We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walkerbouts Inn - Rhodes

Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)
Overview
1 Vorster Street Eastern Cape, Rhodes 9787 South Africa See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
22
16
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
22
16
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza the pub enjoyed our stay feel at home trout fishing rooms are large dave universe hamlet marie pass drive legend guesthouse stories meals furniture
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

OK, if you visit Rhodes in the mountains of the Eastern Cape (a beautiful little village nestled in the mountains), you more or less have to deal with David Walker, owner of the Walkerbouts Hotel. Not only does he run the only hotel in town,...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank jamespbond
Response from WalkerboutsInn, Owner at Walkerbouts Inn - RhodesResponded 2 days ago

Dear jamespbond aka Mr Peter Macintosh, Firstly, I would like to apologize for not having been to be able to accommodate you in the venue of your choice. Unfortunately it had been rented out for an extended period so my staff assumed that an alternative...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks Dave and crew for a very enjoyable lunch. We had a great chat with fellow travellers popping in for lunch. It has been on my bucket list since the early 2000's to come through. This year we set out to do it from Barkly...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank AlwynPitout
Response from WalkerboutsInn, Owner at Walkerbouts Inn - RhodesResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Alwyn & Suzanne, Glad you enjoyed your meal and visit. Trust that your return will be moved higher up in your bucket list! Merry Christmas to you too and a great year ahead. Cheers, Dave.

Reviewed 14 October 2018

My husband and I recently had a very enjoyable night in Rhodes, staying at Walkerbouts Inn. We were the only guests and were very well looked after. Our room was lovely and the meals we had were delicious! We enjoyed the break with the wonderful...More

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank 468jow
Response from WalkerboutsInn, Owner at Walkerbouts Inn - RhodesResponded 17 October 2018

Hi Jo, Thank you for the kind words. Glad glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.and that all was in order. Thank you for supporting our industry and looking forward to your return. All of the best. Cheers, Dave.

Reviewed 9 October 2018

To Dave, Iryne and Marie..... Thank you for a perfect stay. Your establishmnet exceeded what we expected; place where we can umwind after a ride, cumfortable beds and a homley feeling.....pub included. You gave us all of the above. Marie - so enjoyed your coocking......More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank AHidler
Response from WalkerboutsInn, Owner at Walkerbouts Inn - RhodesResponded 10 October 2018

Hi Alan, Thank you for the kind words and I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and your stay with us. Looking forward to your next visit. Cheers, Dave.

Reviewed 3 July 2018

I would recommend the hamlet of Rhodes to everyone. Although there are a number of accommodation options, the Inn suited our needs perfectly. Nice little pub with an excellent whisky selection and superb dinners by fireplace in the winter. Very scenic drive to get there...More

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Pieter_Mari
Response from WalkerboutsInn, Owner at Walkerbouts Inn - RhodesResponded 4 July 2018

Hi Pieter & Mari, Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Rhodes and especially your stay at "The Centre of the Universe", Walkerbouts Inn! Looking forward to your return. Cheers, Dave.

View more reviews
About
Description
Walkerbouts Inn - Rhodes is a spacious haven with comfortable accommodation, fine country cuisine and hospitality in the best traditions of the "Platteland." The relaxed and hospitable atmosphere More makes it a veritable home-from-home. Walkerbouts is located in the historic village of Rhodes which is situated at the southernmost tip of the Drakensberg mountain range, 16km due south of the border with the mountain Kingdom of Lesotho. Rhodes is in a remote mountainous area where all four seasons can be experienced in one day. Roads to Rhodes are gravel, winding along river valleys and must be driven with care. Rhodes is a special place for special people. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$37 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Eastern Cape > Rhodes
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$37 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
South Africa > Eastern Cape > Rhodes
Photos
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)
Nearby
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
FK Sports Pub & Grill
6 reviews
24.77 miles away
Bistro at Alpine
27 reviews
29.25 miles away
The Cock & The Cat
12 reviews
31.86 miles away
The Bean and Bun
7 reviews
29.38 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
River Spa Tenahead
4 reviews
12.05 miles away
Barkly East Museum
24.65 miles away
Barkly East Golf Club
37.68 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Frans C
8 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WalkerboutsInn | Property representative |
Hi Frans, I understand that Iryna is dealing with your enquiry but who is off-duty today and will be back again tomorrow to respond. Cheers, Dave.
0
Votes
Frans C
4 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from MariaS21902 | Property representative |
Dear Frans Thank you for your e-mail. We have 5xrooms and 1xrondawel- *3xRooms have a double bed and 1xsingle bed in with ensuite bathrooms *3xRooms have double and 2xsingle beds in with barthrooms We do have a great... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Plan to stay longer Rooms 1, 2 and 3 have a full garden view as well."
AHidler
9 Oct 2018
Read review
"Book in advance because it's a small inn or request self-catering houses in the village but bring your..."
BigEd26
22 Aug 2017
Read review
"Very poor service!!"
352ferdiem
23 Oct 2016
Read review
"Front rooms have mountain view, all are big with crisp, white linen and large en suite bathrooms."
99jilld99
13 Mar 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing