We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

333 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 325: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for a night as we were catching up with my son for a family weekend. It is on the outskirts of Walthamstow and just outside South Woodford. The staff were friendly and although we arrived early and couldn't book in, they were happy for us to leave the car there and book us a taxi to the train station....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed in this hotel on a couple of occasions, I was looking forward to staying again.....room 209 should be taken out of service....the bathroom sink was cracked...the floor tiles were broken on the bathroom floor...the shower was big enough for a small child and being a woman who is more large than small found it a tight squeeze...the toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
Donna L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest, responded to this review

Thank you Catherine for your feedback. Once again I would like to apologise for the issues you faced during your stay with us, I would like to thank you for bringing this to my attention and can assure you that your feedback has been passed on to the relevant persons to address. I can confirm we do have you on...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here recently and my first impressions of the hotel were pretty good and it’s always a good start to be met by a friendly face at reception, I checked into my room and found it to be both clean and tidy with all the mod cons that you expect from a Hotel chain at this level, unfortunately the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Donna L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest, responded to this review

Thank you David R for your feedback. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return to us in the future. It is always nice to hear that minor issues are dealt with quickly and effectively and that you were greeted with a friendly face. I am also glad to hear that you...

london
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I will keep it very brief, the hotel was clean and staff pleasant enough so as a place to sleep it's fine, however If you require overnight parking I would recommend you go elsewhere. Our car was broken into and my purse was stolen and thousands spent on my card. The hotel car park is clearly vulnerable as it's surrounded...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank charl2811
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having had a torrid experience on our first visit after having little sleep due to knocking pipes and the loud hum from a nearby boiler room, we were offered a free return visit. Whist this stay was a lot better, it was still not to the standard, I expect. The room itself was ok, big queen size bed ;), although...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank neilludgate
Donna L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that we did not provide you with a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Your feedback has been communicated to the relevant persons to address. We did at the time of your stay unfortunately have a leak in one stairwell of the hotel however this has now been fixed. I am sorry to hear...

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I often stay at this hotel because of work and cannot fault it. All the staff are fantastic. The reception staff are friendly and professional, the bar and restaurant staff are exceedingly helpful, even the chef is lovely. The hotel manager goes out of his way to ensure that guests are well looked after and is always happy to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
Donna L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest, responded to this review

Thank you Amanda for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased to have you return to the hotel time and again. I am very glad to hear that you find all the team at the hotel to be friendly and helpful. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team and am pleased that you find us...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stay at alot of hotels and this is the first hotel thats asked for my debit card information as they say its for security. However in a world where debit card fraud is all around us I'm not happy giving my card across to someone who may use it for room charges without my permission. They will eventually accept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
Donna L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback. Unfortunately if you are booking through a company or third party by which your booking is paid, we are required to also take the card details of the guest. This is of course for security reasons. All card details are kept secure to comply with Data Protection legislation and staff are thoroughly trained in...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Struggling to find a modern identity and has lost its way, the hotel is dated despite an apparent refurb. Black mould in bathroom, towels grey and lost their fluffiness. Bed is lumpy and an ill fitting link bed. Internet connection not strong. I found the lighting poor when working in an evening. The place was full of contractors in white...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank latinmeadow25
Donna L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback and I am sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. I would like to assure you that I have passed on all your feedback to the relevant departments to address to ensure a superior stay to all our guests in the future. I am sorry that you found...

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We needed to stay edge of London, leave the car, and have access to the Underground for central London, and this location is fine. The hotel is a 2 storey building in the edge of the Forest, and very quiet. The rooms are cosy - indeed, rather warm and the radiators 'ping' for some time while they cool down around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedtraveller33
Donna L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued feedback. We are glad you like our location and found us convenient for your travels into London. Thank you for making me aware of maintenance issues within the room you stayed, this is now being addressed by our maintenance team. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant both for your evening meal...

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We had returned after having not such a great stay the first time, however this time felt like a different hotel! The manager is lovely, the staff are friendly and willing to chat with you and the room had everything we needed. We will be returning in the furture, thank you best western staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginger2808
Donna L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us this time around. I am very pleased to hear that you found the team here to be friendly and had all the amenities you needed for your stay. We do hope you will return to see us in the future. Kind Regards...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodford
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Chingford - North Circular
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN London Ilford Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Greater London Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
0.7 mi away
Packfords Hotel
Packfords Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woodford
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 99 en-suite bedroom recently refurbished hotel, The Best Western Plus Epping Forest is situated in the peace and quiet of ancient Epping Forest, just 25 minutes by Central Line tube from central London Oxford Street with all its theatres, shops and restaurants. There are **FREE CAR PARKING SPACES** for up to 80 cars. Also enjoy **FREE WI-FI** at the reception area and the bar area with BT sports channels. All rooms have Freeview, a hairdryer, trouser press and 24 hour room service. Other facilities include a lounge bar, Our Forest restaurant offers a selection of exciting dishes which can be complimented by some delightful wines from around the world. Our newly refurbished Statesman Suite, with its glass Atrium area overlooking Epping Forest, can hold up to 150 delegates or the same number for a dinner or reception. It can also be divided into three for smaller meetings or events. To the east of London is the Docklands with its financial heart at Canary Wharf and onwards to Bank and the O2 Arena. For the business traveller or delegate the North Circular A406, M11 and M25 are just minutes away and two airports, London Stansted and London City, are also within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest

Address: 30 Oak Hill, Woodford IG8 9NY, England (Formerly County Hotel Woodford)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Woodford
Price Range: £50 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Epping
County Hotel Woodford
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest Woodford, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from Room 209”
 of 5 bubbles 962catheriner, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Good location for London”
 of 5 bubbles Avcofdino2000, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room overlooking the rear car park, although the road at the front of the hotel is not particularly busy.”
 of 5 bubbles Golfe217, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not Bad stay”
 of 5 bubbles Pindi1969, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check the room and facility”
  • Bathroom
  • Bedroom
  • Shower
  • Bedroom
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles morhafa963, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5