We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ship & Bell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Ship & Bell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

242 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 238: English reviews
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value for money. Rooms are in a annex away from the pub so keeps the noise down. Nice pub with real ale and nice food. Rooms are a bit tired but for the price can't complain. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank spoonsxfour
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here when we visited family at Christmas and will not stay here again until the much needed refurbishment has been carried out. We had a double (room 24) which apart from the cobwebs and ladybug (in December!) was cleanish and warm however the twin (room 31) was abysmal, freezing cold, not very welcoming! The bathroom window was left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trisha W
theshipandbell, General Manager at The Ship & Bell, responded to this review

Dear Tricia, Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am very sorry you did not have a enjoyable stay the rooms are in great need of repair and this is reflected in the prices, however we will endeavour to ensure these issues do not come up again. I am glad the team were able to address...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Warm reception with friendly staff and clientele. outstanding full english breakfast.. Room was clean and tidy with everything one could want, quiet, no road noise from outside. Good choices for evening meal

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoff_c_hodge
theshipandbell, General Manager at The Ship & Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am glad you enjoyed your stay

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

This venue was booked at the last minute as our previous choice for our family event had gone bust! They never told us so i just called the landlady of The Ship and Bell and she was immediately helpful so very kind and gave us a great deal. We had a buffet for 45 people there was ample food and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d s
theshipandbell, General Manager at The Ship & Bell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review I am really glad that we could help and you all had a great time.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Good clean accommodation and friendly service. The evening meal and breakfast were both good and reasonably priced. We had a morning crossing from Portsmouth, so this was an ideal location for the night before!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJud
theshipandbell, General Manager at The Ship & Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate your lovely comments

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Went with a group of ladies for a buffet meal we were the first to try this new menu and sorry to say this was not a good menu, my friend was sick when she got home, I also didn't feel so good. I have been with the same ladies to this place for the last three years and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank coop531
theshipandbell, General Manager at The Ship & Bell, responded to this review

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your time with us please call the ship and bell so we can discuss this further

London
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We booked the room on route as we left Stevenage finally arriving just after 10pm cold and tired. It was pleasing to walk into a cosy friendly pub. Seeing as the room was cheap at £55 and with free parking and breakfast we were unsure of what we were getting. I would normally check reviews but didn't get chance due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaz-200742
theshipandbell, General Manager at The Ship & Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write a review

Powys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016

A welcoming hotel with friendly staff and excellent service. The hotel was clean and tidy. The room was very comfortable and the ensuite was spotless. Breakfast was varied and excellent quality. There is car parking outside.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindasR3554CJ
theshipandbell, General Manager at The Ship & Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your lovely comments I will pass them on to the team

Toulouse, France
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Very close to the ferry warm welcome and atmosphere, in need of a face lift but that is reflected in the price. We stayed in room 2 no problems and had a very nice evening meal and breakfast was very good with a good choice,we will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheila b
theshipandbell, General Manager at The Ship & Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreciate your comments

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

the ship and bell was more than average but not very good - the food was excellent and reasonably priced in a pleasant dining room and the staff were very friendly and obliging, the accommodation was fine, clean but in need of a bit of a spruce decoratively, a bit tired looking but would definitely use again when catching ferry...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckbennett
theshipandbell, General Manager at The Ship & Bell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am pleased you enjoyed your food and the service

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horndean
7.9 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
439 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
8.3 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Ship & Bell

Address: 6 London Road, Horndean, Waterlooville PO8 0BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Waterlooville > Horndean
Price Range: £53 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship & Bell 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Ship & Bell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship & Bell Horndean, Hampshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ship & Bell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We can only go by our room which was the Annex part very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles 378valdab, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Find a cool room”
 of 5 bubbles W2387UGmartinh, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book the Premier Inn round the corner!!”
 of 5 bubbles alisona452, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“IF you have to stay here, ask for an upstairs room. But the car would be better.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulineEMa, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room at the Premier Inn across the road”
 of 5 bubbles louises825, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay