We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crewe and Harpur

Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (3)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average16%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Swarkestone, The Crewe and Harpur is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. The Crewe and Harpur is a charming bed and breakfast offering a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a desk in the rooms. Plus, guests can enjoy free breakfast, which has made this a popular choice among travelers visiting Swarkestone. The Crewe and Harpur makes it easy to stay connected during your stay by offering guests free wifi. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair access
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Location
Full view
Getting there
East Midlands Airport5 mi
Birmingham Intl Airport30 mi
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews(177)
Traveller rating
  • 65
  • 49
  • 29
  • 18
  • 17
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Norman S
Derby, United Kingdom
117
Reviewed 20 Oct 2018
Went for lunch on Saturday. The restaurant was not busy but we still had to wait for close to an hour for food. The staff (2) were talking together so I had to go to them to order our food as they were not interested in us.The service at this place used to be excellent but now it is very slow and poor, needless to say we won't bother to disturb the talking staff again.
Thank Norman S
Response from Hannahstubbings, Assistant manager at The Crewe and Harpur
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi, Thank you for your review, I’m sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us. If you would like to email me at creweandharpur.swarkestone@marstons.co.uk I would be more than happy to speak with you regarding your visit. Many thanks Hannah
KatemadeinSheffield
2111
Reviewed 2 Sep 2018via mobile
We stopped by on our way back from Caulk Abbey. We entered from the car park and ate inside first before taking a drink outside to enjoy the sunshine on a lovely Sunday afternoon. The food was OK. Decent menu for what it was. But the beer garden is a disgrace. Such a shame for a lovely riverside location. Beautiful 17th century bridge and causeway. The view spoilt by all the dirty tables. Dirty dishes left out. Glasses not collected. While we finished our drinks we saw no staff clearing anything away. Pull your socks up Crewe Harper.
Thank KatemadeinSheffield
Response from Hannahstubbings, Assistant manager at The Crewe and Harpur
Responded 27 Sep 2018
Hi, Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your food with us on your recent visit. We are currently looking at ways to improve more efficient ways in clearing the garden area. Many thanks Hannah
bailfam52
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
148
Reviewed 2 Sep 2018via mobile
A real shame that a pub and hotel which has positive reviews for accommodation and food, shows such a lack of care and imagination for what could be a major attraction. The beer garden is large and right by the river. We visited on a beautiful summer evening recently. Food spillages, plastic bottles and general litter as well as broken overturned tables drove us away. A real shame for such a beautiful location.
Thank bailfam52
Response from Hannahstubbings, Assistant manager at The Crewe and Harpur
Responded 27 Sep 2018
Hi, Thank you for your review, we are saddened to hear you were left disappointed with your recent visit. We are looking at what we can do to improve the outside seating area for next summer. Many thanks Hannah
Leanne Elizabeth
Glentham, United Kingdom
32
Reviewed 28 Aug 2018via mobile
Booked to stay here night before our flight from EMA, warm & friendly welcome, lovely spacious clean room. Restaurant is lovely, food was amazing and staff extremely helpful!
Highly recommend to stay here instead off the airport hotels, well worth the money! Book direct through them and receive a discount off food at the restaurant. BONUS ! It’s around 15min drive to airport so not bad a at all!
Definitely will be returning and telling others 👍🏼😁!!!

1 Thank Leanne Elizabeth
Response from Hannahstubbings, Assistant manager at The Crewe and Harpur
Responded 27 Sep 2018
Hi, Thank you for your kind review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Hannah
AlynandJulieR
Derby, United Kingdom
193
Reviewed 20 Aug 2018
I visited on Sunday 12th August 2018. I ordered the Tikka Masala. The food came reasonably quickly and was very hot. This would normally be a plus but the waitress didn't warn me that the metal dish, it was served in, was really hot. Consequently I burnt my finger on it! The meal itself was made with what looked like pulled chicken which I found a bit strange. I usually get pieces of chicken in a curry type dish. It also came with a piece of fat/gristle which wasn't too pleasant. I had a melt in the middle chocolate pud with custard for dessert. Always a favourite but it comes on a plate with a fairly small jug of custard (could be bigger). I asked if they had pink gin and was told they had Pinkster gin. This gin is not pink and tasted of vodka and lemonade which I had previously ordered. Made me wonder if the drink had been mixed up. Service was overall good. The waitress was polite. This was a slightly disappointing visit on this occasion.
Thank AlynandJulieR
Response from Hannahstubbings, Assistant manager at The Crewe and Harpur
Responded 24 Aug 2018
Hi, Thank you for taking time to leave us a review, I am sorry to hear you left disappointed. The chicken tikka is made with chicken from our freshly cooked chicken out of our rotisserie oven. We will take all comments you have made on board to help us improve in anyway we can. Thank you Hannah
PreviousNext
12345636
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Crewe and Harpur staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Easy access from A50 / A6 Derby South"
GriffCloud
3 Mar 2018
Read review
"Hotel generally quiet but it was November with few guests. Two of the 7 rooms are upstairs and there is no..."
scottie558
5 Dec 2017
Read review
"room 2 was massive for a family of 4"
midnightspace
15 Sep 2017
Read review
"dont eat there"
derby321
3 May 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$84 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSwarkestone
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing