We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas

Save
Share
Konokono Jetty, Michamvi Tanzania
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (63)
Pool & Beach (11)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 12 hotels in Michamvi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The brand new Isaraya Luxury Overwater Villas Zanzibar is a unique property in Zanzibar! The five exclusive Water Villas and its jetty restaurant are located overwater on Konokono's Beach. This luxury property has been conceived with style and comfort with all the luxuries you might need for your stay, in addition to an impeccable service to ensure you enjoy a privacy exclusivity.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Badminton
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Raquetball
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Table tennis
Walking tours
Taxi service
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 3 more
14Reviews1Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Aleksandr Explorer wrote a review May 2021
Kyiv (Kiev), Ukraine2 contributions
isaraya not hotel, only part of konokono beach resort. not luxury. bad access to water + low water = no swim. noisy music all day + night = no sleep, no relax. poor food, strange staff = no enjoy dinner. big price, but no services, no luxury. no activities = boring. worst place ever. were happy to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Sales at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion as it helps us increase the quality of our services and improve. We are sorry to know that you didn’t have a good holiday at our structure and that you did not remain satisfied. We are also very surprised as you did not tell us about these complaints during your stay, if we had known, we would have done everything possible in order to redeem ourselves and your expectations. As you probably know, Zanzibar suffers of low tides, it is normal that in certain hours of the day the water is very low. Moreover, our staff is very kind and always careful to satisfy our clients needs and wants, they aren’t “strange” and we are sorry you used that word to describe our team and is it a very strong adjective. Many of the things you didn’t find enjoyable, a lot of our guests did. We hope to have you at Isaraya once again so we can change your mind about our services for the better. Regards, S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Celina Itatiro wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
If there was a hotel I could come back to it would definitely be this one. The staff are all so kind and courteous. I love the fact that the hotel is right next to the beach as it allowed us to watch the sunset and swim while feeling safe. I wish I could’ve stayed longer, it was complete paradise. I would recommend 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Vendite at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Gust, We appreciate the kind words you shared talking about our structure. We are happy to know that we made your holiday unforgettable and that you liked all of our services as well as he sunset views. We hope to see you soon on Zanzibar's beautiful island Regards, S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
amani i wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
This place is unassumingly beautiful. Impressive views, calm and tranquil. The seafood menu was extensive, the seafood platter for 2 should have been for 4 really, we loved it. The staff are kind and pay attention. The wi-fi was excellent too, I could still attend to work online (even though I wasn't supposed to :) ) and get into zoom meetings seamlessly. In summary, one word for it, AMAZING!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Vendite at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you very much for sharing your opinion it is a great pleasure for us to know that you had a great time during your stay at Isaraya, that you enjoyed our cuisine and that you were fully satisfied with all the services offered. We will share your review with our entire team and look forward to having you back as soon as possible among our loyal and welcome guests. Regards, S. Carusi Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Stella F wrote a review May 2021
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania1 contribution
They have the best service, a perfect getaway for friends or with hubby. You get to enjoy the private villas with your own swimming pool and an amazing ocean view. Get your hubby or friends and visit the Maldives of Zanzibar 😍
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Sales at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas
Responded 18 May 2021
Dear guest we're very happy to know that you had a good stay at Isaraya, our villas are designed to give the greatest comfort and privacy. Thank you for appreciating our service, we'll share your review with all our team and hope to have you back soon with our most welcome guests. Guest Relations Manager Simonetta Carusi
Read more
Petr_Toman wrote a review Mar 2021
Czech Republic31 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
Isaraya is not a hotel itself, it is just 5 bungalows/villas and all services were actually provided by Konokono Beach Resort. We came to this hotel for 16 days, expecting great new overwater villas and 5 star hotel standards. In reality it was rather suffering than relaxing due to EVERYDAY never-ending annoying extremely loud techno music from nearby bar, poor hotel equipment, ugly beach, incompetent top manager and a lot of disappointments on daily basis. I have also noticed delisting of this hotel from major booking platform, which should have warned me. First time in our live we decided to shorten our stay there and move to other hotel even risking that we do not get refund for unused days. Unfortunately, all top hotels in Zanzibar were overbooked, so it took us many days, when we were forced to stay at this terrible hotel, unless we would be homeless. So we succeeded to move out just several days before end of our stay. Luckily the next hotel was fantastic, so that it is clearly not a problem of lower Zanzibar level of services, but just horrible Isaraya/Konokono. But let’s start with the biggest positive – new pier and overwater villas look nice, even though there are a lot of issues. The biggest negatives: 1) Noise, BIG NOISE, EVERYDAY BIG NOISE from nearby beach bar – it starts at around 2PM each day and lasts till late night. Not only during celebration of New Year, which I would understand, but really every day. My apple watch showed over 60 dB on the worst days at both dinner area and villa area and over 50 dB in the “best” days. If you love techno music, this hotel is good place to go. We did not close an eye until music finished. Complains on this noise was practically the only topic when other guests talked to us. We have seen one lady to even scream on management because of this issue in the full restaurant, so the atmosphere in the hotel was annoying. Also two water villas are not finished yet, so there is additional noise from building activities. 2) This hotel doesn’t meet many of general 5-star hotel requirements (e.g. missing fitness, SPA, daily cleaning of the floors and plenty of others) and except pier with villas it also looks more like ordinary 3-star hotel (no atmosphere, cheap restaurant equipment, no maintained garden, industrial lights at some places, etc.). I have found, that it also clearly doesn’t comply with several official Zanzibar 5-star vacation hotel requirements described in Zanzibar tourism act 2009 (available on internet), actually it should even be only marked as 3-star hotel according to this act. 3) Beach – there is nice sand there, but it was definitely the far ugliest 5-star hotel beach we have ever seen all around the word (unbelievable amount of not cleaned seaweed, plenty of cheap old “huts”, no surprise that it was almost not used by guest). Villa – looks nice, but the finishing done by construction guys is poor – e.g. water leaks through every window during the rain. Materials used inside are shocking cheap, especially furniture. There is real problem with privacy – half the of terrace is visible from the pier. As the stairs do not go down enough, we were able to go to water and climb back to villa only approx. 1 hour per day at high tide, when 3 stairs at 2 m height were covered with water. Otherwise you can jump to water, but no chance to get back. No way to use stairs it by older people. There is also security issue – strange local fishermen parking at villa terrace stairs, while hotel security just watching them without saying a word. Power outages 10 times per day. Internet sufficient only to mails and website browsing. Forget about cloud services or downloading the film. Massages – we went to local massage room as pointed by signs. I have never seen so ugly and dirty hole – see the picture. Shame on you, hotel manager. Food – acceptable seafood and pasta. The rest is mostly catastrophe and the quality varies. Especially local food is disgusting unlike at other places, where we loved it. Very poor plating and lot of basic mistakes. Restaurant service – perfect waiter at breakfast and couple of good guys at dinner. But communication between the staff is weak. On the beginning of our stay they were delivering coffee each time even over 40 minutes. Some guys at bar can’t even operate coffee machine. Cleaning services – generally acceptable at the villa, but terrible at public places – windows, mirrors, stairs, pathways are not cleaned at all. I drew a sun on the terribly dirty window at restaurant, it was there even after a week. Toilets at restaurant sometimes smelling. Other services – generally speaking - daily disappointments. Everyone is slow, lot of staff misses basic behaviour skills. All of them tired – working even 15 hours 6 days a week. Even basic repair at villa, which should take 10 minutes takes them 2 hours and prevents you from using it. So we rather ignored other problems like water leakage from windows. Covid issues - no measures at all (only swedish tables cancelled). We waited for our villa to be cleaned after previous guests just left. And we have seen at neighboring villa - one couple in the morning, leaving at 11:00, another one arrived in the afternoon . Staff not using masks, etc. Management – openly saying, hotel is not managed at all. There were only two guys, who really wanted to improve services (food and service manager and guest relation manager) and they tried to implement some changes already during our stay. Top manager of the hotel, arrogant old guy, is e.g. walking in dirty areas and he just doesn’t see it. Glorious end of our stay - we asked reception to shorten our stay and refund unused days (4 out of 16) because of never-ending noise, hotel not matching 5-star level and other troubles. Reservation manager whom we informed 3 days before planned departure had no rights to decide and pointed us to top manager, who is according to him the only one who can decide. But top manager started to play hide and seek game with me. I went twice to meet him at the agreed times and I was rejected to talk to him both times as he was too “busy” – once e.g. by preparing reports to the owner :-). Then I got promise that he would call me, he did not. So I “caught” him at restaurant. After explaining the reasons for our leaving and politely asking the refund for unused days, instead of apology for the serious problems and finding reasonable solution, he rather became angry, switched to “combat mode” and started to threaten that if I would even think about making bad review in the future he would report me to Tripadvisor that I was blackmailing him (without me even mentioning the review). OMG! After he calmed down, he said that potential refund must be approved by someone from the board of directors, he has no rights. Funny. After planned assessment of this request by the board chaired by beneficial owner of the hotel, Amina, daughter of Zanzibar ex-president, top manager kept hiding till the end of my stay, reception claimed that they have no guidelines from him, so I got no compensation. I only received the most rude e-mail ever with statements like „stop making a fool of yourself, and stop wasting our time“ later. No chance to comment if I want to stay polite.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Simonetta Carusi, Sales at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas
Responded 12 Apr 2021
Dear Guest, We are very surprised of reading the same review posted on the 24th of February, 7th of March, 20th of March and 31st of March. It is very inappropriate due to the fact that your review was already answered to on the 13th of February. We kindly remind you to bring up your inquiries somewhere else such as our reception department as we already apologised in the previous emails and reviews. Thank you and Regards, Guest Relations
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandMichamvi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas
What are some of the property amenities at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fishers Restaurant, Upendo Zanzibar, and The Rock.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Arabic, and Swahili.
Does Isaraya Luxury Over Water Villas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.