Railay Phutawan Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Railay Phutawan Resort

516 Moo.2 Tambon Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81180 Thailand
Traveller (562)
Panorama of the Deluxe Double Room with Sea View at the Railay Phutawan Resort
360
Panoramas (23)
Superior Cottage
Room & Suite (216)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 4 small hotels in Railay Beach
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Railay Phutawan Resort : welcome to stay with us at Railay Phutawan Resort. It's the best place to relax in the natural surrounded by green mountain and Andaman sea. Enjoy our restaurant which serves a great variety of authentic Thai and Western food, drinks and exotic cocktail. All set in what we proudly claim to be the most beautiful and romantic setting in Railay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Infinity pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Snorkelling
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Sun terrace
Wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Thai

Location

516 Moo.2 Tambon Ao Nang, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81180 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Krabi Airport
11.2 mi
See all flights
Phuket Intl Airport
36.8 mi
See all flights
461Reviews25Q+A49Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 148
  • 173
  • 73
  • 32
  • 35
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kasper A wrote a review Feb 2020
36 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 families for 4 days I Phutawan resort. We chose that resort because we wanted to stay a bit away from the beach which is very crowded. We were so happy with our stay here. The welcome was warm and sincere and the familiy room was great. Big room and a big bed plus a normal bed for our 2 big children. The baby sleept in a cottage provided for free. The bathroom was big, and the showering area was even bigger. This was a bit weird since we would rather have more space in the bathroom but this is a minor detail. The upside was that all 5 off us could shower at one time 😉
The hotel is located up the hill with a fantastic view with the beach one way and jungle and rocks the other. There is an infinity pool and lounge area so this is a nice place to cool down and relax. Is takes 7 min to walk to the town and beach, but if you’re lazy you can just take the hotel shuffle car for free 😉
The cleaning standard was very high which is a huge upside for us.
We also had our laundry done and it came back nicely folded and clean 👍
The only negative we can say about Phutawan is that the bar closes already at 10.00 pm. It would have been nice to enjoy some adult time a little longer. The staff was also in quite a rush to get everything shut down when the time was close to 10.00. I guess they very exited about getting off which I understand, but it seemed as they wanted us gone from the bar, and that’s not so cool and also the opposite of everything else we experienced at our stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aman Khambaty wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't understand why this hotel has a 3 star rating. It's more like a 4 star. Sure it's a little bit of a climb but they have a free tuk tuk shuttle every 2 hours; even then, it's a manageable walk to all the major parts of Railay.

Pool is fantastic, rooms are great, breakfast makes the cut, and staff is absolutely fantastic. Even their private transfer on the way back was fantastic. We didn't even have to lift a finger for our bags till we reached our final destination; for context, the route of the transfer is the island (which has no cars), boat, pier, and town roads.

Also, for rock climbers, there's a hilltop with a rock climbing school just outside the resort. The only place that would beat this in Railay is probably Rayavadee.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WhitcombeRD wrote a review Mar 2020
Takua Pa, Thailand97 contributions78 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Set on a small hillside above the main town area overlooking the eastern ocean and surrounded by towering limestone cliffs with monkeys, gibbons and other wildlife.
The grounds are well kept, pool and surrounding area also very nice.
Staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.
The room was very comfortable but all i would say is it was very dark at night - the low power LED bulbs recessed into the ceiling made for a very dim room. I kept turning the light switch on only to realise the lights were already on!

Its about a 2 minute walk from the Diamond cave and 5 minutes from the main walking street area (albeit the way back is up a small hill!).

Would highly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PercyDucks wrote a review Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom23 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking forward to staying at this hotel but unfortunately it did not live up to our expectations.

We did not feel welcome on our arrival with the hotel failing to respond to our WhatsApp messages regarding being picked up by the beach shuttle. It was a shame that we did not receive an apology for this. The check in process felt disorganised and we were not made to feel like valued guests.

We were disappointed by breakfast - the restaurant was very hot due to a lack of aircon or fans in the seated area. There was a noticeable lack of staff meaning we had to clear a table to sit at it and had to ask repeatedly for cutlery, water glasses and mugs as there were none on the buffet stand.

We do not think this would be a suitable hotel for a solo traveller due to the dark path that you need to walk up to reach the hotel at night.

The general cleanliness of our room was not to the standard we would expect, with hairs and dirty marks on sheets when the room has supposedly been cleaned.

Overall, we thought that the general attitude of the staff reduced our enjoyment of the hotel. They did not seem to want to be there!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
zoezew wrote a review Apr 2024
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom66 contributions95 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay here was mostly great; stunning views, great food and drinks by the pool. However I don’t feel it’s made clear enough how hilly the hotel grounds are and how there are virtually no handrails at all. I found this hazardous with my young children and mum. To get from the pool to the rooms were two huge steps that are crying out for a hand rail or more smaller steps.

We knew the resort itself would be hilly and had read they offer golf buggy trips which we thought would be ideal however the availability varies as to who is on the front desk! There are signs saying they do drop offs every two hours but two staff members told us to message the front desk when we needed service which we did and a lot of the time they took us down to the front. Other times they were very firm in saying no even thought my mum finds it difficult walking up the huge hills.

Another point to mention is that the entrance to the bathroom from the rooms had a huge lip, I imagine to try and stop the water spilling out from the bathroom but there’s no warning about this so my husband and I both stubbed our toes, my husbands very badly, hence the need for more use of the golf buggies!

My tip would be to go and eat on the west side of Railay. The east feels very ‘brits abroad’ and lots of weed shops whereas the west is far nicer
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
michael g wrote a review Jan 2020
Peterborough, United Kingdom62 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort is one of the most beautiful places we have ever stayed in. Lush tropical gardens /jungle wrapping around our very pretty bungalow with the friendliest helpful staff we have ever had the joy to meet. 5 minutes walk away was one of the best beaches in Thailand railay Beach, with an amazing row of bars and restaurants set out like a wild west town.
Although it was mainland, you had to travel by boat to get there, meaning there was no cars, brilliant, proper relaxed holiday feel.
There was even a Thai boxing tournament going on the east beach side if you like that sort of thing.
We have travelled all around Europe and have also been to the Maldives, and this beach comes very very close.
There is a couple more beaches within easy reach as well.
We highly recommend that you take the 4 Island tour just to see some more beautiful beaches and scenery.
Enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RAILAYPHUTAWAN, Director of Sales at Railay Phutawan Resort
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Hi Michael G Thankyou for your kind review and ofcourse for being our lovely guests. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are really happy you enjoyed yourselves so much. Please visit us again soon. Kind Regards - Ruby Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alona L wrote a review Apr 2023
29 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
One of the highlights of our stay was the stunning view from the pool, gazing towards the sea and the cliffs around us just like in the photos.
Another major plus of the hotel was its prime location within walking distance of two beautiful beaches, Railey west and Phra Nang beach.
Whether we wanted to relax in the sun, swim in the clear blue waters, or take a stroll along the shore, we had easy access to some of the most gorgeous beaches in the area and the hotels provided shuttles to the beach.
The breakfast was great.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeni_L_12_12 wrote a review Dec 2020
Kitchener, Canada22 contributions48 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
For the Railay area, I have to say this hotel has noticeably great service with very kind and friendly staff. You are treated very well and the staff really do their best to make you feel welcome and to help you throughout your stay.

The view is very lovely and the grounds are so peaceful. It is quieter and you are really tucked in nature. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The balcony we had was so nice and we had a lovely green and garden view.

Though you are not on the beaches, it isn't hard to get to them and there is a shuttle service as well- though I really enjoyed walking and being active.

I think this is a great option if you choose to stay in Railay- oh and they are one of the few hotels that serve alcohol ;).
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Devvrat G wrote a review Apr 2024
Jebel Ali, United Arab Emirates31 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start off with saying that the property itself is really cool. That being said, the management is in the ‘Hospitality’ business but have 0 ‘hospitality’ capability.
To share some background, I was booked for 3 night stay at Railay Phutawan Resort (RPR) but unfortunately, within an hour of checking in at 2pm, I had to check out and fly out as I had a death in my family.

I reached out to RPR to request them for a refund of the amount spent for the 3 days considering I didn’t spend a single night there. I acknowledged and agreed that they should charge me for 1 night and maybe even 2 nights if they feel that's fair. I was hopeful for quick communication and maybe a bit of sympathy for the circumstances considering I shared the death certificate, outbound flights and all other proof with their management but I had high hopes.

The management was vey slow to respond and when they eventually responded, their response was ‘you need to read terms & conditions before you book’ and ‘if someone was to cancel the reservation at the last minute, why is there an expectation for the resort to pay anything back’. I indicated that I totally agree if there is not a strong enough reason with proof, they are well within their right to not refund anything at all, but I have shared clear evidence of the same.

Eventually, they said that management will look into it again and get back to me. It has been 25 days since I first reached out to them and checked out and there is still no resolution and they have just ignored my last few messages.

Safe to say that there is no expectation of a refund or response from RPR or that I will ever recommend them to anyone or book this resort again. What’s worse is that all the other hotels/resorts understood the situation and refunded the full amount back. Even tours that we had booked the very next day were understanding and sympathetic. Shame as I was hoping to stay at RPR in the future.

Wouldn't recommend if you are looking for good service and a resort that cares about guests!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sam P wrote a review Aug 2023
32 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing hotel. Rooms great, big with lovely AC and bathrooms and the balcony was great to sit on and look over the jungle.

The service to the hotel from the boat is great and the tuk tuk into the strip is amazing. The staff are very helpful on this front.

The pool is lovely but the pool bar has very slow service. We waited half an hour for a cocktail and the service was so slow we decided to walk to the centre to eat instead - this was very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t eat at the restaurant or expect a quick drink.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Railay Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
£31 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
railay phutawan hotel railay beach
LOCATION
ThailandKrabi ProvinceKrabi TownRailay Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RAILAY PHUTAWAN RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Railay Phutawan Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Railay Phutawan Resort?
Nearby attractions include Why Not Bar Railay Beach (0.2 miles), Diamond Cave (Tham Phra Nang Nai) (0.08 miles), and Railay Pub Crawl (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Railay Phutawan Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Railay Phutawan Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Railay Phutawan Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Railay Phutawan Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bang Bang Bar, Coffee Club Krabi-Klongmuang Beach, and Kohinoor Indian Restaurant & Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Railay Phutawan Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an infinity pool during their stay.
Is Railay Phutawan Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Railay Beach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Railay Phutawan Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Thai.
Are there any historical sites close to Railay Phutawan Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wat Mung Muang (6.6 miles).
Does Railay Phutawan Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Railay Beach HotelsRailay Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Railay BeachHotels near Railay Phutawan Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire