Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages

Nettlecombe Lane Isle of Wight, Whitwell, Ventnor PO38 2AF England
Traveller (293)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 13 cottages in Isle of Wight
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Award winning Nettlecombe Farm is an idyllic dog friendly farm stay that offers luxurious self-catering holiday cottages that can sleep families from 3 up to 10 on the stunning Isle of Wight. There are excellent facilities for children including three large grassed play areas and a petting farm with a wide variety of animals including reindeer, alpacas and donkeys (to name just a few!). Nettlecombe Farm is a working farm, nestled in the heart of rolling countryside, which you may not want to leave once you arrive. During your stay families can join the morning feeding tours on the farm, experiencing a day in the life of a farmer. Guests also have full use of three fishing lakes and can take part in weekly Yoga & Pilates sessions. There is an EV car charging point onsite (charges apply).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hand massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Electric vehicle charging station
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
284Reviews3Q+A45Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 254
  • 27
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rick O wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
We stayed at Barley cottage, the first thing to say was that it was spotlessly clean even down to the kettle and oven so a big thank you to the cleaning staff.
The cottage was well equipped and the bedrooms were large with plenty of space for clothing and comfortable beds not saggy or tired and worn out. Each cottage had its own private garden area which was nice. We took our dog and were pleased there were no silly rules except not to get on the furniture or beds which is perfectly sensible and correct. We didn’t see the owners during our stay but when there were some minor issues they were sorted out very quickly like finding the fridge door handle was broken when we arrived.
There are a number of walks and bridleways from the cottages if you have a dog. There was a kiddies play area which although we didn’t use was well equipped. Our Granddaughter was only 5 months old so too young to appreciate the animal feeding but I would imagine it would be a big hit for younger ones.
The fishing lakes are used by residents and day tickets I didn’t get to fish as much as I would have liked but they seemed to be popular and plenty of fish being caught, I didn’t see any litter by the lakes, although they could do with a bin at the entrance so fisherman can dispose of any rubbish.
As previously stated WIFI would be an asset particularly as reception was so hit and miss. We did have some frustration with trying to find how the oven and some other gadgets worked as there were no instructions to hand , only finding them on the last day laid in a cupboard in the kitchen, whereas they should be either with the welcome pack or left in plain sight.
So in conclusion we had a lovely stay, it was quiet and just what we wanted being left to our own devices. Would we return, yes without hesitation and as we didn’t manage to cover all we wanted on the Isle of Wight we are looking to book next year.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Morris, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Responded 21 Jun 2021
@558ricko thank you for leaving us such a detailed review, we really appreciate your feedback and have taken it onboard since you left by making sure that the instructions are all more visible so I am sure future guests will be grateful to you as well. I will pass on your comments to our wonderful cleaning team as well, they do work extremely hard each week and it's great for them to have this feedback. With regards to the Wifi, unfortunately this is a setback of rural living and we have tried many avenues to try and get decent wifi to the properties. (lack of available lines and distance from the exchange cause us major headaches in the office and the lovely Open reach guys). As a temporary solution, we have data dongles now available for guests to hire during their stay until a better solution is found. We provide large Biffa bins for guests and people using the lakes to use when they leave in the farmyard. We used to have one at the lakes, but sadly the local wildlife used to empty them before we did. It sounds like you really made the most of everything we have to offer here with the beautiful walks, fishing, animals and we would love to have you come and stay with us again. Best wishes to you and your family from us all at Nettlecombe Farm
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
neil Woodhams wrote a review Jul 2022
Bordon, United Kingdom2 contributions14 helpful votes
Wife and I just spent the most relaxing week we have had for many a year!! Not the first time we have visited here but the first time we have spent a week here.
We had Wren Cottage , which is ideal for a couple, and as soon as you open the door and step inside you’ll find an extremely spacious (TARDIS springs to mind!), spotlessly clean , comfortable and very well appointed cottage. Kitted out with freezer, dishwasher and washing machine, and all utensils, plates and glasses you need, the kitchen /diner is practical and bright.
The lounge is really comfortable with a couple of two-seater reclining sofas and a decent sized TV. The bathroom is large and modern with a large enclosed shower and bath and hot water always available.
The bedroom was large with a comfortable bed and plenty of storage space for clothes.
For good measure there were some nice extras like ironing board, iron and charcoal barbecue provided.
The farm is so tranquil and beautiful, and although the animals are probably aimed at the children, we loved wandering around every day looking and listening to them 🙂
The fishing on the three lakes was great and there was a good mix of the fish being catchable but you still had to work for it.Never crowded you could spend many hours of peaceful fishing there.
All in all we had the best week. The cottage was lovely, the farm and location lovely and the people lovely. The only problem was … we didn’t want the week to end !!
Thank you Nettlecombe Farm
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Morris, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Grendel1969 Fantastic review to receive thank you! Lovely to hear that you made the most of the farm, surroundings and the fishing here, we love it all so much up here and it's just wonderful to hear our guests feeling the same. We do hope to see you again soon for another getaway. Best wishes, all at Nettlecombe Farm
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew F wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We recenlty stayed for 3 nights at Nettlecombe Farm, the accomodation was well funished, spacious, clean and had all the necessary items to make for a very comfortable self catering trip. We were met by Jose who was very helpful and welcoming. Our Children ( 4yrs / 2yrs ) loved playing outside in the childrens play area and had a fantastic time feeding the animals on the morning round with Fern. The was a wide range of farm Animals and we all loved the experience of staying on a working farm for a few days. The location is great-central on the IOW so easy to naviate around. It was a little quiet on the Isle being feb and few of the attractions were closed until end of March but that didnt detract from a great time had by all of the family and we hope to return again in the summer and hopefully do some fishing in the onsite lakes. Thanks for having us :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose M, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Responded 24 Apr 2020
Many thanks for your super review! We really appreciate it :) We are so pleased that you & your children had a great time making the most of our accommodation and facilities here at Nettlecombe Farm. We hope you come and see us again soon. Take care, from us all at Nettlecombe Farm
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
959tracy wrote a review Jun 2021
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
we booked corner cottage for 4 adults one baby and a dog and i can honestly say we were all catered for, Cottage was very well equipped with anything we could possibly need -even dog bowls, Spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
Garden was large and dog loved the fact there were rabbits.
We took the farm tour and were made really welcome even though only a year old our baby loved the animals and the two ladies doing the tour were really enthusiastic and brilliant with the children.
Had a couple of afternoons fishing in beautiful surroundings.
We ate at the white horse pub at the end of the road most nights and can thoroughly recommend that too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Morris, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Responded 21 Jun 2021
959Tracy, thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. It's fantastic to hear that we are catering well for all ages, we really do pride ourselves on offering something for guests of all ages (& pets) and it's great to hear that we are succeeding :) Fishing, feeding the animals and enjoying the local pub sounds like a perfect holiday. Hopefully you will come and see us again soon. Many thanks from us all at Nettlecombe Farm
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HayleyJay83 wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions
+1
We’ve just left this amazing place and already know we’ll be back!

We had 2 families in Swallow and 1 in Heron. The cottages couldn’t be more equipped for a fantastic stay, even measuring scales, whisks and sieves so we could have a pancake flip off.

The cottages are huge, with comfortable beds and brilliant quality towels.

Monday to Saturday the children can have a feeding tour with the farmer. We never expected it to be so involved and lasted 1.5hrs each time. They absolutely loved it, especially the sheep cuddles. Fearne and Talulah were amazing, so knowledgeable and great with the kids.

The mums made the most of the well-being opportunities on site and booked an amazing massage with Danielle, she really got the niggles out of my back and we had a really good yoga session with Olivia.

The walks around the farm were great, fab to blow out the cobwebs. There are some fantastic pubs and restaurants nearby too.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Morris, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Responded 7 Apr 2022
HI Hayley, Wow what a fab review thank you! I'm envious reading your description of your holiday with us and think I need to book in a massage with Danielle soon, so great to hear when our guests make the most of our facilities and enjoy the massages and yoga sessions on offer. Hopefully you will all come and see us again soon for some more R & R Best wishes Jose & all at Nettlecombe Farm
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
23sunseeker2016 wrote a review Sept 2021
London, United Kingdom64 contributions19 helpful votes
We had a fantastic stay at Nettlecombe Farm and are already looking at booking again for next year. Our family of 3 (2 adults and a toddler) stayed in Wren. The cottage was spacious and comfortable. The bedroom was more than adequate for the 3 of us and a full size wooden cot and mattress was helpfully provided for our son. The feeding tours were the highlight for us, getting to spend 90 minutes every morning with the animals was a great way to start the day. Everyone at the farm was friendly and helpful, in particular Tallulah on the farm tours and Buster for so kindly gifting my son a toy tractor (which he hasn’t put down since we left!). The outdoor play areas are well thought out and set with views of the beautiful surrounding countryside. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend and hope to return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Morris, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Wow what a wonderful review, thank you so much for taking the time to write it :) It's great to hear that Wren and our farm met all of your needs during your stay and we are delighted that you are planning to come and see us again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back to the farm again. Best wishes from all at Nettlecombe Farm
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CJLJa wrote a review Nov 2022
20 contributions15 helpful votes
What a find. The cottages are so clean and there’s been so much thought put into making them comfortable. The welcome pack includes pictures and colouring pencils for children to colour in, the cleaning products are all Ecover - and there’s enough dishwasher tablets so you won’t rub out during your stay.
The farm tours are fab - the children get the chances to feed the animals, and cuddle the rabbits and guinea pigs.
The playground on site is lovely, well kept.
We stayed in Robin, and the house is perfect for hide and seek - loads of places to hide.
Overall a very happy stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Morris, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Responded 15 Nov 2022
CJLJa thank you for such a super review, we love to hear that all of the touches and facilities we have here are so well received, it makes it all worth while. Robin really is a lot of fun for hide and seek. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the team as well, they will be pleased. We hope to welcome you back to Nettlecombe Farm again soon. Best wishes from us all at Nettlecombe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cat wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We had a lovely, relaxing holiday and it was brilliant that we could bring our beloved dogs with us. The cottage was very clean and a plentiful supply of tea, coffee and milk was provided. The information pack was extremely helpful and the team were very helpful and on hand to answer any queries. There were clear instructions regarding disposal of rubbish, food and recycling waste, Covid secure measures and checking out of the property. A wide array of cutlery, plates, saucepans and crockery was available and it was like home away from home. Cleaning products were also available. We left our charger and one of the dog's bones behind and the team posting the items back to us first class. Such wonderful customer service!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Morris, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Responded 14 Dec 2021
We do love our furry friends coming to stay at Nettlecombe Farm, and hopefully they were as happy with their stay as you were. It's great that you found all of the facilities and information helpful during your stay too, it was no problem at all to post the items back to you, there's nothing worse than unpacking and realising you have left things behind. We hope that you are able to come and stay with us again soon, have a wonderful Christmas and New Year from Jose and all at Nettlecombe Farm.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa B wrote a review Apr 2021
Braintree, United Kingdom15 contributions6 helpful votes
My daughter found this via Google and so glad she did. It’s off a quiet lane but still very close to everything you need. We loved Ventnor and all it had to offer. As it so close to the most recent lockdown easing and early in the season a lot of things either haven’t reopened or were opened limited times i.e closed Tuesday and Wednesday but that didn’t stop enjoyment.
We stayed in Barley part of the old farmhouse and found it to be lovely and well equipped. A few things a little tired and worn but advised the owners and they couldn’t have been more helpful.
Only thing missing is WiFI especially as mobile signal is hit and miss. Staying in a pandemic when you aren’t sure if things are open, what their times are or if they are dog friendly proves pretty problematic without WiFi.
My 2 yr old grandson loved the play area and the animals. Tallulah has the patience of a saint on the feeding tours 😀he also lived looking out the windows in the morning and spotting the cows and sheep. Weather was amazing, we were so lucky and all in all a really lovely relaxing holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Morris, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Responded 21 Jun 2021
Hi D196NJisak firstly thank you for your review! What a lucky find on Google, it's always really helpful to find out where people come across us. You were so lucky to also get the weather on your side and you had your holiday before the rain came in May :) Thank you also for your feedback on the WiFi, we have been unsuccessful with our attempts to get WIFI to our properties due to our location and lack of spare lines available at the exchange (the only downside to rural life) but are now offering data dongles to those who would like wifi during their stay as a temporary solution. It sounds like your grandson enjoyed making friends with our animals, I'm sure they enjoyed him bringing their food and giving cuddles too. We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon, best wishes Nettlecombe Farm
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Avril J wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
What else can we say, but truly amazing! We were not sure what to expect by staying on a farm for the first time with our adult children and grandchildren. However, what a fabulous place to stay. We stayed in Heron and with 3 bedrooms there was plenty of room in the lounge, spacious dining room and kitchen. Every amenity you needed was available, from washing machine/dryer to dishwasher. The grandchildren absolutely loved being so close to the farm animals and being able to have room to play in the two play areas was an added bonus. The farm itself was so quiet and the only sound you could hear was the sound of birds singing. The scenery was outstanding, with plenty of walks direct from the farm. Our 8 yr old granddaughter had her first experience of fishing, which she thoroughly enjoyed. Our 4 yr old granddaughter fell in love with the goats and the first thing she did every day was going to say good morning to them. We enjoyed feeding the animals on a tour of the farm one morning and felt we could do as much or as little of the tour as we wanted. Thank you Nettlecombe Farm, we will be back next time we visit the Island and don’t think we will be able to find a better place to stay anywhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jose Morris, Owner at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Ah we are so pleased you all had a wonderful stay with us in Heron, the views there are really quite magical aren't they. It's also fantastic to hear that all generations in the family get to enjoy their holidays here at Nettlecombe Farm. Hopefully you will all get to come back again soon to make some more special memories together. Best wishes from us all at Nettlecombe Farm
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Nettlecombe Farm
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Hi, Apologies for the slow reply, we were locked out of our account. We hope you choose to visit us again on another occasion. Best wishes, Nettlecombe Farm
Answer from Nia D
Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom28 contributions4 helpful votes
You'll be best off checking their website or calling them.
Diane R wrote a tip Nov 2023
Chelmsford, United Kingdom16 contributions37 helpful votes
"Plenty to occupy children - they do need to be accompanied by a responsible adult. Yoga and Pilates classes are also available."
Read full review
Tourist18453296960 wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
"Be careful on the lane leading to the Farm"
Read full review
sam wrote a tip Oct 2023
Lincoln, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
"Take pegs"
Read full review
Carol P wrote a tip Sept 2023
1 contribution
"Book early"
Read full review
fuschiauk wrote a tip Aug 2023
Maidstone, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
"Bring your wellies for farm tours!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whitwell area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightVentnorWhitwell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages Reviews, Isle of Wight/Whitwell

Frequently Asked Questions about Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages
Which popular attractions are close to Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages?
Nearby attractions include JURASSIC JIM (3.9 miles), The Isle of Wight Donkey Sanctuary (2.2 miles), and Godshill Model Village (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages?
Conveniently located restaurants include TZ's True Food Kitchen, Crave Ice Cream, and Cook & Baker.
Are any cleaning services offered at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Godshill Church (2.2 miles), Appuldurcombe House (1.5 miles), and St. Catherine's Oratory (2.1 miles).
Is Nettlecombe Farm Holiday Cottages accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.