Premier Inn Derby North West hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Premier Inn Derby North West hotel

95 Ashbourne Road, Mackworth, Derby DE22 4LZ England
Traveller (42)
Close up view of mould and damp around toilet in bathroom
Room & Suite (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Mackworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hit the hay in style at Premier Inn Hotel Derby North West. Converted from an old stables, every room has bags of traditional charm. There's plenty of exploring to be had nearby, with lots of local attractions like Pride Park and Derby city centre just a short ride away. Trot on over to the Download Festival for some world-class music. Show your support watching Derby County. Take a long lunch in Derby city centre, ride a gondola cable car over the limestone gorge at Heights of Abraham. Then race back to the hotel for great food at the restaurant beside us and a lovely comfy bed.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
435Reviews2Q+A67Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 191
  • 156
  • 49
  • 19
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DicktheBad wrote a review Sept 2021
Redhill, United Kingdom47 contributions51 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Recommended and I intend to book again when I am next in the area.

A nice comfortable room which is modelled on a chain hotel room. Unlike other hotels, the room provided was cool even in the September heat wave. I attribute this to the courtyard layout which means that all rooms are on the ground floor.

I was also pleased with the price which was £42.50 per night.

Car parking is excellent. The car park is the inner part of the courtyard and there was always parking available even though the car park is shared with the pub.

What is needed now is to tidy up the maintenance. For example, in room 20 the bathroom door does not close and there is black (mould?) coming through the white ceilings in places.

I wrote the above review before looking at the other comments. Having seen them, I would add:
a) Yes this is now the OYO Tyger Inn. It is not a Premier Inn although the room looks very much like a Premier Inn room but not as well maintained.
b) I saw no signs of any ladies of the night.
c) I was not interrupted by cleaners on my check out day even though there is no check out and you simply leave the key in the room.
d) It will be interesting to see if the owners tidy up the place or if it gets worse.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mobile22455832321 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This premier inn is set within beatiful countryside, there’s plenty of onsite parking which is shared with the Mundey arms pub which is on the same land, the rooms are all like little bungalows so no noisey neighbours upstairs. We stayed 3 nights and would defiantly go back the only reason I’ve deducted a star is that I’m wheelchair bound and the accessible room has a bath which I thought I’d manage but getting in was 10times easier then getting out, I have suggested to the premier inn they consider a wet room as this would boost there sales. The breakfast and meals are all served in the pub we had a stunning chefs special fish and chips. I only managed to finish off the fish it was so big. I can’t say anymore about this inn apart from saying if you’ve not stayed here, then you should.
Thank you to all the staff who once again went above and beyond to accommodate any needs you might have.
A defiantly 9.5 out of 10
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DicktheBad wrote a review Jan 2022
Redhill, United Kingdom47 contributions51 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly, this is not a Premier Inn any longer. It is, instead, the OYO Tyger Inn.

This was my second stay at this hotel. The room was large, very comfortable, warm and very clean. There is plenty of car parking and the wifi was more than sufficient for streaming television pictures on my tablet. The picture on the television set in the room was very good. You could check in as early as 2pm if you wished.

It is true that there is some outstanding decorating work in the bathroom (room 16) but at £40 per night my stay represented outstanding value for money and I will be looking to book again in the spring when I return to the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Eccentric2525 wrote a review Aug 2021
Bideford, United Kingdom45 contributions31 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It all started off so well, two rooms next to each other.
That's it. That's the good bits.
Our double room was large as it was their disabled access room. It also included a sliding door for 'easy access' to the bathroom. I'm 6'foot tall and 14 stone and i could not shut it fully, so anyone with frailties or disabilities would really struggle.
We stayed Friday, Saturday and Sunday night. We came home late on Saturday and room hadn't been cleaned, but as we had an early start Sunday also I left it until our return in the afternoon where our bin remained full, our towels remained unchanged and we had no toilet roll remaining. I informed the reception and I didn't get an apology, just coffee, towels and toilet roll to replace what they hadn't done.
There was also a part of our dressing table that had a hole in, but looked like it had been covered in brown paint to hide it.

Each room also had its own parking spot. As we had the disabled room we had a disabled spot which I didn't use, partly because I wouldn't unnecessarily use a disabled spot, partly because the spots were filled with Laundry trolleys.
Overall, having received little to no service I don't think the rooms are worth anywhere near the price and would love a partial refund, but that being as likely as pigs flying, I will never stay in an OYO hotel again.

The pub next door is completely unrelated to this cowboy operation and is lovely, definitely worth a visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2021
Hi, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us recently due to the issues with the room. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with the team to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. In future, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Mo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JonnoDee wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Whilst the bed was large and comfortable, we felt let down by Premier Inn on this occasion.
I had thought unheated bathrooms was a Victorian ideal, not a 21st century thing! The first room we were offered had faulty, ie NO heating. The second room had only 1 of 2 heaters working. Both bathrooms were chilly...NO heating in them whatsoever.
Cleanliness was poor, there were spiders webs in the corners and the tops of the curtains had obviously not been dusted for months.
The towels were rather grey! Not fluffy and white as they should be.
Overall we were very disappointed, especially as it wasn't particularly cheap.
Sadly we have avoided Travelodge for bad hotels, now it seems Premier Inn are just the same!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Myzscha wrote a review Aug 2020
Somerset168 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We love a Premier Inn - wish they did frequent flyer deals!!
This one was great! Especially during the Covid crisis! The rooms are arranged around a stable block so you can park outside your own door!!
Good, clean rooms as you’d expect. And the extractor stops as the bathroom light goes out (Small thing but it makes a difference late at night to the noise level!) Surprisingly quiet seeing as we looked out on to the pub garden.
Staff were helpful. Shame the breakfast box could not be organized / seems that was a central thing though. The pub are not offering breakfast at the moment, but there is a McDs just down the road.
Ideal spot for going to Alton Towers too.
The attached pub is great for a meal, brilliant staff team also.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NicPerrins wrote a review May 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom16 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
PLEASE NOTE: This is no longer a Premier Inn but is now owned by a company called Oyo. I think all the good reviews on here must be from before it was taken over because the place is now run down and unbelievably shabby. The room itself was large but felt really grubby. The carpet wasn’t clean, the curtain rail was falling off and the fire alarm on the ceiling was covered over with a carrier bag!! The bathroom door didn’t shut, the tile grouting in the shower was black with mould and there was an old razor blade head on the bathroom floor. Whilst the bed looked like the massive trademark Premier Inn-type bed, it turned out to be two single mattresses with a piece of wood down the middle.
I booked it for a family member because I don’t have a spare room at my house - and I was thoroughly embarrassed. We got the impression that the place was being run by a couple of guys who we saw on site and that they were just doing as little as they could get away with. Don’t book it - it’s not worth the money. There’s an actual Premier Inn just a couple of miles away for a similar price. This one is horrid.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma T wrote a review Sept 2020
17 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean, comfortable and easily accessible if a little tired looking. Parking was directly outside my window which made life very easy. Staff were friendly and helpful in all instances. Perfect for what I needed before a duathlon race up the road the next day.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cinz wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
An absolutely horrible hotel.

The pub nearby was great and very convenient just the noise was a problem as the hotel is so close. The parking was free but you park next to the pub customers.

The hotel room was full of mould and smelt damp. I would not recommend staying at all. Stay away from this crap hotel, it was cheap but not worth the hassle.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan S wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A dreadful hotel; the only good thing that could be said about it was the price.
OYO have obviously taken it over from Premier Inn and let it run down. Damp and musty smell everywhere and black mould in the bathroom.
The "receptionist" was completely useless - his card reader would not work and I had to pay in cash.
Thank goodness I only had to stay one night!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2021
Hi there, Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry that you were left disappointed by the cleanliness standards in your room. This certainly isn't the experience we would expect for you. The safety and wellbeing of our guests and teams has always been incredibly important to us and everyone in our hotels should rightly expect a safe, clean and protected environment. The Coronavirus crisis has brought this into sharp focus, which is why we have launched a new rigorous, daily cleaning regime across all our hotels. We apologise you found your room to not be up to the high standard we would expect. We have ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management team so that they can look into these issues with our Housekeeping teams to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we hope we can welcome you for a more enjoyable stay in the future. Kind regards, Danny
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Em_D298 asked a question Jul 2018
London, United Kingdom4 contributions10 helpful votes
Hi there Do you have interconnecting rooms at your hotel? Thanks.
Answer from HJ2408
Plymouth, United Kingdom11 contributions10 helpful votes
Sorry, not sure
david d asked a question Apr 2017
Nuneaton, United Kingdom25 contributions15 helpful votes
Is the breakfast buffet or cooked to order please. Is the coffee from the machine or pots on the table. Thank you
Answer from WhitbreadHotels
Luton2 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi David, I can confirm our breakfast is usually cooked to order unless we're busier. We do also provide filter coffee and you can also request alternative coffee's too. Kind Regards, Samantha
JK86London wrote a tip Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom96 contributions115 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Staying there full stop."
Read full review
shadll1207 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Birmingham, United Kingdom136 contributions40 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find another hotel"
Read full review
jonnymurph65 wrote a tip Sept 2021
Greater London, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't bother to go"
Read full review
YAH-13 wrote a tip Aug 2021
12 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wear wellies or don't take your shoes off in any room"
Read full review
Dean Maskell wrote a tip Sept 2020
Northampton, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try ro get rooms 1-4 very close to a quite pub GR8"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mackworth area.
PRICE RANGE
£76 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn derby north west hotel mackworth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDerbyshireDerbyMackworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PREMIER INN DERBY NORTH WEST HOTEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Derby North West hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Nearby attractions include Make Your Escape (2.7 miles), Hatchet Harrys Derby (2.7 miles), and Wild Park Derbyshire (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Dining Room, Slug & Lettuce, and Seven Restaurant & Cafe Bar.
Is Premier Inn Derby North West hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the centre of Mackworth.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Derby North West hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kedleston Hall (1.7 miles), Derby Gaol (2.1 miles), and The Door On Sadler Gate (2.5 miles).
Is Premier Inn Derby North West hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Mackworth HotelsMackworth Hotel DealsHotels near Premier Inn Derby North West hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire