected my stay. The wifi was very poor. The free service was 1 mbps and so only good enough for text messaging etc. however the "premium" wifi, which was only available to paying guests, was a shocking 2 mbps. I was not able to do a Teams call for business and ended up tethering my phone and using 4G which wasn't the greatest because the signal was weak but it was still a marked improvement on the "premium" wifi. Recommendation: improve the "premium" wifi so that it is usable for business video conference calls. The second issue was the position of the television in room 224. It was wall-mounted above the mirror where the dresser was. This was to the side of the bed, near the corner of the room and so was in no way comfortable to view whilst lying in bed. When sat at the dresser it was so high up it was akin to being in the front row at the cinema. This may not be the case in every room but it was an issue for me. Recommendation: Swap the wardrobe with the dresser and mount the television to a more viewer-friendly height. The last issue wasn't huge but I felt the need to comment regardless. There wasn't anyone staffing the reception desk in the morning so I had to ask the restaurant server to do my check-out. Apparently the desk isn't staffed until 0900... Also I wasn't asked to provide any feedback and wasn't emailed my receipt which I had requested and so had to call back today and received an email within 15 minutes (which I was happy with). Recommendation: Provide a receptionist between 0700-0900. Overall it was a nice stay but unfortunately I won't be returning for business unless the wifi is significantly improved.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Elizabeth7 wrote a review Jan 2024
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom466 contributions344 helpful votes
Stayed for one night as I was on business next day at the university and they booked me here. Nice room, lovely staff and freshly cooked breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay. Didn’t get to explore much as was just there overnight.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jane S wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
This is the second time we have stayed at Briars Hall - the most comfortable, welcoming hotel we have ever stayed at. Beautiful surroundings, staff were fantastic, room/bed excellent. Nothing too much trouble. The carvery was the best we ever had😋 There was a wedding on the Saturday, atmosphere was lovely, definitely not the last stay we will have there, can’t wait until the next one. Thankyou for our wonderful, much needed rest, a great base for visiting the attractions of Liverpool and surrounding areas.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Need to book for meals - food is excellent
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andrea Leisk wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions
+1
Arrived at 11.30am to book in our room for 12 noon. Christmas day 2023. All the staff from start to finish were very attentive.The room was nice and bedding was white and towels were a bit worn and was off white in colour new one would be good. The room where we were going to dine was a beautiful wonderland. All dressed up in green and gold. We had good crackers on the table. Also envelope for each guest a free carvary and free bottle of wine with a spend over fifty pound. Each table was given a wrapped present A nice touch. Plenty staff on duty and management. You did not have to go to bar staff coming round to take your order. The food was very nice and hot when it arrived at your table. We really did enjoy our stay. Breakfast looked yummy. We will be booking again for Christmas and hopefully new years eve. With a stay over. We would recommend Brias hall hotel to everyone.only disappointment was we forgot to pick our present,that was down to us.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Peaceful place nothing is too much trouble.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Christina L wrote a review Dec 2023
Burscough, United Kingdom43 contributions17 helpful votes
Me and my family went for Christmas lunch yesterday, just gutted. It was freezing, no music at the beginning, lacking festive atmosphere. Starters were fine, but roast potatoes were just rock hard and dry inside, custard with Christmas pudding despite it saying on the menu brandy sauce. Menu for children were exactly the same as what we had recieved, my daughters ate nothing of the main menu, so we basically paid £45 for them to eat garlic bread and a bit of pudding. My five year old even had to wait 30 minutes for the pudding when we had all finished, we had to remind them twice. It was just all lacking and extremely disappointing, for £110 it’s just unbelievable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Briars Hall Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Hi Sorry for the late reply . When we have large events like Xmas day we generally wait as it sometimes takes a while to get all the feedback in . We catered for over 200 on Xmas day and the comments have been very positive infact we had 50 people rebook on the way out for next year . We are very disappointed to hear things weren't as you expected if you would like to contact us so we can discuss your comments it would be much appreciated . Thanks again Reception team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
beth b wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
went for christmas meal. i am a vegetarian so got the veggie option. there was hardly anything on the plate, veg, nut roast and mushrooms. even my 5 year old niece got more than me. absolutely not worth 110£
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Briars Hall Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Hi Sorry for the late reply . When we have large events like Xmas day we generally wait as it sometimes takes a while to get all the feedback in . We catered for over 200 on Xmas day and the comments have been very positive infact we had 50 people rebook on the way out for next year . We are very disappointed to hear things weren't as you expected if you would like to contact us so we can discuss your comments it would be much appreciated . Thanks again Reception team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
flower100101k wrote a review Dec 2023
Liverpool, United Kingdom28 contributions28 helpful votes
Went for the Christmas menu with friends, service was slow, potatoes were hard, Christmas pudding was cold and hard and overall poor experience, very unorganized poor entertainment, won't be returning
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Briars Hall Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Hi Thanks for attending one of our afternoon cabarets in December . We entertained over 2000 people at the party afternoons and feel it went really well . We try to keep the price competitive with 3 courses plus tea and coffee mince pies plus entertainment and bingo at £27.50 per person making them really popular . We are sorry you didn't enjoy the afternoon we try our best to make sure that everyone has a great time so please except our apologies if you would of let us know on the day we would of tried to put things right. Kind Regards Reception Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
gedm1002019 wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions
We stayed on Friday 8th December and it was fantastic . Our room was amazing , the evening meal was really good and great value . All of the staff were really friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend to anyone that is looking for a night away along with food . The breakfast the following morning was excellent with a large choice .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lathom area.
PRICE RANGE
£94 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireOrmskirkLathom
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRIARS HALL COUNTRY HOUSE HOTEL - Updated 2024 (Lathom)

Frequently Asked Questions about Briars Hall Country House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Briars Hall Country House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Natterjack Alpacas (2.0 miles), Windmill Animal Farm (1.7 miles), and WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Briars Hall Country House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Briars Hall Country House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Briars Hall Country House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Briars Hall Country House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eden, The Bagel Deli, and Moor Hall.
Is Briars Hall Country House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Lathom.
Does Briars Hall Country House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Briars Hall Country House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Rufford Old Hall (3.2 miles).
Is Briars Hall Country House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.