Silverwood Lodge Guest House
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Silverwood Lodge Guest House

Traveller (16)
Dining (1)
Comfortable en-suite bedrooms
Room & Suite (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#2 of 2 B&Bs in Landbeach
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
81Reviews1Q+A21Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 9
  • 12
  • 7
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KaronParker wrote a review Sept 2016
Romford, United Kingdom50 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived around 6pm. No one at reception. A guest told us to take key off wall were our name was??? Would have been nice to have been emailed to say that there would not be anyone there in the evening or over night! and what to do! There was a phone number on the wall (presume it was a contact number?) We were in room 5 ground floor. Bad bits!! Bedroom.Thick dust top of wardrobe, only four hangers. The very dusty item found in the wardrobe removed by a very embarrised man at reception! Tolietries from previous guest still in bathroom. Milk gone bad! Carpet by bed/bathroom needs cleaning or replacing,crusty!! Shower tiles need cleaning, black mould.Metal in bathroom dusty and very rusty. Toiletries dusty! Could not get channels on tv. Dining room. Condiments need cleaning, tables sticky! Area. Could not sleep as near very busy main road. So noisy all night even with windows closed! Good bits!!! Room big and airy. Tea and coffee. Excellent choice of cold and hot breakfast. Parking available be careful of the chickens! Not really at a standard I would expect for £80 a night! We stayed 2 nights. On speaking to the staff we were told this room was rented to someone Mon to Fri on a long term basis. Perhaps a diferrent room would have been beter???
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Perhaps upstairs back?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan B wrote a review Jun 2016
21 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival two of the other guests showed us that we could collect our key from the board and let ourselves into the room.. The room itself was large with plenty of space. The bathroom was small but clean and the shower was nice, powerful and warm. However there didn't seem to be a fan so it got very steamy and the only way to reduce this was to let the steam out into the bedroom and then open the windows. There was plenty of parking at the back of the property. The location wasn't ideal in that it's not really near anywhere, although we did go to the Indian restaurant opposite, but still suffers from high road noise. This didn't keep me awake as I always travel with ear plugs but could be a problem for some.
We didn't make it to breakfast in the morning as it finished at 9am and we wanted a weekend lie in. So said hello/goodbye to the host and then left. With regard to the check in, I think it would be good to state 'self check in' when booking so people know what to expect.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaki N wrote a review Nov 2015
2 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place could be such a great stay if the hospitality wasn't so awful. We are two women who thought this place ticked all the boxes when we saw it online. Just a shame we didn't read the reviews before we booked.
The b&b looked lovely when we pulled up in the car round the back. Lovely big open space with chickens roaming the gardens. Ours was the only car in the place which we thought strange.
We found the tiny reception and rang the bell. The place appeared empty. After ten minutes we still hadn't been welcomed so my daughter rang the mobile number given. She rang six times but no one answered. After 20 minutes I said I wondered if the name on the board similar to ours with an arrow pointing to two keys meant we had to see ourselves into our room ourself. There were no other names on the board which I concluded meant we were the only guests of this 10 bedroomed b&b.
We had separate rooms and both rooms were adequate for our need, apart from my room had no remote for the TV and it was impossible to see the to from the comfort of the bed. We waited for the hosts to arrive home to ask them about the remote. No-one arrived. It became clear that the owners didn't live in the property. It was the worst night sleep we had, it was the middle of winter and the place is quite rural and as two women alone, we didn't feel safe or secure and to be fair it was all quite creepy.
The following morning we went down to breakfast at 8.55 due to breakfast finishing at 9.00am. We were greeted with the frostiest hostess who didn't even wish us good morning. She was terse, cold very unwelcoming. It was such an uncomfortable atmosphere that we didn't bother with a cooked breakfast or a drink. We had a piece of toast, paid the bill of £120 and left without as much as a bye your leave.
This is without question the most unwelcome place I've ever stayed. Don't waste your money, book somewhere that actually appreciates your custom.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobbie wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dirty place, absolutely stunk like sour milk. Breakfast was disgusting and staff very argumentative especially the owner. Tv didn’t work, no hot water at 8 in the morning. This is the worst place I’ve ever stayed. Please avoid at all costs
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew N wrote a review Apr 2021
London, United Kingdom166 contributions167 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a shocking place. The ownership are rude and indifferent . The carpets are stained , the tv from the recycle bin and the plumbing doesn’t work . Anywhere is better than here to stay in the area that don’t have questionable standards . Find somewhere else to stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eld192 wrote a review May 2017
Somerset, United Kingdom4 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I booked a room here for one night. As we had, had no communication other than the booking confirmation my partner called silverwood lodge the day before we arrived to let them know what time we would be arriving. There was no answer on multiple occasions. The day we were driving up, I tried to call them - same thing happened. No answer and no call back. When we arrived there was no one there. Our name and key were on the wall.
We walked into our room and it was tired to say the least. There were holes in the wall, lots of dust and the carpet was dirty. To top it off there was absolutely no hot water in the bathroom. It wasn't even warm. The shower options were cold or colder.
My partner once again tried to call the owners - again no answer. We left a voicemail asking them to call us. We explained the situation and that we would be leaving if we couldn't get hold of them. No response. Today it appears they have tried to charge my partners account for an uninhabitable room. Still without any communication to us!
After a 5 hour drive this was not what we wanted. Stay clear of this hell hole of a place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Archimboldo1 wrote a review Aug 2011
Jersey, United Kingdom5 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We usually rely 100% on Tripadvisor reviews but were very disappointed with our stay at Silverwood Lodge. The room we were given was through a door directly off the breakfast room and although the room was generally clean, one of the spare pillows had blood stains on it! We were also surprised that the owner did not live on site. This was an issue when the fire alarm started beeping at midnight for two hours due to a low battery. When I called the emergency number to explain the situation, the owner said that he was in Cambridge and asked for us to fix it, without any apology. After I persisted, the owner then arranged for his son to come round but there was no sense of apology or customer service by the owner (unlike his son who was very courteous). Unfortunately, the problem was not fixed and in the end we had to remove the battery from the alarm at 2am. This lack of customer care was repeated again at breakfast when we asked for a late checkout, having previously asked on arrival, the day before. We were spoken to with a lack of courtesy, even when we told the owner that we had been awake for 2 hours in the night. There was no apology and we were told that he could not help it if the battery ran out of juice and started beeping and we should have checked the terms and conditions regarding check-out times. In the end, he did agree to let us have the room until lunchtime, as we had a wedding, but it was done begrudgingly. Then, on leaving Silverwood, we thanked the owner and he didn't even reply or thank us for staying. We found this very strange and rather rude. We will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jasmine061, Manager at Silverwood Lodge Guest House
Responded 2 Aug 2011
I would like to respond to these comments: The room you were given did indeed have a door directly into the breakfast room but this was not the official entrance to the room. There is another door to a porch which is the correct door to use. We sometimes allow guests to use the doors to the breakfast room as a shortcut if they like. All guests staying in that room appreciate it. When the smoke alarm started beeping and you called our son who was covering for us as we were out celebrating my birthday, he asked you what room you were in; you responded, Room 3. When he asked you if you were sure you said Yes. When he came over he went all around the guest house to check as Room 3 does not have a smoke alarm outside as it has a door directly onto the garden. You were in fact in room 5 so he was baffled. This is why you had to remove the battery yourselves; room 5 is in a completely different part of the building to room 3. As he could not find the beeping alarm he went home. A late check out is not always possible for 2 reasons; we have to get the room ready for the next guests who have booked and paid for the room for that night and the maid who cleans the rooms can't hang around to wait for you to check out. So we had to service the room ourselves. We often allow late check outs when guests ask us when they book. Then we can arrange for the cleaner to come in later in advance. I have to say I am suprised that My husband was grumpy as he is always cheerful and more than helpful and accommodating. Look at our previous reviews; he has often driven guests to weddings or work interviews free of charge or cooked breakfast for guests who come down an hour late. He must have been having a bad day. Although I am not excusing him as we have to keep cheerful and professional for our guests. Out of thousands of guests we have looked after, you are the ONLY complaint we have had. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but we truly believe that if you had not been woken in the night by the alarm you would not have had cause for complaint. We also notice that you did not have anything positive to say like how comfy the bed was, how large and clean the room was and how great the shower was. Things sometimes go wrong but only focusing on the negative is very unfair and vindictive. Take a look again at our other reviews.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsBrix88 wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Well I’m not sure where to start!! We booked this B&B as we were attending a family party nearby and the pictures and reviews made it sound like a sweet place to stay... It was not! I honestly cannot think of one nice to say about the place.

We arrived and there was no staff but a board with names on and a key which was strange but not a huge problem so went to our room (No. 1), which was not in a good way at all, it was very smelly, a mixture of damp mouldy smell and the smell of fried food, we opened all the windows and the door to air it out. The room itself was very old and tired with stained carpets, a dirty bathroom and a very uncomfortable bed.

We weren’t going to be in the room long and had no choice but to stay so thought at least breakfast might make up for it so after a very uncomfortable night we went into the breakfast food, which again had a very offensive fried food smell and was very small, our party of 5 had to sit separately.

On the tables there was a selection of jams, peanut butter etc all of which were very cheap low quality brands. The “continental” breakfast options were cereals and a few cheap croissants and pain au chocolate’s alongside a packet of mixed hams and cheese. We all ordered a Full English and what was served was laughable, it took around 30 minutes to come and when it arrived it was 2 rashers of bacon, a broken hard fried egg, a quarter of a tomato, around 5 very small pieces of mushroom and some baked beans... this is not what I would describe as a Full English!! The poor lady on the table next to us ordered poached eggs on toast and got one slice of toast and one egg... Definitely not an adequate breakfast when your are charging £80 a night... Especially when the rooms are so bad!!!

When my Mother in Law went to settle the bill for the rooms the very rude manager tried to charge her almost triple the price we had booked through Booking.com and quoted £80 per room saying it was £80 per person not per room and trying to say that it was an error with Booking.com and not the B&B! In the end she agreed to honour the Booking.com price.

When I went to return our key, she again started being quite rude about the price situation and I politely pointed out that even for the lower price I felt the rooms were not worth it as it was filthy and the breakfast was disgusting. This was met by her asking me “Are you stupid? I personally cleaned the room and its lovely”. I do not expect to be spoken to like that as a customer anywhere especially not when I feel like I had paid a lot of money for something that was not worth it. She ended the conversation by saying she doesn’t care what I think as they have lots of good reviews and walked off when I was still talking to her!!! When I returned home I had a look on these so called good reviews and I think they are very lucky the previous owners were so good and this has raised the total score of the B&B.
Overall this place is an absolute disaster and I wouldn’t recommend it even to my worst enemy!! Save your money and stay elsewhere!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LordOfRock wrote a review Sept 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom2 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I booked the family suite - supposedly beds for five, kitchen and separate sitting room / bedroom with en suite. What we got was four beds crammed into a damp, smelly room that the owner was halfway through decorating. The walls were either bare, damp plaster or had half the paper scraped off. The carpets were pulled up, the paint was still wet and the bathroom was inaccessible. The owner was incredibly rude and told us to "like it or lump it": we chose to leave. Horrible, horrible place and I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book another B&B. Do not stay here under any circumstances.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernard T wrote a review Aug 2014
Emsworth, United Kingdom2 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were put in the annex (no the garage) rooms 11 & 12 are in 2 garages by the main building. The garage doors are visible from the outside and has had plasterboard put over the lower part of the doors inside below the fixed windows. Our room had been converted to a very poor standard, holes in the wall plasterboard over a window not taped or skimmed with plaster, there was no opening window in the room, only 3 old fan/lights I assume to try and circulate the air, the result being that the room was totally dusty(when breathing the air) from the raw plasterboard and filler which had not been sealed. The toilet/shower room was as bad work not finished, but it did have a window but as it was inches from the bushes and undergrowth outside if you opened the window and turned the light on you were invaded with insects. By the morning we both felt grubby and had breathing problems. In the morning I spoke to "Sharon" one of the proprietors and by my manner she was aware I was not best pleased she transferred us into room 3 for the second night of our stay which was a lot better but very small, no air extraction in the toilet/shower but still nothing like what "Hotels .com" advertised in their photographs. So much for stay at home vacations And British Tourism
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Room in main body of the house first floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wen B asked a question Jul 2018
The Hague, The Netherlands
Mag de hond mee?
Zoe P wrote a tip Oct 2018
3 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to another hotel or B&B"
Read full review
tbontbtitq wrote a tip Jul 2018
England44 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for the room least affected by traffic noise."
Read full review
Iginia wrote a tip Aug 2017
Ruislip, United Kingdom22 contributions27 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I have NO tips as didn't get to go into other rooms!!!!"
Read full review
Mellbess wrote a tip Jun 2017
Bedford, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would recommend to anyone visiting local area."
Read full review
KaronParker wrote a tip Sept 2016
Romford, United Kingdom50 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perhaps upstairs back?"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Landbeach area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
silverwood lodge guest house hotel landbeach
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCambridgeshireLandbeach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SILVERWOOD LODGE GUEST HOUSE - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Silverwood Lodge Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Silverwood Lodge Guest House?
Nearby attractions include LockHouse Escape Games (4.9 miles), Bottisham Airfield Museum (4.9 miles), and The Piano Bar at De Luca (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Silverwood Lodge Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Silverwood Lodge Guest House?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Silverwood Lodge Guest House?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silverwood Lodge Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Namaste Village Cambridge, Africfood, and Restaurant 22.
Is Silverwood Lodge Guest House located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Landbeach.
Are pets allowed at Silverwood Lodge Guest House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Silverwood Lodge Guest House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting University of Cambridge (4.9 miles), Kettle's Yard (4.6 miles), and Trinity College (4.7 miles).
FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire